DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorn et al. (Pub. No.: US 2002/0183826) in view of Armstrong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0303112).
Consider claim 2, Dorn discloses a marker for marking body tissue (paragraph [0071], stent 52 has a proximal end 58 that abuts to the distal end surface of a platinum-iridium radiopaque marker band 60), the marker comprising:
an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1f, stent 32 having an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis), the elongated body being formed by a plurality of interconnected, elastic, webs, the plurality of webs forming a lattice structure with a plurality of crossing points (paragraph [0005], Fig. 1f, Stents are characterized by a lattice structure), wherein the marker is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state (paragraph [0063], compressed self-expanding stent 32),
wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the elongated body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section (Figs. 1g and 1h, flaring of the longitudinal axis at either end of stent 32),
wherein, when the marker is in the radially compressed state, the webs forming the elongated body extend along the longitudinal axis of the elongated body such that a length of the radially compressed marker, extending along the longitudinal axis, is greater than a length of the radially expanded marker, extending along the longitudinal axis (paragraph [0089], Figs. 5 and 6, self-expandable stents 228 length shrinks during expansion).
Dorn does not specifically disclose wherein, at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles such that the elongated body is configured to provide an artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker.
Armstrong discloses wherein, at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles such that the elongated body is configured to provide an artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker (paragraph [0089], Fig. 1, the stent 100 can be formed from a combination of metals and plastics to include polyester (such as polyethylene terephthalate or PET) as known in the art to be hard, see paragraph [0059], wherein the lattice can be imbibed with materials to aid the physician during ultrasound imaging (see paragraph [0114])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the marker as disclosed by Dorn with the marker as taught by Armstrong to aid the physician during ultrasound imaging (Armstrong, paragraph [0114]).
Consider claim 3, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses wherein each of the plurality of webs is formed from the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles (Armstrong, paragraph [0089], Fig. 1, the stent 100 can be formed from a combination of metals and plastics to include polyester (such as polyethylene terephthalate or PET) as known in the art to be hard, see paragraph [0059]).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses wherein the central longitudinal section comprises a sleeve configured to compress the central longitudinal section to a minimal diameter (paragraph [0040], a radially inward reaction force exerted by the sleeve and tip onto the stent keeps the proximal remainder of the stent length radially inwardly constrained).
Consider claim 17, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses wherein the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles comprises one or more of a titanium alloy, nitinol, a wire mesh, and PEEK (paragraph [0069], nitinol).
Consider claim 18, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses wherein at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a radiopaque material (paragraph [0071], stent 52 has a proximal end 58 that abuts to the distal end surface of a platinum-iridium radiopaque marker band 60).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn and Armstrong in view of Niu (Pub. No.: US 2010/0173070).
Consider claims 4, 5, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose wherein respective portions of each of the plurality of webs is affixed to each other at each of the crossing points of the lattice structure.
Niu discloses wherein respective portions of each of the plurality of webs is affixed to each other at each of the crossing points of the lattice structure (paragraph [0145], implantable medical devices such as stents with nanofiber-enhanced surfaces are optionally fused or cross-linked at the points where the various fibers contact each other, see paragraph [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the webs as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the webs as taught by Niu to create a more stable, robust and potentially rigid fibrous membrane (Niu, paragraph [0077]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, and Niu in view of Hyodoh et al. (Pub. No.: 2003/0040772, Applicant’s IDS filed 04/08/2026).
Consider claim 6, the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, and Niu does not specifically disclose wherein the respective portions of each of the plurality of webs are twisted together at each of the crossing points.
Hyodoh discloses wherein the respective portions of each of the plurality of webs are twisted together at each of the crossing points (paragraph [0149], Fig. 50C, segments 812 and 814 are twisted together).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the webs as disclosed by the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, and Niu with the webs as taught by Hyodoh to suit a particular application (Hyodoh, paragraph [0149]).
