Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, Provisional Patent Application No. 63/729,792 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A Prong One
Claims 1 and 20 (claim 1 representative) recite receiving an identifier associated with a medical record in a medical records data repository, the identifier; retrieving, based on the identifier, the medical record; and sending, a text indication of a test result in the medical record.
These limitations, as drafted, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass managing interactions between people, which is a subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. For example, the claims encompass communications regarding an individual’s medical record to provide a test result. Such communications could be carried out by a patient and a doctor regarding the data contained in the patient’s medical records. Such manual steps encompass Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Claims 2-19 incorporate the abstract idea identified above and recite additional limitations that expand on the abstract idea. Claim 2 merely expands on the received identifier. Claim 3 further recites authenticating the user before the retrieving the medical record, which could be carried out by the doctor or other individual. Claim 4 further expands on the initiation of the session. Claim 5 further expands on the identifier associated with the medical record. Claim 6 further recites the use of a device identifier to validate for accessing the medical record, which is part of the abstract idea identified above. Claim 7 further expands on sending the test result. Claim 8 further expands on sending the test result based on a user role. Claim 9 further recites terminating the session and refraining from sending content. This could be carried out by a user manually ending the session and not sending any other information. Claim 10 further recites writing an audit record of sent test results, which could be performed manually with pen and paper. Claim 11 further expands on retrieving the medical record. Claim 12 further recites sending healthcare provider contact information, which is part of the personal interactions. Claim 13 further recites authenticating a patient associated with the medical record, which could be carried out manually by the doctor. Claim 14 further expands on receiving the identifier. Claim 15 further expands on receiving the identifier. Claim 16 further recites exchanging messages and receiving a user selection, which could be carried out as part of the personal interactions.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining elements amount to no more than general purpose computer components programmed to perform the abstract ideas along with adding elements similar to adding the words “apply it” to the abstract idea, and generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, along with insignificant, extra-solution data gathering activity.
Claims 1-20, directly or indirectly, recite the following additional elements at a high level of generality and merely utilized as tools to implement the abstract idea:
Claim 1:
retrieving, with the server system.
sending, with the server system.
Claim 10:
writing, by the server system.
Claim 20:
A tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to effectuate operations.
retrieving, with the server system.
sending, with the server system.
The retrieving and sending are carried out with a generic computer component in the form of a “server system.” The abstract idea is also caried out by a generic computer component in the form of a machine-readable medium storing instructions that are executed to carry out the abstract idea. The written description discloses that the recited computer components encompass generic components including “computer systems similar to those described in connection with Figure 9. In some embodiments, the system may interact with a population of users' mobile computing devices (like more than 10, more than 100, or more than 10,000, distributed over a geographic area, like a metropolitan area, state, district, or country), which may include feature phones and smartphones” (see paragraph 0043). As set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(d) “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Claims 1-20, directly or indirectly, recite the following additional elements at a high level of generality, involving no more than extra-solution data gathering and transmitting activity:
Claim 1 and 20:
receiving at a server system, via a session-based, carrier signaling channel, as part of a session…having been sent by a user’s phone.
sending, via the session-based, carrier signaling channel, in the session…to the user’s phone.
Claim 2:
receiving, from the user’s phone.
a text menu prompt transmitted in the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel.
Claim 4:
entered at the user’s phone and routed by a cellular carrier signaling network to the server system.
Claim 6:
receiving, at the server system via the session-based, carrier signaling channel.
Claim 11:
obtaining…through an interface to a laboratory information management system or an electronic medical record system.
Claim 12:
sending…to the user’s phone.
Claim 13:
receiving…via the session-based, carrier signaling channel and in the session.
Claim 14:
receiving…in a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message encapsulated in Internet Protocol (IP) packets and routed through a private IP network of a cellular carrier without routing through the public Internet.
Claim 15:
receiving… via either (i) a Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) signaling link or (ii) a SIGTRAN signaling transport, the SS7 signaling link or the SIGTRAN signaling transport being associated with a mobile switching center of a cellular carrier.
Claim 16:
exchanging a plurality of messages in the session between the server system and the user’s phone via the session-based, carrier signaling channel.
These additional elements are recited at a high degree of generality and are merely involved in insignificant extra solution data gathering and transmitting of data over a generic computer network. The “server system,” “user’s phone,” “laboratory information management system or an electronic medical record system” are broadly recited as generic sources and destinations of data transmission and receipt. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “carrier signaling channel” encompasses a generic channel of data communication. As set forth in MPEP 2106.05(g) insignificant, extra-solution activity, such as insignificant acquisition and data transmission, is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application.
Claims 5 and 12, recite the following additional elements at a high level of generality, generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment:
Claim 17:
the session-based, carrier signaling channel is distinct from (i) an Internet data session used to exchange HTTP messages and (ii) a store-and-forward message service in which received messages are stored on the user’s phone.
Claim 18:
the user’s phone is a feature phone.
