Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,291,213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 8 and 11 of the ‘213 patent are substantially similar to claims 1-2 and 13-14 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 lacks antecedent basis for the fish bleeding treatment method in line 1 of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP Patent No. 2004-81048 to Yamaoka et al.
Referring to claim 1, Yamaoka et al. discloses a fish bleeding treatment method comprising, an insertion step of inserting a tubular instrument – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, which is a member in a tubular shape – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, into a circulatory system of a fish – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, and a gas press injection step of injecting gas for freshness preservation into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation detailing introduction of CO gas at a temperature that would providing freshness preservation.
Referring to claim 2, Yamaoka et al. discloses a fish bleeding treatment method comprising, an insertion step of inserting a tubular instrument, which is a member in a tubular shape, into a circulatory system of a fish – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, a liquid press injection step of injecting an injection liquid into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, and a gas press injection step of injecting gas for freshness preservation into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step after the liquid press injection step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation detailing introduction of CO gas at a temperature that would providing freshness preservation, and detailing controlling the introduction of gas.
Referring to claim 13, Yamaoka et al. discloses a production method for a fish of which blood is drained by a fish bleeding treatment, wherein the fish bleeding treatment comprises, an insertion step of inserting a tubular instrument, which is a member in a tubular shape, into a circulatory system of the fish – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, and a gas press injection step of injecting gas for freshness preservation into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation detailing introduction of CO gas at a temperature that would providing freshness preservation.
Referring to claim 14, Yamaoka et al. discloses a production method for a fish of which blood is drained by a fish bleeding treatment, wherein the fish bleeding treatment comprises, an insertion step of inserting a tubular instrument, which is a member in a tubular shape, into a circulatory system of the fish – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, a liquid press injection step of injecting an injection liquid into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation, and a gas press injection step of injecting gas for freshness preservation into the circulatory system of the fish through the tubular instrument inserted in the insertion step after the liquid press injection step – see paragraphs [0013]-[0017] of the English translation detailing introduction of CO gas at a temperature that would providing freshness preservation, and detailing controlling the introduction of gas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. as applied to claims 1, 2, 13 or 14 above.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. as applied to claims 1 or 2 above.
Referring to claims 3 and 4, Yamaoka et al. does not disclose the gas for freshness preservation is hydrogen gas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Yamaoka et al. and use any suitable gas in processing the fish including the hydrogen gas as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the fish to be better prepared for further processing as desired.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. as applied to claim 1 above.
Referring to claim 5, Yamaoka et al. does not disclose the injecting gas used in the gas press injection step is supplied at a supply pressure that ranges from 0.05 to 0.2MPa into the circulatory system of the fish. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Yamaoka et al. and have the gas injected at any suitable pressure including the claimed pressures, so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring sufficient gas is supplied to the fish during processing as desired.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al. as applied to claims 13 or 14 above.
Referring to claims 15 and 16, Yamaoka et al. does not disclose the gas for freshness preservation is hydrogen gas. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the method of Yamaoka et al. and use any suitable gas in processing the fish including the hydrogen gas as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the fish to be better prepared for further processing as desired.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaoka et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 6-12 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to fish processing methods in general:
U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0226959 to Sakurai – shows fish processing method
U.S. Pat. No. 8,739,736 to Holliman – shows fish processing method
JP Pat. No. 2010-104356 to Sakurai et al. – shows fish processing method
JP Pat. No. 2019-122292 to Fukada et al. – shows fish processing method
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643