DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0312287) in view of Nagayama et al. (U.S. Patent 5,471,290), and further in view of Kowase et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0368054).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata discloses (Figs. 1-9) a sheet feeding control method for controlling a sheet feeding device (as shown in Fig. 1; see pars. [0033]-[0036], [0044], etc.), comprising:
a feeding mechanism having a feeding rotating body 12 [0036] that contacts an upper surface of a topmost sheet of a stack of sheets [0036]-[0039], and configured to execute a feeding process of feeding each sheet from the stack of sheets to a conveying path by rotating the feeding rotating body 12 [0036]-[0039];
a sheet detecting device “S” [0061] configured to detect each sheet [0061] at a position on a downstream side of the feeding rotating body 12 in a sheet feeding direction (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3); and
a timing device 18a (control unit: [0067]) configured to measure an elapsed time from a time when the feeding process for each sheet is started [0067] to a time when each sheet is detected by the sheet detecting device “S” [0061]/[0067];
the sheet feeding control method comprising:
a control device 18a measures a preset reference feeding time (see pars. [0067] and [0087]) and a target measurement time (detection time: [0067] and [0087]) measured by the timing device 18a for the target sheet fed by the feeding process [0067]-[0069]; and
the control device 18a adjusting a feeding start timing (paper feed start timing: see Fig. 9; [0108]-[0109] and [0128]) for causing the feeding mechanism to start the feeding process for the next sheet following the target sheet in accordance with the positional deviation amount of the target sheet (see Fig. 9; [0108]-[0109] and [0128]).
Shibata does not disclose the control device derives a positional deviation amount of a target sheet from an initial reference position at a time when the feeding process for the target sheet is started, based on a preset reference feeding time and a target measurement time measured by the timing device for the target sheet fed by the feeding process.
Nagayama discloses (Fig. 20) the control device derives a positional deviation amount ΔX (col. 11, lines 44-53) of a target sheet from an initial reference position at a time when the feeding process for the target sheet is started (col. 11, lines 44-53), based on a preset reference feeding time (col. 11, lines 44-53) and a target measurement time measured by the timing device for the target sheet fed by the feeding process (col. 11, lines 44-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Shibata’s method so that the control device derives a positional deviation amount of a target sheet from an initial reference position at a time when the feeding process for the target sheet is started, based on a preset reference feeding time and a target measurement time measured by the timing device for the target sheet fed by the feeding process, as taught by Nagayama.
Such a modification would be the application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Shibata also does not disclose the control device adjusts a time from the time when the target sheet is detected by the sheet detecting device to a time when the feeding process for the next sheet is started as the feeding start timing for the next sheet.
Kowase discloses (Figs. 1 and 11) the control device adjusts a time (Fig. 11: steps S406-S408) from the time when the target sheet is detected by the sheet detecting device 40 [0134] to a time when the feeding process for the next sheet is started (i.e. normal sheet interval: [0134]; Fig. 11) as the feeding start timing for the next sheet [0134]-[0135].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Shibata’s method so that the control device adjusts a time from the time when the target sheet is detected by the sheet detecting device to a time when the feeding process for the next sheet is started as the feeding start timing for the next sheet, as taught by Kowase.
Such a modification would ensure the optimum sheet feeding interval and print speed.
Regarding claim 7, Shibata discloses (Figs. 1-9) a sheet feeding device (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3) comprising:
a feeding mechanism having a feeding rotating body 12 [0036] that contacts an upper surface of a topmost sheet of a stack of sheets [0036]-[0039], and configured to execute a feeding process of feeding each sheet from the stack of sheets to a conveying path by rotating the feeding rotating body 12 [0036]-[0039];
a sheet detecting device “S” [0061] configured to detect each sheet [0061] at a position on a downstream side of the feeding rotating body 12 in a sheet feeding direction (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3); and
a timing device 18a (control unit: [0067]) configured to measure an elapsed time from a time when the feeding process for each sheet is started [0067] to a time when each sheet is detected by the sheet detecting device “S” [0061]/[0067]; and
a control device 18a configured to achieve the sheet feeding control method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 8, Shibata discloses (Figs. 1-9) an image forming apparatus 1 [0033], comprising:
the sheet feeding device according to claim 7 (see above); and
a printing device 1 configured to form an image on each sheet fed by the sheet feeding device [0033]-[0036] (see Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852