DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I & Fig. 5 (claims 1-3 & 5-7) in the reply filed on 07/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherwin (U.S. Pat. No. 6,520,317) in view of Giublin (U.S. Pat. No. 10,654,601).
Regarding claim 1: Sherwin discloses a bagging machine configured for filling bags, the bagging machine comprising:
at least one empty bag supply station located in a transport line (Fig. 1; via 11 and/or 12 for empty containers 25);
at least one opening station; at least one closing station (via containers 25 are opened; “A box or carton is formed and opened at the "open" position”);
at least one removal station (via the outfeed ends of conveyors 11 and/or 12); and,
a first filling station and a second filling stations positioned respectively at first and second lines parallel to a transport direction (Figs. 1-7; via filling arm 50 in two different locations/stations parallel to conveyor 10), the transport direction being positioned equidistantly from the first and second lines, (Figs. 1-7; via equidistance between conveyor 10 in respect to the other two conveyors 11/12),
wherein the at least one opening station has a first zone positioned at the first line, a second zone positioned at the second line, and a central zone positioned between the first zone and the second zone and in extension of the at least one empty bag supply station (via the shown two different zones of conveying/opened containers at 11/12 and central zone of conveyor 10 between them).
Sherwin does not disclose a movable opening station, wherein the at least one opening station further comprises a first separating system and a second separating system, each configured to open bags in succession, and a first transverse conveying system to which the first separating system and the second separating system are connected and which is configured to move alternately between a first position, in which the first separating system and the second separating system are respectively positioned in the central zone and the second zone, and a second position in which the first separating system and the second separating system are respectively positioned in the first zone and the central zone. However, Giublin discloses similar bagging machine with the use of movable opening station between different positions, see for example (Figs. 1-3 & 12; via the movable arm 37 with claws 7-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted Sherwin’s opening mechanism, by another movable one, as suggested by Giublin, as it is a matter of a design choice to make a stationary part movable to gain more flexibility and adjustment as desired.
Regarding claim 2: Sherwin discloses that the first zone, the second zone, and the central zone are aligned along a transverse direction perpendicular to the transport direction, the first transverse conveying system configured to move along the transverse direction, see for example (Figs. 1-7; via the shown first and second zones of conveyors 11 & 12 and the central zone of conveyor 10; and the transfer conveying system of arm 50).
Regarding claim 3: Giublin discloses that the first separating system and the second separating system are each configured to occupy a retracted state corresponding to a closed state of a bag and a separated state corresponding to an open state of a bag, the first separating system and the second separating system each passing from the retracted state to the separated state when, respectively (Figs. 1-3; via the movements of claws 7-9). While Sherwin discloses the movement mechanism and capability of arm 50 between the central and two outer zones (Figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 5: Sherwin discloses that the first zone and the second zone are offset with respect to the first filling station and the second filling station and are positioned upstream of the first filling station and the second filling station, see for example (Fig. 1; via the shown filling mechanism by arm 50 in respect to both zones on conveyors 11 & 12 of where ethe filling taken place).
Regarding claim 6: Giublin discloses the use of at least one closing station comprises a first closing station and a second closing station positioned, respectively, on the first line or the second line (via claws 7-9 to close the lid of the bag; “jaws 7, 8, 9 are arranged on each side of the packaged set of lids 42, and then are closed, and the robotic arm 37 finally moves the transport device 1”).
Regarding claim 7: Sherwin discloses that the at least one removal station comprises a first removal station and a second removal station, the first removal station aligned with the first filling station and the first closing station, and the second removal station aligned with the second filling station and the second closing station, see for example (Fig. 1; via the end section of each of conveyors 11 & 12 as discharging the filled bag out of the machine being aligned with the fillings zones at 26a / 26b).
Further, exact arrangements of stations removal, filling, and/or closing would be only a matter of re-arranging parts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, the cited arts on PTO-892, most if not all are related to similar art to the filed application indicating feeding, filling, and discharging mechanisms, but might be in different arrangements. Coming up with a specific arrangement would only be a matter of design choice and/or re-arranging parts.
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731