DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortez et al. (US 2016/0120263) in view of Connell et al. (US 2018/0213886).
Regarding Claim 1, Cortez et al. teaches a sole structure (10) for an article of footwear (12), the sole structure comprising: a foam element (18) extending from a forefoot region (30) to a heel region (28) and having an upper surface (54) and a lower surface (56) formed on an opposite side of the foam element from the upper surface (fig. 1 shows the upper surface (54) opposite the lower surface (56); paragraph [0090] teaches “The second resilient midsole layer 18 may be a polymer foam material”); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (fig. 1 does not show the fluid filled chamber, however paragraph [0095] teaches “additional bladder elements can be placed in the recesses 74B, 74C,” and as the recess is columnar a bladder element placed therein would also clearly be columnar. For clarity, the first columnar bladder will herein be referred to as (74B)); and a posterior fluid-filled chamber (16) disposed closer to a heel region of the sole structure than the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 1 shows the posterior fluid filled chamber being disposed closer to a heel region of the sole structure than the first columnar fluid filled chamber) and including a first leg (26A) extending along one of a medial side of the sole structure and a lateral side of the sole structure, a second leg (26B) extending along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the first (26A) and second (26B) legs extending along the medial and lateral sides of the sole structure, respectively), and an arcuate segment (24) extending between and connecting the first leg and the second leg (fig. 1 shows the arcuate segment (24) extending between and connecting the first (26A) and second (26B) legs), one of the first leg and the second leg being aligned with the first columnar fluid-filled chamber across a width of the sole structure (fig. 2 shows the second leg (26B) being aligned with the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B) across a width of the sole structure).
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the foam element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the first columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the foam element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end so as to ensure the first columnar fluid filled chamber stays in place and allows for proper cushioning of the wearer’s foot.
Regarding Claim 2, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the one of the first leg (26B) and the second leg is longer than the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) (figs. 2 and 20 show the second lateral leg (26B) being longer than the first leg (26A)).
Regarding Claim 3, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 2, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) includes a distal end (48A) that opposes the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (figs. 1 and 2 show the distal end (48A) of the first leg (26A) opposing the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B)).
Regarding Claim 4, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 3, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the distal end (48A) of the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) is spaced apart from the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (figs. 1 and 2 how the distal end (48A) of the first leg (26A) being spaced from the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B)).
Regarding Claim 5, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above.
Cortez et al. does not teach a second columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and an anterior end of the sole structure.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end). Connell et al. further teaches a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the sole structure further includes a second columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and an anterior end of the sole structure so as to allow tailored cushioning for the wearer in different regions of the foot.
Regarding Claim 6, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 5, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches a third columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 1 does not show the third fluid filled chamber, however paragraph [0095] teaches “additional bladder elements can be placed in the recesses 74B, 74C,” and as the recess is columnar a bladder element placed therein would also clearly be columnar. For clarity, the third columnar bladder will herein be referred to as (74C)).
Regarding Claim 7, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 6, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber (74C) is disposed along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the first (74B) and second (74C) columnar fluid filled bladder is disposed along the medial and lateral sides, respectively, of the sole).
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein the second columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end), and a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole), and a third columnar fluid-filled chamber (122) disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) disposed adjacent the second chamber (124)). Connell et al. further teaches wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and the second columnar fluid-filled chamber are disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the first (126, 128) and second (124) chambers being disposed along one of the medial and lateral sides of the sole structure) and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) being disposed along the other of the medial and the lateral side of the sole structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the second columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure so as to allow specific cushioning to correct for pronation or supination of the wearer’s foot.
Regarding Claim 8, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 7, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein a distal end (48B) of the one of the first leg and the second leg (26B) opposes the third columnar fluid-filled chamber (74C) (fig. 1 shows the distal end (48B) of the second leg (26B) opposing the third columnar fluid filled chamber (74C)).
Regarding Claim 9, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 6, as discussed in the rejections above.
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber, the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end), and a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole), and a third columnar fluid-filled chamber (122) disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) disposed adjacent the second chamber (124)). Connell et al. further teaches wherein at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128), the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the first columnar fluid filled chamber including a first and second stacked chamber, the chambers being fluidly isolated from one another; paragraph [0164] teaches “the third fluid-filled chamber 126 may include the same or different pressure as the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128 and may likewise be fluidly isolated from the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber, the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber so as to allow the first and second chambers to be inflated to different pressures therein providing a unique cushioning profile for the wearer (paragraph [0164] teaches “the third fluid-filled chamber 126 may include the same or different pressure as the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128 and may likewise be fluidly isolated from the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the arcuate segment (24) extends along a posterior end of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the arcuate segment (24) extending along a posterior end of the sole; paragraph [0089] teaches “the heel portion 24 supported at the peripheral region 22 at the heel region 28”).
Regarding Claim 11, Cortez et al. teaches a sole structure (10) for an article of footwear (12), the sole structure comprising: a foam element (18) extending from a forefoot region (30) to a heel region (28) and having an upper surface (54) and a lower surface (56) formed on an opposite side of the foam element from the upper surface (fig. 1 shows the upper surface (54) opposite the lower surface (56); paragraph [0090] teaches “The second resilient midsole layer 18 may be a polymer foam material”); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (fig. 1 does not show the fluid filled chamber, however paragraph [0095] teaches “additional bladder elements can be placed in the recesses 74B, 74C,” and as the recess is columnar a bladder element placed therein would also clearly be columnar. For clarity, the first columnar bladder will herein be referred to as (74B)); and a posterior fluid-filled chamber (16) disposed closer to a heel region of the sole structure than the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 1 shows the posterior fluid filled chamber being disposed closer to a heel region of the sole structure than the first columnar fluid filled chamber) and including a first leg (26A) extending along one of a medial side of the sole structure and a lateral side of the sole structure, a second leg (26B) extending along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the first (26A) and second (26B) legs extending along the medial and lateral sides of the sole structure, respectively), and an arcuate segment (24) extending between and connecting the first leg and the second leg (fig. 1 shows the arcuate segment (24) extending between and connecting the first (26A) and second (26B) legs), one of the first leg and the second leg extending in a direction toward an anterior end of the sole structure past at least a portion of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 2 shows the second leg (26B) extending towards the anterior end and past the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B)).
