DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed 12/17/2025 in which Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2025 was filed on the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 17 recites a computer-readable storage medium described in the specification as “a computer program product (e.g., a computer program tangibly embodied in an information carrier, a machine-readable storage device, a computer-readable medium, a tangible computer-readable medium), for processing by, or to control the operation of, data processing apparatus (e.g., a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple computers). In some implementations, a tangible computer-readable storage medium may be configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform a process” but does not indicate the medium to be non-transitory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 15-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0011855 to Hazra et al (“Hazra”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0060832 to Goel et al (“Goel”).
As to Claim 1, Hazra teaches a method comprising: determining an intent of a user to interact with an application on the wearable device (the system may be worn on the wrist while display projection surfaces are provided by the dorsal and volar aspect of the hand. In this embodiment, user gesture inputs are received by articulating the wrist, hand, finger and thumb postures, see ¶ 0089; FIGS. 8A-F Illustrate representative gestures made using the five digits of a human hand to interact with display content projected on to its palmar or dorsal surfaces, see ¶ 0059; an icon representing a button may be displayed that the user may interact with using the flexion of one finger, see ¶ 0197; the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [determine of a user to interact with an application], see ¶ 0174);
determining an interface associated with the application based on the intent of the user (FIGS. 8A-F show representative gestures that interact with a user interface that may be mediated by the skin engine. In one embodiment, the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture [determining an interface associated with the application based on intent] that involves articulations of all five digits, see ¶ 0174); and
displaying the interface on a display of the wearable device, the interface being positioned on the display between an eye of the user and a portion of a body of the user (modify a display information on a computer screen or to modify a display information projected on a surface, which surface may be the non-linear surface (i.e., skin or clothing) of a human anatomical feature, see ¶ 0106; FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
Hazra does not expressly disclose determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user.
Goel teaches determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel to teach determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to generate an output of the virtual object in response to the intended actions (see Abstract).
As to Claim 2, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 1, Hazra teaches wherein the interface includes an input element, and wherein the input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed (the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon [input element] is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed]…FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 5, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 1, Goel teaches
wherein the sensor data comprises motion data associated with the portion of the user, and wherein the at least one criterion comprises a position for the portion of the user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
As to Claim 6, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 5, Goel teaches
wherein the position comprises a first position and wherein the portion comprises a first portion (pico projectors 20 may be configured to switch between the hand palm and ventral forearm surfaces to the dorsal hand and forearm surfaces automatically based on the gesture and transition between postures of the arm, see ¶ 0124. Figs. 5A-5D illustrate movement of the palm [first position of a first portion]) wherein the method further comprises: identifying a second position of a second portion of the user, wherein determining the intent of the user is further based on the second position of the second portion of the user (the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit [second position of the second portion of the user]. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits. Since users typically have five digits, the five icon or task menu has a particular significance to the skin engine, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 7, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 1, Hazra teaches
wherein determining the interface for the application based on the intent of the user comprises: identifying a set of available interfaces; and selecting the interface from the set of available interfaces (The particular icon is selected [selecting the interface from the set of available interfaces] using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits. Since users typically have five digits, the five icon or task menu [set of available interfaces] has a particular significance to the skin engine…FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 8, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 1, Hazra teaches wherein the sensor data comprises gaze data ( wrist-worn embodiment, where the embodiment contains one or more image sensors, may be used to continuously acquire images as the device is deliberately moved around in space… Such images may be viewed by virtual reality or head mounted displays or they may be viewed using augmented reality applications, see ¶ 0314; The information from such a head-worn embodiment may be used for, but not limited to, applications, such as gaze tracking, expression and eye tracking, see ¶ 0316).
As to Claim 9, Hazra teaches a computing system comprising: a computer-readable storage medium; at least one processor operatively coupled to the computer-readable storage medium; and program instructions stored on the computer-readable storage medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, direct the at least one processor to perform a method (sensors in the system 1814 and 1816 and the operating system 1838 of system 1. It may be connected to an external software or hardware appliance accessible over a wide area network through the operating system 1838, see ¶ 0199; Software user interface (UI) or application programming interface defined postures may also be received by the system 1 at block 1894. A gesture is then recognized and output at block 1896 and a gesture command in the form of an executable computer instruction, see ¶ 0219), the method comprising:
determining an intent of a user to interact with an application on the wearable device (the system may be worn on the wrist while display projection surfaces are provided by the dorsal and volar aspect of the hand. In this embodiment, user gesture inputs are received by articulating the wrist, hand, finger and thumb postures, see ¶ 0089; FIGS. 8A-F Illustrate representative gestures made using the five digits of a human hand to interact with display content projected on to its palmar or dorsal surfaces, see ¶ 0059; an icon representing a button may be displayed that the user may interact with using the flexion of one finger, see ¶ 0197; the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [determine of a user to interact with an application], see ¶ 0174);
determining an interface associated with the application based on the intent of the user (FIGS. 8A-F show representative gestures that interact with a user interface that may be mediated by the skin engine. In one embodiment, the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture [determining an interface associated with the application based on intent] that involves articulations of all five digits, see ¶ 0174); and
displaying the interface on a display of the wearable device, the interface being positioned on the display between an eye of the user and a portion of a body of the user (modify a display information on a computer screen or to modify a display information projected on a surface, which surface may be the non-linear surface (i.e., skin or clothing) of a human anatomical feature, see ¶ 0106; FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
Hazra does not expressly disclose determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user.
