Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 111 and 131-132 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the combination of Fukazawa and Luo fails to teach “receiving a display object interaction trigger signal associated with impending interaction between the avatar and the virtual display object; in response to the display object interaction trigger signal, changing the first viewing state to a second viewing state in which the virtual display object is caused to be displayed on the virtual event attendee's display device from a second viewing state causing presentation in a non-isometric object-focused point of view” as cited in claim 111 (p. 9-11 of Remarks).
Examiner notices that Fukazawa discloses “Note that the talking table is an example of a virtual object disposed at a communication point set at an any place in the virtual space as a mark of a place where a plurality of users gathers for an interaction in the virtual space” in [0053]; “The user can operate the user avatar to enter the stadium 430 and enjoy the game in the stadium 430. Furthermore, the user can move the user avatar into the field (here, in the soccer coat,) and watch the movement of each player from various angles nearby. The content distribution server 306 can also synchronize the timing of the game content data reproduced in each client terminal 10 (the playback time of the game reproduced in the stadium 430)” in [0110]; “The avatar mode switching icon 825 is an operation button for changing the viewing mode of the game reproduction to the avatar mode” in [0207]. Here, the user operates the avatar to enter the stadium and move avatar into a field, which can be interpreted as a display object interaction trigger signal associated with avatar interaction with virtual space to move from first virtual space to second virtual space. Fukazawa doesn’t indicate every virtual scene is displayed in a isometric view. Thus, the most of virtual space is displayed in a non-isometric view. Luo further discloses “First, the first virtual camera is added to the virtual space and typically positioned directly above the virtual space, looking downward and displaying the virtual space scene content in an isometric view” in [0050]. Here, at least one display of virtual space in Fukazawa’s embodiment can be modified to be in an isometric view, for example, an initial whole view of the field can be a isometric view. Therefore, the above limitation can be read by the combination of Fukazawa and Luo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 111-121 and 123-132 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukazawa et al. (WO 2024/101001 A1) in view of Luo (US 2025/0370777 A1).
As to Claim 111, Fukazawa teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for generating a virtual event space visualization for media consumption in a hybrid 2D/3D manner (Fukazawa, [0016]), the operations comprising:
receiving virtual event space data including a definition of a virtual presentation location and at least one virtual display object associated with the virtual presentation location, wherein the at least one virtual display object is configured to display dynamic content (Fukazawa discloses “The virtual space management server 200 constructs (generates) and manages a virtual space (VR) in which a virtual object is disposed, and provides virtual space information to one or more client terminals 10 communicably connected via a network 40… Specifically, each client terminal 10 arranges the virtual object on the basis of the map information regarding the virtual space, and draws the virtual space video from the user viewpoint (user avatar viewpoint)” in [0016]);
rendering an event space based on the virtual event space data; rendering in the event space an avatar associated with a virtual event attendee (Fukazawa discloses “At the time of login to the virtual space, the user avatar is disposed at a predetermined position in the virtual space (for example, the start area 410 illustrated in Fig. 10). The virtual space processing unit 121 of the client terminal 10 generates a video including the user avatar in the view angle as the video from the user viewpoint, and displays the video on the display unit 150” in [0092], see also Fig 9);
when the avatar is positioned in the event space at a location distinct from the virtual presentation location, rendering portions of the virtual event space distinct from the virtual presentation location in a first viewing state, causing the event space to be presented from an isometric point of view on a display device of the virtual event attendee (Fukazawa discloses “Fig. 21 is a diagram illustrating another example of the talking room screen according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As in a talking room screen 560 of Fig. 21, only a picked-up topic window 561 may be displayed in a large size, and a text chat window 562 may be displayed” in [0164]; “When displaying the reproduced game on the display unit 150, the client terminal 10 can display a video from an any camera position among a large number of camera positions. The camera position may be selected by the user or may be automatically selected by the client terminal 10” in [0196]. Here, an isometric point of view can be one embodiment of rendered virtual space. For example, Luo discloses “First, the first virtual camera is added to the virtual space and typically positioned directly above the virtual space, looking downward and displaying the virtual space scene content in an isometric view” in [0050]);
