DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al. (US 8181789) in view of Tilton et al. (US 5803260).
Re claim 1, Casella et al. teaches a tamper evident card package comprising:
a first portion formed of plastic polymer and defining a cavity extending from a base surface of the first portion (114);
a second portion comprising a plastic polymer joined to the first portion at a seal extending around at least a portion of a perimeter of the tamper evident card package, wherein the first portion and the second portion are coupled so as to form a unitary structure at the seal (base 20); and
an insert contained between the first portion and the second portion, the insert comprising a single point-of-sale activated card and machine readable activation information for the point-of-sale activated card visible from an exterior of the tamper evident card package (FIG. 5 shows a card ).
Though silent to explicitly reciting a flat sheet, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a flat sheet such as for aesthetics/ design variation. FIG. 1-5 are taught that the encasement is clear plastic and is sealed on its margins by RF laser seal. A card 110 inside is viewable. Though silent to activation information being viewable, it would have been obvious that viewable information could be seen through the transparent plastic. Types of information is non-descriptive functional material, and would have been obvious based on system constraints.
Casella et al. is silent to seal around an entirety of the perimeter, though Casella et al. teaches laminated card stock can be used in different embodiments, those different embodiments obviating RF sealing at the edges due to their construction, for expected results of security (FIG. 8 for example).
Tilton teaches such limitations (abstract+) of plastic sealed packages using RF sealing around a perimeter of the package (FIG. 4+) which .
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to provide for thing sealing for security while leaving space for graphics etc. with a small size seal for packaging.
Re claim 2, FIG. 4 teaches 1/16” seal width (Tilton),while also the Examiner notes would have been obvious to have a specific size such as to provide a seal for security while also considering size, costs, aesthetics. Such selection of an optimum value/ size would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, as the general conditions are taught, such as for system/ design constraints.
Re claim 3, the seal prevents access.
Re claim 5, RF sealing has been discussed above.
Re claim 6, the coupling forms a sealed package.
Re claim 7, the encasement is RF sealed along its peripheral margin (col 3, lines 57+) and also has a hanging aperture 124. It would have been obvious to seal between the cavity and aperture to seal the package along the cavity periphery for security.
Re claim 11, intended use of the device is not patentable. Nonetheless, as alignment is desirous, it would have been obvious to use the cavity to align for quality control purposes.
Rec alim 12, the notches to are shown in FIG. 5. Intended use is not patentable for the device, and method of forming limitations that do not recite structural limitations of the structure are not seen as structurally limiting, as the prior art structure is able to read on such limitations..
Re claim 13, the limtaitons have been discussed above. A blister is interpreted as a cavity. The RF sealing is intpereted to fuse the two portions, though forming a continuous single package. A hanging aperture has been discussed above, as has an insert. Sealing between the aperture and the blister has been discussed above as an obvious expedient for sealing for security.
Re claim 14, RF sealing has been discussed above.
Re claim 16, the carrier reads on support limitations.
Re claim 17, sealing along the perimeter of the package is an obvious expedient for secure sealing.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton, as discussed above, in view of Morgan et al. (US 20140291189).
The teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above, wherein Casella et al. teaches a clamshell/ protrusion, there is a surface spaced out from the base. Tilton teaches a cavity and while silent to “sidewalls” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for sidewalls in order to provide the space.
Though silent to sidewalls (linear/ not curved cavity) the change of cavity shape is an obvious matter of design variation.
Nonetheless, Morgan et al. teaches such limitations (paragraph [0031]+ and FIG. 3+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings such as for design variation/ aesthetics/ desired shape, etc.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton, as discussed above, in view of Croft (US 5636497).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Casella et al./ Tilton have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton, as discussed above, in view of Dickman et al. (US 20220339955).
Re claim 8, the hanging aperture has been taught but the prior art is silent to sealing so that the aperture is between the cavity and sealing.
Dickman et al. teaches sealing above the aperture through the use of margins 20. Dickman et al. teaches an access opening 34.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to seal the edges of the assembly for security and visual confirmation.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton, as discussed above, in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20100219099).
Re claims 9 and 15, the teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above but is silent to plural cards. Information is visible from outside, and the type of information is non-functional descriptive material not structurally related to the substrate. Tilton teaches windows that are operable to have point of sale cards but is silent to explicitly reciting point of sale cards.