Claim 19:
the user’s phone lacks an operating system configured to execute third-party native applications.
The user’s phone, having or lacking certain features, is broadly recited and combination of recitations does not rely on the type of phone to carry out any functions. There is no indication that the combination of the phone and the other recited limitations provides any type of technical improvement or an improvement to another technical field. Rather, the phone with/without features merely links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality, and the written description indicates that these elements are generic computer components. Using generic computer components to perform abstract ideas does not provide a necessary inventive concept. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”).
Insignificant, extra solution, data gathering activity (e.g. transmitting and receiving data over a computer network) has been found to not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g) and Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (e.g. type of channel, type of phone) does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP 2016.05(h) and Affinity Labs of Texas v. DirecTV, LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 120 USPQ2d 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Additionally, the aforementioned additional elements, considered in combination, do not provide an improvement to a technical field or provide a technical improvement to a technical problem. These additional elements merely carry out the abstract idea through data collection and data communication over a communication channel. Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 10-11, 13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193.
As per claim 1, Hummer teaches a method, comprising: receiving, at a server system, as part of a session, an identifier associated with a medical record in a medical records data repository, the identifier having been sent by a user’s phone (see paragraph 0115; a patient test ID card is used by a patient who logs in to a HIPAA cloud for results retrieval using a smartphone); retrieving, with the server system, based on the identifier, the medical record (see paragraph 0099; the test results are retrieved from records, associated with Patient ID, within a server); and sending, with the server system, in the session, a text indication of a test result in the medical record to the user’s phone (see paragraph 0138; the test result sent to the user’s phone is in a text format).
Hummer does not explicitly teach the communications being via a session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel for connecting user devices to access patient record data (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer. Because Hummer may communication via a user’s phone, it would have been obvious to utilize this network structure with the motivation of improving data transmission efficiency and reliability (see paragraph 0137 of Barton).
As per claim 3, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches before retrieving the medical record, authenticating the user by receiving, in the session, an authentication value comprising at least one of a personal identification number (PIN) or a one-time passcode (OTP), and permitting the retrieving based on successful authentication (see paragraph 0115; patient test ID is used to log in to HIPAA could for results retrieval).
As per claim 5, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches the identifier associated with the medical record comprises at least one of (i) a patient identifier, (ii) an accession number, (iii) a specimen identifier, or (iv) a treatment program identifier (see paragraph 0115; patient test ID is used to log in to HIPAA could for results retrieval).
As per claim 6, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches receiving, at the server system, a device-associated identifier corresponding to the user’s phone, and validating that the device-associated identifier is authorized to access the medical record identified by the identifier (see paragraph 0115; patient test ID is used to log in to HIPAA could for results retrieval). As noted above, Hummer does not explicitly teach the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton further teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel for connecting user devices to access patient record data (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 7, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches sending the text indication of the test result comprises sending a limited-content indication that excludes at least one of a patient name, a full date of birth, or a diagnosis description (see Figure 18A; shows an example of the text indication of the test result excluding a patient name and date of birth).
As per claim 8, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches prior to sending the text indication of the test result, determining a role associated with the user and selecting between (i) sending the text indication of the test result to the user’s phone and (ii) sending a text notification that the test result is available without including the test result (see paragraphs 0115 and 0138-0139; patient is identified by patient ID and patient and clinic users have different text presented).
As per claim 10, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches writing, by the server system, an audit record indicating that the test result was sent in the session, the audit record including at least one of the identifier, a timestamp, or a device-associated identifier (see paragraph 0095; recording test results with patient information).
As per claim 11, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches retrieving the medical record comprises obtaining the medical record from the medical records data repository through an interface to a laboratory information management system or an electronic medical record system (see paragraph 0089; e.g. multiple identified test data recorded in at least one database).
As per claim 13, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches authenticating a patient associated with the medical record by receiving, in the session, at least one authentication factor (see paragraph 0115; patient test ID is used to log in to HIPAA could for results retrieval). As noted above, Hummer does not explicitly teach the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton further teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel for connecting user devices to access patient record data (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 16, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches exchanging a plurality of messages in the session between the server system and the user’s phone to present at least one text prompt and receive at least one user selection (see paragraph 0138; any text on the user’s phone is encompassed by a “prompt” and any data or interaction from the user is encompassed by a “user selection”). As noted above, Hummer does not explicitly teach the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton further teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel for connecting user devices to access patient record data (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 17, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. As noted above, Hummer does not explicitly teach the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton further teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel is distinct from (i) an Internet data session used to exchange HTTP messages and (ii) a store-and-forward message service in which received messages are stored on the user’s phone. (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
As per claim 18, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches the user’s phone is a feature phone (see paragraph 0087; user’s phone has features).
As per claim 19, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer further teaches the user’s phone lacks an operating system configured to execute third-party native applications (see paragraph 0087; the scope of “lacks an operating system configured to execute third-party native applications” encompasses a teaching that does not explicitly limit the phone to contain and execute such applications).
