DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,516,899 and claims 1-20 of U.S Patent No. 11,959,718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to substantially the same structure and merely rearrange particular elements, dependencies or omit structural elements all of which would be matters of obviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Boersching et al., hereafter Boersching, US Patent Publication No.
2006/0236853.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “for a handgun” has not been given patentable
weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the
claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-
contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory
clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 487 (CCPA 1951).
Furthermore, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations
of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LEC,
862 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d TO701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)
In the instant application, the body of the claims fully and intrinsically sets forth all the
limitations of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, Boersching discloses a hydraulic recoil device (20) capable of use with
a handgun, comprising: a cylinder (24) defining an interior hollow compartment, wherein the
cylinder has first and second ends (first end at end numbered as 46 and second end at end
numbered at 27); a first resilient member (60) arranged completely within the cylinder; a piston
assembly (30) arranged adjacent to the first resilient member and at least partially within the
cylinder (figures 3 and 4), the piston assembly comprising a piston head (42), a piston rod (38)
extending from the piston head through the second end of the cylinder (figures 3 and 4), and a
piston cap (34) opposite the piston head; an accumulator (94) arranged within the cylinder; and
a second resilient member (246) arranged outside of the cylinder, wherein the second resilient
member extends between the first and second ends of the cylinder (figures 5-7 show the
second spring/resilient member extending from the first end to the second end and); wherein
the piston assembly is configured to remove an initial jolt in a firing cycle with a hydraulic
resistance and the second resilient member is configured to provide recoil reduction after the initial jolt in the firing cycle ([0036] and compression of 246 acts on 27 and therefor additional
resistance is generated in a second stage by the second resilient member)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boersching in view of Mantas, US Patent No. 7,493,845 in further view of Taylor, US Patent Publication No. 2019/0293379.
Regarding claim 1, as stated above, the intended use in a handgun in the preamble
does not impart any structural requirement to the body of the claim as currently written;
however, for the sake of thoroughness, the alternative rejection is made below in which the
recoil device of Boersching is taught to be obvious for use in a handgun platform. The following
rejection in no way is an admission that Boersching alone fails to meet the structural limitations but instead is an effort by the Examiner to provide the most thorough presentation of the prior art in an effort to expedite prosecution.
Regarding claim 1, Boersching discloses a hydraulic recoil device (20) capable of use with
a handgun, comprising: a cylinder (24) defining an interior hollow compartment, wherein the
cylinder has first and second ends (first end at end numbered as 46 and second end at end
numbered at 27); a first resilient member (60) arranged completely within the cylinder; a piston
assembly (30) arranged adjacent to the first resilient member and at least partially within the
cylinder (figures 3 and 4), the piston assembly comprising a piston head (42), a piston rod (38)
extending from the piston head through the second end of the cylinder (figures 3 and 4), and a
piston cap (34) opposite the piston head; an accumulator (94) arranged within the cylinder; and
a second resilient member (246) arranged outside of the cylinder, wherein the second resilient member extends between the first and second ends of the cylinder (figures 5-7 show the
second spring/resilient member extending from the first end to the second end and); wherein
the piston assembly is configured to remove an initial jolt in a firing cycle with a hydraulic
resistance and the second resilient member is configured to provide recoil reduction after the
initial jolt in the firing cycle ([0036] and compression of 246 acts on 27 and therefor additional
resistance is generated in a second stage by the second resilient member); however, Boersching
does not specifically state the recoil device being used in a handgun. Nonetheless, Mantas
teaches a recoil mechanism (shown in figure 2) with a cylinder (1), piston assembly (8, 7, 4 for
example) and spring (3) which is contained in the cylinder and a second spring (5) surrounding
the cylinder and the overall structure of the cylinder and piston assembly closely resembles the
buffer assembly of Boersching. Additionally, Taylor teaches an AR-15 pistol which utilizes a
buffer assembly to control the rearward movement of the bolt group much like Boersching and
specifically teaches modifying conventional buffer assemblies and sizes for use in a pistol [0006].
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention
was effectively filed to modify Mantas to have a buffer cylinder and piston assembly similar to
that as taught by Boersching with a reasonable expectation of success given the similarities of
Mantas and the evidence from Taylor that AR-15 style recoil devices are used in pistols with
specific consideration for modifying the size of the structure for the recoil device assembly.
Utilizing the Boersching buffer in a pistol setting like that of Mantas would provide benefits like
increasing the recoil period such that a more controlled pattern of shots can be produced
(benefits taught of hydraulic recoil device in [0002-0003] of Boersching) while providing the added benefits of a reduced risk of leaking of hydraulic fluid [0010] and an assembly with a fail-
safe that would still function in the event the hydraulic fluid should leak [0014].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided on form PTO-892.
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641