DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the inner housing". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 15, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lv et al (CN 215526701).
RE 1, Lv discloses a wireless electronic tag (fig 2-4), comprising: an inner housing (body 1); a circuitry accommodated in a cavity of the inner housing (pg 14 par 3); a thermal insulated housing (insulating member 3); and an outer housing comprising an upper housing (shell 2) and a lower housing (end cover 4), the outer housing being provided with sealing ring grooves (groove 22, 42) to accommodate sealing rings (52), and the upper housing (2) and the lower housing (4) being pressed against each other to secure the sealing rings and form a seal (pg 14 par 6-7).
RE 4, wherein the thermal insulated housing (3) comprises an upper housing portion (part 32) and a bottom cover (part 33) pressed together to form a closed cavity for accommodating the inner housing (1) (pg 14 par 4-5).
Re 6, wherein the wireless electronic tag is installed onto a bracket (connecting member 5) secured to an object (existing device 7) to be tracked (pg 14 par 8-10).
Re 15, Lv discloses a wireless electronic tag, comprising: a thermal insulated housing (insulating member 3); an inner housing (body 1) surrounded by the thermal insulated housing; and an outer housing surrounding the thermal insulated housing, the outer housing comprising an upper housing (shell 2) and a lower housing (end cover 4), the outer housing being provided with sealing ring grooves (22, 42) to accommodate sealing rings (52), and the upper housing and the lower housing being pressed against each other to secure the sealing rings and form a seal (fig 2-4, pg 14 par 6-7).
Re 18, wherein the thermal insulated housing (3) comprises an upper housing portion (par 32) and a bottom cover (par 33) pressed together to form a closed cavity for accommodating the inner housing (pg 14 par 4-5).
RE 20, further comprising a Bluetooth Low Energy chip inside the inner housing (pg 14 par 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lv in view of Hozumi et al (JPH11111880).
Lv discloses a wireless electronic tag (fig 2-4), comprising: an inner housing (body 1); a circuitry accommodated in a cavity of the inner housing (pg 14 par 3); a thermal insulated housing (insulating member 3); and an outer housing comprising an upper housing (shell 2) and a lower housing (end cover 4), the outer housing being provided with sealing ring grooves (groove 22, 42) to accommodate sealing rings (52), and the upper housing (2) and the lower housing (4) being pressed against each other to secure the sealing rings and form a seal (pg 14 par 6-7).
Lv fails to disclose wherein the outer housing is provided with two sealing ring grooves that are staggered, and two sealing rings are secured in the two sealing ring grooves; or wherein a vertical mating surface is between the upper housing and the lower housing, and the sealing ring grooves are vertically arranged in the vertical mating surface.
However, Hozumi teaches an electronic component package includes an insulating case having an electronic element housing space and an outer wall, a metallized portion for brazing being formed on an upper surface of the outer wall, and a metal seal ring being provided on an upper surface of the metallized portion with a brazing material interposed therebetween, and hermetically sealing a metal lid body by welding the metal lid body onto the metal seal ring of the insulating case (par 5, 15, Fig 2-3).
Given the teachings of Hozumi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless tag of Lv with wherein the outer housing is provided with two sealing ring grooves that are staggered, and two sealing rings are secured in the two sealing ring grooves; or wherein a vertical mating surface is between the upper housing and the lower housing, and the sealing ring grooves are vertically arranged in the vertical mating surface.
Doing so would provide a more highly reliable package for an electronic component capable of miniaturizing the package for the electronic component, without lowering sealing property of the package for the electronic component.
Claims 7-11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lv in view of Baba et al (US 7463156).
Lv discloses a wireless electronic tag, comprising: an outer housing comprising an upper housing (shell 2) and a lower housing (end cover 4), the outer housing being provided with sealing ring grooves (22, 42) to accommodate sealing rings (52), the upper housing and the lower housing being pressed against each other to secure the sealing rings and form a seal, an inner surface of the upper housing comprising a circuitry comprising a printed circuit board; further comprising a thermal insulated housing (3) comprising an upper housing portion (32) and a bottom cover (33) pressed together to form a closed cavity for accommodating the inner housing wherein the wireless electronic tag is installed onto a bracket (5) secured to an object to be tracked (pg 14).
Lv fails to disclose inner surface of the upper housing comprises a plurality of supporters; a circuitry fixed to the plurality of supporters of the outer housing; and thermal insulation media filled into a cavity of the outer housing where the circuitry is installed; wherein the thermal insulation media is filled in liquid form into the cavity of the outer housing, and is cured to completely wrap the circuitry.
However, Baba teaches an RFID tag 100 (shown in FIG. 1 and 4) includes an inlet 110 in which an antenna pattern 112 forming an antenna for radio communication and formed on a base 113 is electrically connected to a circuit chip 111 which performs radio communication with the antenna, a case 130 with a cylindrical shape and made of temperature-resistant plastic on part of which the supporting platform 120 is fixed, and a thermal storage section 140 enclosed with a silicon resin (step 3) (full disclosure).
Given the teachings of Baba, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless tag of Lv with a circuitry fixed to the plurality of supporters of the outer housing; and thermal insulation media filled into a cavity of the outer housing where the circuitry is installed; wherein the thermal insulation media is filled in liquid form into the cavity of the outer housing, and is cured to completely wrap the circuitry.
Doing so would provide a tag capable of tolerating a high temperature environment, and radio waves are not disturbed, resulting in good performance of radio communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited prior art disclose, teach, suggest at least a first seam between the upper housing portion and the bottom cover of the thermal insulated housing is staggered with a second seam between the upper housing and the lower housing.
Conclusion
/Christle I Marshall/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876