Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz et al. (US 2023/0139227 A1), hereinafter Ahrenholtz, in view of Tracy (US 5,329,876 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ahrenholtz discloses a slow-liquid-feeding bowl for pets, comprising a holding container (1) (lower cap 11, fig. 4), a licking compartment (2) (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) and a licking member (3) (ball 9, fig. 2), wherein the licking compartment (2) is covered above the holding container (1) (as shown in fig. 6, the pet lick apparatus 1 is covered above the lower cap 11) and detachably connected thereto (para. [0024], “the lower cap 11 is releasably connectable in sealed relation to the central hub 5 from the underside of base member 3. Lower cap 11 includes a peripheral sidewall 13 which forms a cavity or chamber 15 that is positioned below the central opening 7 in the base member 3”; as shown in fig. 4), and the licking member (3) (ball 9, fig. 2) is located inside the holding container (1) (as shown in fig. 6) and rotates on the holding container (1) (Para. [0024], “[t]he chamber 15 is adapted to store a liquid consumable product (not shown), such as a liquid supplement, calming agent, or treat, for controlled delivery to a pet as the pet licks and rotates the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 6);
the licking compartment (2) (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) is provided with a licking hole (21) (as shown in fig. 2, pet lick apparatus 1 is provided with an opening 7), a top of the licking member (3) passes through the licking hole (21) (as shown in fig. 2), allowing the licking member (3) to rotate at the licking hole (21) (Para. [0025], “the diameter of the ball 9 is greater than that of the central opening 7 in the base member 3, such that the ball 9 is capable of protruding upwardly through the opening 7 when assembled to the lower cap 11, yet is incapable of being withdrawn therethrough. Consequently, as the ball 9 is rolled through the licking action of a pet animal, the lower surface 21 of the ball 9 is maintained in continuous contact with the liquid consumable contained in the chamber 15. As a result of the surface tension between the liquid consumable and the ball 9, the liquid adheres to the wettable surface of the ball 9 as it is rolled and becomes exposed to the pet for consumption through the opening 7 in base 3”; as shown in fig. 2).
However, Ahrenholtz does not appear to specifically disclose wherein an outer wall of the licking
member is provided with a plurality of groove cavities, and the groove cavities are configured to carry liquid food in the holding container upward to the licking hole for a pet to lick when the licking member rotates.
Tracy is in the field of an animal water apparatus and teaches wherein an outer wall of the licking member (wheel 24, fig. 3) is provided with a plurality of groove cavities (ridges 42 extend radially outward from the surface of wheel 24, fig. 3), and the groove cavities are configured to carry liquid upward for a pet to lick when the licking member rotates (Abstract, “[t]he outer circumferential surface (40) of the wheel (24) is covered with projections or ridges (42) which efficiently bring water out of the dish (12) as the wheel (24) rotates as a result of being licked by the animal”. See also Col. 3, lines 61-63, “ridges 42 help lift water out of dish 12 by supporting a portion of water in each ridge 42”; as shown in fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ahrenholtz such that the licking member was provided with a plurality of groove cavities as taught by Tracy, in order to help lift liquid out of the dish (Tracy: Col. 3, lines 61-63). The resulting device renders obvious wherein the groove cavities are configured to carry liquid food in the holding container upward to the licking hole for a pet to lick when the licking member rotates.
Regarding claim 2, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 1, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the licking member (3) is a sphere (ball 9, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy the invention in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose the licking member is a cylinder.
However, it would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to substitute the spherical licking member with a cylindrically shaped licking member, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to make the different portions of the licking member of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, since a cylindrically shaped licking member would provide more surface area to apply liquid food for the pet. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 6, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 1, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the holding container (1) (lower cap 11, fig. 4) is provided with a holding chamber (11) (chamber 15, fig. 4), and an inner bottom of the holding chamber (11) is provided with a rotating groove (13) (support members 19, fig. 4) for the licking member (3) to rotate (Para. [0025], “it is seen that the bottom inside surface 17 of the lower cap 11 includes a plurality of circumferentially spaced upwardly extending protrusions or support members 19 which are adapted to support the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 3).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz as in view of Tracy as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Christianson et al. (US 9,288,969 B2), hereinafter Christianson.
