Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 51,53-59,61,62,64,65 and 68-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Taylor (US 10,933,549).
Referring to claims 51 and 58. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), the weight material (12) being at least partially disposed on a roll (30) and being selectively removable therefrom (para. 52), the weight dispenser (10; Figure 1) comprising:
a frame (36; Figure 3);
an indexer (22, 24; Figure 11) disposed on the frame (36; Figure 3), the indexer (22, 24; Figure 11) having a drive motor (136, 138; Figure 12; could be or include stepper motors, solenoids, servo motors, pneumatic actuators, or hydraulic actuators, for example, or any other suitable type of actuator; Para. (46)) and a roller (132), the roller (132) having an axis of rotation and being rotatable about its axis of rotation (axis of rotation through center of roller 132; Figure 12), the drive motor (136, 138; Figure 12) being operatively coupled to the roller (motor rotates roller 132) to effect rotation of the roller about its axis of rotation (about the center of roller 132); and
a separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) disposed on the frame (36; Figure 3), the separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) having at least one actuator (146 and 148) and at least one blade (118 and 120) coupled to the at least one actuator (146 and 148);
wherein the roll (30) of weight material (12) is disposed on the frame (36; Figure 3);
wherein the roller (132) is in engaging contact with the weight material (roller 132 pull weight material through opening 126 via frictional contact; see Figure 11);
wherein the rotation of the roller (132) causes a portion of the weight material (12) to be removed from the roll of weight material and positioned adjacent to the at least one blade (118 and 180; see Figure 15); and
wherein the blade (118 and 180) of the separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) is moveable by the actuator (146 and 148) in a first direction (blade 118 moving downwards) and a second direction (blade 118 moving upwards after completing the cutting stroke), the first direction (blade 118 moving downwards) being towards the weight material (12) and the second direction (blade 118 moving upwards after completing the cutting stroke) being away from the weight material (12; see Figure 15).
Referring to claim 53. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), comprising:
a rail (162; Figure 15) disposed on the frame (36; Figure 3), the rail (162; Figure 15) being formed as an elongated member having a first axial end (166) and second axial end (164) disposed opposite the first axial end (see Figure 15), the rail (162; Figure 15) having a top surface (168), wherein the portion of the weight material (12) is at least transiently disposed on the top surface (168; see Figure 15).
Referring to claim 54. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), comprising:
wherein rotation of the roller (132) causes the portion of the weight material (12) disposed on the top surface of the rail (168; see Figure 15) to move along the top surface of the rail (168; see Figure 15) in a direction from the second axial end (164) to the first axial end (166).
Referring to claims 55 and 69. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), further comprises:
a motor controller,
the motor controller (control module of apparatus 10; Para. 73) generating a control signal (communication to drive 130), the drive motor (146 and 148) being responsive to the control signal and causing the roller to rotate a first amount of rotation about its axis of rotation in response thereto, the first amount of rotation of the roller causing the portion of the weight material to be removed from the roll of weight material and be positioned adjacent to the at least one blade (The amount (i.e., length) of weight material 12 dispensed by the dispensing mechanism 116 can be controlled by the amount of time over which the engagement rollers 132, 134 urge the weight material 12 against the drive roller 130 and/or by the rotational speed of the drive roller 130; Para. 47).
Referring to claims 56 and 70. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), further comprises:
wherein the motor controller (control module of motor 146 and 148) is communicably coupled to a controller of a tire balancing system, the controller of the tire balancing system generating a signal that is indicative of an amount of weight material that at least partially offsets an imbalance condition of a tire wheel assembly detected by the tire balancing system (As described above, a wheel-balance machine (not shown) may spin the wheel 14 to determine which location(s) on the wheel 14 require additional weight to rotationally balance the wheel. The wheel-balance machine may communicate this information to a control module of the apparatus 10; Para. 73), wherein the motor controller (control module of motor 146 and 148) is responsive to the signal and generates the control signal in response thereto, and wherein the portion of the weight material removed from the roll of weight material has a weight that corresponds to the amount of weight material that at least partially offsets the imbalance condition of the tire wheel assembly detected by the tire balancing system (Based on the information from the wheel-balance machine, one or both of the severing-head assemblies 22, 24 may dispense one or more predetermined amounts of weight material 12 from respective spools 30 and remove the liner 13 from the weight material 12 to expose the adhesive 15. The wet-out tools 180, 181, 182, 204 of the weight-application apparatuses 26, 28 may engage corresponding pieces of weight material 12 dispensed from the severing-head assemblies 22, 24. Once the weight material 12 is attached its corresponding the wet-out tool 180, 181, 182, 204 the corresponding severing-head assembly 22, 24 may cut the predetermined amount of weight material 12 from the spool 30. Once the predetermined amount of weight material 12 is cut from the spool 30, the control arm(s) 172, 198 and one or more of the actuators 188, 190, 192, 194, 206 may move the wet-out tool(s) 180, 181, 182, 204 to the predetermined position(s) on the wheel 14 and apply the weight material 12 to the predetermined position(s); Para. 74).
