DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Champion 2020/0301084US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Logan 2016/0370547US.
In terms of Claim 1, Champion teaches a pluggable transceiver module (Figure 12: 500), comprising: an outer casing (Figure 12: 530) configured to be attached to a networking cable (Figure 12: within 528/534; [0069]) and configured to be plugged into a receptacle (Figure 12: 520); and a bottom surface (Figure 12: 536) of the outer casing (530) exposing a two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads (608/606); wherein: a first portion of the electrical contact pads (608) is configured to electrically couple with at least one power supply and one ground reference ([0073]); a second portion of the electrical contact pads is configured to electrically couple with data signals received from and/or transmitted to the networking cable ([0026]);
Champion does not teach parasitic properties of the electrical contact pads and any devices, circuits, tracks, and/or wires inside the pluggable transceiver module are small enough to allow a bandwidth of the data signals of over 100 gigabits per second.
Logan does teach contact pads capable of transmitting data at a rate of 100 gigabits, wherein parasitic properties are present since the structure is capable of transmitting at 100 gigabits ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify contact pads of Champion to have parasitic properties to enable high speed data transmission of having 100 gigabits or more for large data intensive transmission.
In regards to claim 2, Champion / Logan teaches the module of claim 1, wherein Champion teaches the 2-D array of electrical contact pads is a land grid array (Figure 14: 608 are rectangular strips that protrudes up from the layer 508, arranged in an array. The examiner considers this structure to qualify as having a land grid array).
In regards to claim 3, Champion / Logan teaches the module of claim 1.
Champion / Logan do not teach wherein a number of electrical contact pads is 256 or higher.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the number of contacts to be 256 or higher in order to scale the device to handle multiple channels of data transmission for larger scale transmission. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
In regards to claim 4, Champion / Logan teaches the module of claim 1, wherein Champion teaches the bottom surface of the outer casing includes one or more holes configured to receive alignment pins of a socket exposing a two-dimensional array of electrical contacts matching the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads (Figure 5: wherein opening 168 allows for pins 164 to fit; The pins 164/152 may qualify as alignment pins because they are designed to fit within the openings of 168. Further Figure 9 wherein the out casing has flanges attached to which contains holes, the holes appear to have screws, pins, or rods inserted within them to attached and secure the top cover. The structure within the holes may also qualify as alignment pins located at the bottom of the casing).
In regards to claim 5, Champion / Logan teaches the module of claim 1, wherein Champion teaches wherein the bottom surface of the outer casing includes a hole configured to receive a depth latch (Figure 9 wherein the out casing has flanges attached to which contains holes, the holes appear to have screws, pins, or rods inserted within them to attached and secure the top cover. The structure within the holes may also qualify as dept latch as they appear to attach to the holes located at the bottom of the casing).
In regards to claim 6, Champion / Logan teaches the module of claim 1, wherein Champion teaches further comprising a slide feature ((Figure 8: 252; [0058]) that allows the pluggable transceiver module to rest on a matching guide rail in the receptacle (Figure 8: 252).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion / Logan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Hemp 2023/0305247US.
In regards to Claim 7, Champion / Logan teaches the device of Claim 1.
Champion and Logan do not teach further comprising a heatsink.
Hemp does teach a transceiver comprising a heatsink ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transceiver of Champion to include a heatsink in order to dissipate heat and prevent the device from overheating.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion / Logan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent to Wood 11,726,276US.
In regards to Claim 8, Champion / Logan teaches the device of Claim 1.
Champion and Logan do not teach further comprising a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) including at least one of an array of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs) or an array of photodetectors configured to be optically coupled with fibers from the networking cable, and wherein the PIC uses through-semiconductor-vias (TSVs) to electrically couple the VCSELs and/or photodetectors with the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads.