Goel teaches determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel to teach determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to generate an output of the virtual object in response to the intended actions (see Abstract).
As to Claim 10, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 9, Hazra teaches wherein the interface includes an input element, and wherein the input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed (the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon [input element] is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed]…FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 15, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 9, Hazra teaches
wherein determining the interface for the application based on the intent of the user comprises: identifying a set of available interfaces; and selecting the interface from the set of available interfaces (The particular icon is selected [selecting the interface from the set of available interfaces] using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits. Since users typically have five digits, the five icon or task menu [set of available interfaces] has a particular significance to the skin engine…FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 16, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 9, Hazra teaches wherein the sensor data comprises gaze data ( wrist-worn embodiment, where the embodiment contains one or more image sensors, may be used to continuously acquire images as the device is deliberately moved around in space… Such images may be viewed by virtual reality or head mounted displays or they may be viewed using augmented reality applications, see ¶ 0314; The information from such a head-worn embodiment may be used for, but not limited to, applications, such as gaze tracking, expression and eye tracking, see ¶ 0316).
As to Claim 17, Hazra teaches a computer-readable storage medium having program instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, direct the at least one processor to perform a method (sensors in the system 1814 and 1816 and the operating system 1838 of system 1. It may be connected to an external software or hardware appliance accessible over a wide area network through the operating system 1838, see ¶ 0199; Software user interface (UI) or application programming interface defined postures may also be received by the system 1 at block 1894. A gesture is then recognized and output at block 1896 and a gesture command in the form of an executable computer instruction, see ¶ 0219), the method comprising: determining an intent of a user to interact with an application on the wearable device (the system may be worn on the wrist while display projection surfaces are provided by the dorsal and volar aspect of the hand. In this embodiment, user gesture inputs are received by articulating the wrist, hand, finger and thumb postures, see ¶ 0089; FIGS. 8A-F Illustrate representative gestures made using the five digits of a human hand to interact with display content projected on to its palmar or dorsal surfaces, see ¶ 0059; an icon representing a button may be displayed that the user may interact with using the flexion of one finger, see ¶ 0197; the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [determine of a user to interact with an application], see ¶ 0174);
determining an interface associated with the application based on the intent of the user (FIGS. 8A-F show representative gestures that interact with a user interface that may be mediated by the skin engine. In one embodiment, the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture [determining an interface associated with the application based on intent] that involves articulations of all five digits, see ¶ 0174); and
displaying the interface on a display of the wearable device, the interface being positioned on the display between an eye of the user and a portion of a body of the user (modify a display information on a computer screen or to modify a display information projected on a surface, which surface may be the non-linear surface (i.e., skin or clothing) of a human anatomical feature, see ¶ 0106; FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
Hazra does not expressly disclose determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user.
Goel teaches determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel to teach determining, based on sensor data of a wearable device and at least one criterion, an intent of a user. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to generate an output of the virtual object in response to the intended actions (see Abstract).
As to Claim 18, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 17, Hazra teaches wherein the interface includes an input element, and wherein the input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed (the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon [input element] is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits [input element is operable by the user physically contacting a location on the body where the input element is displayed]…FIGS. 8A-F show a palmar or dorsal hand surface projection, the same user interface concept applies to forearm surface projections, where gestures from each finger are used to control five icon menus on the forearm surface, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 20, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 17, Goel teaches
wherein the sensor data comprises motion data associated with the portion of the user, and wherein the at least one criterion comprises a position for the portion of the user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0011855 to Hazra et al (“Hazra”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2025/0060832 to Goel et al (“Goel”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0219997 to Xu.
As to Claim 3, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 1, Goel teaches wherein the sensor data comprises motion data (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026),
Hazra and Goel do not expressly disclose wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location.
