DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 19 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6152496, Kouda.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses a connector, comprising: a connector main body (1), wherein the connector main body defines a main body axial aperture; a collar (3) slidingly received within the collar axial aperture, wherein the collar comprises a gripper window (3f) and an unlocked position and a locked position; a gripper (4) slidingly received with the axial aperture and at least partially extending through the gripper window
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses a locking member (7) that retains the collar in the locked position.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the locking member is received between the connector main body and a ridge (right dis of L) on the collar.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the locking member comprises an angled leading edge.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses a sealing member (6).
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the sealing member is an 0-ring.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the O-ring is seated in a 0-ring slot within an inner surface of the connector main body.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the main body axial aperture comprises a collar gripper housing (13).
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the collar gripper housing has an internal conical shape (14).
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the internal conical shape has a narrower diameter near the opening of the main body axial aperture.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses collar extends out of the opening of the main body axial aperture.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the main body axial aperture is a through hole through the connector main body.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the through hole has circular cross sections of varying diameter.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the collar defines an axial aperture for receiving tubing.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the collar defines at least two gripper windows.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the gripper has an open circular shape.
`In regards to claim 19, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the gripper is positioned between the collar and the connector main body.
In regards to claim 22, in Figures 1-3 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kouda discloses the collar has a lengthwise slot or cut (lock ring 7 is formed of a C-shaped resilient member which can be opened) that allows the collar to be compressed to facilitate assembly of the connector.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20040094950, Ko.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses a connector, comprising: a connector main body (10), wherein the connector main body defines a main body axial aperture; a collar (40) slidingly received within the collar axial aperture, wherein the collar comprises a gripper window (near 42) and an unlocked position and a locked position; a gripper (42) slidingly received with the axial aperture and at least partially extending through the gripper window
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses a sealing member (20).
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the sealing member is an 0-ring.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the main body axial aperture comprises a collar gripper housing (18).
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the collar gripper housing has an internal conical shape.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the internal conical shape has a narrower diameter near the opening of the main body axial aperture.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses collar extends out of the opening of the main body axial aperture.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the main body axial aperture is a through hole through the connector main body.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the through hole has circular cross sections of varying diameter.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the collar defines an axial aperture for receiving tubing.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the collar defines at least two gripper windows.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the gripper has an open circular shape.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses a diameter of the gripper with the collar in the locked position is smaller than the diameter of the gripper with the collar in the unlocked position ([0034]).
In regards to claim 19, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the gripper is positioned between the collar and the connector main body.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the gripper comprises a plurality of gripper teeth (42a) and the gripper teeth extend into the two gripper windows of the collar.
In regards to claim 21, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ko discloses the gripper teeth extend through the gripper windows with the collar in the locked position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kouda discloses the claimed invention except for the gripper comprising an electrically conductive material. Metal is an electrically conductive material. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the gripper from an electrically conductive material, such as metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko discloses the claimed invention except for the gripper comprising an electrically conductive material. Metal is an electrically conductive material. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to fabricate the gripper from an electrically conductive material, such as metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679