DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,625,565 (hereinafter patent’565). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims are more specific and therefore anticipate the instant claims as follows:
All limitations of instant claim 1 are described in patent’565 claim 1, the difference being that patent’565 includes mores limitations and therefore it is more specific than instant claim 1.
The dependent claims map as follows:
Instant
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
‘565
2
3
4
5
1
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. in US 11,177,093 (hereinafter Jain) in view of Smith et al. in US 2021/0294430 (hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Jain disclose an electronic device (Jain’s col. 1 lines 16-17) having a multi-function human interface (Jain’s Figs. 1-2), the electronic device comprising: a plurality of key caps (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 5 lines 48-62: keycaps 309), wherein the plurality of key caps comprise a first key cap (Jain’s Fig. 4A: keycap 309); a plurality of elastic units (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 6 lines 41-62: rubber domes 403 under keycaps 309), wherein the plurality of elastic units comprise a first elastic unit (Jain’s Fig. 4A: dome 403); a plurality of conductive materials (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 6 lines 41-52: electrode 202A), wherein the plurality of conductive materials comprise a first conductive material (Jain’s Fig. 4A: electrode 202A); and an electrode layer (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 8 lines 24-38: layer for electrodes 302B and 405) configured to generate key input signals (Jain’s col. 7 line 48 to col. 8 line 5: signal for key depression) and touch input signals (Jain’s col. 7 lines 23-48: signal for touch or proximate event); wherein the electrode layer (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 8 lines 24-38: layer for electrodes 302B and 405) is comprising: a first type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B) configured to generate touch input signals (Jain’s col. 6 line 62 to col. 7 line 12: inputs from touch electrodes); and a second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405) configured to generate at least key input signals (Jain’s col. 7 line 48 to col. 8 line 5: signal for key depression from 405); wherein … a second electrode included in the second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405) are arranged to overlap with the first key cap at least partially (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see overlap of keycap 309 with electrode 405), wherein the second electrode is arranged to overlap with the first conductive material at least partially (Jain’s Fig. 4A: se overlap of 405 with 202A), wherein the first electrode is arranged not to overlap with the first conductive material (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B not overlapping with 202A).
Jain fails to disclose wherein a first electrode included in the first type electrode … are arranged to overlap with the first key cap at least partially.
However, in the same field of endeavor of keyboards that also detect touch, Smith discloses an electrode layer (Smith’s Figs. 7 and par. 71: see 702, 704 and 706) comprising a first type electrode configured to generate touch input (Smith’s Figs. 7 and par. 71-76: drive/sense electrodes for gesture input) and a second type electrode configured to generate at least key input signals (Smith’s Figs. 7 and par. 73: electrodes detecting key position and movement), wherein a first electrode included in the first type electrode and a second electrode included in the second type electrode are arranged to overlap with the first key cap at least partially (Smith’s Fig. 7 and par. 71: electrodes 702, 704, 706 under keycap 708).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain’s keycap (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 309 equivalent to 708 in Smith’s Fig. 7) overlaps at least partially Jain’s first electrode included in the first type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B equivalent to 702 in Smith’s Fig. 1 per par. 71) and a second electrode included in the second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405 equivalent to 704 in Smith’s Fig. 1 per par. 71); in order to obtain the benefit of extra electrodes biased to ground that provide additional electrical shielding (Smith’s par. 73).