Consider claim 7, the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, Niu, and Hyodoh discloses wherein the plurality of webs is pairwise interconnected at respective longitudinal ends of the plurality of webs (Hyodoh, paragraph [0149], Fig. 50C, segments 812 and 814 are twisted together at respective longitudinal ends).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn and Armstrong in view of Horrigan (Pub. No.: US 2006/0041269).
Consider claim 9, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widens outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marker.
Horrigan discloses wherein each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widens outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marker (paragraphs [0032] thru [0034], Fig. 2, similar to proximal portion 108, distal portion 110 may extend distally at a constant outer diameter to the proximal end of distal tapered surface 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the marker as disclosed by Dorn with the marker as taught by Horrigan to assure that the isolated treatment space 201 is sufficient for a particular procedure while still allowing blood to flow through the device (Horrigan, paragraph [0033]).
Consider claim 10, the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, and Horrigan discloses wherein a maximum external diameter of each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections is about two times to twenty times larger than an external diameter of the central longitudinal section (Horrigan, Fig. 2, outer diameter of each of the extending proximal portion 108 and extending distal portion 110 is at least two times larger than an external diameter of the neck portion 112.
Consider claim 11, the combination of Dorn, Armstrong, and Horrigan discloses wherein the elongated body is rotationally symmetric in relation to the longitudinal axis (Horrigan, Fig. 2, the elongated body is rotationally symmetric in relation to the guidewire 126).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn and Armstrong in view of Hornscheidt et al. (WO 2017207777, Applicant’s IDS filed 04/08/2026).
Consider claim 12, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong discloses an implantation system (paragraph [0001], delivery device for an implant such as a stent) comprising: the marker of claim 2 (paragraph [0071], stent 52 has a proximal end 58 that abuts to the distal end surface of a platinum-iridium radiopaque marker band 60); and
an implantation apparatus comprising a catheter (paragraph [0058], Fig. 1a, The catheter is a stent delivery device), the marker being situated within the catheter (paragraph [0071], band 60 is fixed at a step 62 in the radial wall thickness of the inner shaft 56 of catheter 50) and being configured to be deployed from the catheter via actuation of the implantation apparatus (paragraph [0064], deployment of the stent from the catheter 16).
The combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose the use of a cannula.
Hornscheidt discloses the use of a cannula (page 5, lines 4-13, a marking device which can be placed and implanted in tissue via a cannula).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the catheter as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the cannula as taught by Hornscheidt to provide an alignment-independent visibility in imaging methods, especially in the case of ultrasound-based methods (page 5, lines 4-13).
Consider claim 13, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose wherein the implantation system is configured for application within a vacuum biopsy unit and wherein the cannula comprises a lateral opening for deploying the marker.
Hornscheidt discloses wherein the implantation system is configured for application within a vacuum biopsy unit (page 3, lines 6-11, a vacuum biopsy), and wherein the cannula comprises a lateral opening for deploying the marker (page 3, lines 12-20, and claim 16, a cannula (242) having a lateral opening for deploying a marking device (100)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the implantation system as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the implantation system as taught by Hornscheidt to prevent the marking device from falling back into the biopsy cannula (Hornscheidt, page 3, lines 6-11).
Claims 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn and Armstrong in view of Cerchiari et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0340434).
Consider claim 14, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the artifact includes a cross shape when the marker is viewed from a side of the marker.
Cerchiari discloses wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the artifact includes a cross shape when the marker is viewed from a side of the marker (paragraphs [0066], [0085], Fig. 7, markers 194 (or Figs. 13, 14, markers 602, 604) may be positioned at the ends of the intermediate region and/or at the proximal end and/or distal end of the graft material, wherein in the expanded state one can envisage a cross shape (dog-bone shape, see paragraph [0016]) when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace marker as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the marker as taught by Cerchiari to indicate the proximal and/or distal boundaries of the intermediate region when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound (Cerchiari, paragraph [0085]).
Consider claims 15, 16, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose wherein the portions of the elongated body formed from the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles are selected to provide a symmetrically shaped artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker.
