DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/815,757 (now U.S. Patent 12,499,841) filed on 08/26/2024, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/748,926 (now U.S. Patent 12,073,791) filed on 05/19/2022 that claims priority under 35 U.S.C. §119 to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2021-0149948 filed on 11/3/2021 in the Korean Intellectual Property Office. On 01/06/2026, an electronic copy of this document was retrieved by the USPTO, and thus on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Drawing Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), while no new matter should be entered:
Claims 3 and 13 each include wherein the first output unit comprises: a second pull-down transistor connected between the second output terminal and the third power input terminal, a gate of the second pull-down transistor being connected to the second node, however the figures do not depict the first output unit (e.g., FIG. 4: 230) including a second pull-down transistor having these connections. Instead, the figures depict just a first pull-down transistor (e.g., FIG. 4: T21).
Specification Objection
4. The specification is objected to because the title is not descriptive. Correction is needed. Examiner suggests by way of example the following title: “EMISSION CONTROL DRIVER INCLUDES A STAGE HAVING A FIRST CONTROLLER, A SECOND CONTROLLER, AND A FIRST OUTPUT UNIT”.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
6. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 at line 2 includes “the second node” that lacks antecedent basis. This grounds of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “a second node”. Note that claim 2 at line 7 includes “a second node”, however claim 7 does not depend upon claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 at line 2 includes “the second node” that lacks antecedent basis. This grounds of rejection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “a second node”. Note that claim 12 at line 7 includes “a second node”, however claim 17 does not depend upon claim 12. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0018245 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 1, Park discloses a driver(110)(FIGs. 1, 4-5; ¶¶0050, 0059, 0081, 0094) comprising a stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094),
the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) comprising:
a first transistor(TR3_1 and/or TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) connected between an input terminal(IN)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) configured to receive a start signal (FIG. 5: TR3_2, IN; ¶0100) and a first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), a gate(TR3_2’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) being connected to a clock terminal(terminal directly adjacent to CK)(FIG. 5; ¶0097 – TR3_2’s gate terminal is coupling connected to the terminal directly adjacent to CK) configured to receive a clock signal (FIG. 5: terminal directly adjacent to CK; ¶0097);
a first output unit(TR1, TR10, TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0103-0104) connected between a first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) configured to receive a first voltage(CKV HIGH to vertical wiring directly above TR1)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104) configured to receive a second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090), and configured to output an output signal (FIG. 5: TR1, OUT; ¶0096) in response to a voltage level of the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TR1; ¶0101); and
a second output unit(TR2, TR12, TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0105) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105) configured to receive a third voltage(V2=VSS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0090), and configured to output a carry signal(CR)(FIG. 5: TR2; ¶0096) in response to the voltage level of the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TRT2; ¶0096, 0101), and
wherein the second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090) is lower than the first voltage(CKV HIGH to vertical wiring directly above TR1)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098 – inherently CKV HIGH is > V1 for CKV high signal to travel down from CK to OUT), and the third voltage(V2=VSS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0090) is lower than the second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090).
As to claim 2, Park discloses the driver of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the first output unit(TR1, TR10, TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0103-0104) comprises:
a first pull-up transistor(TR1)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098 – TR1 pulls OUT to CKV HIGH voltage) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a first output terminal(OUT)(FIG. 5; ¶0096), a gate(TR1’s gate terminal)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098) of the first pull-up transistor(TR1)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100); and
a first pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) connected between the first output terminal(OUT)(FIG. 5; ¶0096) and the second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104), a gate(TR10’s gate terminal or TR11’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) of the first pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) being connected to a second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108).
As to claim 5, Park discloses the driver of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) comprises a first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and a second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) which are connected to each other in series (FIG. 5: TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶0100).
As to claim 7, Park discloses the driver of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) further comprises:
a second transistor(one of: TR12 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶0105) connected between the second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108) and the third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105), a gate of the second transistor(one of: TR12 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶0105) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TR1; ¶0101 – the gate of one of TR12 and TR13 is coupling connected to NQ).
As to claim 8, Park discloses the driver of claim 1, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) further comprises:
a reset transistor(TR14_1 and/or TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) connected between the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104 - TR14_1 and/or TR14_2 are coupling connected between NQ and the wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11), a gate of the reset transistor(gate of TR14_1 and/or gate of TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) being connected to a reset terminal(RE)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) configured to receive a reset signal(RST)(FIGs. 4-6: RE; ¶¶0092, 0114).
As to claim 9, Park discloses the driver of claim 8, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the reset transistor(TR14_1 and/or TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) comprises a first sub transistor(TR14_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) and a second sub transistor(TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114 which are connected to each other in series (FIG. 5: TR14_1 and TR14_2; ¶0114).
