DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06-25-2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vidal (6,668,386).
Regarding claim 1, Vidal discloses a drawstring assembly (figs 1-2), comprising:
a looped sleeve (member 14) with one or more openings (members 22 and 24), wherein the looped sleeve is a flexible tube looped onto itself;
a first cord (member 16) placed at least partially inside the looped sleeve; and a first loop handle (members 30, 32, 138 and 40); wherein: the first cord forms a cord loop of more than 360 degrees within the looped sleeve (para 0017);
the first loop handle is a first part of the first cord not including any end of the first cord, and is accessible outside the looped sleeve via at least a part of the one or more openings (fig 1 annotated above);
the first loop handle is configured to, when pulled in a first direction, untighten the first cord (fig 1 annotated above) when the looped sleeve is placed and tightened around an enclosed object; and the first cord provides a threshold against uncontrolled untightening by asserting friction (para 0018 to 0019) when at least one of: the first cord touches itself (fig 1); or the first cord touches the looped sleeve (fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Vidal discloses the first loop handle is located at a front, a side, or a back of the looped sleeve (fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Vidal discloses the first loop handle includes one of a tab (fig 1), a bow knot, a faux bow, or other pendant adapted to assist pulling the first loop handle (fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Vidal discloses the first cord is one of a rope, a cord (para 0018), a string, a band, a belt, and a ribbon; and the looped sleeve includes at least one of a fabric (para 0024) or a plastic, wherein the at least one of the fabric or the plastic is at least one of woven, extruded, bonded (i.e. hot melt, para 0024), or blown.
Regarding claim 5, Vidal discloses at least a part of the first loop handle includes a material that is stretchable (i.e. elastic, para 0018).
Regarding claim 8, Vidal discloses the drawstring assembly is an integral part of a garment and adapted to be worn around a part of a body (fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Vidal discloses the first cord has a first cord end and a second cord end (members 18 and 20).
Regarding claim 10, Vidal discloses the first cord end emerges from the looped sleeve, and wherein the first cord end is configured to tighten the first cord when pulled in a third direction (figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Vidal discloses the second cord end emerges from the looped sleeve, and wherein the second cord end is configured to tighten the first cord when pulled in a fourth direction (figs 1-2, para 0019).
Regarding claim 12, Vidal discloses the first cord is attached to the looped sleeve at a sleeve connection point (figs 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, date 06-08-2026, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C §103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: applicant argues that “there is not mid-cord accessible outside of the sleeve”; however, the examiner respectfully disagrees since the claims do not have any requirement for a mid-cord part as analyzed above.
Argument 2: applicant argues that “no element is configure to untighten the cord when pulled”; however, the examiner respectfully disagree since Vidal does teach the limitations as analyzed above.
Argument 3: applicant argues that “Vidal's anti-back-off mechanism is mechanical cord locks, not cord friction; however, the examiner respectfully disagrees since Vidal structure does provide friction because any structure must provide some degree of friction as contacting each other.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732