Cerchiari discloses wherein the portions of the elongated body formed from the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles are selected to provide a symmetrically shaped artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker (Cerchiari, paragraphs [0066], [0085], Fig. 7, markers 194 (or Figs. 13, 14, markers 602, 604) may be positioned at the ends of the intermediate region and/or at the proximal end and/or distal end of the graft material, wherein in the expanded state one can envisage an X-shaped structure (dog-bone shape, see paragraph [0016]) when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace marker as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the marker as taught by Cerchiari to indicate the proximal and/or distal boundaries of the intermediate region when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound (Cerchiari, paragraph [0085]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn and Armstrong in view of Drasler et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0306359).
Consider claim 19, the combination of Dorn and Armstrong does not specifically disclose wherein each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections is formed from the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles to generate a high acoustic impedance contrast with the body tissue.
Drasler discloses wherein each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections is formed from the hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles to generate a high acoustic impedance contrast with the body tissue (paragraph [0063], Echogenic marker bands can be formed from a composite of materials having a large difference in acoustic impedance from the surrounding tissues and applied to RO marker materials such as radiopaque (RO) marker bands 113 and echogenic marker bands 112, see paragraph [0059], Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second flared longitudinal sections as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Armstrong with the RO marker materials as taught by Drasler to allow the ultrasound to visualize the tissue of the body (Drasler, paragraph [0063]).
Claims 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorn in view of Horrigan and further in view of Drasler.
Consider claim 20, Dorn discloses a marker for marking body tissue (paragraph [0071], stent 52 has a proximal end 58 that abuts to the distal end surface of a platinum-iridium radiopaque marker band 60), the marker comprising:
an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis (paragraph [0064], Fig. 1f, stent 32 having an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis), the elongated body being formed by a plurality of interconnected, elastic, webs, the plurality of webs forming a lattice structure (paragraph [0005], Fig. 1f, Stents are characterized by a lattice structure), wherein the marker is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state (paragraph [0063], compressed self-expanding stent 32),
wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the elongated body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section (Figs. 1g and 1h, flaring of the longitudinal axis at either end of stent 32).
Dorn does not specifically disclose each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widening outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marker.
Horrigan discloses each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widening outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marker (paragraphs [0032] thru [0034], Fig. 2, similar to proximal portion 108, distal portion 110 may extend distally at a constant outer diameter to the proximal end of distal tapered surface 115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the marker as disclosed by Dorn with the marker as taught by Horrigan to assure that the isolated treatment space 201 is sufficient for a particular procedure while still allowing blood to flow through the device (Horrigan, paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Dorn and Horrigan does not specifically disclose wherein, the elongated body is configured to be detectable under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker in a frequency range from 1 MHz to 40 MHz.
Drasler discloses wherein, the elongated body is configured to be detectable under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker in a frequency range from 1 MHz to 40 MHz (paragraph [0027], ultrasound imaging of an echogenic marker in a frequency range of 3-15 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the marker as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Horrigan with the marker as taught by Drasler to absorb energy of the echo and be easily seen by echo (Drasler, paragraph [0027]).
Consider claims 23, 24, the combination of Dorn and Horrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the elongated body is configured to achieve a predetermined ultrasound reflection level and a predetermined proportion of transmitted ultrasound energy under B-mode ultrasound imaging.
Drasler discloses wherein the elongated body is configured to achieve a predetermined ultrasound reflection level and a predetermined proportion of transmitted ultrasound energy under B-mode ultrasound imaging (paragraphs [0027], [0063], echogenic marker bands can be formed from echogenic material such as reflective materials having a large difference in acoustic impedance from the surrounding tissues, wherein the frequency of the sound wave is approximately 10 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the marker as disclosed by the combination of Dorn and Horrigan with the marker as taught by Drasler to absorb energy of the echo and be easily seen by echo (Drasler, paragraph [0027]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler in view of Cerchiari et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0340434).