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the foam element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the first columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the foam element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end so as to ensure the first columnar fluid filled chamber stays in place and allows for proper cushioning of the wearer’s foot.
Regarding Claim 12, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 11, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the one of the first leg (26B) and the second leg is longer than the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) (figs. 2 and 20 show the second lateral leg (26B) being longer than the first leg (26A)).
Regarding Claim 13, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 12, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) includes a distal end (48A) that opposes the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (figs. 1 and 2 show the distal end (48A) of the first leg (26A) opposing the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B)).
Regarding Claim 14, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 13, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the distal end (48A) of the other of the first leg and the second leg (26A) is spaced apart from the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) (figs. 1 and 2 how the distal end (48A) of the first leg (26A) being spaced from the first columnar fluid filled chamber (74B)).
Regarding Claim 15, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 11, as discussed in the rejections above.
Cortez et al. does not teach a second columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and the anterior end of the sole structure.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end). Connell et al. further teaches a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the sole structure further includes a second columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and an anterior end of the sole structure so as to allow tailored cushioning for the wearer in different regions of the foot.
Regarding Claim 16, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 15, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches a third columnar fluid-filled chamber disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 1 does not show the third fluid filled chamber, however paragraph [0095] teaches “additional bladder elements can be placed in the recesses 74B, 74C,” and as the recess is columnar a bladder element placed therein would also clearly be columnar. For clarity, the third columnar bladder will herein be referred to as (74C)).
Regarding Claim 17, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 16, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (74B) is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber (74C) is disposed along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the first (74B) and second (74C) columnar fluid filled bladder is disposed along the medial and lateral sides, respectively, of the sole).
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein the second columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end), and a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole), and a third columnar fluid-filled chamber (122) disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) disposed adjacent the second chamber (124)). Connell et al. further teaches wherein the first columnar fluid-filled chamber and the second columnar fluid-filled chamber are disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the first (126, 128) and second (124) chambers being disposed along one of the medial and lateral sides of the sole structure) and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along the other of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) being disposed along the other of the medial and the lateral side of the sole structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that the second columnar fluid-filled chamber is disposed along one of the medial side of the sole structure and the lateral side of the sole structure so as to allow specific cushioning to correct for pronation or supination of the wearer’s foot.
Regarding Claim 18, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 17, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein a distal end (48B) of the one of the first leg and the second leg (26B) opposes the third columnar fluid-filled chamber (74C) (fig. 1 shows the distal end (48B) of the second leg (26B) opposing the third columnar fluid filled chamber (74C)).
Regarding Claim 19, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 16, as discussed in the rejections above.
Cortez et al. does not teach wherein at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber, the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber.
Attention is drawn to Connell et al. which teaches an analogous article of footwear. Connell et al. teaches a sole structure (14b) for an article of footwear (10b), the sole structure comprising: an element (42) extending from a forefoot region (16) to a heel region (20) and having an upper surface and a lower surface formed on an opposite side of the element from the upper surface (Fig. 16 shows the element (42) extending from the forefoot (16) to a heel (20) region and having an upper and an opposite lower surface); a first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) including a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element and a distal end formed on an opposite side of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber than the proximal end (fig. 16 shows the chamber (126, 128) having a proximal end attached to the lower surface of the element (42) and a distal end opposite the proximal end), and a second columnar fluid-filled chamber (124) disposed between the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128) and an anterior end of the sole structure (fig. 22 shows the second columnar fluid filled chamber (124) disposed between the first chamber (126, 128) and the anterior end of the sole), and a third columnar fluid-filled chamber (122) disposed adjacent to the second columnar fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the third chamber (122) disposed adjacent the second chamber (124)). Connell et al. further teaches wherein at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber (126, 128), the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber (fig. 22 shows the first columnar fluid filled chamber including a first and second stacked chamber, the chambers being fluidly isolated from one another; paragraph [0164] teaches “the third fluid-filled chamber 126 may include the same or different pressure as the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128 and may likewise be fluidly isolated from the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cortez et al. to include the teachings of Connell et al. such that at least one of the first columnar fluid-filled chamber, the second columnar fluid-filled chamber, and the third columnar fluid-filled chamber includes a first fluid-filled chamber stacked on top of a second fluid-filled chamber, the first fluid- filled chamber being fluidly isolated from the second fluid-filled chamber so as to allow the first and second chambers to be inflated to different pressures therein providing a unique cushioning profile for the wearer (paragraph [0164] teaches “the third fluid-filled chamber 126 may include the same or different pressure as the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128 and may likewise be fluidly isolated from the fourth fluid-filled chamber 128.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Cortez et al. teaches all of the limitations of the sole structure of Claim 11, as discussed in the rejections above. Cortez et al. further teaches wherein the arcuate segment (24) extends along a posterior end of the sole structure (fig. 1 shows the arcuate segment (24) extending along a posterior end of the sole; paragraph [0089] teaches “the heel portion 24 supported at the peripheral region 22 at the heel region 28”).
Conclusion
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732