DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-10, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4721331, Lemelshtrich.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses a female fitting (4) for use with a male fitting and a clip (8) to form a waterway connection assembly, the clip having first and second legs (30), the first leg having a first tab (32) extending therefrom and the second leg having a second tab (32) extending therefrom, the female fitting comprising: a body defining a cylindrical cavity (14) extending in an axial direction and adapted to receive the male fitting; a pair of raised curbs (see Figure 2 below) extending outwardly and defining a recess therebetween to thereby form a saddled adapted to receive the clip; a first aperture (22) and a second aperture (22) within opposing sidewalls of the female fitting, the first aperture being adapted to receive the first leg of the clip (via the tab) and the second aperture being adapted to receive the second leg of the clip (via the tab) whereby the clip may engage and secure the male fitting within the female fitting, wherein the first aperture is partially defined by a first base surface, the first base surface (22b) being a tapered surface whereby the first aperture widens outwardly and the second aperture is partially defined by a second base surface (22b), the second base surface being a tapered surface whereby the second aperture widens outwardly in a radial direction and wherein the first and second base surfaces are adapted to respectively engage the first and second legs of the clip and bias the first and second legs radially outwardly to disengage the clip from the male fitting; and a first locking recess (see Figure 2 below) extending axially from the first aperture and adapted to receive the first tab of the clip and a second locking recess extending axially from the second aperture and adapted to receive the second tab of the clip to thereby secure the clip on the female fitting.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Locking recess)][AltContent: textbox (Curbs)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the first base surface is continuous with a base surface of the first locking recess whereby the first aperture and the first locking recess form a first L-shaped opening and wherein the second base surface is continuous with a base surface of the second locking recess whereby the second aperture and the second locking recess form a second L-shaped opening.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the base surface of the first locking recess and the base surface of the second locking recess are both tapered surfaces whereby both the first locking recess and the second locking recess widen outwardly in a radial direction and are adapted to respectively engage the first and second tabs of the clip and bias the first and second tabs radially outwardly to disengage the clip from the male fitting.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the female fitting is formed integrally with a component (6).
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the component is one of a valve, a diverter, a manifold, a fixture, a Y-connector, or a T-connector.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses a sub-assembly for use with a male fitting to form a waterway connection assembly, the sub-assembly comprising: a clip having first and second legs, the first leg having a first tab extending therefrom and the second leg having a second tab extending therefrom; and a female fitting including: a body defining a cylindrical cavity extending in an axial direction and adapted to receive the male fitting; a pair of raised curbs extending outwardly and defining a recess therebetween to thereby form a saddled adapted to receive the clip; a first aperture and a second aperture within opposing sidewalls of the female fitting, the first aperture being adapted to receive the first leg of the clip and the second aperture being adapted to receive the second leg of the clip whereby the clip may engage and secure the male fitting within the female fitting, wherein the first aperture is partially defined by a first base surface, the first base surface being a tapered surface whereby the first aperture widens outwardly and the second aperture is partially defined by a second base surface, the second base surface being a tapered surface whereby the second aperture widens outwardly in a radial direction and wherein the first and second base surfaces are adapted to respectively engage the first and second legs of the clip and bias the first and second legs radially outwardly to disengage the clip from the male fitting; and a first locking recess extending axially from the first aperture and adapted to receive the first tab of the clip and a second locking recess extending axially from the second aperture and adapted to receive the second tab of the clip to thereby secure the clip on the female fitting.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the first base surface is continuous with a base surface of the first locking recess whereby the first aperture and the first locking recess form a first L-shaped opening and wherein the second base surface is continuous with a base surface of the second locking recess whereby the second aperture and the second locking recess form a second L-shaped opening.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 2-4B and paragraphs detailing said figures, Lemelshtrich discloses the female fitting is formed integrally with one of a valve, a diverter, a manifold, a fixture, a Y-connector, or a T-connector.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 14, 18-20 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,898,676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679