Referring to claim 57. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), further comprises:
wherein the weight material (12) is segmented (wherein said apparatus is capable of processing continuous weight materials and segmented weight materials, or any combination thereof; Para. 111 and claim 31) and includes a plurality of segmented portions, and wherein the portion of the weight material (12) removed from the roll (30) of weight material (12) includes at least one segmented portion of the plurality of the segmented portions (weight can be segmented; see claim 31).
Referring to claim 59. Taylor discloses a weight dispenser and a method for dispensing weight material (10; Figure 1), further comprises:
a spool (156), the spool (156) being mounted to the frame (36; Figure 3) and being rotatable thereon (see rotatable spool 156; Figure 13), the spool having an axis of rotation and being rotatable about its axis of rotation (axis at center of 156), wherein the drive motor (121; Figure 9) is operatively coupled to the spool (30) to effect rotation of the spool, wherein the weight material (12) includes a removable backing (13; Figure 12), wherein the spool (156) is configured to remove the removable backing (13) from the weight material (12), and wherein rotation of the spool (156) by the drive motor (driven by a common shaft 13; The rollers 153 may guide the removed liner 13 out of the apparatus 10 and may assist in driving or completely drive the liner 13 out from the liner-removal mechanism 122. In some configurations, the rollers 153 may be driven by a common shaft 155; Para. 59) causes the removable backing of the weight material to be removed from the weight material (12).
Referring to claim 61. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1),
the weight material (12) being at least partially disposed on a roll (30) and being selectively removable therefrom (roll 30 can be unwound to dispense weight material 12), the weight material being separable into one or more sections (wherein said apparatus is capable of processing continuous weight materials and segmented weight materials, or any combination thereof; Para. 111 and claim 31), each section of the one or more sections (sections of 12) having a respective length and weight (one or more strips of one or more weight materials 12; Para. 29), the method being performed by a weight dispenser (10; Figure 1), the weight dispenser having a frame (36), a separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) and an indexer (22, 24; Figure 11), the roll of weight material (12), the separator and the indexer being disposed on the frame (36; Figure 2), the indexer (22, 24; Figure 11) having a drive motor (including 136 and 138; Figure 11) and a roller (132 and 134), the roller having an axis of rotation and being rotatable about its axis of rotation (axis of rotation at center of 132 and 134),
the drive motor (136, 138; Figure 12; could be or include stepper motors, solenoids, servo motors, pneumatic actuators, or hydraulic actuators, for example, or any other suitable type of actuator; Para. (46)) being operatively coupled to the roller (132 and 134) to effect rotation of the roller about its axis of rotation (axis of rotation at center of 132 and 134), the roller (132 and 134) being in engaging contact with the weight material (12), the method comprising the steps of:
determining the length of a first section of the one or more sections to be separated from the weight material such that the weight of the first section substantially corresponds to an amount of weight material that at least partially offsets an imbalance condition of a tire wheel assembly detected by a tire balancing system (The lower and/or upper severing-head assemblies 22, 24 may dispense and cut predetermined lengths of one or more types of weight material 12 from one or more sources such as, e.g., spools 30 (FIG. 9) of the weight material 12. It can be desirable to use a dispensing device capable of dispensing provided lengths of two or more weight materials to the severing device, with each length of provided weight material being severed into pieces of a desired weight. The weight-application apparatuses 26, 28 may apply the one or more lengths of the weight material 12 onto one or more predetermined locations on the wheel 14 (FIG. 22) to rotationally balance the wheel 14; Para. 29); removing a portion of the weight material (12) from the roll (30) of weight material (12) with the indexer (22, 24; Figure 11) by effecting rotation of the roller (132 and 134) about its axis of rotation (center of 132 and 134); and separating the first section from the weight material with the separator (It can be desirable to use a dispensing device capable of dispensing provided lengths of two or more weight materials to the severing device, with each length of provided weight material being severed into pieces of a desired weight; Para. 29).
