Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al., US 20210031754 in view of Haas, US 20170237944.
In considering claim 1,
The claimed a communication unit..is met by communication unit 34 (server) Fig 4, communication 16 (vehicle) and communication unit 26 (user terminal)
The claimed control unit…is met where the control unit (of the information processing apparatus) (para 6, 28, 30-40) based on the status of the vehicle includes a state of charge of the battery, angle of view, position of the vehicle and the like, and where charging of the battery can be used in selecting a vehicle (para 31-33, 45, 52,61, 69, 73, 79, 80, 84, 87, 91, 97-99, 102-104, 106, 116 and 118) and when the state of charge is low not selecting that vehicle, and preferably the largest SOC of the battery. SASAKI also discloses if only one vehicle is in the parking lot to select that vehicle (para 87, 103).
As disclosed by SASAKI the features of selecting or not-selecting a vehicle is based upon criterion (position, state of charge (including time for charging a vehicle (para 31)).
Regarding the stopping…
Principles of Law:
KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) and include:
a) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
b) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
c) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
d) applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results:
e) “obvious to try”—choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
f) known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
g) some teaching, suggestion, motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teaching to arrive at the claimed invention.
As noted by the PTAB recent decision (12 July 2022):
“"The correct legal framework for obviousness does not involve divining the intention of an inventor of a prior art reference but, rather, involves determining 'what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art”
Microsoft Word - IPR2021-00417 FD - Ready (law360news.com)
IAW (c, d, e and g) KSR, the examiner notes as disclosed by SASAKI, based upon the number of vehicles, position and field of view and state of charge, determines which vehicles are selected for image capturing.
Thus in the broadest sense if a single vehicle is parked and recording, in the event other vehicles enter the parking lot, if those other vehicles include a large SOC then the initially selected vehicle, then it would be obvious to select the higher SOC since the available cameras have changed (increased) and selecting the vehicle with the higher SOC provides the criterion desired (larger SOC), thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding the external power is receivable:
As noted by SASAKI, the system selects a vehicle with a greater or equal to SOC, wherein the vehicle with less than SOC can then be charged.
The examiner incorporates Haas, US 20170237944 which discloses the detectiong/identifying/authenticiation of a vehicle using a charging station in a parking lot (para 8-9), including storing such vehicle information used via a server via a communications network. The examiner also notes (although not claimed) that locating/identifying charging station for an electric vehicle are notoriously well known in the art, using vehicle position).
Thus it would have been obvious to incorporate the teaching of Haas which discloses identifying vehicles using a charging station in a parking lot with SASAKI, which detects the SOC of a battery, to be aware of the status of the vehicle (currently charging or not) which can aid in the selection of a vehicle for imaging as taught by SASAKI using the state of the charge of the battery, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In considering claim 2,
Refer to claim 1.
In considering claim 3,
SASAKI discloses the remaining batter charger (state of charge (SOC)) is equal to greater than a predetermined value (para 33, 99, 102-103), regarding the supply of external power being receivable is met by the incorporated HAAS which discloses identifying a vehicle receiving power from a charging station (see claim 1).
In considering claim 4,
SASAKI determines the number of vehicles that are available in the parking lot, based upon their position, state of charge and field/angle of view, where SASAKI determines at least one vehicle is available can then be used for capturing images, and if 2 vehicles are present then the criterion level is again evaluated with respect to both vehicles (instead of one)(para 103).
In considering claim 5,
SASAKI determines based upon captured regions overlapping, the condition related to the SOC of the imaging vehicles(para 103).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure—see cited references on attached form PTO-892:
US 12,669,816 – another reference which discloses selecting vehicles to capture images with respect to power of the vehicle.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to:
(571)-273-8300
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2400 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is
(703)305-HELP.
General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at:
800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP
(FAX) 703-305-7786
(TDD) 703-305-7785
An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays.
For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form.
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422