receiving a display object interaction trigger signal associated with impending interaction between the avatar and the virtual display object; in response to the display object interaction trigger signal, changing the first viewing state to a second viewing state in which the virtual display object is caused to be displayed on the virtual event attendee’s display device from a second viewing state causing presentation in a non-isometric object-focused point of view (Fukazawa discloses “Note that the talking table is an example of a virtual object disposed at a communication point set at an any place in the virtual space as a mark of a place where a plurality of users gathers for an interaction in the virtual space” in [0053]; “The user can operate the user avatar to enter the stadium 430 and enjoy the game in the stadium 430. Furthermore, the user can move the user avatar into the field (here, in the soccer coat,) and watch the movement of each player from various angles nearby. The content distribution server 306 can also synchronize the timing of the game content data reproduced in each client terminal 10 (the playback time of the game reproduced in the stadium 430)” in [0110]; “The avatar mode switching icon 825 is an operation button for changing the viewing mode of the game reproduction to the avatar mode” in [0207]; see also [0151, 0159] and Fig 29);
maintaining the non-isometric object-focused point of view while the avatar interacts with the at least one virtual display object; and in response to receiving a reversion signal corresponding to an intended cessation viewing the virtual display object, reverting the second viewing state to the first viewing state (Fukazawa discloses “The camera position switching icon 824 is an operation button for switching a large number of camera positions described with reference to Fig. 29. For example, the user can switch the video of the game reproduction UI 820 to the video of the camera position corresponding to the tapped icon by tapping an any icon among the Basic, Bird's eye, GK, and Shooter icons included in the camera position switching icon 824” in [0206]; “When displaying the reproduced game on the display unit 150, the client terminal 10 can display a video from an any camera position among a large number of camera positions. The camera position may be selected by the user or may be automatically selected by the client terminal 10” [0196].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Fukazawa with the teaching of Luo so as to display the virtual space scene content in an isometric view (Luo, [0050]).
As to Claim 112, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operations further comprise in response to the display object interaction trigger signal causing the avatar associated with the virtual attendee to move towards a viewing location in proximity of the virtual presentation location (Fukazawa discloses “When the user avatar approaches the talking table 600, the virtual space management server 200 transmits, to the client terminal 10, information regarding room entry selection for the user to select whether or not to enter the talking room associated with the talking table 600” in [0121]; “As another example, when the user avatar approaches the talking table 600 within a certain distance, the virtual space processing unit 121 may change the disclosure level of the state in the talking room according to the liking/preference information regarding the user” in [0134].)
As to Claim 113, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operations further comprise receiving the dynamic content to be displayed by the at least one virtual display object; and rendering the at least one virtual display object displaying the received dynamic content using the isometric point of view or the non-isometric object-focused point of view (Fukazawa discloses “The content incorporated in the virtual space is, for example, a moving image displayed on a large display (virtual object) disposed in the virtual space. Furthermore, the content incorporated in the virtual space is, for example, a 3D video displayed in a predetermined field in the virtual space” in [0052], see also [[0157,0170].)
As to Claim 114, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the non-isometric object-focused point of view corresponds to a first person point of view from a location different from that of the avatar relative to the virtual display object (Fukazawa discloses “Furthermore, the user can move the user avatar into the field (here, in the soccer coat,) and watch the movement of each player from various angles nearby” in [0110]; “A display screen 530 illustrated in Fig. 12 is an example of a video from the user's line-of-sight when the user avatar moves to the inside of the bar 440” in [0114].)
As to Claim 115, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein virtual event space data further includes at least one virtual non-interactive object and the operations further comprise rendering the event space, including the at least one virtual non-interactive object, using the isometric point of view (Fukazawa discloses “Note that the participation/non-participation as the audience may be set at the time of creating the talking room” in [0122], see also Fig 23-26.)
As to Claim 116, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the non-isometric object-focused point of view corresponds to a view uncorrelated to the avatar location (Fukazawa, Fig 29.)