Referring to claim 62. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1), which further comprises the step of: generating a control signal with a motor controller (control module of motor 146 and 148), wherein the drive motor (146) is responsive to the control signal and causes the roller to rotate a first amount of rotation about its axis of rotation in response thereto (Based on the information from the wheel-balance machine, one or both of the severing-head assemblies 22, 24 may dispense one or more predetermined amounts of weight material 12 from respective spools 30 and remove the liner 13 from the weight material 12 to expose the adhesive 15. The wet-out tools 180, 181, 182, 204 of the weight-application apparatuses 26, 28 may engage corresponding pieces of weight material 12 dispensed from the severing-head assemblies 22, 24. Once the weight material 12 is attached its corresponding the wet-out tool 180, 181, 182, 204 the corresponding severing-head assembly 22, 24 may cut the predetermined amount of weight material 12 from the spool 30. Once the predetermined amount of weight material 12 is cut from the spool 30, the control arm(s) 172, 198 and one or more of the actuators 188, 190, 192, 194, 206 may move the wet-out tool(s) 180, 181, 182, 204 to the predetermined position(s) on the wheel 14 and apply the weight material 12 to the predetermined position(s); Para. 74).
Referring to claim 64. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1),
which further comprises the step of receiving with the motor controller a signal that is generated by a controller of the tire balancing system that is communicably coupled to the motor controller, wherein the signal is indicative of the amount of weight material that at least partially offsets the imbalance condition of the tire wheel assembly detected by the tire balancing system, wherein the motor controller is responsive to the signal and generates the control signal in response thereto, wherein the portion of the weight material removed from the roll of weight material has a length, wherein the length of the portion of the weight material removed from the roll of weight material by the first amount of rotation of the roller in response to the control signal is substantially the same as the length of the first section (Based on the information from the wheel-balance machine, one or both of the severing-head assemblies 22, 24 may dispense one or more predetermined amounts of weight material 12 from respective spools 30 and remove the liner 13 from the weight material 12 to expose the adhesive 15. The wet-out tools 180, 181, 182, 204 of the weight-application apparatuses 26, 28 may engage corresponding pieces of weight material 12 dispensed from the severing-head assemblies 22, 24. Once the weight material 12 is attached its corresponding the wet-out tool 180, 181, 182, 204 the corresponding severing-head assembly 22, 24 may cut the predetermined amount of weight material 12 from the spool 30. Once the predetermined amount of weight material 12 is cut from the spool 30, the control arm(s) 172, 198 and one or more of the actuators 188, 190, 192, 194, 206 may move the wet-out tool(s) 180, 181, 182, 204 to the predetermined position(s) on the wheel 14 and apply the weight material 12 to the predetermined position(s); Para. 74).
Referring to claim 65. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1),
wherein the weight dispenser (10; Figure 1) includes a spool, the spool being mounted to the frame and being rotatable thereon, the spool having an axis of rotation and being rotatable about its axis of rotation, wherein the drive motor is operatively coupled to the spool to effect rotation of the spool, wherein the weight material includes a removable backing, and wherein the spool is configured to remove the removable backing from the weight material, the method further comprising the step of: removing the removable backing from the weight material with the spool.
Referring to claim 67. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1),
wherein the portion of the weight material (section of 12) has a free end (first end of 12), wherein the distance between the free end of the portion of the weight material (first end of 12) and the blade of the separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) when the blade (120 and 118) engages the weight material (12) is substantially the same as the length of the first section of the one or more sections (section of 12, determined to be cut) to be separated from the weight material (12).
