DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 7 which recites “obtain another image distinct from the image using the first image data matched to the second brightness data and the second image data matched to the first brightness data; and refrain from executing the function related to the eye using the other image.” renders the claim indefinite; specifically, when the claim is read in light of specification. Specification, as originally filed recites similar language in para [0158] and [0166]. It is not clear how the another image is obtained, by using the first image data matched to the second brightness data and the second image data matched to the first brightness data. It is not clear what is means by “matched” as recites in the claim with reference of first image data and second brightness data; and second image data and first brightness data. Thus it is not clear how another image is obtained and thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-11, 13, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (2017/0091548) in view of Feng et al. (2016/0019420).
Regarding claim 1, Agrawal teaches a wearable device (para [0014] wearable computing device (e.g., head mounted display)) comprising: a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig 1; para [0021] FIG. 1 depicts an example in which iris illuminator 108 includes a first light source 108A and a second light source 108B that are spatially separated. First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example); a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) camera (Fig 1; para [0015] an image sensor 110 configured to capture light reflected from one or both irises of the user as a result of those irises being illuminated by the iris illuminator.); at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (302; Fig 3); and memory comprising one or more storage mediums storing instructions (para [0029] System 300 includes a processor 302, which may be configured to execute instructions held on a suitable storage machine (not shown).), wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: obtain, from the DVS camera, first image data based on first light emitted from the plurality of LEDs using a first control data set among a plurality of control data sets for controlling the plurality of LEDs (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), obtain, from the DVS camera, second image data based on second light emitted from the plurality of LEDs using a second control data set among the plurality of control data sets (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; Para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), using first brightness data corresponding to the first light and second brightness data corresponding to the second light (para [0035] For implementations in which the first and second light sources are spatially separated, alternate driving of the light sources may mitigate iris glare, as each light source may produce glare spots at different locations due to their differing locations of light emission), convert the first image data and the second image data into an image (Fig 6; para [0070] At 626 of method 600, an iris authentication may optionally be performed based on a combination of the first and second mode outputs. Performing the iris authentication based on this combination may include, at 628 of method 600, combining first and second partial iris images and processing the combined iris image.).
Agrawal fails to teach, and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, execute a function related to the eye; as claimed.
Feng teaches a wearable device (para [0031]) comprising: and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, execute a function related to the eye (para [0025] Pairs of visible light (RGB) and near-infrared (NIR) images can be captured by the iris authentication system for use in iris authentication, for example using an NIR LED flash to provide consistent NIR lighting. Continuous tracking can be provided by the multispectral iris authentication system to track the user's iris region in a number of images even when the relative distance and/or angle between the user's iris and the system camera change. Multiple images of the user's iris can be captured by the system in a relatively short period of time, for example as video frames at a rate around 30 frames per second (fps). The system can fuse these multiple images together to generate a high resolution iris image that can contain more detail of the iris structure and unique pattern than each individual images. Para [0055] If the output of the iris verification module 244 indicates a match, then the process 300 can transition to block 340 at which the authentication module 246 outputs an authentication pass indication. The authentication pass indication represents the determination that the imaged eye is a genuine eye as well as the determination that the imaged iris matches a stored template of an approved user iris. The authentication pass indication can be displayed to the user with information regarding the liveness score and feature matching in some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1A. The authentication pass indication can be used to permit user access to secure data, locations, accounts, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal with the authentication process as taught by Feng, because this will provide system for generating high resolution iris images and for detecting spoofs, enabling more reliable and secure authentication (Feng: para [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Agwawal teaches the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: based on changing an order of the plurality of control data sets, control the plurality of LEDs using each of the changed order of the plurality of control data sets (para [0033] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may drive iris illuminator 306 alternately and time-sequentially in the first and second modes. Illuminator 306 may be driven for equal durations in the first and second modes with alternation being performed at any suitable rate (e.g., 30 Hz). In other examples, illuminator 306 may be driven for unequal durations in the first and second modes—for example, processor 302 may dynamically determine a duty cycle for each mode. Further, processor 302 may perform user authentication using each of the first and second mode outputs individually. In another example, processor 302 may perform authentication based on a combination of the first and second mode outputs.).