As to claim 11, Park discloses an electronic apparatus(100)(FIG. 1; ¶0050) comprising:
a controller(SC)(FIG. 1; ¶0056) outputting a driving control signal based on signals received from an external device (FIG. 1: SC; ¶0056-0057); and
a driver(110)(FIGs. 1, 4-5; ¶¶0050, 0059, 0081, 0094) comprising a stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) outputting an output signal (FIG. 5: TR1, OUT; ¶0096) based on the driving control signal (FIG. 1: SC; ¶0056-0057),
the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) comprising:
a first transistor(TR3_1 and/or TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) connected between an input terminal(IN)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) configured to receive a start signal (FIG. 5: TR3_2, IN; ¶0100) and a first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), a gate(TR3_2’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) being connected to a clock terminal(terminal directly adjacent to CK)(FIG. 5; ¶0097 – TR3_2’s gate terminal is coupling connected to the terminal directly adjacent to CK) configured to receive a clock signal (FIG. 5: terminal directly adjacent to CK; ¶0097);
a first output unit(TR1, TR10, TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0103-0104) connected between a first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) configured to receive a first voltage(CKV HIGH to vertical wiring directly above TR1)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104) configured to receive a second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090), and configured to output an output signal (FIG. 5: TR1, OUT; ¶0096) in response to a voltage level of the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TR1; ¶0101); and
a second output unit(TR2, TR12, TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0105) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105) configured to receive a third voltage(V2=VSS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0090), and configured to output a carry signal(CR)(FIG. 5: TR2; ¶0096) in response to the voltage level of the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TRT2; ¶0096, 0101), and
wherein the second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090) is lower than the first voltage(CKV HIGH to vertical wiring directly above TR1)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098 – inherently CKV HIGH is > V1 for CKV high signal to travel down from CK to OUT), and the third voltage(V2=VSS2)(FIG. 5; ¶0090) is lower than the second voltage(V1=VSS1)(FIG. 5; ¶0090).
As to claim 12, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the first output unit(TR1, TR10, TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0103-0104) comprises:
a first pull-up transistor(TR1)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098 – TR1 pulls OUT to CKV HIGH voltage) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a first output terminal(OUT)(FIG. 5; ¶0096), a gate(TR1’s gate terminal)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098) of the first pull-up transistor(TR1)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, OUT; ¶¶0097-0098) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100); and
a first pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) connected between the first output terminal(OUT)(FIG. 5; ¶0096) and the second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104), a gate(TR10’s gate terminal or TR11’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) of the first pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) being connected to a second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108).
As to claim 15, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) comprises a first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and a second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) which are connected to each other in series (FIG. 5: TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶0100).
As to claim 17, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) further comprises:
a second transistor(one of: TR12 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶0105) connected between the second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108) and the third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105), a gate of the second transistor(one of: TR12 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶0105) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5: TR1; ¶0101 – the gate of one of TR12 and TR13 is coupling connected to NQ).
As to claim 18, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 11, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage(SRC3)(FIGs. 4-5; ¶¶0082, 0094) further comprises:
a reset transistor(TR14_1 and/or TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) connected between the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second power input terminal(wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103-0104 - TR14_1 and/or TR14_2 are coupling connected between NQ and the wiring providing V1 to TR1 via TR10 and/or TR11), a gate of the reset transistor(gate of TR14_1 and/or gate of TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) being connected to a reset terminal(RE)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) configured to receive a reset signal(RST)(FIGs. 4-6: RE; ¶¶0092, 0114).
As to claim 19, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 18, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the reset transistor(TR14_1 and/or TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) comprises a first sub transistor(TR14_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) and a second sub transistor(TR14_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0114) which are connected to each other in series (FIG. 5: TR14_1 and TR14_2; ¶0114).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 6, 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0018245 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0168162 A1 to Feng et al. (“Feng”).
As to claim 6, Park discloses the driver of claim 5, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage further comprises: the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and an intermediate node (node between TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100).
Park does not expressly disclose a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor, a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node.
Feng discloses a leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) connected between a power input terminal(terminal directly connected to VDD)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and an intermediate node(node between M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first sub transistor(M1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and the second sub transistor(M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first transistor(M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097), a gate(M1_c’s gate terminal)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) being connected to the first node(N1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Feng to provide a driver that prevents leakage current (¶0097), which can cause the driver to operate improperly.
Park and Feng teach a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor (Park: FIGs. 4-6: node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node, node between TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098, 0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c, terminal directly connected to VDD, node between M1 and M1_b; ¶0097), a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node (Park: FIG. 5: NQ; ¶0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c’s gate terminal, N1; ¶0097).