As to Claim 117, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the virtual event space data further includes at least one virtual object and wherein the operations further comprise rendering the at least one virtual object in the event space using the isometric point of view; receiving from the virtual event attendee an object interaction trigger signal; and causing the avatar to perform a movement action corresponding to a movement action predefined for the at least one virtual object (Fukazawa discloses “Next, the virtual space management server 200a specifies corresponding predetermined performance according to the analysis result of the game development acquired from the event coordination server 308 at appropriate times and the reactions of the plurality of users, and instructs each client terminal 10 to immediately carry out the performance in the virtual space… As a result, in the present system, the users who gather in the stadium 430 existing in the virtual space can enjoy watching the game in the virtual space by experiencing performance in the stadium 430 with other users according to the game development and reactions of a plurality of users… The user may view the performance in the stadium 430 from the user viewpoint in the virtual space by the client application activated on the client terminal 10” in [0170]; “For example, the virtual space processing unit 121 causes the NPC to perform a cheering emote when the teammate player is on the offensive, shooting or free kicking. In addition, when the teammate player scores a goal, the virtual space processing unit 121 causes the NPC to perform a joy emote” in [0190]. Luo teaches isometric view in [0050].)
As to Claim 118, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operations further comprise rendering in the event space a plurality of avatars associated with a plurality of virtual event attendees, and wherein the non-isometric object-focused point of view of the virtual display object is common to each of the plurality of virtual event attendees (Fukazawa, Fig 20-21, 23-28.)
As to Claim 119, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operation further comprise augmenting the event space with a chatroom user interface element; and in response to the at least one virtual event attendee interacting with the chatroom user interface element augmenting the event space with a chatroom configured for communication between a plurality of virtual attendees; and wherein when the non-isometric object-focused point of view is used augmenting the event space with a chatroom includes triggering a camera associated with the non-isometric object focused point of view to zoom out so as to render the chatroom and the at least one virtual display object simultaneously visible (Fukazawa discloses “A talking table server 307 manages a talking room (communication room) associated with a talking table (virtual object) disposed at an any place in the virtual space. In the talking room, each user can have a conversation using one or more different types of communication means (for example, text chat and voice chat)… Note that the talking table is an example of a virtual object disposed at a communication point set at an any place in the virtual space as a mark of a place where a plurality of users gathers for an interaction in the virtual space. Any virtual object serving as a mark may be disposed at the communication point, and may be, for example, a chair, a pole, a parasol, a stage, or the like in addition to the table” in [0053]; “When the user enters the talking room, the virtual space management server 200 may transmit, to the client terminal 10, a conversation (for example, voice chat information and text chat information) in the talking room, a video (for example, a state of the user avatar illustrated in Fig. 20) in the talking room, a video shared (viewed) in the talking room, or an agenda in the talking room” in [0128]; “Furthermore, the user can reduce or enlarge the video of the virtual space by pinching in or pinching out an any place (a place other than that of the operation button) on the display screen 520 with two fingers” in [0100]; “As in a talking room screen 560 of Fig. 21, only a picked-up topic window 561 may be displayed in a large size” in [0164].)
As to Claim 120, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operations further comprise receiving, from the virtual attendee, via an interactive interface a selection of an icon reflective of an emotion; and causing one or more representations of the selected icon to simultaneously move along one or more trajectories in a manner associated with the avatar associated with the at least one virtual attendee (Fukazawa discloses “An emote icon 526 is a button for displaying an emote menu screen. The user can select an any emote from the emote menu screen displayed by tapping the emote icon 526, and can operate a facial expression, a pose, a gesture, and the like of the user avatar U1” in [0103]; “Furthermore, in each user avatar, a facial expression, a pose, a gesture, or the like (applause, cheers, greetings, a gaze pose, a gesture of depression, and the like) is controlled according to the emote selected by the user” in [0161]; “Furthermore, the virtual space management server 200a may set the number of reactions of the user as excitement, and increase the size and the number of balloons to be blown to the field according to the magnitude of the excitement” in [0174].)
As to Claim 121, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 120, wherein the one or more representations of the selected icon in the first viewing state is different from the one or more representations s of the selected icon in the second viewing state (Fukazawa discloses “The camera position switching icon 824 is an operation button for switching a large number of camera positions described with reference to Fig. 29. For example, the user can switch the video of the game reproduction UI 820 to the video of the camera position corresponding to the tapped icon by tapping an any icon among the Basic, Bird's eye, GK, and Shooter icons included in the camera position switching icon 824” in [0206].)