Consider claim 21, the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler does not specifically disclose wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the first and second flared longitudinal sections are configured to produce a characteristic imaging artifact under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker, the characteristic imaging artifact taking a form of a symmetrical shape that is distinguishable from the body tissue.
Cerchiari discloses wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the first and second flared longitudinal sections are configured to produce a characteristic imaging artifact under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker, the characteristic imaging artifact taking a form of a symmetrical shape that is distinguishable from the body tissue (paragraphs [0066], [0085], Fig. 7, markers 194 (or Figs. 13, 14, markers 602, 604) may be positioned at the ends of the intermediate region and/or at the proximal end and/or distal end of the graft material, wherein in the expanded state one can envisage a cross shape (dog-bone shape, see paragraph [0016]) when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace marker as disclosed by the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler with the marker as taught by Cerchiari to indicate the proximal and/or distal boundaries of the intermediate region when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound (Cerchiari, paragraph [0085]).
Consider claim 22, the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, Drasler, and Cerchiari discloses wherein the characteristic imaging artifact takes the form of a substantially circular or X-shaped structure (Cerchiari, paragraphs [0066], [0085], Fig. 7, markers 194 (or Figs. 13, 14, markers 602, 604) may be positioned at the ends of the intermediate region and/or at the proximal end and/or distal end of the graft material, wherein in the expanded state one can envisage an X-shaped structure (dog-bone shape, see paragraph [0016]) when visualized with a medical imaging system, such as ultrasound).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler in view of Hornscheidt et al. (WO 2017207777, Applicant’s IDS filed 04/08/2026).
Consider claim 25, the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler discloses an implantation system (paragraph [0001], delivery device for an implant such as a stent) comprising: the marker of claim 2 (paragraph [0071], stent 52 has a proximal end 58 that abuts to the distal end surface of a platinum-iridium radiopaque marker band 60); and
an implantation apparatus comprising a catheter (paragraph [0058], Fig. 1a, The catheter is a stent delivery device), the marker being situated within the catheter (paragraph [0071], band 60 is fixed at a step 62 in the radial wall thickness of the inner shaft 56 of catheter 50) and being configured to be deployed from the catheter via actuation of the implantation apparatus (paragraph [0064], deployment of the stent from the catheter 16).
The combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler does not specifically disclose the use of a cannula.
Hornscheidt discloses the use of a cannula (page 5, lines 4-13, a marking device which can be placed and implanted in tissue via a cannula).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the catheter as disclosed by the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler with the cannula as taught by Hornscheidt to provide an alignment-independent visibility in imaging methods, especially in the case of ultrasound-based methods (page 5, lines 4-13).
Consider claim 26, the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler does not specifically disclose wherein the implantation system is configured for application within a vacuum biopsy unit and wherein the cannula comprises a lateral opening for deploying the marker.
Hornscheidt discloses wherein the implantation system is configured for application within a vacuum biopsy unit (page 3, lines 6-11, a vacuum biopsy), and wherein the cannula comprises a lateral opening for deploying the marker (page 3, lines 12-20, and claim 16, a cannula (242) having a lateral opening for deploying a marking device (100)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the implantation system as disclosed by the combination of Dorn, Horrigan, and Drasler with the implantation system as taught by Hornscheidt to prevent the marking device from falling back into the biopsy cannula (Hornscheidt, page 3, lines 6-11).
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,521,202 in view of Armstrong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0303112).
Examined Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,521,202
2. (New) A marker for marking body tissue, the marker comprising: an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis, the elongated body being formed by a plurality of interconnected, elastic, webs, the plurality of webs forming a lattice structure with a plurality of crossing points, wherein the marker is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state, wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the elongated body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section, wherein, when the marker is in the radially compressed state, the webs forming the elongated body extend along the longitudinal axis of the elongated body such that a length of the radially compressed marker, extending along the longitudinal axis, is greater than a length of the radially expanded marker, extending along the longitudinal axis, and wherein, at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles such that the elongated body is configured to provide an artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker.
