DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/9/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/9/2025 is in
compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 4, 10-11, 13-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35
U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGAO et al. (US 2023/0364763) hereinafter (NAGAO).
With regard to claim 1, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1) comprising: a driving mechanism (30) configured to bias a driver forward; a lifter (20) configured to move the driver rearward; an upstream rotating member (29) positioned in a power transmission path (see fig.3) that transfers power from an electric motor (31) to the lifter (20), the upstream rotating member (29) being configured to rotate around an axis thereof; a downstream rotating member (22) configured to rotate coaxially with the upstream rotating member on a downstream side of the upstream rotating member; and a buffering member (50) interposed between the upstream rotating member (29) and the downstream rotating member (22), wherein a rotational power of the upstream rotating member (21) is transmitted to the downstream rotating member while being buffered through the buffering member (50).
With regard to claim 2, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the buffering member (50) includes a first side surface and a second side surface, the first side surface is substantially perpendicular to and elastically contacts an upstream side surface of the upstream rotating member (29) in a rotation direction, and the second side surface is substantially perpendicular to and elastically contacts a downstream side surface of the downstream rotating member (22) in the rotation direction relative to the first side surface (as seen in fig.6).
With regard to claim 4, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the downstream rotating member rotates integrally with a lifter shaft of the lifter (20), and the upstream rotating member (29) rotates integrally with a final driven gear at a most downstream position in the power transmission path (see fig.4).
With regard to claim 10, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the power transmission path includes a planetary reduction mechanism (fig.5), a bevel gear unit, and the buffering member (50), the planetary reduction mechanism is configured to reduce an output of the electric motor (31), and the bevel gear unit is configured to change a direction of the output of the electric motor.
With regard to claim 11, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the bevel gear unit is positioned downstream of the planetary reduction mechanism (fig. 5), and the upstream rotating member (29), the downstream rotating member (22), and the buffering member (50) are positioned on a downstream side of the planetary reduction mechanism and on an upstream side of the bevel gear unit.
With regard to claim 13, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the driving mechanism (15) includes a piston (13) configured to move integrally with the driver and an accumulation chamber (14) configured to be pressurized by a rearward movement of the piston.
With regard to claim 14, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the buffering member (50) is substantially fan-shaped when viewed from a direction in which the buffering member (50) is inserted between the upstream rotating member and the downstream rotating member (fig.4).
With regard to claim 18, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the upstream rotating member (29) is a carrier of the planetary reduction mechanism.
With regard to claim 20, Nagao discloses a driving tool (1), wherein the carrier (41b) includes a hole at a radial center thereof, the hole having a recess formed in a circumferential direction of the carrier (41b), the downstream rotating member (22) includes a projection (43f) extending radially outward from an outer circumferential surface thereof, and the buffering member (50) is interposed between the recess and the projection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9, 12, 15-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a
rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 3, Nagao fails to disclose, wherein the upstream rotating member includes an upstream inclined side surface that is inclined relative to the rotation direction, the downstream rotating member includes a downstream inclined side surface that faces the upstream inclined side surface and is inclined in the rotation direction.
With respect to claim 5, Nagao fails to disclose, a ball that is interposed between an inner circumferential surface of the downstream rotating member and an outer circumferential surface of the lifter shaft, wherein the downstream rotating member and the lifter shaft are configured to be coupled together through the ball to prevent relative rotation therebetween.
With regard to claim 6, Nagao fails to disclose, wherein the upstream rotating member further includes external teeth formed on the outer circumferential surface thereof and a recess formed on a surface thereof facing the downstream rotating member, and at least a part of the buffering member is housed within the recess.
With regard to claim 12, Nagao fail to disclose, a stopper configured to restrict a reverse rotation of the planetary reduction mechanism, and a holding member for the buffering member, wherein the holding member is configured to serves as a structural component of the stopper.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
7/29/2026