DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-14, 17-18, 20-22, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 8-9 states “can be accommodated or is accommodated” which renders the claim indefinite as the terms “can be accommodated” appear to render the limitations optional, while the term “is accommodated” renders the limitation as required by the invention. The terms appear to be contradicting each other and render the claim indefinite. Applicant should amend to clearly and distinctly point out the limitations being claimed. Claim 1 line 16 states “can be formed or is formed” and Claim 8 line 5 states “can be” which are rejected in the same manner as stated above.
Regarding claim 4, line 3 states “at least partially circumferentially” which is indefinite as it is unclear to what degree the collar is circumferentially with respect to the pin axis. Applicant should amend to clearly and distinctly point out the limitations of the claim.
The term “lesser width” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “lesser” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations do not disclose the width of the retaining section or the guide section and it is unclear how the widths of each of the elements can be differentiated from one another. Claim 6 uses the term “larger” and is rejected in the same manner.
Regarding claim 14, lines 4 and line 5 states the term “its” which is indefinite as it is unclear what the term “its” is referring to. Applicant should amend to clearly and distinctly point out the limitations of the claim. Claim 22 line 4 and Claim 30 line 7 state the term “its” and are also rejected in the same manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12-14, 17-18, 20-22, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rose (US 2011/0215203).
Regarding claims 1, 12-13, 28-30, Rose discloses a quick connection system for fastening and/or changing components; of an aircraft cargo compartment on at least one structural part of an aircraft structure, comprising: - at least one fastening pin (14), installable on the structural part (1), having a pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14); - at least one connecting area (12), which is arranged or formed on the component and has at least one passage opening (19, 20, Figs. 10, 17c), in which the fastening pin (14) can be accommodated or is accommodated at least in sections (19 or 20) while forming a first form fit (Figs. 20a/b/c) in the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14) direction and/or transversely to the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14); and - at least one locking mechanism (16) arranged on the component (Fig. 19d) having at least one engagement element (33), which is movably mounted on the component (Fig. 19d) such that, by a translational or rotational movement (element 33 rotates downward to lock the devices together, Fig. 19d) of the engagement element (33), a second form fit (Figs. 19a-e) can be formed or is formed with the fastening pin (14), the structural part (1), or a mating part (28) installable on the structural part (1), which blocks a movement (the locking mechanism (16) locks the components together restricting movement thereof) of the component (Fig. 19d) in the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14) and/or transversely to the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14).
Regarding claim 2, Rose discloses wherein the fastening pin (14) has an elongated base body (Fig. 17a) having at least one retaining section (36), which protrudes transversely to the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14) on the base body (Fig. 17a) in order to form the first form fit (Figs. 20a/b/c) with the connecting area (12) or to form the second form fit (Figs. 19a-e) with the engagement element (33).
Regarding claim 3, Rose discloses wherein the fastening pin (14) or several of the fastening pins (14) is or are fastened directly to or on the structural part (1) by screws in the installed state ([0032] the components may be attached to the structure by different means, which may include being screwed on/to/into).
Regarding claim 4, Rose discloses wherein the retaining section (36) of the fastening pin (14) comprises at least one collar (13a), which is formed at least partially circumferentially with respect to the pin longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of element 14).
Regarding claim 5, Rose discloses wherein the base body (Fig. 17a) has a guide section (14, 30, 31, 39, 41), which is adjacent to the retaining section (36) and has a lesser width than the retaining section (36).
Regarding claim 6, Rose discloses wherein the retaining section (36) has a first diameter (diameter of element 36, Fig. 17a) and the guide section (14, 30, 31, 39, 41) has a second diameter (diameter of elements 14, 30, 31, 39, 41, Fig. 17a), and wherein the first diameter (diameter of element 36, Fig. 17a) of the retaining section (36) is larger than the second diameter (diameter of elements 14, 30, 31, 39, 41, Fig. 17a) of the guide section (14, 30, 31, 39, 41).
Regarding claim 7, Rose discloses wherein the passage opening (19, 20, Figs. 10, 17c) of the connecting area (12) is adapted to accommodate the retaining section (36) and/or at least a portion of the base body (Fig. 17a) while forming the first form fit (Figs. 20a/b/c).
Regarding claim 8, Rose discloses wherein the passage opening (19, 20, Figs. 10, 17c) of the connecting area (12) has a first opening area (19) and an adjacent second opening area (20), which merge into one another (Figs. 10, 17c), wherein the first opening area (19) is designed so that the retaining section (36) of the fastening pin (14) can be guided through and the second opening area (20) is designed so that the retaining section (36) protrudes outward (Figs. 10, 20c) beyond the second opening area (20).
Regarding claim 9, Rose discloses wherein the passage opening (19, 20, Figs. 10, 17c) of the connecting area (12) is keyhole-shaped, elongated hole-shaped, or circular (Fig. 17c).
Regarding claim 14, Rose discloses wherein the locking mechanism (16) has at least one extension (38) having a protruding upper edge (top edge of element 38) which holds the rotating handle (33) in its first handle position (up), and has at least one surface set back (42) from the upper edge (top edge of element 38), on which the rotating handle (33) rests in its second handle position (down).
Regarding claim 17, Rose discloses wherein at least one support plate (15) and/or at least one bottom plate for supporting the component is provided, which comprises/comprise at least one passage opening ([0251] central opening) for the fastening pin (14).
Regarding claim 18, Rose discloses wherein the passage opening ([0251] central opening) of the support plate (15) or the bottom plate has at least one shoulder (37) and the fastening pin (14) has at least one seating section (flat horizontal section between elements 30 and 31), which rests on the shoulder (37) and is accommodated in a form fitting manner (Fig. 20d) in the passage opening ([0251] central opening) of the support plate (15) or the bottom plate.
Regarding claim 20, Rose discloses wherein the mating part (28) for engaging the engagement element (33) is part of the support plate, is fastened on the bottom plate, or is arranged in the vicinity (Fig. 19d) of the fastening pin (14).
Regarding claim 21, Rose discloses wherein the support plate (15) or the bottom plate has at least one hole pattern section (via elements 47 on element 15) for forming a tiedown point or positioning fitting (Fig. 20a-g), which is arranged in the area of the opening of the mating part (28).
Regarding claim 22, Rose discloses wherein the retaining section (36) and/or the guide section (14, 30, 31, 39, 41) of the fastening pin (14) are formed in one piece with its base body (Fig. 17a) or the retaining section and/or the guide section of the fastening pin are part of a sleeve separate from the base body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner lists referenced documents on PTO-892 because the references present other/alternative or conceptual designs similar in scope that illustrate relevant features, which may demonstrate the level of novelty in comparison to Applicant’s inventive submission. The record relates to Applicant’s identified material and Examiner’s discovered references concerning Applicant’s subject matter relevant for a patentability determination.
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642