Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/426386 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,191 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/426,402 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/426,432 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,151 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/320,777 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,190 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,192 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,193 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2018/0176468).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for processing an image, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream for the image (FIG. 1, a video source is received by an encoder 28);
obtaining information on image resizing for the image based on the bitstream ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));
reconstructing the image by decoding the bitstream ([0115], the image is reconstructed by a decoder); and
performing image resizing for the reconstructed image based on the image resizing information ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)),
wherein the reconstructing the image comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0004], [0087], [0089], intra prediction is performed to generate a prediction block),
wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the reconstructed image ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)), and
wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0167], an amount of yaw rotation is signaled).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses a method for processing an image, the method comprising:
generating a bitstream by encoding the image ([0049], the encoder generates a bit stream); and
encoding information on image resizing for the image into the bitstream ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));
wherein the encoding the image comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0004], [0087], [0089], intra prediction is performed to generate a prediction block),
wherein the information on image resizing is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)),
wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the image ([0081], [0141], [0163], [0204], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled to indicate a region of interest in an image for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));, and
wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0167], an amount of yaw rotation is signaled).
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above. Wang further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 1, the bitstream is transmitted to a device 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela (US 2017/0085917) in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2018/0176468).
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method for processing an image, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream for the image (FIG. 5, a bitstream is received by a decoder);
obtaining information on image resizing for the image based on the bitstream (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));
reconstructing the image by decoding the bitstream ([0187], the image is reconstructed by a decoder); and
performing image resizing for the reconstructed image based on the image resizing information (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)),
wherein the reconstructing the image comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0052], intra prediction is performed),
wherein the image resizing information comprises offset factors for each direction of the reconstructed image (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)).
Hannuksela is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
Wang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image ([0167], an amount of yaw rotation is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding of 360 degree video data.
Regarding claim 2, Hannuksela discloses wherein the image resizing is performed further considering scaling factors for both a lateral direction and a longitudinal direction, and the scaling factor for the lateral direction and the scaling factor for the longitudinal direction are obtained independently from each other ([0318], ScaleFactorHor and ScaleFactorVer).
Regarding claim 3, Hannuksela discloses wherein the image resizing is performed based on a resizing value, and the resizing value is obtained based on the offset factor included in the image resizing information and a decoding setting (FIG. 10, [0318], offsets are used for deriving a scale factor based on encoder/decoder programmed settings).
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses wherein the image resizing for a chroma component is performed based on the image resizing for a luma component ([0327], [0363], An inter-layer resampling process for obtaining a resampled chroma sample value may be specified identically or similarly to the above-described process for a luma sample value).
Regarding claim 6, Hannuksela discloses a method for processing an image, the method comprising:
generating a bitstream by encoding the image ([0201], the encoder generates a bit stream); and
encoding information on image resizing for the image into the bitstream (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));
wherein the encoding the image comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image to generate a prediction block ([0052], intra prediction is performed),
wherein the information on image resizing is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing));,
wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the image (FIG. 10, [0318], [0363], left, right, top, and bottom offsets are signaled for performing image upsampling/downsampling (resizing)).
Hannuksela is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
Wang from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image ([0167], an amount of yaw rotation is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Hannuksela for more efficient encoding/decoding of 360 degree video data.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above. Hannuksela further discloses transmitting the bitstream ([0280], the bitstream is transmitted).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela (US 2017/0085917) in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2018/0176468), and further in view of
Yamamoto et al. (Yamamoto) (US 2017/0034532).
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 3 (see claim 3 above).
Hannuksela in view of Wang is silent about wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting.
Yamamoto from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting ([0273], a value obtained by multiplying a syntax value of the corresponding reference region offset information by 2 is set as a reference region offset).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yamamoto Wang into the teachings of Hannuksela in view of Wang for more efficient encoding/decoding of 360 degree video data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hannuksela (US 2017/0347026) ([0289], yaw rotation information is signaled).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488