Regarding claim 3, Agrawal teaches the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: convert a combination of the first brightness data and the first image data and another combination of the second brightness data and the second image data into the image (628; Fig 6; para [0051] lternatively, processor 302 may be configured to combine the first and second mode outputs and process the combined output—for example, the processor may spatially combine and process outputs differing with respect to one or more of wavelength range, polarization property, emission angle, and emission location. Thus, two or more different wavelengths, polarization properties, emission angles, and emission locations may be used in performing user authentication. Para [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Agrawal teaches the wearable device as explained for claim 1 above.
Agrawal fails to teach, execute the function for identifying the user based on identifying a shape of the eye using the image; as claimed.
Feng teaches the wearable device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to: execute the function for identifying the user based on identifying a shape of the eye using the image (para [0066] At 440 the tracking module 221 can determine eye and iris location in each of the NIR frame and the RGB frame. As described above, for each RGB and NIR frame, the tracking module 221 can determine pixels in each of the captured RGB and NIR images corresponding to a rectangular or other shaped region around the eye and a circular or elliptical region around the iris in some embodiments.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal with the authentication process as taught by Feng, because this will provide system for generating high resolution iris images and for detecting spoofs, enabling more reliable and secure authentication (Feng: para [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Agrawal teaches a method performed by a wearable device (para [0014] wearable computing device (e.g., head mounted display)), the method comprising: obtaining, by the wearable device, from a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) camera (Fig 1; para [0015] an image sensor 110 configured to capture light reflected from one or both irises of the user as a result of those irises being illuminated by the iris illuminator), first image data based on first light emitted from a plurality of LEDs (Fig 1; para [0021] FIG. 1 depicts an example in which iris illuminator 108 includes a first light source 108A and a second light source 108B that are spatially separated. First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example) using a first control data set among a plurality of control data sets for controlling the plurality of LEDs (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), obtaining, by the wearable device, from the DVS camera, second image data based on second light emitted from the plurality of LEDs using a second control data set among the plurality of control data sets (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; Para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), using first brightness data corresponding to the first light and second brightness data corresponding to the second light (para [0035] For implementations in which the first and second light sources are spatially separated, alternate driving of the light sources may mitigate iris glare, as each light source may produce glare spots at different locations due to their differing locations of light emission), converting, by the wearable device, the first image data and the second image data into an image (Fig 6; para [0070] At 626 of method 600, an iris authentication may optionally be performed based on a combination of the first and second mode outputs. Performing the iris authentication based on this combination may include, at 628 of method 600, combining first and second partial iris images and processing the combined iris image.).
Agrawal fails to teach, and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, executing by the wearable device, a function related to the eye; as claimed.
Feng teaches a method performed by a wearable device (para [0031]) comprising: and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, executing by the wearable device, a function related to the eye (para [0025] Pairs of visible light (RGB) and near-infrared (NIR) images can be captured by the iris authentication system for use in iris authentication, for example using an NIR LED flash to provide consistent NIR lighting. Continuous tracking can be provided by the multispectral iris authentication system to track the user's iris region in a number of images even when the relative distance and/or angle between the user's iris and the system camera change. Multiple images of the user's iris can be captured by the system in a relatively short period of time, for example as video frames at a rate around 30 frames per second (fps). The system can fuse these multiple images together to generate a high resolution iris image that can contain more detail of the iris structure and unique pattern than each individual images. Para [0055] If the output of the iris verification module 244 indicates a match, then the process 300 can transition to block 340 at which the authentication module 246 outputs an authentication pass indication. The authentication pass indication represents the determination that the imaged eye is a genuine eye as well as the determination that the imaged iris matches a stored template of an approved user iris. The authentication pass indication can be displayed to the user with information regarding the liveness score and feature matching in some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1A. The authentication pass indication can be used to permit user access to secure data, locations, accounts, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal with the authentication process as taught by Feng, because this will provide system for generating high resolution iris images and for detecting spoofs, enabling more reliable and secure authentication (Feng: para [0006]).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 13 which are method claims and are similar in scope to claims 2, 3 and 5; therefore claims 10, 11 and 13 are rejected same as claims 2, 3 and 5 as explained above.