Wood does teach a transceiver further comprising a photonics integrated circuit (PIC – Figure 1: 108) including at least one of an array of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSEL – Figure 1: 104) or an array of photodetectors (Figure 1: 106) configured to be optically coupled with fibers from the networking cable (Figure 1: 110 /112), and wherein the PIC uses through-semiconductor-vias (TSVs – Column 7, lines 55-67) to electrically couple the VCSELs and/or photodetectors with the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads (Column 7, lines 10-30 and 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transceiver of Champion to include a photonic integrated circuit, VCSEL lasers sources, Photodetectors, TSV to provide electrical coupling for stack coupling or vertical coupling orientation with contact pads. This allows the device to be fully integrated for complex optical networks which requires additional components for optical processing. This modification allows the transceiver to expand its capabilities for more complex networks rather than just acting as a simple transmitter/receiver. The usage of TSV allows for electrical traces to provide electricity to various components oriented in a vertical manner which reduce width dimension footprint of the PCB within transceiver for more portability or denser application deployment of transceiver in a given area.
Claims 9-10, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Champion 2020/0301084US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Chan 2015/0030299US.
In terms of Claim 9, Champion teaches a receptacle for a pluggable module (Figure 12: 500 or Figure 1), comprising: a cage (Figure 1: 110) for reducing electromagnetic interference ([0068]); a socket (bottom portion of 536) exposing a two-dimensional array of electrical contacts (Figure 12: 608/606) configured to mate with contact pads on a two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at a bottom of a pluggable transceiver module (606); and a transfer subsystem (Figure 8: 250) to receive the pluggable transceiver module (Figure 8: 106) and securely place the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads (Figure 12: 606/608) at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module on the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts (Figure 12: 606/608); so that the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module securely lands on the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts (See Figure 12: 606/608).
Champion does not teach the transfer subsystem to receive the pluggable transceiver module a carriage that can pivot around a pivot mechanism and that is configured to receive the pluggable transceiver module at an angle and to rotate it down when fully inserted.
Chan does teach a transfer subsystem (Figure 7: 10 and 40) wherein: the transfer subsystem to receive the pluggable module (14/12) includes a carriage (12) that can pivot around a pivot mechanism (arms 24 can pivot via rotation) and that is configured to receive the pluggable transceiver module (12/14) at an angle (Figure 8: 12/14 is positioned at angled) and to rotate it down when fully inserted (Figure 8 and Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the transfer system to from a sliding structure of Champion to be rotating/pivot one in order to prevent the electrical contacts from rubbing against each other and causing damage. The modification will of the cover to have cover flip cover, with a carriage structure such as 42 having rotating arms 42 will allow the module to snap fit and avoid sliding and rubbing of the electrical contacts. Further, Chan indicates this snap fit engagement are ideal for smaller housing modules which further allows the device Champion to handle more smaller modules compatibility ([0005]).
In regards to claim 10, Champion / Chan teaches the module of claim 9, wherein Champion teaches the 2-D array of electrical contact pads is a land grid array (Figure 14: 608 are rectangular strips that protrudes up from the layer 508, arranged in an array. The examiner considers this structure to qualify has a land grid array).
In regards to Claim 13, Champion / Chan teaches the module of claim 9.
Champion / Chan does not teach wherein the angle is between 1 and 5 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion angle to be between 1-5 degrees to allow for faster alignment during the installation process. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
In regards to Claim 15, Champion teaches the module of claim 9.
Champion does not teach wherein adequate mechanical engagement and pressure to achieve direct contact between the contact pads and the electrical contacts are provided using a latch included in the transfer subsystem.
Chan does teach wherein adequate mechanical engagement and pressure to achieve direct contact between bottom portion circuit board and the module ([0030]). The act of apply adequate pressure and ensure the pressure is present ensure the device is properly coupled to circuit board and signal coupling area by Figure 8 and 9 when the module is fully snaped fit into the socket area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to modify coupling features to device of Champion in order to ensure proper alignment is maintained during data signal coupling between the module and the circuit components located at the bottom surface.
In terms of Claim 16, Champion teaches a networking device (Figure 1, 8, 12), comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB – Figure 16: 502); a socket (Figure 15: bottom surface of 530 forms a socket) mounted on the PCB (Figure 15: bottom surface of 530 which forms the socket is mounted on top of 502) and exposing a two-dimensional array of electrical contacts configured to mate with contact pads on a two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at a bottom of a pluggable transceiver module (Figure 16: on 508 which contains 606/608 as shown in Figure 12); a cage (Figure 1: 110) for reducing electromagnetic interference ([0068]) mounted on the PCB and enclosing the socket (Figure 1: 110 encloses the PCB 102), wherein the cage has a front opening for receiving the pluggable transceiver module (Figure 1: at 134); and a transfer subsystem (Figure 8: 250/252) inside the cage to receive the pluggable transceiver module and securely place the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module on the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts (Figure 8: 250 and Figure 12: 606/608).