Claim 20 recites substantially similar computer medium limitations to method claim 1 and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193 and further in view of Rose, US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0316367.
As per claim 2, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer does not explicitly teach receiving the identifier comprises receiving, from the user’s phone, a response to a text menu prompt transmitted in the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Rose teaches receiving an identifier comprises receiving, from a user’s phone, a response to a text menu prompt transmitted (see paragraph 0070; prompts the user’s mobile device for password or biometric data to authenticate the user to access data, including text results – paragraph 0093). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a user prompt for authentication with the motivation of improving the security of the data access in Hummer (see paragraph 0022 of Rose). As noted above, Hummer also does not explicitly teach the session via the session-based, carrier signaling channel. Barton further teaches a session-based, carrier signaling channel for connecting user devices to access patient record data (see paragraphs 0098 and 0307; PPC, which may be a user’s phone, retrieves patient record data from a server, utilizing a signaling channel to facilitate the communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the carrier signaling channels of Barton to facilitate the communications of Hummer for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193 and further in view of Winkler, US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/014922.
As per claim 4, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer and Barton does not explicitly teach the session is initiated by a service-code request entered at the user’s phone and routed by a cellular carrier signaling network to the server system. Winkler teaches a session is initiated by a service-code request entered at a user’s phone and routed by a cellular carrier signaling network to a server system (see paragraph 0016; a service request code is routed to a communication server). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the service request code within the combined communication network of Hummer and Barton with the motivation of improving the flexibility of the use of the user phone within the combination of Hummer and Barton by enabling access in to data in more locations (see paragraph 0009 of Winkler).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193 and further in view of Harshith, US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0064996.
As per claim 9, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer and Barton does not explicitly teach terminating the session based on a timeout, and, in response to terminating the session, refraining from sending additional content via the session-based, carrier signaling channel until a new session is established. Harshith teaches terminating a session based on a timeout, and, in response to terminating the session, refraining from sending additional content via a session-based, carrier signaling channel until a new session is established (see paragraphs 0086 and 0119; inactivity timeout results in session termination and connection maybe a signaling channel session). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement session timeout in the system of Hummer and Barton with the motivation of improving the efficiency of data being shared (see paragraph 0001 of Harshitth).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193 and further in view of Sekaric, US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0032853.
As per claim 12, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer and Barton does not explicitly teach sending contact information for a healthcare provider to the user’s phone based on the test result. Sekaric teaches sending contact information for a healthcare provider to a user’s phone based on a test result (see paragraph 0149; transmits instructions to a patient’s phone prompting automatic contact with a clinician managing the patient). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include sending provider contact to the patient’s phone in the system of Hummer and Barton with the motivation of improving timeliness of interventions for detected conditions (see paragraph 0159 of Sekaric).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0011293 in view of Barton, US Patent Application publication No. 2009/0063193 and further in view of Sharma, US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0180567.
As per claim 14, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer and Barton does not explicitly teach receiving the identifier comprises receiving the identifier in a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message encapsulated in Internet Protocol (IP) packets and routed through a private IP network of a cellular carrier without routing through the public Internet. Adamczyk teaches a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) message encapsulated in Internet Protocol (IP) packets and routed through a private IP network of a cellular carrier without routing through the public Internet (see paragraphs 0399; provides VPN for network routing; paragraph 1017; provides SIP for network communication; paragraph 0230; describes a cellular carrier netowrk). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the identification communication of Hummer and Barton in this infrastructure with the motivation of improving flexibility and cost efficiency (see paragraph 0477 of Sharma).
As per claim 15, Hummer and Barton teaches the method of claim 1 as described above. Hummer and Barton does not explicitly teach receiving the identifier comprises receiving the identifier via either (i) a Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) signaling link or (ii) a SIGTRAN signaling transport, the SS7 signaling link or the SIGTRAN signaling transport being associated with a mobile switching center of a cellular carrier. Sharma teaches either (i) a Signaling System No. 7 (SS7) signaling link or (ii) a SIGTRAN signaling transport, the SS7 signaling link or the SIGTRAN signaling transport being associated with a mobile switching center of a cellular carrier (see paragraph 0590; SS7 network associated with switching point). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to implement the identification communication of Hummer and Barton in this infrastructure with the motivation of improving flexibility and cost efficiency (see paragraph 0477 of Sharma).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Helton, US Patent No. 11,837,368, discloses implementing a signaling channel session to communicate data to a clinician device and a patient device.
Hummer, US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0365066, discloses generating lab-based test results and communicating the results to a patient.
Haiyan, Chinese Patent Application No. CN 108961873 A, discloses prompting a user for login information to receive a lab result at a mobile phone.
Dash et al., Use of email, cell phone and text message between patients and primary-care physicians: cross-sectional study in a French-speaking part of Switzerland, discusses the use of cell phones for communicating test results to patients.
C. Luke Gilligan
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3683
/CHRISTOPHER L GILLIGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683