By doing such combination, Jain in view of Smith disclose:
an electronic device (Jain’s col. 1 lines 16-17) having a multi-function human interface (Jain’s Figs. 1-2), the electronic device comprising:
a plurality of key caps (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 5 lines 48-62: keycaps 309 inclusive of dome 403 and electrode 202A), wherein the plurality of key caps comprise a first key cap (Jain’s Fig. 4A: keycap 309);
a plurality of elastic units (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 6 lines 41-62: rubber domes 403 under keycaps 309), wherein the plurality of elastic units comprise a first elastic unit (Jain’s Fig. 4A: dome 403);
a plurality of conductive materials (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 6 lines 41-52: electrode 202A), wherein the plurality of conductive materials comprise a first conductive material (Jain’s Fig. 4A: electrode 202A); and
an electrode layer (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 8 lines 24-38: layer for electrodes 302B and 405; equivalent to 702, 704 and 706 of Smith’s Fig. 7 per par. 71) configured to generate key input signals (Jain’s col. 7 line 48 to col. 8 line 5: signal for key depression) and touch input signals (Jain’s col. 7 lines 23-48: signal for touch or proximate event);
wherein the electrode layer (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 8 lines 24-38: layer for electrodes 302B and 405; equivalent to 702, 704 and 706 of Smith’s Fig. 7 per par. 71) is comprising:
a first type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B) configured to generate touch input signals (Jain’s col. 6 line 62 to col. 7 line 12: inputs from touch electrodes); and
a second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405) configured to generate at least key input signals (Jain’s col. 7 line 48 to col. 8 line 5: signal for key depression from 405);
wherein a first electrode included in the first type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B equivalent to 702 in Smith’s Fig. 1 per par. 71) and a second electrode included in the second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405 equivalent to 704 in Smith’s Fig. 1 per par. 71) are arranged to overlap with the first key cap at least partially (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see overlap of keycap 309 with electrode 405, and upon combination 202B also overlaps 309 per Smith’s Fig. 7 and par. 71: electrodes 702, 704, 706 under keycap 708),
wherein the second electrode is arranged to overlap with the first conductive material at least partially (Jain’s Fig. 4A: se overlap of 405 with 202A),
wherein the first electrode is arranged not to overlap with the first conductive material (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B not overlapping with 202A).
Regarding claim 2, Jain in view of Smith further disclose wherein the electrode layer (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 8 lines 24-38: layer for electrodes 302B and 405; equivalent to 702, 704 and 706 of Smith’s Fig. 7 per par. 71) comprises a first type lines consisting of electrodes electrically connected in a longitudinal direction of a keyboard layout (Smith’s Fig. 7: see lines of electrodes 702, 704 or 706 in the longitudinal direction) and a second type lines consisting of electrodes electrically connected in a width direction of the keyboard layout (Smith’s Fig. 7: see other lines of electrodes 702, 704 or 706 in the width direction), wherein the first type lines are configured to function as one of a transmitter or a receiver (Smith’s par. 71: drive electrodes), and the second type lines are configured to function as the other of the transmitter or the receiver (Smith’s par. 71: sense electrodes).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain’s Fig. 4A electrodes 302 and 405 would be an array of electrodes, with transmitter or receiver electrodes in a longitudinal direction and the other of transmitter or receiver electrodes in a width direction of the keyboard (as taught by Smith’s Fig. 7 per par. 71), in order to obtain the benefit explained for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Jain in view of Smith disclose wherein the first conductive material (Jain’s Figs. 4: see 202A) is arranged to move in accordance with a movement of the first key cap (Jain’s Fig. 4A→Fig. 4B: see 202A moving down with movement of keycap 309 and dome 403).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, wherein the first conductive material (Jain’s Fig. 4A: electrode 202A) is formed to be included in the first key cap (Jain’s Fig. 4A and col. 6 lines 18-19, 53-61: touch electrode underneath each keycap, and keycap 309 includes dome with electrode 202A).
Regarding claim 16, Jain in view of Smith disclose wherein the first conductive material is formed to be included in the first elastic unit (Smith’s Figs. 4 and col. 8 lines 9-23: 202A attached on the bottom side of dome 403).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Smith as applied above, in further view of Weinerth et al. in US 2020/0233531 (hereinafter Weinerth).
Regarding claim 3, Jain in view of Smith fail to disclose wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are included in the first type lines.
However, in the related field of endeavor of transcapacitive touch panels, Weinerth discloses the first electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see transmitter Y5 for coupling 295 equivalent to 202B in Jain’s Fig. 4A) and the second electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see receiver Y4 for coupling 295 equivalent to 405 in Jain’s Fig. 4A) are included in the first type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 52-53: see Y electrodes all in the same direction equivalent to lines of 702/704 or 706 in the longitudinal in Smith’s Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain’s first electrode and second electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B and 405) are included in the first type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A: lines Y which are equivalent to longitudinal 702/704/706 in Smith’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of allowing different transcapacitance sensing with the same array of electrodes (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53).