Xu teaches wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location (The user may use the index finger of the second hand 407 to interact with the XR user interface 401 using the swipe-to-text input mode… The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2, see ¶ 0039), and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location (The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2. The computing system 110 may render the display window 411 to provide an indication of the trajectory 603, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel with Xu to teach wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to render a display window that provides an indication of the detected touchpoints with the interactable elements (see Abstract).
As to Claim 4, Hazra, Goel and Xu depending on Claim 3, Xu teaches wherein the first location is anchored in space and the second location is anchored to the body of the user (The user may use the index finger of the second hand 407 to interact with the XR user interface 401 [second location anchored to the body] using the swipe-to-text input mode…The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2… The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2. The computing system 110 may render the display window 411 [first location anchored in space] to provide an indication of the trajectory 603, see ¶ 0039; Fig. 6).
As to Claim 11, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 9, Goel teaches wherein the sensor data comprises motion data (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026),
Hazra and Goel do not expressly disclose wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location.
Xu teaches wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location (The user may use the index finger of the second hand 407 to interact with the XR user interface 401 using the swipe-to-text input mode… The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2, see ¶ 0039), and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location (The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2. The computing system 110 may render the display window 411 to provide an indication of the trajectory 603, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel with Xu to teach wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to render a display window that provides an indication of the detected touchpoints with the interactable elements (see Abstract).
As to Claim 12, Hazra, Goel and Xu depending on Claim 9, Xu teaches wherein the first location is anchored in space and the second location is anchored to the body of the user (The user may use the index finger of the second hand 407 to interact with the XR user interface 401 [second location anchored to the body] using the swipe-to-text input mode…The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2… The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2. The computing system 110 may render the display window 411 [first location anchored in space] to provide an indication of the trajectory 603, see ¶ 0039; Fig. 6).
As to Claim 13, Hazra, Goel and Xu depending on Claim 11, Goel teaches
wherein the sensor data comprises motion data associated with the portion of the user, and wherein the at least one criterion comprises a position for the portion of the user (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026).
As to Claim 14, Hazra, Goel and Xu depending on Claim 13, Goel teaches
wherein the position comprises a first position and wherein the portion comprises a first portion (pico projectors 20 may be configured to switch between the hand palm and ventral forearm surfaces to the dorsal hand and forearm surfaces automatically based on the gesture and transition between postures of the arm, see ¶ 0124. Figs. 5A-5D illustrate movement of the palm [first position of a first portion]) wherein the method further comprises: identifying a second position of a second portion of the user, wherein determining the intent of the user is further based on the second position of the second portion of the user (the skin engine algorithm presents the digit articulation (posture) information to the skin engine which then highlights a particular icon corresponding with the digit [second position of the second portion of the user]. This can occur for projections on either dorsal or palmar surfaces. The particular icon is selected using a clenching or clawing or grabbing gesture that involves articulations of all five digits. Since users typically have five digits, the five icon or task menu has a particular significance to the skin engine, see ¶ 0174).
As to Claim 19, Hazra and Goel depending on Claim 17, Goel teaches wherein the sensor data comprises motion data (the position-detecting device(s) include one or more sensor-enhanced wearables 110 (hereinafter interchangeably referred to as “wearable(s)” or “on-body sensors”) to be worn by the user 106. In this example, the on-body sensors 110 include gloves worn by the user 106 on each of the user's hands…The wearables 110 include one or more sensors, such as a bend sensor(s), accelerometer(s), vibration sensor(s), gravitational sensor(s), force sensor(s), etc. and are positioned to develop signals representative of movement(s) and/or position(s) of a body part [one criterion] on which the sensor is mounted, see ¶ 0024; wearable processor(s) process the data collected by the sensors to identify one or more corresponding gestures and wirelessly transmit the gesture data to the VR processor 102, see ¶ 0026),
Hazra and Goel do not expressly disclose wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location.
Xu teaches wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location (The user may use the index finger of the second hand 407 to interact with the XR user interface 401 using the swipe-to-text input mode… The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2, see ¶ 0039), and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location (The computing system 110 may determine a trajectory 603 of the second hand 407 of the user on the one or more interactable elements of the XR user interface 401 from the starting first time T1 to the finishing second time T2. The computing system 110 may render the display window 411 to provide an indication of the trajectory 603, see ¶ 0039).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hazra and Goel with Xu to teach wherein determining the intent of the user based on the sensor data and the at least one criterion comprises identifying the intent of the user based on the motion data satisfying the at least one criterion associated with a gesture from the user in association with the interface at a first location, and wherein displaying the interface on the display comprises displaying the interface at a second location on the display different from the first location. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to render a display window that provides an indication of the detected touchpoints with the interactable elements (see Abstract).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622