Schmitt et al. teaches plural cards in a secure package (FIG. 1+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for more accommodation of cards.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton, as discussed above, in view of Tang (US 10248816).
Re claim 18, the teachings of Casella et al./ Tilton have been discussed above but are silent to a plate and die.
Tang teaches such limitations via the tooling plate 104 which is used for the cavities, and therefore a die to aid is sealing such as heavy plate 192 to press, is equivalent to a platen (die) that presses to ensure proper sealing. As RF sealing has been discussed above, a power source is implicit.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings.
One would have been motivated to do this to use known manufacturing techniques for form and seal the packages.
Re claim 19, a die (platen ) has a shape.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Tilton/Tang, as discussed above, in view of Croft, as discussed above.
The teachings of Casella et al./ Tilton/ Tang have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations. The Examiner notes that though silent to 2 separate dies, Croft teaches that the second seal is provided under the aperture as taught above, and together with perimeter sealing is functionally equivalent. When the general conditions are taught, forming in separate parts something integral involves only routine skill in the art. Additionally/ alternatively, the various pressing parts of the die can be interpreted as first and second dies together forming the sealing die 60.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al. (US 8181789) in view of Giovannone et al. (US 5379572).
Re claim 1, Casella et al. teaches a tamper evident card package comprising:
a first portion formed of plastic polymer and defining a cavity extending from a base surface of the first portion (114);
a second portion comprising a plastic polymer joined to the first portion at a seal extending around at least a portion of a perimeter of the tamper evident card package, wherein the first portion and the second portion are coupled so as to form a unitary structure at the seal (base 20); and
an insert contained between the first portion and the second portion, the insert comprising a single point-of-sale activated card and machine readable activation information for the point-of-sale activated card visible from an exterior of the tamper evident card package (FIG. 5 shows a card ).
Though silent to explicitly reciting a flat sheet, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a flat sheet such as for aesthetics/ design variation. FIG. 1-5 are taught that the encasement is clear plastic and is sealed on its margins by RF laser seal. A card 110 inside is viewable. Though silent to activation information being viewable, it would have been obvious that viewable information could be seen through the transparent plastic. Types of information is non-descriptive functional material, and would have been obvious based on system constraints.
Casella et al. is silent to seal around an entirety of the perimeter.
Giovannone teaches such limitations (col 1, lines 18+) of the use of RF heating to seal plastic film packages (two films/ layers) along its outer edges such as to seal.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to provide for thing sealing for security while leaving space for graphics etc. with a small size seal for packaging.
Re claim 2, the Examiner notes such limitations would have been obvious to have a specific size such as to provide a seal for security while also considering size, costs, aesthetics. Such selection of an optimum value/ size would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, as the general conditions are taught, such as for system/ design constraints.
Re claim 3, the seal prevents access.
Re claim 5, RF sealing has been discussed above.
Re claim 6, the coupling forms a sealed package.
Re claim 7, the encasement is RF sealed along its peripheral margin (col 3, lines 57+) and
also has a hanging aperture 124. It would have been obvious to seal between the cavity and
aperture to seal the package along the cavity periphery for security.
Re claim 11, intended use of the device is not patentable. Nonetheless, as alignment is desirous, it would have been obvious to use the cavity to align for quality control purposes.
Rec alim 12, the notches to are shown in FIG. 5. Intended use is not patentable for the device, and method of forming limitations that do not recite structural limitations of the structure are not seen as structurally limiting, as the prior art structure is able to read on such limitations.
Re claim 13, the limtaitons have been discussed above. A blister is interpreted as a cavity. The RF sealing is intpereted to fuse the two portions, though forming a continuous single package. A hanging aperture has been discussed above, as has an insert. Sealing between the aperture and the blister has been discussed above as an obvious expedient for sealing for security.
Re claim 14, RF sealing has been discussed above. Re claim 16, carrier reads on the
support limitations.
Re claim 17, sealing along the perimeter of the package is an obvious expedient for secure sealing.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Tilton as discussed above.
The teachings of Casella et al./ Giovannone have been discussed above but is silent to 1/16”.
Tilton teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for narrow sealing widths for package appearances.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Morgan et al. (US 20140291189).
The teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above, wherein Casella et al. teaches a clamshell/ protrusion, there is a surface spaced out from the base.
Though silent to sidewalls (linear/ not curved cavity) the change of cavity shape is an obvious matter of design variation.
Nonetheless, Morgan et al. teaches such limitations (paragraph [0031]+ and FIG. 3+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings such as for design variation/ aesthetics/ desired shape, etc.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Croft (US 5636497).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Casella et al./ Giovannone have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Dickman et al. (US 20220339955).
Re claim 8, the hanging aperture has been taught but the prior art is silent to sealing so that the aperture is between the cavity and sealing.
Dickman et al. teaches sealing above the aperture through the use of margins 20. Dickman et al. teaches an access opening 34.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to seal the edges of the assembly for security and visual confirmation.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20100219099).
Re claims 9 and 15, the teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above but is silent to plural cards. Information is visible from outside, and the type of information is non-functional descriptive material not structurally related to the substrate.
Schmitt et al. teaches plural cards in a secure package (FIG. 1+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for more accommodation of cards.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone, as discussed above, in view of Tang (US 10248816).
Re claim 18, the teachings of Casella et al./ Giovannone have been discussed above but are silent to a plate and die.
Tang teaches such limitations via the tooling plate 104 which is used for the cavities, and therefore a die to aid is sealing such as heavy plate 192 to press, is equivalent to a platen (die) that presses to ensure proper sealing. As RF sealing has been discussed above, a power source is implicit.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings.
One would have been motivated to do this to use known manufacturing techniques for form and seal the packages.
Re claim 19, a die (platen ) has a shape.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Giovannone/ Tang, as discussed above, in view of Croft, as discussed above.
The teachings of Casella et al./ Giovannone / Tang have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations. The Examiner notes that though silent to 2 separate dies, Croft teaches that the second seal is provided under the aperture as taught above, and together with perimeter sealing is functionally equivalent. When the general conditions are taught, forming in separate parts something integral involves only routine skill in the art. Additionally/ alternatively, the various pressing parts of the die can be interpreted as first and second dies together forming the sealing die 60.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al. (US 8181789) in view of Young et al. (20080011637).
Re claim 1, Casella et al. teaches a tamper evident card package comprising:
a first portion formed of plastic polymer and defining a cavity extending from a base surface of the first portion (114);
a second portion comprising a plastic polymer joined to the first portion at a seal extending around at least a portion of a perimeter of the tamper evident card package, wherein the first portion and the second portion are coupled so as to form a unitary structure at the seal (base 20); and
an insert contained between the first portion and the second portion, the insert comprising a single point-of-sale activated card and machine readable activation information for the point-of-sale activated card visible from an exterior of the tamper evident card package (FIG. 5 shows a card ).
Though silent to explicitly reciting a flat sheet, prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a flat sheet such as for aesthetics/ design variation. FIG. 1-5 are taught that the encasement is clear plastic and is sealed on its margins by RF laser seal. A card 110 inside is viewable. Though silent to activation information being viewable, it would have been obvious that viewable information could be seen through the transparent plastic. Types of information is non-descriptive functional material, and would have been obvious based on system constraints.
Casella et al. is silent to seal around an entirety of the perimeter.
Young et al. teaches such limitations (paragraph [0004]+ which teaches PVC clamshell packages are RF sealed along the edges to seal the package). It would have been obvious that sealing the edges to make a hard to open product (security) obviates the entirety of the perimeter, motivated by security of the package.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to provide for thing sealing for security while leaving space for graphics etc. with a small size seal for packaging.
Re claim 2, the Examiner notes such limitations would have been obvious to have a specific size such as to provide a seal for security while also considering size, costs, aesthetics. Such selection of an optimum value/ size would have been within the ordinary skill in the art, as the general conditions are taught, such as for system/ design constraints.
Re claim 3, the seal prevents access.
Re claim 5, RF sealing has been discussed above. Re claim 6, the coupling forms a sealed package.
Re claim 7, the encasement is RF sealed along its peripheral margin (col 3, lines 57+) and also has a hanging aperture 124. It would have been obvious to seal between the cavity and aperture to seal the package along the cavity periphery for security.