Regarding claim 4, Jain in view of Smith fail to disclose wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are included in the second type lines.
However, in the related field of endeavor of transcapacitive touch panels, Weinerth discloses the first electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see transmitter Y5 for coupling 295 equivalent to 202B in Jain’s Fig. 4A) and the second electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see receiver Y4 for coupling 295 equivalent to 405 in Jain’s Fig. 4A) are included in the second type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 52-53: see Y electrodes all in the same direction equivalent to lines of 702/704 or 706 in the width direction in Smith’s Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain’s first electrode and second electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B and 405) are included in the second type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A: lines Y which are equivalent to width direction 702/704/706 in Smith’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of allowing different transcapacitance sensing with the same array of electrodes (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53).
Regarding claim 5, Jain in view of Smith fail to disclose wherein the first electrode is included in either the first type lines or the second type lines, wherein the second electrode is included in the other of the first type lines or the second type lines.
However, in the related field of endeavor of transcapacitive touch panels, Weinerth discloses the first electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see transmitter Y5 for coupling 290 equivalent to 202B in Jain’s Fig. 4A) is included in either the first type lines or the second type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 52-53: see Y electrodes all in the same direction equivalent to lines of 702/704 or 706 in the longitudinal direction in Smith’s Fig. 7), wherein the second electrode (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53: see receiver X4 for coupling 290 equivalent to 405 in Jain’s Fig. 4A) is included in the other of the first type lines or the second type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 52-53: see X electrodes all in the same direction equivalent to lines of 702/704 or 706 in the width direction in Smith’s Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain’s first electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 202B) is included in the first type line (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A: lines Y which are equivalent to longitudinal direction 702/704/706 in Smith’s Fig. 7) and the second electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405) is included in the second type lines (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A: lines X which are equivalent to width direction 702/704/706 in Smith’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the benefit of allowing different transcapacitance sensing with the same array of electrodes (Weinerth’s Fig. 2A and par. 53).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Smith as applied above, in further view of Shepelev et al. in US 2015/0091842 (hereinafter Shepelev).
Jain in view of Smith fail to disclose wherein the second type electrode comprises a protrusion.
However, in the related field of endeavor of touch sensing, Shepelev discloses electrodes with protrusions (Shepelev’s Figs. 12D-12E and par. 135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Jain in view of Smith’s second type electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4A: see 405) comprises a protrusion (Shepelev’s Figs. 12D-12E and par. 135);
In order to obtain the benefit of interleaving adjacent electrodes (Shepelev’s par. 135).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to disclose ALL limitations of claim 1, in addition to “wherein the electrode layer further includes a third electrode included in the first type electrode and a fourth electrode included in the second type electrode, wherein the third electrode and the fourth electrode are arranged to overlap with the first key cap at least partially, wherein the fourth electrode is arranged to overlap with the first conductive material at least partially, wherein the third electrode is arranged not to overlap with the first conductive material at least partially”.
Dependent claims 7 and 9-12 are indicated as allowable for at least the same reason.
The closest prior art to Jain does disclose a third electrode (Jain’s Fig. 4C: see left and right 202B), but it does not overlap with the first key cap, Jain does not disclose a fourth electrode.
Smith discloses two electrodes overlapping with the first conductive material (Smith’s Figs. 5: see 530 and 526), but the electrode generating the key signal is the sense electrode 528 which is the same sense electrode detecting transcapacitance (Smith’s par. 56), and therefore Smith fails to meet the requirements of claim 1 of the second type electrode generating at least key input signal, nor the first electrode not overlapping with the first conductive material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN-104898852-B (Fig. 10) directed to a keycap with a key button and touch electrodes under the keycap.
/LILIANA CERULLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621