Regarding claim 7, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 6, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a side wall of the inner bottom of said holding chamber (11) is provided with a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs (12), and the placing ribs (12) are located at a side of the rotating groove (13).
However, Christianson is in the field of a puzzle pet toy (Abstract) and teaches wherein a side wall of the inner bottom of said holding chamber (11) is provided with a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs (12), and the placing ribs (12) are located at a side of the rotating groove (13) (as shown in fig. 6, there are a plurality of circularly arranged divider walls 304 located at a side of the inner chamber 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner bottom of said holding chamber of Ahrenholtz such that there was a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs (i.e., the divider walls 304] as taught by Christianson, in order to provide support and structure.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumitsuji (US 2024/0147958 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 1, and further Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the licking compartment (2) has a frustum structure (see pet lick apparatus in fig. 2), but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a top of the licking compartment (2) is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity (22) for holding liquid food, and the licking hole (21) is located at a bottommost end of the center of the licking compartment (2).
However, Sumitsuji is in the field of a feeding tool for pets (Abstract) and teaches wherein a top of the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity for holding liquid food (as shown in figs. 2A & 3, the cover 15 has a slope 153 that slopes upward from the opening 151 toward the outside; Para. [0036]), and the licking hole is located at a bottommost end of the center of the licking compartment (as shown in fig. 2A, the sphere 11 in which the dog licks is located at a bottommost end of the cover 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz such that the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity as taught by Sumitsuji, in order to allow the pet to easily lick the sphere (Sumitsuji: Para. [0036]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu (US 9,717,215 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 1, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the licking compartment (2) (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) has a placing space (23) inside for accommodating the holding container (1) (as shown in figs. 3 & 6), but does not appear to specifically disclose an inner wall of the placing space (23) is provided with a plurality of upper limit bosses (24) arranged at equal intervals and a plurality of lower limit bosses (25) arranged at equal intervals, the upper limit bosses (24) and the lower limit bosses (25) being alternately arranged with respect to each other, and an outer wall of the holding container (1) is provided with circular ribs (15) that are engaged with the plurality of upper limit bosses (24) and the plurality of lower limit bosses (25).
However, Hsu is in the field of a pet feeder (Abstract) and teaches a plurality of upper limit bosses (first slots 13a, fig. 1) arranged at equal intervals (Col. 2, lines 66, “first slots 13a that are annularly spaced”) and a plurality of lower limit bosses (fourth slots 13d, fig. 2) arranged at equal intervals (Col. 3, lines 1-2, “a set of fourth slots 13d that are annularly spaced”), the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses being alternately arranged with respect to each other (as shown in fig. 1), and an outer wall of the [base body] is provided with circular ribs (the assembly base 20 further includes a plurality of pluggable fins, fig. 1) that are engaged with a plurality of upper limit bosses and the plurality of lower limit bosses (Col. 3, lines 23-29, “a spacing between two adjacent slots in each set of first, second, third, and fourth slots 13a, 13b, 13c, and 13d is substantially equal to a spacing between two adjacent pluggable fins 21, so that the pluggable fins 21 can be inserted into and detachably coupled with one of the sets of first, second, third, and fourth slots 13a, 13b, 13c and 13d optionally”).
Examiner notes, since Ahrenholtz teaches that an inner wall of the placing space is provided with an attachment mechanism (i.e., the frictional engagement between the central hub 5 and the lower container 11, as shown in fig. 6), then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment mechanism of Ahrenholtz with the height adjustment feature as taught by Hsu, in order to adjust to the size of the pet (Hsu: Col. 1, lines 5-8).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumitsuji (US 2024/0147958 A1), and Mai et al. (US 2019/0239476 A1), hereinafter Mai.
Regarding claim 11, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy discloses the invention in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a top end of the licking compartment forms an inwardly recessed concave placing cavity, the licking hole is located at a bottom of the concave placing cavity, and a highest point of the licking compartment is provided with a drainage hole, the drainage hole being located at the concave placing cavity and above the holding container.