Re claim 11, intended use of the device is not patentable. Nonetheless, as alignment is desirous, it would have been obvious to use the cavity to align for quality control purposes.
Rec alim 12, the notches to are shown in FIG. 5. Intended use is not patentable for the device, and method of forming limitations that do not recite structural limitations of the structure are not seen as structurally limiting, as the prior art structure is able to read on such limitations..
Re claim 13, the limtaitons have been discussed above. A blister is interpreted as a cavity. The RF sealing is intpereted to fuse the two portions, though forming a continuous single
package. A hanging aperture has been discussed above, as has an insert. Sealing between the aperture and the blister has been discussed above as an obvious expedient for sealing for security.
Re claim 14, RF sealing has been discussed above. Re claim 16, carrier reads on the support limitations.
Re claim 17, sealing along the perimeter of the package is an obvious expedient for secure sealing.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Tilton as discussed above.
The teachings of Casella et al./ Young et al. have been discussed above but is silent o 1/16”.
Tilton teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for narrow sealing widths for package appearances.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Morgan et al. (US 20140291189).
The teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above, wherein Casella et al. teaches a clamshell/ protrusion, there is a surface spaced out from the base.
Though silent to sidewalls (linear/ not curved cavity) the change of cavity shape is an obvious matter of design variation.
Nonetheless, Morgan et al. teaches such limitations (paragraph [0031]+ and FIG. 3+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings such as for design variation/ aesthetics/ desired shape, etc.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Croft (US 5636497).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Casella et al./ Young et al. have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Dickman et al. (US 20220339955).
Re claim 8, the hanging aperture has been taught but the prior art is silent to sealing so that the aperture is between the cavity and sealing.
Dickman et al. teaches sealing above the aperture through the use of margins 20. Dickman et al. teaches an access opening 34.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to seal the edges of the assembly for security and visual confirmation.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20100219099).
Re claims 9 and 15, the teachings of Casella et al. have been discussed above but is silent to plural cards. Information is visible from outside, and the type of information is non-functional descriptive material not structurally related to the substrate.
Schmitt et al. teaches plural cards in a secure package (FIG. 1+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for more accommodation of cards.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al., as discussed above, in view of Tang (US 10248816).
Re claim 18, the teachings of Casella et al./ Young et al. have been discussed above but are silent to a plate and die.
Tang teaches such limitations via the tooling plate 104 which is used for the cavities, and therefore a die to aid is sealing such as heavy plate 192 to press, is equivalent to a platen (die) that presses to ensure proper sealing. As RF sealing has been discussed above, a power source is implicit.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings.
One would have been motivated to do this to use known manufacturing techniques for form and seal the packages.
Re claim 19, a die (platen ) has a shape.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casella et al./ Young et al./ Tang, as discussed above, in view of Croft, as discussed above.
The teachings of Casella et al./ Young et al./ Tang have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations. The Examiner notes that though silent to 2 separate dies, Croft teaches that the second seal is provided under the aperture as taught above, and together with perimeter sealing is functionally equivalent. When the general conditions are taught, forming in separate parts something integral involves only routine skill in the art. Additionally/ alternatively, the various pressing parts of the die can be interpreted as first and second dies together forming the sealing die 60.
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al. (US 20020162764).
Sherline et al. teaches the claim 1 limitations (FIG. 1+ which teaches two plastic layers forming a cavity for a product between with the periphery sealed by RF means.
Sherline et al. is silent to the insert/ card.
Casella et al. teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for a desired product package.
Re claim 3, the limitations are discussed above re the RF sealing.
Re claim 4, FIG. 1+ shows sidewalls.
Re claim 5, RF sealing has been discussed above.
Re claim 6, the sealing is interpreted dot form a continuous piece.
Re claim 11, cavity alignment is used as part of manufacture and assembly.
Re claim 12, the notices can be interpreted as part of the grooves (FIG. 2+).
Re claim 13-14, the limitations have been discussed above.
Re claims 16-17, the limitations have been discussed above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al./ Casella et al., as discussed above, in view of Tilton, as discussed above.
The teachings of Sherline et al./ Casella et al. have been discussed above but are silent to 1/16”.
Tilton teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for product package enhancements.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al. Casella et al., as discussed above, in view of Croft (US 5636497).
