DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Randall (US 9683545).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Randall discloses a method of manufacturing a half shell of a wind turbine rotor blade, the method comprising: providing a mold for the half shell (Col. 1, lines 14-23); placing a fiber layer into the mold (Col. 4, Lines 44-53); placing a stack of prefabricated pultruded planks and a core element on top of the fiber layer (Col. 1, lines 14-32 and Col. 4, Lines 44-53), wherein the core element has an end face, the end face having at least two projections being integrally formed with the core element (Edge of foam layer 4 abutting stack 3, the foam lands above and below the mid-thickness void 11 (integral to foam layer 4)), and wherein the core element is arranged with the end face on a lateral side of the stack such that via the at least two projections a gap is formed between the core element and the stack (foam side edges abut stack 3 and the gap is the void 11 at the abutment; two flanking lands bound the void so that the gap exists therein); and, supplying resin into the mold during a vacuum infusion process (Col. 4, Line 54 – Col. 5, Line 5). Randall discloses two half shells bonded together to form the wind turbine rotor blade; and, each of said two half shells being manufactured by the method recited above(“this arrangement, each half-shell can be formed separately and cured by heating, and then the two cured shell halves are joined together with adhesive”).
Regarding claim 3, Randall discloses the method according to claim 1 above. Randall further discloses in said placing a stack of prefabricated pultruded planks and a core element on top of the fiber layer, the stack of planks is provided as a plurality of individual planks stacked on top of each other (Col. 3, Lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 14, Randall discloses a core element for a half shell of a wind turbine rotor blade, the core element comprising an end face, the end face being configured to be arranged at a lateral side of a stack of prefabricated pultruded planks, and the end face having at least two projections (Col. 3, lines 57-62, Col. 4, lines 33-53, Col. 5, Lines 52-54; the foam layer is a core element and side edge is arranged abutting the pultruded stack 3 and that edge presents two projecting lands flanking the mid-thickness void 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall (US 9683545) in view of Livingston (US 20180372065).
Randall discloses the method according to claim 1 above. Randall discloses a spar cap formed of a stack of pultruded strips (Col. 3, lines 40-43).
Randall fails to explicitly teach in said placing a stack of prefabricated pultruded planks and a core element on top of the fiber layer, the stack of planks is provided as a prefabricated, single component.
Livingston teaches consolidating the pultruded planks into a single prefabricated spar-cap component (Paragraphs 4 and 44; the plates are co-bonded in a “single process”).
Because Randall discloses the spar cap is formed of a stack of pultruded strips, and because Livingston teaches that the spar cap can be provided as a stack of planks be provided as a prefabricated single component, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Randall to placing a stack of prefabricated pultruded planks and a core element on top of the fiber layer, the stack of planks is provided as a prefabricated, single component as taught by Livingston for the purposes of simplifying handling and improving placement accuracy of the stack in the mold.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall (US 9683545) in view of Smith (GB 2530072).
Randall discloses the method according to claim 1 above. Randall further discloses the core layers and stacks are placed into the mold on the fiber layer.
Randall fails to teach the stack of planks and the core element together form a prefabricated component being placed into the mold onto the fiber layer.
Smith teaches pre-assembling the fiber layer and the foam core panels into a single handling unit (“kit”) that is placed into the mold as one component (Page 8, lines 13-19, Page 7, lines 15-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Randall such that the stack of planks and the core element together form a prefabricated component being placed into the mold onto the fiber layer as taught by Smith for the purposes of reducing the number of in-mold placement steps and maintaining relative alignment of the components.
Claims 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randall (US 9683545) in view of Fagerstrom (US 11884046).
Randall discloses the method according to claim 1 above.
Randall fails to teach each of the at least two projections has a thickness between 1 mm to 2 mm from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, each of the at least two projections has a thickness between 1.3 millimeters to 2 millimeters from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, and wherein each of the at least two projections has a thickness of 1.5 millimeters from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, the at least two projections has a width along a spanwise direction of the core element of at least 15, 20, or 25 millimeters, at least one of the at least two projections has a trapezoidal-shaped cross section, viewed in a plane running parallel to a main extension direction of the core element, the at least two projections each have an edge; and said edges of said at least two projections are rounded, and the at least two projections have a length corresponding to a height of the end face of the core element.
Fagerstrom teaches the geometry of resin flow channels formed in a structural foam sandwich core consolidated by resin infusion, expressly to distribute resin and reduce waste and weight. The grooves (115, 116, 215, 216) are cut into the core surfaces and each foam land between two adjacent grooves stands out of the groove floor by the groove depth. Each of the at least two projections has a thickness between 1 mm to 2 mm from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, each of the at least two projections has a thickness between 1.3 millimeters to 2 millimeters from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, and wherein each of the at least two projections has a thickness of 1.5 millimeters from the end face (Col. 9, lines 33-37). The at least two projections has a width along a spanwise direction of the core element of at least 15, 20, or 25 millimeters (Col. 9, Lines 38-45). Fagerstrom further teaches that the grooves can include a triangular, rectangular, rounded, or combination of a rectangular and a rounded groove profile, and a combination of a rectangular and a triangular groove profile (Col. 9, Lines 16-31), said edges of said at least two projections are rounded (Col. 9, Lines 16-31), and the at least two projections have a length corresponding to a height of the end face of the core element (Col. 6, Line 48 to Col. 7, Line 3; additionally, the geometry can be tuned and optimized depending on materials and requirements of the components).
Because Randall and Fagerstrom both are directed to resin infusion of structural foam sandwich cores with similar materials, and both Randall and Fagerstrom form a resin gap are the core stack seam and Fagerstrom teaches that the dimensions can be adjusted in terms of different shapes and combinations thereof, and the range of dimensions overlaps with the claimed range(s), it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Randall such that the at least two projections has a thickness between 1 mm to 2 mm from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, each of the at least two projections has a thickness between 1.3 millimeters to 2 millimeters from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, and wherein each of the at least two projections has a thickness of 1.5 millimeters from the end face, the thickness being measured in a direction normal to the end face, the at least two projections has a width along a spanwise direction of the core element of at least 15, 20, or 25 millimeters, at least one of the at least two projections has a trapezoidal-shaped cross section, viewed in a plane running parallel to a main extension direction of the core element, the at least two projections each have an edge; and said edges of said at least two projections are rounded, and the at least two projections have a length corresponding to a height of the end face of the core element as taught by Fagerstrom for the purposes of controlling resin flow through the core/stack seam to avoid dry spots while limiting resin-rich weight.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745