However, Sumitsuji is in the field of a feeding tool for pets (Abstract) and teaches wherein a top end of the licking compartment forms an inwardly recessed concave placing cavity as shown in figs. 2A & 3, the cover 15 has a slope 153 that slopes upward from the opening 151 toward the outside; Para. [0036]), the licking hole is located at a bottom of the concave placing cavity (as shown in fig. 2A, the sphere 11 in which the dog licks is located at a bottom of the concave placing cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz such that the licking compartment forms an inwardly recessed concave placing cavity as taught by Sumitsuji, in order to allow the pet to easily lick the sphere (Sumitsuji: Para. [0036]).
Mai is in the field of a pet water fountain (Abstract) and teaches wherein a highest
point of the top of the licking compartment is provided with a drainage hole (Para. [0036], “[a] drain 48 may be formed in the perimeter wall 56 of the bowl 22, through which water 32 flows into the channel”; as show in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ahrenholtz such that there was drainage holes positioned at the top of the licking compartment as taught by Mai, in order to allow excess liquid to pass through the pet licking apparatus. Modifying the drainage holes of Mai to be positioned on the top of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz would result in the drainage holes located at the placing cavity and above the holding cavity.
Claim(s) 12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz et al. (US 2023/0139227 A1), hereinafter Ahrenholtz, in view of Tracy (US 5,329,876 A), and Hsu (US 9,717,215 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Ahrenholtz discloses a slow-liquid-feeding bowl for pets, comprising a holding container (lower cap 11, fig. 4), a licking compartment (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2), and a licking member (ball 9, fig. 2), wherein the licking compartment is covered above the holding container (as shown in fig. 6, the pet lick apparatus 1 is covered above the lower cap 11) and detachably connected thereto (para. [0024], “the lower cap 11 is releasably connectable in sealed relation to the central hub 5 from the underside of base member 3. Lower cap 11 includes a peripheral sidewall 13 which forms a cavity or chamber 15 that is positioned below the central opening 7 in the base member 3”; as shown in fig. 4), the licking member (ball 9, fig. 2) is located inside the holding container (as shown in fig. 6) and rotates on the holding container (Para. [0024], “[t]he chamber 15 is adapted to store a liquid consumable product (not shown), such as a liquid supplement, calming agent, or treat, for controlled delivery to a pet as the pet licks and rotates the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 6), the licking compartment (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) is provided with a licking hole (as shown in fig. 2, pet lick apparatus 1 is provided with an opening 7), and a top of the licking member passes through the licking hole (as shown in fig. 2) allowing the licking member rotates at the licking hole(Para. [0025], “the diameter of the ball 9 is greater than that of the central opening 7 in the base member 3, such that the ball 9 is capable of protruding upwardly through the opening 7 when assembled to the lower cap 11, yet is incapable of being withdrawn therethrough. Consequently, as the ball 9 is rolled through the licking action of a pet animal, the lower surface 21 of the ball 9 is maintained in continuous contact with the liquid consumable contained in the chamber 15. As a result of the surface tension between the liquid consumable and the ball 9, the liquid adheres to the wettable surface of the ball 9 as it is rolled and becomes exposed to the pet for consumption through the opening 7 in base 3”; as shown in fig. 2);
wherein the licking compartment (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) has a placing space inside for accommodating the holding container (as shown in figs. 3 & 6).
However, Ahrenholtz does not appear to specifically disclose wherein an inner wall of the placing space is provided with upper limit bosses and lower limit bosses arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction, the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses being alternately arranged with respect to each other along the circumferential direction, and an outer side wall of the holding container is provided with a circular rib that is selectively engaged with the licking compartment above the upper limit bosses or between the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses so as to allow the holding container to switch between different height positions relative to the licking compartment. However, Hsu is in the field of a pet feeder (Abstract) and teaches a plurality of upper limit bosses (first slots 13a, fig. 1) arranged at equal intervals (Col. 2, lines 66, “first slots 13a that are annularly spaced”) and a plurality of lower limit bosses (fourth slots 13d, fig. 2) arranged at equal intervals (Col. 3, lines 1-2, “a set of fourth slots 13d that are annularly spaced”), the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses being alternately arranged with respect to each other (as shown in fig. 1), and an outer wall of the [base body] is provided with a circular rib (the assembly base 20 further includes a plurality of pluggable fins, fig. 1) that is selectively engaged with the [feeder body] compartment above the upper limit bosses or between the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses (as shown in fig. 1, the plurality of pluggable fins is selectively engages with the feeder body 10 between the first slots 13a and the fourth slots 13d) so as to allow the [base body] to switch between different height positions relative to the licking compartment (as shown in figs. 1a-4b).