Regarding claim 15, Agrawal teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wearable device (para [0014] wearable computing device (e.g., head mounted display)) individually or collectively, cause the wearable device to perform operations (para [0029] System 300 includes a processor 302, which may be configured to execute instructions held on a suitable storage machine (not shown)), the operations comprising: obtaining, by the wearable device, from a dynamic vision sensor (DVS) camera (Fig 1; para [0015] an image sensor 110 configured to capture light reflected from one or both irises of the user as a result of those irises being illuminated by the iris illuminator), first image data based on first light emitted from a plurality of LEDs (Fig 1; para [0021] FIG. 1 depicts an example in which iris illuminator 108 includes a first light source 108A and a second light source 108B that are spatially separated. First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example) using a first control data set among a plurality of control data sets for controlling the plurality of LEDs (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), obtaining, by the wearable device, from the DVS camera, second image data based on second light emitted from the plurality of LEDs using a second control data set among the plurality of control data sets (para [0021] First and second light sources 108A and 108B may be of any suitable type, such as light emitting diodes (LEDs), for example. In such a configuration, time-sequential image capture may include alternately driving the first and second light sources 108A and 108B and capturing one or more images for each alternation between the light sources, for example. In some cases, a given mode (i.e., source 108A being driven) will produce imagery of both irises. Para [0030] In some implementations, drive circuit 304 may be configured to drive iris illuminator 306 in a first mode and a second mode that each cause the iris or irises of a user to be illuminated differently. Operating in the first mode yields a first mode output at image sensor 308, while operating in the second mode yields a second mode output at the image sensor. Para [0033]; Para [0036] In some implementations, operating in the first mode causes iris illumination with light having a first range of wavelengths, while operating in the second mode causes iris illumination with light having a second range of wavelengths that differ from the first range of wavelengths.), using first brightness data corresponding to the first light and second brightness data corresponding to the second light (para [0035] For implementations in which the first and second light sources are spatially separated, alternate driving of the light sources may mitigate iris glare, as each light source may produce glare spots at different locations due to their differing locations of light emission), converting, by the wearable device, the first image data and the second image data into an image (Fig 6; para [0070] At 626 of method 600, an iris authentication may optionally be performed based on a combination of the first and second mode outputs. Performing the iris authentication based on this combination may include, at 628 of method 600, combining first and second partial iris images and processing the combined iris image.).
Agrawal fails to teach, and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, executing by the wearable device, a function related to the eye; as claimed.
Feng teaches a method performed by a wearable device (para [0031]) comprising: and based on identifying an eye of a user wearing the wearable device using the image, executing by the wearable device, a function related to the eye (para [0025] Pairs of visible light (RGB) and near-infrared (NIR) images can be captured by the iris authentication system for use in iris authentication, for example using an NIR LED flash to provide consistent NIR lighting. Continuous tracking can be provided by the multispectral iris authentication system to track the user's iris region in a number of images even when the relative distance and/or angle between the user's iris and the system camera change. Multiple images of the user's iris can be captured by the system in a relatively short period of time, for example as video frames at a rate around 30 frames per second (fps). The system can fuse these multiple images together to generate a high resolution iris image that can contain more detail of the iris structure and unique pattern than each individual images. Para [0055] If the output of the iris verification module 244 indicates a match, then the process 300 can transition to block 340 at which the authentication module 246 outputs an authentication pass indication. The authentication pass indication represents the determination that the imaged eye is a genuine eye as well as the determination that the imaged iris matches a stored template of an approved user iris. The authentication pass indication can be displayed to the user with information regarding the liveness score and feature matching in some embodiments, as depicted in FIG. 1A. The authentication pass indication can be used to permit user access to secure data, locations, accounts, and the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal with the authentication process as taught by Feng, because this will provide system for generating high resolution iris images and for detecting spoofs, enabling more reliable and secure authentication (Feng: para [0006]).
