Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 4,679,261 to Stanley et al.
Claim 1, Stanley connection structure for an adjustable headboard bracket, comprising a connection frame body defined by a tubular element 51, wherein a supporting arm mounting hole defined within the tubular element and an adjusting hole defined by locking holes 21 are provided on the connection frame body; a supporting arm defined by 52, wherein the supporting arm is capable of being inserted into the supporting arm mounting hole, and the supporting arm is detachably connected to the connection frame body; a second adjusting member (18,19,20), wherein the second adjusting member is connected to the connection frame body, and the second adjusting member is provided with at least one second fixing holes 21; a limiting member defined by a detent 24 wherein the limiting member is capable of being disposed within the adjusting hole, the limiting member is configured to engage with the second fixing hole and abut against the supporting arm.
Claim 2, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the supporting arm comprises a first end capable of connecting to a bracket defined by a post 14 of a bed frame and a second end configured to connect to the connection frame body;
the supporting arm further comprises a connection portion; and the connection portion is located at the first end of the supporting arm.
Claim 3, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the connection portion comprises an engaging member defined by a gusset (67,76) disposed at the first end of the supporting arm; a supporting member (68,69) defined by sections (68,69) disposed on the gusset (fig. 4A,4B).
Claim 4, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the gusset has a bending structure; the bending structure forms an engaging opening, and the engaging opening is configured to face the ground; the engaging opening is configured to engage with the post of the bed frame (fig. 1).
Claim 5, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the gusset and the supporting member are integrally formed (fig. 4A,4B).
Claim 6, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the supporting arm further comprises a first adjusting member 23, and the first adjusting member is provided with a first fixing hole 21; the detent is configured to engage with the first fixing hole.
Claim 7, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein the connection frame body comprises two main rods defined by beams 50 and at least one auxiliary rod 63;
the auxiliary rod is disposed between the two main rods and is fixedly connected to the two main rods; two supporting arm mounting holes are respectively disposed at two ends of each main rod (col. 5 lines 4-30).
Claim 8, Stanley discloses the connection structure wherein an angle between the beams and the auxiliary rod is substantially 90 degrees (fig. 1).
Claim 9, Stanley discloses the bed frame, comprising: the connection structure; an adjustable headboard bracket 19 connected to the supporting arm disposed at one end of the connection structure; and a second bracket 47 connected to the supporting arm disposed at another end of the connection structure; wherein the adjustable headboard bracket is capable of being detachably connected to the second bracket via the connection structure.
Claim 10, Stanley discloses the bed frame wherein the adjustable headboard post is connected to the supporting arm via the engaging opening of the engaging member of the supporting arm, and the second bracket is connected to the supporting arm via the engaging opening of the engaging member of the supporting arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 10,912,390 to Chung discloses an extendable bed frame.
U.S. Pat. No. 8,122,536 to Peixin et al. discloses an extendable bed frame.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679