Champion does not teach wherein the transfer subsystem is configured to move the pluggable transceiver module vertically down after it is inserted in the front opening and adequate mechanical engagement is achieved between the pluggable transceiver module and the transfer subsystem, such that the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module is pressed into direct contact with the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts in the socket.
Chan does teach wherein the transfer subsystem (Figure 6: 14/12) is configured to move the pluggable transceiver module (10) vertically down after it is inserted in the front opening and adequate mechanical engagement is achieved between the pluggable transceiver module and the transfer subsystem (Figure 6: 10, 12, 14 and Figure 8 which shows the module being lower vertically at angle), the resulting combination of Champion and Chan will produce the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module is pressed into direct contact with the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts in the socket (Shown by Figures 6 or 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to modify the transfer system to from a sliding structure of Champion to be rotating/pivot one in order to prevent the electrical contacts from rubbing against each other and causing damage. The modification will of the cover to have cover flip cover, with a carriage structure such as 42 having rotating arms 42 will allow the module to snap fit and avoid sliding and rubbing of the electrical contacts. Further, Chan indicates this snap fit engagement are ideal for smaller housing modules which further allows the device Champion to handle more smaller modules compatibility ([0005]) while producing easier mounting via vertical insertion as shown by Figure 8.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Champion / Chan as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Yi 2011/0268390US.
In regards to Claim 14, Champion / Chan teaches the module of claim 9.
Champion / Chan do not teach wherein the transfer sub-system to receive the pluggable transceiver modules comprise at least one spring.
Yi teaches an optical module having a spring (Figure 4: 113 and 114) used to hold the connector from being dislodge from the module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device Champion / Chan to include a spring in order to hold the connector portion within the module and to ensure the connector portion does not accidentally get dislodge during operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to rejection of 1-6, the applicant argues the prior art of Logan which teaches contact pads to transmit data does teach “parasitic properties” as recited in Claim 1 (Remarks Page 5).
The applicant indicated that Logan does not use the term “parasitic” at all in its disclosure hence it is not doesn’t meet the structural limitation to reduce parasitic properties as claimed (Remarks Page 5).
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Logan teaches electrical lines or path having resistance of 100 ohms which allows for data transfer rate in gigabit speed. Parasitic effects occur when conductor exhibit loss to the line/contact pads material natural resistance. In this particular case the line only has 100 ohms which means any this contact will reduce parasitic effects over any contact pads or electrical lines having resistance of greater than 100 ohms in comparison.
The language of Claim 1 recites “parasitic properties of the electrical contact pads and any devices, circuits, tracks, and/or wires inside the pluggable transceiver module are small enough to allow a bandwidth of the data signals of over 100 gigabits per second”; hence any “electrical contact pads and any devices, circuits, tracks, and/or wires” that are shown to be able to transmit data at 100 gigabits speeds will meet the degree of parasitic properties desired for said transmitting applications. Logan teaches the speed is capable of hitting 120 gigabits, hence meeting the limitations of “parasitic properties of the electrical contact pads and any devices, circuits, tracks, and/or wires inside the pluggable transceiver module are small enough to allow a bandwidth of the data signals of over 100 gigabits per second” as recited in Claim 1.
The applicant further argued the prior art of Logan which pertains to an optical connector is non-analogous art relative to Champion which teaches an optical transceiver device (Remarks Page 6: 2nd Paragraph).
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Logan data lines maybe applied in optical transceiver as disclosed by Logan ([0049]). Further, the modification revolves around data lines/ contact pads / electrical wires in optical devices. Champion data lines is missing the degree in parasitic properties to achieve high gigabit speed of 100 gigabits per second as required in Claim 1. A modification with teachings from another art which involves data lines and similar data transmission speed is considered by the examiner as reasonable because both structures pertain to electrical lines or contact pads responsible of high-speed transmission of which are analogous to each other.