As to claim 10, Park discloses the driver of claim 9, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage further comprises: the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and an intermediate node (node between TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100).
Park does not expressly disclose a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor, a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node.
Feng discloses a leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) connected between a power input terminal(terminal directly connected to VDD)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and an intermediate node(node between M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first sub transistor(M1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and the second sub transistor(M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first transistor(M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097), a gate(M1_c’s gate terminal)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) being connected to the first node(N1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Feng to provide a driver that prevents leakage current (¶0097), which can cause the driver to operate improperly.
Park and Feng teach a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor (Park: FIGs. 4-6: node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node, node between TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098, 0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c, terminal directly connected to VDD, node between M1 and M1_b; ¶0097), a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node (Park: FIG. 5: NQ; ¶0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c’s gate terminal, N1; ¶0097).
As to claim 16, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 15, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage further comprises: the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and an intermediate node (node between TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100).
Park does not expressly disclose a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor, a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node.
Feng discloses a leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) connected between a power input terminal(terminal directly connected to VDD)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and an intermediate node(node between M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first sub transistor(M1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and the second sub transistor(M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first transistor(M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097), a gate(M1_c’s gate terminal)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) being connected to the first node(N1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Feng to provide an electronic apparatus having a driver that prevents leakage current (¶0097), which can cause the driver to operate improperly.
Park and Feng teach a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor (Park: FIGs. 4-6: node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node, node between TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098, 0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c, terminal directly connected to VDD, node between M1 and M1_b; ¶0097), a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node (Park: FIG. 5: NQ; ¶0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c’s gate terminal, N1; ¶0097).
As to claim 20, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 19, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the stage further comprises: the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and an intermediate node (node between TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first sub transistor(TR3_1)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) and the second sub transistor(TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100) of the first transistor(TR3_1 and TR3_2)(FIG. 5; ¶0100), the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100).
Park does not expressly disclose a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor, a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node.
Feng discloses a leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) connected between a power input terminal(terminal directly connected to VDD)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and an intermediate node(node between M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first sub transistor(M1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) and the second sub transistor(M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the first transistor(M1 and M1_b)(FIG. 8; ¶0097), a gate(M1_c’s gate terminal)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) of the leakage control transistor(M1_c)(FIG. 8; ¶0097) being connected to the first node(N1)(FIG. 8; ¶0097).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park with Feng to provide an electronic apparatus having a driver that prevents leakage current (¶0097), which can cause the driver to operate improperly.
Park and Feng teach a leakage control transistor connected between the first power input terminal and an intermediate node of the first sub transistor and the second sub transistor of the first transistor (Park: FIGs. 4-6: node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node, node between TR3_1 and TR3_2; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098, 0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c, terminal directly connected to VDD, node between M1 and M1_b; ¶0097), a gate of the leakage control transistor being connected to the first node (Park: FIG. 5: NQ; ¶0100; Feng: FIG. 8: M1_c’s gate terminal, N1; ¶0097).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
13. The following is examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the claimed invention is directed to:
Dependent claim 3 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first output unit(FIG. 4: 230) comprises: a second pull-up transistor(FIG. 4: T21) connected between the first power input terminal(FIG. 4: V1) and a second output terminal(FIG. 4: Out[k]), a gate(FIG. 4: T21’s gate terminal) of the second pull-up transistor(FIG. 4: T21) being connected to the first node(FIG. 4: QB); and1 a second pull-down transistor connected between the second output terminal and the third power input terminal, a gate of the second pull-down transistor being connected to the second node”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0018245 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 3, Park discloses the driver of claim 2, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the second output unit(TR2, TR12, TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0105) comprises:
a second pull-up transistor(TR2)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098 – TR2 pulls up CR to CKV HIGH) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a second output terminal(CR)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096-0097), a gate(TR2’s gate terminal)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098) of the second pull-up transistor(TR2)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100); and
a second pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) connected between the second output terminal(CR)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096-0097) and the third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105), a gate of the second pull-down transistor(TR10’s gate terminal or TR11’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) being connected to the second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108).
Park does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Dependent claim 13 identifies the distinct features: “wherein the first output unit(FIG. 4: 230) comprises: a second pull-up transistor(FIG. 4: T21) connected between the first power input terminal(FIG. 4: V1) and a second output terminal(FIG. 4: Out[k]), a gate(FIG. 4: T21’s gate terminal) of the second pull-up transistor(FIG. 4: T21) being connected to the first node(FIG. 4: QB); and2 a second pull-down transistor connected between the second output terminal and the third power input terminal, a gate of the second pull-down transistor being connected to the second node”, with all other limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0018245 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”), either singularly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the above underlined features associated with other features of this claim.
As to claim 13, Park discloses the electronic apparatus of claim 12, as applied above.
