DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/16/2025.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR
1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2025 and
2/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Kawai (US 20230415309).
With regard to claim 1, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1) comprising: a housing (2); a drive motor (6) comprising a drive shaft (11); a transmission (10) driven by the drive shaft (33); an intermediate shaft (11) driven by the transmission, the intermediate shaft (11) comprising: a percussion mechanism comprising a striker (13) and an anvil (17); and a guiding element (11) configured to guide the striker (13); a centering device (100) configured to center the intermediate shaft (11), the centering device (100) having a diameter (as seen in fig.5) that is substantially the same size as a diameter of the guiding element (11); and a tool holder (18) driven by the percussion mechanism (10) and configured to receive an insertion tool.
With regard to claim 2, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the centering device (100) and the anvil (17) are arranged at least partially overlapping each other (see fig.5).
With regard to claim 3, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the centering device (100) comprises a centering receptacle configured to at least partially encompass the intermediate shaft (11).
With regard to claim 6, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the intermediate shaft (11) comprises at least one abutment element (end of anvil fig. 5) configured to at least partially abut the centering device (100) and receive at least axial forces from the centering device.
With regard to claim 7, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the at least one abutment element (end of anvil) is arranged at least partially overlapping the anvil (17).
With regard to claim 8, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the intermediate shaft (11) comprises a compensating element configured to compensate for imbalances.
With regard to claim 9, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool (1 fig.1), wherein the centering device comprises a centering element (100) configured to at least partially engage the intermediate shaft (11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the centering device comprises a centering collar configured to at least partially abut the intermediate shaft.
With regard to claim 10, Kawai discloses a hand-held power tool, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the centering device comprises a collection element configured to collect at least lubricants.
Conclusion
Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
8/11/2026