Re claim 7, the teachings of Sherline et al./ Casella et al have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al. / Casella et al., as discussed above, in view of Dickman et al. (US 20220339955).
Re claim 8, the hanging aperture has been taught but the prior art is silent to sealing so that the aperture is between the cavity and sealing.
Dickman et al. teaches sealing above the aperture through the use of margins 20. Dickman et al. teaches an access opening 34.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to seal the edges of the assembly for security and visual confirmation.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al./ Casella et al., as discussed above, in view of Schmitt et al. (US 20100219099).
Re claims 9 and 15, the teachings of Sherline et al./ Casella et al. have been discussed above but is silent to plural cards. Information is visible from outside, and the type of information is non-functional descriptive material not structurally related to the substrate.
Schmitt et al. teaches plural cards in a secure package (FIG. 1+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for more accommodation of cards.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al./ Casella et al. as discussed above, in view of Tang (US 10248816).
Re claim 18, the teachings of Sherline et al./ Casella et al. have been discussed above but are silent to a plate and die.
Tang teaches such limitations via the tooling plate 104 which is used for the cavities, and therefore a die to aid is sealing such as heavy plate 192 to press, is equivalent to a platen (die) that presses to ensure proper sealing. As RF sealing has been discussed above, a power source is implicit.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings.
One would have been motivated to do this to use known manufacturing techniques for form and seal the packages.
Re claim 19, a die (platen ) has a shape.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherline et al./ Casella et al., as discussed above, in view of Croft, as discussed above.
The teachings of Sherline et al./ Casella et al. have been discussed above but are silent to explicitly reciting sealing between the cavity and hanging aperture.
Croft teaches such limitations (col 4, lines 14+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for additional sealing locations. The Examiner notes that though silent to 2 separate dies, Croft teaches that the second seal is provided under the aperture as taught above, and together with perimeter sealing is functionally equivalent. When the general conditions are taught, forming in separate parts something integral involves only routine skill in the art. Additionally/ alternatively, the various pressing parts of the die can be interpreted as first and second dies together forming the sealing die 60.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Re the Applicants arguments that include Casella as a primary reference, the Examiner notes that the Applicant argues that Casella teaches in one figure that there is as cutout region 126 forming an opening which allows a portion of the carrier to reside outside the encasement, and thus any combination with a fully sealed perimeter therefore renders the package unsatisfactory for its intended purposes. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the encasement is for holding cards and/ or related material, and combining with a full perimeter seal which provides the obvious benefit of enhanced security does not render the prior art unsatisfactory for holding cards. Additionally, the Examiner notes that other embodiments of Casella teach fully sealed perimeters around a card (see FIG. 8+), thus the Examiner notes that improving the security of the package does not make the package unsuitable for use.
Re the Applicants argument re the Giovannone reference teach a seal around a formed blister and not the perimeter, the Examiner notes that Giovannone is not to be viewed in a vacuum but as a secondary reference, which teaches RF heating techniques to seal the outer edges of the package, and thus are applicable as a secondary teaching to sealing outer edges such as those in Casella, for example. In Col 1, as cited by the Examiner, the reference acknowledges the use of RF sealing which is interpreted as forming a unitary structure.
Re the Applicants argument re Young, the Examiner notes that paragraph [0004] teaches the use of RF seals for the edges for enhanced security (difficult to open), which is supporting the motivation of such teachings, and is not teaching away from sealing at edges.
Re the Applicants argument that the primary reference of Sherline in the rejection of claims does not support sealing around an entire perimeter of a packaging, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that “extending around an entirety of a perimeter” does not require sealing in physical contact with an outermost outside edge, and until then, the space in Sherline between the seal and the outermost edge is not excluded by such claim language and do not prevent formation of a seal around an entire perimeter of the packaging. To clarify, the sealed area of Sherline is interpreted to read on a seal extending around an entirety of a perimeter of the card package as such claim language does not require adhesion/ sealing at an absolute edge.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12752994 teaches sealing at a perimeter (FIG. 1+), US 20200283211 teaches sealing at a perimeter (FIG. 1+), US 20060091037 teaches 26 and 12 sealed at a perimeter edge, US 5803248 teaches 14 and 16 are plastic thermally bonded.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL I. WALSH/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2887