DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussell (2013/0264591) in view of Okazaki et al. (2013/0141892).
With respect to claim 1, Hussell teaches an LED (light emitting diode) filament (Fig. 6) comprising: a base layer (72); two electrodes (82 and 84) disposed on the base layer (Fig. 6); a plurality of first LED chips (40) and connected in series to form a first current branch (Fig. 6 and paragraph 64), two ends of the first current branch connected to the two electrodes respectively (Fig. 6); a plurality of second LED chips (40) disposed on the base layer and connected in series to form a second current branch (Fig. 6 and paragraph 64), two ends of the second current branch connected to the two electrodes respectively (Fig. 6), wherein the first current branch is connected in parallel with the second current branch (paragraph 64); and a covering layer (100, 102, and 110) covering the plurality of first LED chips, circuitry, the plurality of second LED chips and a part of each two electrodes (Fig. 7A).
Hussell does not explicitly teach at least one current-limiting resistor disposed on the base layer (claim 1).
As for claim 1, Okazaki also drawn to LED filaments, teaches at least one current-limiting resistor (paragraph 111) disposed on the base layer (Fig. 3) and connected in series to form a first current branch (paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the current-limiting resistor of Okazaki in the LED filament of Hussell, in order to adjust the current to the appropriate level for the LEDs (paragraph 111 of Okazaki).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,779 in view of Okazaki et al. (2013/0141892).
With respect to claim 1 of the present application, claims 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,779 teach all of the claimed elements, except for explicitly teaching at least one current-limiting resistor disposed on the base layer and connected in series to form a first current branch (claim 1). Okazaki also drawn to LED filaments, teaches at least one current-limiting resistor (paragraph 111) disposed on the base layer (Fig. 3) and connected in series to form a first current branch (paragraph 85). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the current-limiting resistor of Okazaki in the LED filament of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,779, in order to adjust the current to the appropriate level for the LEDs (paragraph 111 of Okazaki).
As for claim 11, claims 1 and 10 and/or claims 12 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,779 teach all of the claimed elements, except for explicitly teaching at least one current-limiting resistor disposed on the base layer and connected in series to form a first current branch (claim 11). Okazaki also drawn to LED filaments, teaches at least one current-limiting resistor (paragraph 111) disposed on the base layer (Fig. 3) and connected in series to form a first current branch (paragraph 85). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the current-limiting resistor of Okazaki in the LED filament of U.S. Patent No. 12,359,779, in order to adjust the current to the appropriate level for the LEDs (paragraph 111 of Okazaki).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 2, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein a color temperature of the first current branch is different from a color temperature of the second current branch, along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 2.
As for claims 3-10, these claims depend from claim 2 and therefore contain the same allowable subject matter as claim 2.
With respect to claims 12, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein a color temperature of the first current branch is different from a color temperature of the second current branch, along with the other limiting elements of claims 11 and 12.
As for claims 13-20, these claims depend from claim 12 and therefore contain the same allowable subject matter as claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yan et al. (11,215,326)
Schlereth et al. (10,969,063)
Tiwari et al. (2019/0139943)
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 5/30/2026