Examiner notes, since Ahrenholtz teaches that an inner wall of the placing space is provided with an attachment mechanism (i.e., the frictional engagement between the central hub 5 and the lower container 11, as shown in fig. 6), then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment mechanism of Ahrenholtz with the height adjustment feature as taught by Hsu, in order to adjust to the size of the pet (Hsu: Col. 1, lines 5-8). The resulting device renders obvious wherein an outer side wall of the holding container is provided with a circular rib that is selectively engaged with the licking compartment between the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses to as to allow the holding container to switch between different height positions relative to the licking compartment.
Regarding claim 15, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy and Hsu discloses the invention in claim 12, and the combined references further disclose wherein, when the circular rib is located between the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses (as set forth above in claim 12), the licking member moves downward from the licking hole to expose the licking hole (as set forth in claim 12 above, as a result of modifying the invention of Ahrenholtz in view of the height adjustment feature of Hsu would result in the licking member of Ahrenholtz to move downward from the licking hole to expose the licking hole).
Regarding claim 16, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy and Hsu discloses the invention in claim 12, and the combined references further discloses wherein the upper limit bosses and the lower limit bosses are each arranged at equal intervals (as set forth above in claim 12).
Regarding claim 17, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy and Hsu discloses the invention in claim 12, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the holding container (lower cap 11, fig. 4) is provided with a holding chamber (chamber 15, fig. 4), and an inner bottom of the holding chamber is provided with a rotating groove for the licking member to rotate in (Para. [0025], “it is seen that the bottom inside surface 17 of the lower cap 11 includes a plurality of circumferentially spaced upwardly extending protrusions or support members 19 which are adapted to support the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 3).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy and Hsu as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sumitsuji (US 2024/0147958 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Ahrenholtz in view of Tracy and Hsu discloses the invention in claim 12, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the licking compartment has a frustum structure (see pet lick apparatus in fig. 2), but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the top of the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure and forms a concave placing cavity for holding liquid food, and the licking hole is located at a bottommost end of a center of the licking compartment.
However, Sumitsuji is in the field of a feeding tool for pets (Abstract) and teaches wherein a top of the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity for holding liquid food (as shown in figs. 2A & 3, the cover 15 has a slope 153 that slopes upward from the opening 151 toward the outside; Para. [0036]), and the licking hole is located at a bottommost end of the center of the licking compartment (as shown in fig. 2A, the sphere 11 in which the dog licks is located at a bottommost end of the cover 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz such that the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity as taught by Sumitsuji, in order to allow the pet to easily lick the sphere (Sumitsuji: Para. [0036]).
Claim(s) 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz et al. (US 2023/0139227 A1), hereinafter Ahrenholtz, Sumitsuji (US 2024/0147958 A1), and Mai et al. (US 2019/0239476 A1), hereinafter Mai.
Regarding claim 19, Ahrenholtz discloses a slow-liquid-feeding bowl for pets, comprising a holding container (lower cap 11, fig. 4), a licking compartment (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2), and a licking member (ball 9, fig. 2), wherein the licking compartment is covered above the holding container (as shown in fig. 6, the pet lick apparatus 1 is covered above the lower cap 11) and detachably connected thereto (para. [0024], “the lower cap 11 is releasably connectable in sealed relation to the central hub 5 from the underside of base member 3. Lower cap 11 includes a peripheral sidewall 13 which forms a cavity or chamber 15 that is positioned below the central opening 7 in the base member 3”; as shown in fig. 4), the licking member is located inside the holding container (as shown in fig. 6) and rotates on the holding container (Para. [0024], “[t]he chamber 15 is adapted to store a liquid consumable product (not shown), such as a liquid supplement, calming agent, or treat, for controlled delivery to a pet as the pet licks and rotates the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 6), the licking compartment (pet lick apparatus 1, fig. 2) is provided with a licking hole (as shown in fig. 2, pet lick apparatus 1 is provided with an opening 7), and a top of the licking member passes through the licking hole (as shown in fig. 2) such that the licking member rotates at the licking hole(Para. [0025], “the diameter of the ball 9 is greater than that of the central opening 7 in the base member 3, such that the ball 9 is capable of protruding upwardly through the opening 7 when assembled to the lower cap 11, yet is incapable of being withdrawn therethrough. Consequently, as the ball 9 is rolled through the licking action of a pet animal, the lower surface 21 of the ball 9 is maintained in continuous contact with the liquid consumable contained in the chamber 15. As a result of the surface tension between the liquid consumable and the ball 9, the liquid adheres to the wettable surface of the ball 9 as it is rolled and becomes exposed to the pet for consumption through the opening 7 in base 3”; as shown in fig. 2).
