DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/321,332 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/326,156 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,201 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,198 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,202 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Hannuksela (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
obtaining partitioning information for a default coding unit ([0037], a largest coding unit (LCU) is obtained, [0048], a coding tree unit (CTU) representing a root of a quad tree of a typical 64x64 size) included in the image from the bitstream ([0048], [0053], [0074], [0075], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled);
partitioning the default coding unit into a plurality of lower coding units based on the partitioning information for the default coding unit ([0048]-[0050], [0053], [0074], [0075], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and the CTU is partitioned according to a quad tree binary tree structure); and
decoding each of the lower coding units to reconstruct the image ([0118], [0156], the image id reconstructed via decoding),
wherein the reconstructing the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image ([0118], residual blocks are added to prediction blocks to reconstruct an image),
wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit ([0040], coding units (CU) are partitioned into prediction units (PU)) is determined based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0021], one or more of the resulting sub-blocks (e.g., leaf nodes) can be further partitioned according to a binary tree structure, provided that the sub-block being partitioned has an area that is no larger than the maximum binary tree root node size allowed; [0049], [0050], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)).
Zhao is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient image streaming and reproduction (Hannuksela: [0002]) and for applying the teachings of Wang to a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the lower coding unit is partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on type-based partitioning ([0053], a flag signaling horizontal or vertical splitting).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on whether the default coding unit is quad-tree partitioned ([0050], if the coding unit is a quad tree block and of a certain size, partitioning of the coding unit is/is not performed).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses wherein the default coding unit is partitioned using a tree-based partitioning including a quad-tree partitioning and a binary-tree partitioning ([0049], quad tree binary tree partitioning).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
partitioning a default coding unit included in the image into a plurality of lower coding units ([0048], [0053], [0074], [0075], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled);
encoding partitioning information for the default coding unit into a bitstream ([0048], [0053], [0074], [0075], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled); and
encoding each of the lower coding units to encode the image into the bitstream ([0048], [0053], [0074], [0075], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is encoded in a bitstream)
wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image ([0118], residual blocks are added to prediction blocks to reconstruct an image);
wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit ([0040], coding units (CU) are partitioned into prediction units (PU)) is determined based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0021], one or more of the resulting sub-blocks (e.g., leaf nodes) can be further partitioned according to a binary tree structure, provided that the sub-block being partitioned has an area that is no larger than the maximum binary tree root node size allowed; [0049], [0050], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)).
Zhao is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Zhao for more efficient image streaming and reproduction (Hannuksela: [0002]) and for applying the teachings of Wang to a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 (see claim 6 above). Zhao further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 1, the bitstream 16 is received at decoder 30).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Zhao) (US 2017/0280162) in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2017/0344843), and further in view of Liu et al. (Liu) (US 2013/0022129).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Zhoa is silent about wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit.
Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit ([0020], Once the splitting of CU hierarchical tree is done, each leaf CU is subject to further split into prediction units (PUs) according to prediction type and PU partition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu into the teachings of Zhao in view of Wang for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (Park) (US 2016/0029033) ([0087] partitioning of a block is performed based on a size and a shape of the block).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488