The applicant further argues the prior art of Logan combining with Champion would require change in principle operations (Remarks Page 6: 3rd Paragraph).
The examiner respectfully disagrees, the electrical data lines of Champion is also designed for data rate transmission ([0004-0005]). Logan modification would not differentiate from the desired goals that Champion is trying to achieve. Further the modification of Champion with the teachings of Logan does not prevent the device of Champion from transmitting data thus not hindering its ability to function as desired by Champion.
In regards to claim 9 and 10, the applicant prior art of Champion does not teach a “socket exposing a two-dimension array of electrical contacts” (Remarks Page 7: 3rd Paragraph).
The examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown below 530 contain a bottom surface of 536 that forms a socket. Substrate 508 is shown below to be within the socket. The substrate 508 contains contact pads at several locations forming a two-dimension flat array on the surface of 508 ([0070]), wherein the contacts on 508 are then coupled with the contacts or electrical wiring on 600 to couple the two structures together form an electrical connection. Figures 14-16 illustrates wherein the bottom 530 are exposed when 508 is not coupled with 600.
As for newly amended limitations of Claim 9, which was previously claimed in Claim 12, the examiner has maintained the previously ground of rejection to Claim 12 now incorporate in Claim 9 as detailed above.
The applicant argued the prior Chan does not teach “wherein the transfer subsystem includes a carriage that can pivot around a pivot mechanism and that is configured to receive the pluggable transceiver module at an angle and to rotate it down when fully inserted, so that the two-dimensional array of electrical contact pads at the bottom of the pluggable transceiver module securely lands on the two-dimensional array of electrical contacts” as recited in Claim 9.
The examiner respectfully disagrees as rejected above, Chan teaches Chan does teach a transfer subsystem (Figure 7: 10 and 40) wherein: the transfer subsystem to receive the pluggable module (14/12) includes a carriage (12) that can pivot around a pivot mechanism (arms 24 can pivot via rotation) and that is configured to receive the pluggable transceiver module (12/14) at an angle (Figure 8: 12/14 is positioned at angled) and to rotate it down when fully inserted (Figure 8 and Figure 9). The examiner indicated that using snap configuration Figure 8 of Chan having a rotating and pivoting feature allow the small modules to be easily snap fit and aligned into a socket (Chan [0005]).
In regards to Claim 13-15, the applicant argues that the prior art of Chan does not suggest converting from a horizontal insertion device to a downward pressing device would with vertical actuation is not obvious as suggested by the examiner (Remarks Page 8: 1st and 2nd Paragraph).
The examiner respectfully disagrees because horizontal and vertical mounting both have its various benefit and drawbacks. Chan indicated that configuration of the disclosed invention vertical mount features as shown in Figure 8 are beneficial in small spacing for when the module is small [0005]. The ability to simply just snap fit the device into a mounting socket allows for easily mount of modules are small and be tough to handle. The examiner further indicated that horizontal insertion may way out the electrical contacts over time due to repeated insertion movement hence a need for vertical coupling is needed. The secondary prior art does not need to suggest vertical coupling over horizontal coupling. The examiner considers the modification to be reasonable to address the issue the examiner present or the protentional solution that Chan indicated with small modules.
The applicant further argued the prior art the LGA module would not work with a vertical mount solution as suggested by the examiner because the modification will present and engineering challenge of precisely seating a two-dimensional array of contact pads (Remarks Page 8: 3rd Paragraph).
The examiner respectfully disagrees because even though the device of Champion is designed for horizontal insertion, there is some degree of vertical mounting as well (See Champion Figure 14). Hence the act of dimension certain features to provide precise alignment is already being done in some form base on Figure 14 of Champion. If the modification was made as suggested by the examiner this alleged engineering would not be much different from what is being already done. Some degree of active x-y alignment will need to happen but this should not be difficult because Chan suggests some alignment features to ensure that alignment occurs properly such as alignment pins (Figure 2: 18 as shown by Chan), rotating rod protrusion (Figure 1: 26), and finally coupling latches 80 (Figure 1: 80). All of these features will ensure that alignment occurs and is address so mounting can be done properly.
This action is therefore made FINAL for the reason(s) detailed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874