Referring to claim 68. Taylor discloses a method for dispensing weight material (see title of apparatus; Figure 1),
the weight material (12) being at least partially disposed on a roll (30) and being selectively removable therefrom (can be dispensed from roll 30), the weight material (12) being segmented and including a plurality of segmented portions (wherein said apparatus is capable of processing continuous weight materials and segmented weight materials, or any combination thereof; Para. 31), each segmented portion of the plurality of segmented portions being connected to a respective adjacent segmented portion (see Figure 9), each segmented portion (segmented weight material 12) of the plurality of segmented portions having a respective length and weight (each portion of segmented weight 12 comprises a weight for a respective length of 12),
each segmented portion of the plurality of segmented portions having substantially the same respective length and the same respective weight (continuous segmented weights), each segmented portion of the plurality of segmented portions being separable from one another by cutting (118 and 120), the method being performed by a weight dispenser (10; Figure 1), the weight dispenser having a frame (36), a separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15) and an indexer (22, 24; Figure 11), the roll (30) of weight material, the separator and the indexer being disposed on the frame (36), the indexer (22, 24; Figure 11) having a drive motor (136 and 138) and a roller (32), the roller having an axis of rotation and being rotatable about its axis of rotation (axis through the center of 132 and 134), the drive motor (136 and 138) being operatively coupled to the roller (132) to effect rotation of the roller about its axis of rotation, the roller (132) being in engaging contact with the weight material (12), the method comprising the steps of:
determining a number of segmented portions of the plurality of segmented portions (wherein said apparatus is capable of processing continuous weight materials and segmented weight materials, or any combination thereof; Para. 31) to be separated from the weight material such that the combined weight of the number of segmented portions of the plurality of segmented portions substantially corresponds to an amount of weight material that at least partially offsets an imbalance condition of a tire wheel assembly detected by a tire balancing system; removing a portion of the weight material from the roll of weight material with the indexer by effecting rotation of the roller about its axis of rotation((Based on the information from the wheel-balance machine, one or both of the severing-head assemblies 22, 24 may dispense one or more predetermined amounts of weight material 12 from respective spools 30 and remove the liner 13 from the weight material 12 to expose the adhesive 15. The wet-out tools 180, 181, 182, 204 of the weight-application apparatuses 26, 28 may engage corresponding pieces of weight material 12 dispensed from the severing-head assemblies 22, 24. Once the weight material 12 is attached its corresponding the wet-out tool 180, 181, 182, 204 the corresponding severing-head assembly 22, 24 may cut the predetermined amount of weight material 12 from the spool 30. Once the predetermined amount of weight material 12 is cut from the spool 30, the control arm(s) 172, 198 and one or more of the actuators 188, 190, 192, 194, 206 may move the wet-out tool(s) 180, 181, 182, 204 to the predetermined position(s) on the wheel 14 and apply the weight material 12 to the predetermined position(s); Para. 74); and
separating a section of the weight material (12 by blades 118 and 120)
containing the number of segmented portions (wherein said apparatus is capable of processing continuous weight materials and segmented weight materials, or any combination thereof; Para. 31) of the plurality of segmented portions from the weight material (12) with the separator (including members 146,148,118,120; Figure 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 52 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 10,933,549) in view of Hornung (US 10,570,989).
Referring to claims 52 and 66. Taylor does not disclose wherein the frame includes a surface and a spindle being mounted on extending outwardly from the surface, and wherein the roll of weight material is mountable to the spindle and rotatable thereon.
Hornung discloses a balancing weight dispenser (Figure 3) wherein the frame (30; Figure 3) includes a surface (21) and a spindle (25) being mounted on extending outwardly from the surface (21), and wherein the roll (41) of weight material (40) is mountable to the spindle (25) and rotatable thereon (roll 41 is rotatable on spindle 25).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Taylor to have the frame include a surface and a spindle being mounted on extending outwardly from the surface, and wherein the roll of weight material is mountable to the spindle and rotatable thereon as taught by Hornung because the spindle mounted on the surface of the frame would provide a secure means to hold the roll as it is being unrolled thus preventing the roll from moving out of position such the feeding end of the magnetic material becomes unaligned.
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 10,933,549)(alone).
Referring to claim 60. Taylor discloses the removable backing as being driven out of the apparatus.
Taylor does not specifically disclose a collection container disposed on the frame, wherein the removable backing which is removed is directed by the spool into the collection container and stored therein.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Taylor to have included wherein the removable backing which is removed is directed by the spool into the collection container and stored therein because the released removable backing would not have to be manually removed by a user after each actuation and release of a weight material thus, reducing a potential of the removable backing creating a jam in the apparatus and reducing the maintenance required to operate the apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See rejections cited above.
Applicant argues “It appears to Applicant that the structure shown in Figure 9 of the Taylor, et al. patent, which includes the spools 30 of weight material 12, is merely freestanding and is not attached to the frame of the apparatus for applying weight material onto a wheel therein disclosed therein.” In view of the Examiner, the weight material 12 unwinds from rolls 30 and pass over one of the rotatable feeder rollers 111, 112 before going into a corresponding severing head assembly 22,24. Thus, weight material 12 is connected to the frame through the rotatable feeder rollers 111 and is generally construed the weight material 12 and the roll 30 are connected to the frame. It is suggested the Applicant include additional structure to overcome the cited rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651