1. A marking body for marking body tissue, the marking body having a longitudinal axis and being rotationally symmetric in relation to the longitudinal axis, wherein the marking body is formed by interconnected, elastic, preformed metal webs, the metal webs forming a lattice structure with a plurality of crossing points, respective portions of each of the metal webs being affixed to each other at each of the crossing points of the lattice structure, wherein the marking body is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state, wherein, when the marking body is in the radially expanded state, the marking body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section, each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widening outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marking body such that a maximum external diameter of each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections is about two times to twenty times larger than an external diameter of the central longitudinal section, and at least the first and second flared longitudinal sections are formed by 5 to 96 webs in a circumferential direction of the marking body, and wherein, when the marking body is in the radially compressed state the metal webs forming the marking body extend along the longitudinal axis of the marking body and are interconnected in a force fit, interlocking, and/or cohesive fashion, such that a compressed length of the marking body, extending along the longitudinal axis, is greater than an expanded length of the marking body.
The patent fails to teach wherein, at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles such that the elongated body is configured to provide an artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker.
Armstrong discloses wherein, at least a portion of the elongated body is formed from a hard plastic material containing embedded metal particles such that the elongated body is configured to provide an artifact under ultrasound imaging of the marker (paragraph [0089], Fig. 1, the stent 100 can be formed from a combination of metals and plastics to include polyester (such as polyethylene terephthalate or PET) as known in the art to be hard, see paragraph [0059], wherein the lattice can be imbibed with materials to aid the physician during ultrasound imaging (see paragraph [0114])).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the marker as disclosed by the patent with the marker as taught by Armstrong to aid the physician during ultrasound imaging (Armstrong, paragraph [0114]).
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,521,202 in view of Drasler et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0306359).
Examined Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,521,202
20. (New) A marker for marking body tissue, the marker comprising: an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis, the elongated body being formed by a plurality of interconnected, elastic, webs, the plurality of webs forming a lattice structure, wherein the marker is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state, wherein, when the marker is in the radially expanded state, the elongated body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section, each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widening outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marker, and wherein, the elongated body is configured to be detectable under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker in a frequency range from 1 MHz to 40 MHz.
1. A marking body for marking body tissue, the marking body having a longitudinal axis and being rotationally symmetric in relation to the longitudinal axis, wherein the marking body is formed by interconnected, elastic, preformed metal webs, the metal webs forming a lattice structure with a plurality of crossing points, respective portions of each of the metal webs being affixed to each other at each of the crossing points of the lattice structure, wherein the marking body is configured to transition between a radially compressed state and a radially expanded state, wherein, when the marking body is in the radially expanded state, the marking body is constricted in a central longitudinal section to form two flared longitudinal sections, a first flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a first side of the central longitudinal section and a second flared longitudinal section widening outwardly along the longitudinal axis from a second side of the central longitudinal section, each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections widening outwardly at a constant angle relative to the longitudinal axis from the central longitudinal section to each longitudinal end of the marking body such that a maximum external diameter of each of the first and second flared longitudinal sections is about two times to twenty times larger than an external diameter of the central longitudinal section, and at least the first and second flared longitudinal sections are formed by 5 to 96 webs in a circumferential direction of the marking body, and wherein, when the marking body is in the radially compressed state the metal webs forming the marking body extend along the longitudinal axis of the marking body and are interconnected in a force fit, interlocking, and/or cohesive fashion, such that a compressed length of the marking body, extending along the longitudinal axis, is greater than an expanded length of the marking body.
The patent fails to teach wherein, the elongated body is configured to be detectable under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker in a frequency range from 1 MHz to 40 MHz.
Drasler discloses wherein, the elongated body is configured to be detectable under B-mode ultrasound imaging of the marker in a frequency range from 1 MHz to 40 MHz (paragraph [0027], ultrasound imaging of an echogenic marker in a frequency range of 3-15 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to replace the marker as disclosed by the patent with the marker as taught by Drasler to absorb energy of the echo and be easily seen by echo (Drasler, paragraph [0027]).
Conclusion
/Gerald Johnson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797