However, Ahrenholtz does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a top end of the licking compartment defines an inwardly recessed concave placing cavity, the licking hole is located at a bottom of the concave placing cavity, and a top highest point of the licking compartment is provided with a drainage hole, the drainage hole being located at the concave placing cavity and above the holding container.
Sumitsuji is in the field of a feeding tool for pets (Abstract) and teaches wherein a top end of the licking compartment defines an inwardly recessed concave placing cavity as shown in figs. 2A & 3, the cover 15 has a slope 153 that slopes upward from the opening 151 toward the outside; Para. [0036]), the licking hole is located at a bottom of the concave placing cavity (as shown in fig. 2A, the sphere 11 in which the dog licks is located at a bottommost end of the cover 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz such that the licking compartment is an inwardly concave structure forming a concave placing cavity as taught by Sumitsuji, in order to allow the pet to easily lick the sphere (Sumitsuji: Para. [0036]).
Mai is in the field of a pet water fountain (Abstract) and teaches wherein a highest
point of the top of the licking compartment is provided with a drainage hole (Para. [0036], “[a] drain 48 may be formed in the perimeter wall 56 of the bowl 22, through which water 32 flows into the channel”; as show in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ahrenholtz such that there was drainage holes positioned at the top of the licking compartment as taught by Mai, in order to allow excess liquid to pass through the pet licking apparatus. Modifying the drainage holes of Mai to be positioned on the top of the licking compartment of Ahrenholtz would result in the drainage holes located at the concave placing cavity and above the holding cavity.
Regarding claim 20, Ahrenholtz in view of Sumitsuji and Mai discloses the invention in claim 19, Sumitsuji further discloses wherein the drainage hole is configured to guide cleaning water into the [holding container] during cleaning (Para. [0036], “[a] drain 48 may be formed in the perimeter wall 56 of the bowl 22, through which water 32 flows into the channel”).
Regarding claim 21, Ahrenholtz in view of Sumitsuji and Mai discloses the invention in claim 19, the combined references further disclose wherein, in an inverted state of the slow-liquid-feeding bowl for pets, the drainage hole is configured to discharge residual water from the holding container (equivalent structure provides equivalent function).
Regarding claim 22, Ahrenholtz in view of Sumitsuji and Mai discloses the invention in claim 19, and Ahrenholtz further discloses wherein the holding container (lower cap 11, fig. 4) is provided with a holding chamber (chamber 15, fig. 4), and an inner bottom of the holding chamber is provided with a rotating groove (support members 19, fig. 4) for the licking member to rotate in (Para. [0025], “it is seen that the bottom inside surface 17 of the lower cap 11 includes a plurality of circumferentially spaced upwardly extending protrusions or support members 19 which are adapted to support the ball 9 within chamber 15”; as shown in fig. 3).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahrenholtz in view of Sumitsuji and Mai as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Christianson et al. (US 9,288,969 B2), hereinafter Christianson.
Regarding claim 23, Ahrenholtz in view of Sumitsuji and Mai discloses the invention in claim 22, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a side wall of an inner bottom of the holding container is provided with a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs, and the placing ribs are located at a side of the rotating groove.
However, Christianson is in the field of a puzzle pet toy (Abstract) and teaches wherein a side wall of the inner bottom of said holding chamber (11) is provided with a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs (12), and the placing ribs (12) are located at a side of the rotating groove (13) (as shown in fig. 6, there are a plurality of circularly arranged divider walls 304 located at a side of the inner chamber 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner bottom of said holding chamber of Ahrenholtz such that there was a plurality of circularly arranged placing ribs (i.e., the divider walls 304] as taught by Christianson, in order to provide support and structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-9, and 11-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/Christopher D Hutchens/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647