Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,520,913. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1-2 requires:
1. A clasp comprising:
a first extension link in which one end side is rotatably supported at one end of a clasp cover of a band; and
a second extension link connected to a side opposite of the one end side of the first extension link via a connecting member,
wherein,
one of the first extension link or the second extension link is fixed to the other of the first extension link or the second extension link at a position different from a connected position in the connecting member, and
the first extension link is fixed to the clasp cover at a position different from the one end of the clasp cover where the first extension link is rotatably supported.
2. The clasp according to claim 1, wherein,
the connecting member is a first spring bar, and
the second extension link is configured to be capable of taking a folded state in which it is arranged to overlap with the first extension link, and an extended state in which it is pulled out in a length direction of the band.
Patented claims 1-2 require:
1. A clasp comprising:
a first extension link that is formed in a U-shape and in which a closed end side is rotatably supported at one end of a clasp cover of a band; and
a second extension link connected to an open end side of the first extension link via a connecting member,
wherein,
the second extension link is fixed to the first extension link at a position different from a connected position in the connecting member, and
the first extension link is fixed to the clasp cover at a position different from the one end of the clasp cover where the first extension link is rotatably supported.
2. The clasp according to claim 1, wherein,
the connecting member is a first spring bar, and
the second extension link is configured to be capable of taking a folded state in which it is arranged to overlap with the first extension link, and an extended state in which it is pulled out in a length direction of the band.
Although the patented claim 1 requires the first extension link to be U-shaped, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of a link and therefore the claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,520,913. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-5 require:
1. A clasp comprising:
a first extension link in which one end side is rotatably supported at one end of a clasp cover of a band; and
a second extension link connected to a side opposite of the one end side of the first extension link via a connecting member,
wherein,
one of the first extension link or the second extension link is fixed to the other of the first extension link or the second extension link at a position different from a connected position in the connecting member, and
the first extension link is fixed to the clasp cover at a position different from the one end of the clasp cover where the first extension link is rotatably supported.
2. The clasp according to claim 1, wherein,
the connecting member is a first spring bar, and
the second extension link is configured to be capable of taking a folded state in which it is arranged to overlap with the first extension link, and an extended state in which it is pulled out in a length direction of the band.
3. The clasp according to claim 2, wherein the one of the first extension link or the second extension link is in a fitted state fitted inside the other of the first extension link or the second extension link when in the folded state.
4. The clasp according to claim 3, wherein the first extension link and the second extension link are configured to be capable of being stored inside the clasp cover in the folded state.
5. The clasp according to claim 4, wherein,
the first spring bar extends in a penetrating state to penetrate through the first extension link and the second extension link in a width direction of the band, and
both ends of the first spring bar are latched to the clasp cover in a stored state in which the first extension link and the second extension link are stored inside the clasp cover
Patented claim 19 requires:
19. A band comprising:
a clasp including,
a first extension link that is formed in a U-shape and in which a closed end side is rotatably supported at one end of a clasp cover of the band, and
a second extension link connected to an open end side of the first extension link via a connecting member,
wherein,
the second extension link is fixed to the first extension link at a position different from a connected position in the connecting member,
the first extension link is fixed to the clasp cover at a position different from the one end of the clasp cover where the first extension link is rotatably supported,
the connecting member is a first spring bar,
the second extension link is configured to be capable of taking a folded state in which it is arranged to overlap with the first extension link, and an extended state in which it is pulled out in a length direction of the band,
the first extension link and the second extension link are configured to be capable of being stored inside the clasp cover in the folded state, and
the first spring bar extends in a penetrating state to penetrate through the first extension link and the second extension link in a width direction of the band, and wherein both ends of the first spring bar are latched to the clasp cover in a stored state in which the first extension link and the second extension link are stored inside the clasp cover.
Although the patented claim 19 requires the first extension link to be U-shaped, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of a link and therefore the claims are not patentably distinct from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaltenrieder et al. US 8739369.
Regarding Claim 1, Kaltenrieder et al. discloses a clasp comprising:
a first extension link (14) in which one end side is rotatably supported at one end of a clasp cover of a band; and
a second extension link (12) connected to a side opposite of the one end side of the first extension link via a connecting member (22),
wherein,
one of the first extension link or the second extension link is fixed to the other of the first extension link or the second extension link at a position different from a connected position in the connecting member (22) (the second extension link 12 is attached to the first extension link 14 at position 46), and
the first extension link is fixed to the clasp cover at a position (click 26 of first extension link 14 is attached to the clasp cover at locking pin 42) different from the one end of the clasp cover where the first extension link is rotatably supported (Fig 2A-2B).
Regarding Claim 17, Kaltenrieder et al. discloses a band (6 and 10) comprising the clasp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaltenrieder et al. US 8739369 in view of Yamashita US 20230000220.
Regarding Claim 2, Kaltenrieder et al. discloses wherein,
the second extension link is configured to be capable of taking a folded state in which it is arranged to overlap with the first extension link, and an extended state in which it is pulled out in a length direction of the band (Fig 2A-2B).
Kaltenrieder et al. does not disclose wherein the connecting member is a first spring bar.
Yamashita discloses spring rod (31) used as a hinge.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hinge of Kaltenrieder et al to include a spring pin as disclosed by Yamashita for ease of assembly.
Regarding Claim 3, Kaltenrieder et al. in view of Yamashita discloses wherein the one of the first extension link or the second extension link is in a fitted state fitted inside the other of the first extension link or the second extension link when in the folded state (Kaltenrieder et al. Fig 2A-2B).
Regarding Claim 4, Kaltenrieder et al. in view of Yamashita discloses wherein the first extension link and the second extension link are configured to be capable of being stored inside the clasp cover in the folded state (Kaltenrieder et al. Fig 2A-2B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable upon overcoming the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, set forth in this Office Action.
Claims 6-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or make obvious wherein in both ends of the first spring bar are latched to the clasp cover in a stored state along with other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Granito US 11786017 discloses a fold over clasp for a watch band. Yamamoto US 7861383 discloses a watch band folder over clasp with side release buttons.
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677