Regarding claims 16, 17 and 19 which are claims directed towards the non-transitory computer-readable medium and are similar in scope to claims 2, 3 and 5; therefore claims 16, 17 and 19 are rejected same as claims 2, 3 and 5 as explained above.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (2017/0091548) in view of Feng et al. (2016/0019420) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2021/0176383).
Regarding claim 4, Agrawal and Fend teaches the wearable device as explained for claim 1 above.
Agrawal and Feng fails to teach, cause the wearable device to: execute the function for identifying a gaze of the user corresponding to a position of the eye based on identifying the position of the eye using the image; as claimed.
Kim teaches a wearable device (para [0049]), cause the wearable device to: execute the function for identifying a gaze of the user corresponding to a position of the eye based on identifying the position of the eye using the image (para [0036] The eye tracking module 108 may be configured to detect at least one eye of a user in an image captured by the camera 104. The eye tracking module 108 may also be configured to determine information such as the eye's position, orientation, movement, gaze direction, and point of gaze, for eye tracking. para [0039] The light source 116 is configured to illuminate an object or scene being imaged. The light source 116 may comprise a light-emitting diode (LED) or other light source capable of emitting wavelengths of light in the IR spectrum (including but not limited to NIR or SWIR) and/or the visible spectrum. In some embodiments, the system 100B may include more than one light source 116. Further, the light source 116 may be disposed in a position different from that shown in FIG. 1B, and the light source 116 may be disposed under the display 102, in the same plane as the display 102, in the bezel of the display 102, or in any combination thereof. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal and Feng with the teachings of Kim, because this will provide system wherein enhanced eye tracking may improve a user's ability to interact with the display device 430 hands-free, and may be utilized in various applications involving, for example, virtual reality, augmented reality, and/or mixed reality. (Kim: para [0072]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18 which are similar in scope to claim 4; therefore claims 12 and 18 are rejected same as claim 4 as explained above.
Claim(s) 6, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (2017/0091548) in view of Feng et al. (2016/0019420) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Sztuk et al. (2015/0199559).
Regarding claim 6, Agrawal and Feng teaches the wearable device as explained for claim 1 above.
Agrawal and Feng fails to teach, wherein the plurality of control data sets include information indicating intensity of light emitted by each of the plurality of LEDs to identify the eye of the user wearing the wearable device; as claimed.
Sztuk teaches an eye tracking system comprising: wherein plurality of control data sets include information indicating intensity of light emitted by each of the plurality of LEDs to identify the eye of the user wearing the wearable device (para [0019] An image of the user's eyes or face, captured by one or more front-facing cameras on or coupled to the computing device, may be analyzed using computer-vision algorithms, such as, for example, eye tracking algorithms and gaze detection algorithms. For example, the captured images may be processed to extract information relating to features of the user's eyes or face. Para [0055] In some example embodiments, the eye tracking software detects one or more corneal reflections produced by the one or more light sources 230 and adjusts the intensity of each of the light sources 230 based on the intensity level of the one or more corneal reflections in the image in order to improve detection in subsequent images. In some example embodiments, the eye tracking software combines the face and eye information with information provided by an ambient light sensor to adjust the intensity of the light sources 230.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Agrawal and Feng with the teachings of Sztuk, because this will provide system wherein adjusting attributes such as the camera exposure time and/or the intensity and illumination interval of the light sources based on such parameters may improve detection of a user's features, such as a user's face, eye region, or eye features, in situations where there may be lighting issue. (Sztuk: para [0025]).
Regarding claims 14 and 20 which are similar in scope to claim 6; therefore claims 14 and 20 are rejected same as claim 6 as explained above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “in another state distinct from a state in which the eye is identified using the image, obtain, from the DVS camera, third image data based on third light emitted from at least one of the plurality of LEDs using a third data set among the plurality of control data sets.” in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624