Park further discloses wherein the second output unit(TR2, TR12, TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096, 0105) comprises:
a second pull-up transistor(TR2)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098 – TR2 pulls up CR to CKV HIGH) connected between the first power input terminal(node connected to both the vertical wiring directly above TR1 providing CK voltage CKV and the horizontal wiring to the right of this node)(FIGs. 4-6; ¶¶0089, 0097-0098) and a second output terminal(CR)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096-0097), a gate(TR2’s gate terminal)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098) of the second pull-up transistor(TR2)(FIGs. 5-6: CK, CKV HIGH, CR; ¶¶0096-0098) being connected to the first node(NQ)(FIG. 5; ¶0100); and
a second pull-down transistor(TR10 or TR11)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) connected between the second output terminal(CR)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0096-0097) and the third power input terminal(wiring providing V2 to TR2 via TR12 and/or TR13)(FIG. 5: ¶¶0090, 0103, 0105), a gate of the second pull-down transistor(TR10’s gate terminal or TR11’s gate terminal)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103-0104) being connected to the second node(one of: node between TR10 and the gates of TR9_1 and TR9_2, node between the gates of TR11 and TR12, node between gates of TR10 and TR13)(FIG. 5; ¶¶0103, 0108).
Park does not disclose the above underlined limitations.
Other Relevant Prior Art
14. Other relevant prior art includes:
U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0116920 A1 Kwon et al. (“Kwon”)
As to claim 1, Kwon discloses a driver(150)(FIG. 2; ¶0050) comprising a stage(210-n)(FIG. 3; ¶0050),
the stage(210-n)(FIG. 3; ¶0050) comprising:
a first transistor(M1)(FIG. 3; ¶0057) connected between an input terminal(wiring between M19 and M1)(FIG. 3; ¶0057102) configured to receive a start signal(EM[n] signal)(FIG. 3: M1; ¶0057) and a first node(N1)(FIG. 3; ¶0054), a gate(M1’s gate terminal)(FIG. 3; ¶0057) of the first transistor(M1)(FIG. 3; ¶0057) being connected to a clock terminal(terminal directly adjacent to CLK2)(FIG. 3; ¶0054) configured to receive a clock signal (FIG. 3: terminal directly adjacent to CLK2; ¶0054);
a first output unit(M6)(FIG. 3; ¶0066) connected between a first power input terminal(terminal directly below VGH)(FIGs. 3; ¶0065) configured to receive a first voltage(VGH)(FIG. 3: terminal directly below VGH)(FIGs. 3; ¶0065) and a second power input terminal(M7’s upper terminal)(FIGs. 3, 4A: terminal directly above CLK1; ¶¶0051, 0081) configured to receive a second voltage(CLK1 low voltage that is raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop})(FIGs. 3-4: M7’s upper terminal transmits voltage provided by terminal directly above CLK1 that is slightly raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop}; ¶¶0051, 0081), and configured to output an output signal(signal output from M6)(FIG. 3; ¶0062) in response to a voltage level(low voltage at N1)(FIG. 3: M4, M6; ¶¶0066, 0068) of the first node(N1)(FIG. 3; ¶0054); and
a second output unit(M7)(FIG. 3; ¶0059) connected between the first power input terminal(terminal directly below VGH)(FIGs. 3; ¶0065) and a third power input terminal(terminal directly above CLK1)(FIGs. 3, 4A; ¶¶0051, 0081) configured to receive a third voltage(CLK1 low voltage)(FIG. 3: terminal directly above CLK1; ¶¶0051, 0081), and configured to output a carry signal(CARRY[n])(FIG. 3: M7; ¶0052, 0059) in response to the voltage level(low voltage at N1)(FIG. 3: M4, M6; ¶¶0066, 0068) of the first node(N1)(FIG. 3; ¶0054), and
wherein the second voltage(CLK1 low voltage that is raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop})(FIGs. 3-4: M7’s upper terminal transmits voltage provided by terminal directly above CLK1 that is slightly raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop}; ¶¶0051, 0081) is lower than the first voltage(VGH)(FIG. 3: terminal directly below VGH)(FIGs. 3; ¶0065), and the third voltage(CLK1 low voltage)(FIG. 3: terminal directly above CLK1; ¶¶0051, 0081) is lower than the second voltage(CLK1 low voltage that is raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop})(FIGs. 3-4: M7’s upper terminal transmits voltage provided by terminal directly above CLK1 that is slightly raised after passing through T7 {a negative voltage drop}; ¶¶0051, 0081).
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623
1 As stated in the above drawing objection, the figures do not depict the following limitations.
2 As stated in the above drawing objection, the figures do not depict the following limitations.