As to Claim 123, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 121, wherein virtual attendees in the first viewing state are enabled to see the one or more representations of the selected icons of virtual attendees in the second viewing state (Fukazawa, Fig 30-34. Luo, Fig 2.)
As to Claim 124, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 121, wherein the one or more representations of the selected icons presented on the display device of the virtual attendee when in the second viewing state are different from the one or more representations of the selected icons presented on display devices of other virtual attendees when in the first viewing state (Fukazawa discloses “Furthermore, as another example, the virtual space processing unit 121 may highlight the talking table 600 in which another user estimated to have liking/preference matching with the user participates” in [0136]; “The virtual space management server 200 may perform control to display the highlighted video of the game taking place in the real space on the display 602 (display object) as the information regarding the event in the real space. As the highlighted video of the game, for example, a goal scene, a foul scene, or the like is assumed” in [0142].)
As to Claim 125, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the operations further comprise in response to the virtual attendee engaging with a content displayed on the virtual display object, causing a visual indicator to be displayed in a manner associated with the avatar associated with the virtual attendee, the visual indicator conveying relevant information (Fukazawa discloses “The information regarding the user operation may include operations related to a user avatar movement, such as moving and jumping of the user avatar, and operations related to an emotional expression of the user avatar, such as emotes that cause the user avatar to perform a pose, a gesture, or the like, and a stamp displayed above the head of the user avatar” in [0039]; “Each client terminal 10 performs bidirectional communication with the virtual space management server 200a to transmit and receives an emote, a stamp, and the like in real time. This controls the emote and the stamp of each user avatar displayed in the talking room in real time” in [0157].)
As to Claim 126, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein the virtual display object is associated with at least one other virtual attendee acting as a presenter (Fukazawa discloses “The information regarding the room entry selection is information indicating that the user can enter (participate in) the room in either form of a speaker or an audience. When the user operates the room entry (participation) request in the client terminal 10, the user can select whether to participate in either form of a speaker or an audience” in [0121].)
As to Claim 127, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 126, wherein the presenter is identifiable as being located in vicinity of an object placed near the virtual display object (Fukazawa discloses “When the user avatar approaches the talking table 600, the virtual space management server 200 transmits, to the client terminal 10, information regarding room entry selection for the user to select whether or not to enter the talking room associated with the talking table 600” in [0121].)
As to Claim 128, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 127, wherein the object is a podium and the presenter is located behind the podium (Fukazawa discloses “Note that the talking table is an example of a virtual object disposed at a communication point set at an any place in the virtual space as a mark of a place where a plurality of users gathers for an interaction in the virtual space. Any virtual object serving as a mark may be disposed at the communication point, and may be, for example, a chair, a pole, a parasol, a stage, or the like in addition to the table” in [0053]. It is obvious that the avatar can be located behind the table.)
As to Claim 129, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 126, wherein portions of the virtual event space are rendered in the first or the second viewing state on the display device of the presenter, while presenting (Fukazawa, Fig 29-34. Luo, Fig 2.)
As to Claim 130, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 111, wherein when multiple instances of the event space are created, and content is presented on the virtual display object, by a presenter associated with a presenter avatar, the same presenter avatar is presented across all instances (Fukazawa, Fig 23-28.)
Claim 131 recites similar limitations as claim 111 but in a method form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 111 is applied.
Claim 132 recites similar limitations as claim 111 but in a system form. Therefore, the same rationale used for claim 111 is applied.
Claim 122 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukazawa in view of Luo and Jung et al. (US 2024/0362743 A1).
As to Claim 122, Fukazawa in view of Luo teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 121. The combination of Jung further teaches wherein in the second viewing state, the one or more trajectories are configured such that the selected icons are partially and momentarily obstructing the virtual display device (Fukazawa discloses animation in [0026]. Jung further discloses “wherein the object comprises an animated virtual object, wherein identifying the initial location of the object in the image instead comprises identifying an initial location of the animated virtual object based on an animation behavior of the animated virtual object…” in [0111]; “Example 5 includes the method of example 4, wherein the animation behavior describes a predefined motion path of the virtual object” in [0112].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Fukazawa and Luo with the teaching of Jung so as to animate an object based on a predefined motion path (Jung, [0112]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Weiming He/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611