DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Claims 18-20 are directed to “A computer program product, wherein the program product is stored in a storage medium”. However, Applicant’s specification fails to explicitly exclude transitory signal embodiments for the claimed computer program storage medium (see instant specification, ¶ 222-223). Thus, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, claims 18-20 cover ineligible transitory signal embodiments and are therefore directed to non-statutory subject matter. See MPEP 2106. Examiner recommends amending the claims to recite “a non-transitory readable storage medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 15 recite “communicating an input port”. Similarly, claim 5 recites “communicating an output port”. It is unclear what is meant by these limitations, as it is unclear how a physical input or output port can be communicated to another part of a circuit. In other words, this appears to be a grammatical error due to translation and the meaning of the limitations cannot be determined. The scope of the subject matter cannot be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art, and thus claims 4, 5, and 15 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113015007, published 6/22/21, *note: Examiner will rely upon US 2023/0362328 as an English translation of CN 113015007) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 114302092, published 4/8/22, *note: Examiner will rely upon US 2024/0345790 as an English translation of CN 114302092) and Lee et al. (US 2025/0046269).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a data processing method, applied to a chip, wherein the method comprises: receiving a first enabling instruction sent by a system on chip (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140, determining module determines resolution is greater than preset resolution; see also ¶ 160-164, system on chip disclosed);
reducing a resolution of obtained first data according to the first enabling instruction, and processing the first data with a reduced resolution, to obtain second data (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is greater than preset resolution, processing module processes video to obtain second video with lower resolution, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140);
wherein the first data is image data sent by the system on chip, the resolution of the first data is greater than or equal to a first threshold, and a resolution of the second data is less than the first threshold (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is greater than preset resolution, processing module processes video to obtain second video with lower resolution, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140).
Li fails to explicitly disclose a discrete display chip, and sending the second data to a display driver integrated circuit.
Zhang teaches a discrete display chip (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, independent display chip disclosed for image processing including frame interpolation, super resolution, etc.).
Li and Zhang are both directed image processing for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Li with the independent display chip of Zhang since such a modification reduces power consumption of the system on chip and improves the fluency of the image displayed (Zhang, ¶ 28).
Lee teaches sending the second data to a display driver integrated circuit (abstract, figs. 1-3, ¶ 9, ¶ 42, ¶ 78-86, display driver IC comprises an upscaler to increase resolution of image data).
Li in view of Zhang and Lee are both directed image processing for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Li in view of Zhang with the display driver IC of Lee since such a modification enables efficient image processing and reduced power consumption (Lee, ¶ 9).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein reducing the resolution of the obtained first data comprises: downscaling the first data by enabling a downscale component in the discrete display chip (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is greater than preset resolution, processing module processes video to obtain second video with lower resolution, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further teaches wherein at least one of the following processing is performed on the first data with the reduced resolution: frame interpolation; super-resolution; denoising; color enhancement; or color calibration (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, independent display chip disclosed for image processing including frame interpolation, super resolution, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further teaches wherein the method further comprises: communicating an input port of the discrete display chip with a display data receiving component of the discrete display chip after receiving the first enabling instruction, wherein the display data receiving component is connected to the downscale component (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, independent display chip communicates with system on chip);
and sending a first transmission instruction to the system on chip, wherein the first transmission instruction notifies the system on chip to send the first data (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, system on chip sends data to the independent display chip when TE signal sent by independent display chip is received).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses receiving a first disabling instruction sent by the system on chip after receiving the first enabling instruction (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is less than or equal to the preset resolution, e.g., prior art algorithm utilized, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140).
Zhang further teaches directly communicating an output port of the discrete display chip with an input port of the discrete display chip according to the first disabling instruction, wherein the input port of the discrete display chip is connected to an output port of the system on chip, and the output port of the discrete display chip is connected to an input port of the display driver integrated circuit (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, input and output ports of independent display chip directly connected; independent display chip connected between system on chip and display device LCM).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a data processing method, applied to a circuit, wherein the method comprises: receiving a second enabling instruction sent by a system on chip (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140, determining module determines resolution is greater than preset resolution; see also ¶ 160-164, system on chip disclosed);
and increasing, according to the second enabling instruction, a resolution of the second data, to obtain third data, wherein a resolution of the third data is equal to a resolution of first data, and the first data is image data sent by the system on chip (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, frame-inserted low-resolution video restored to frame-inserted high-resolution video according to the target rule, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140).
Li fails to explicitly disclose a display driver integrated circuit, and a case of obtaining second data sent by a discrete display chip.
Zhang teaches a case of obtaining second data sent by a discrete display chip (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, independent display chip disclosed for image processing including frame interpolation, super resolution, etc.).
Li and Zhang are both directed image processing for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Li with the independent display chip of Zhang since such a modification reduces power consumption of the system on chip and improves the fluency of the image displayed (Zhang, ¶ 28).
Lee teaches a display driver integrated circuit (abstract, figs. 1-3, ¶ 9, ¶ 42, ¶ 78-86, display driver IC comprises an upscaler to increase resolution of image data).
Li in view of Zhang and Lee are both directed image processing for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Li in view of Zhang with the display driver IC of Lee since such a modification enables efficient image processing and reduced power consumption (Lee, ¶ 9).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further teaches wherein increasing the resolution of the second data comprises: upscaling the second data by enabling an upscale component in the display driver integrated circuit (abstract, figs. 1-3, ¶ 9, ¶ 42, ¶ 78-86, display driver IC comprises an upscaler to increase resolution of image data).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second disabling instruction sent by the system on chip after receiving the second enabling instruction (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is less than or equal to the preset resolution, e.g., prior art algorithm utilized, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140);
disabling the upscale component according to the second disabling instruction (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, if resolution of a first video is less than or equal to the preset resolution, e.g., prior art algorithm utilized, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 111-112, ¶ 131-140).
Zhang further teaches sending a second transmission instruction, wherein the second transmission instruction notifies the system on chip to send the first data (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, system on chip sends data to the independent display chip when TE signal sent by independent display chip is received);
and receiving the first data transmitted by the discrete display chip (figs. 1-4, ¶ 28-34, independent display chip disclosed for image processing including frame interpolation, super resolution, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 6.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium has a program or instructions stored therein, and the program or the instructions are executed by a processor to implement the steps of the data processing method according to claim 1 (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 160-164).
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a computer program product, wherein the program product is stored in a storage medium, and the program product is executed by at least one processor to implement the steps of the data processing method according to claim 1 (fig. 1, ¶ 27-32, see also figs. 10-12, ¶ 160-164).
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626