DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I), claims 1-4 and 21-22 in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-20 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/2026.
Secondly, election without traverse of methyl phenidate as the species of one or more further pharmacological interventions in the reply filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 22 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species of one or more further pharmacological interventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the continuation in part of Application 19247183 filed 06/24/2025. Application 19247183 is a continuation of Application 18274945 filed -7/28/2023. Application 18274945 claims foreign priority to PCT/EP2022/052142 filed 01/28/2022 and foreign application GB2101291.9 filed 01/29/2021.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The word “novel” should not be included at the beginning of the title of the invention and will be deleted when the Office enters the title into the Office’s computer records. See MPEP 606.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (Clinical Therapeutics Vol. 28 pages 1837-1847. Published 2006).
Claim interpretation is as follows: Claims 1-4 are directed to a composition of S(-)-amlodipine.
Park (Clinical Therapeutics Vol. 28 pages 1837-1847. Published 2006) teaches a composition comprising the calcium channel antagonist S-amlodipine in a single administered dose of 5 mg (page 1837 left col., page 1838 left col., page 1839 left col. Figure 1).
Regarding the claimed limitation directed to use of the composition for the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or the administration of said composition once or twice a day (claims 3-4), such a limitation of the instant claims fails to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art because such a limitation is an intended use of the composition (i.e., an intent to use the disclosed composition as treatment for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or an intent to administer a composition once or twice a day), which does not impart any physical or material characteristics to the composition that is not already present in the cited prior art. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations, then the preamble of not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.2d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 378, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1554 and MPEP §2112.02(11). In the instant case, the cited prior art 5 mg dose of S(-)-amlodipine composition taught by Park meets each and every structural and physical limitation of the instantly claimed composition and, thus, would be reasonably expected to be capable of performing the intended use as instantly claimed, absent factual evidence to the contrary and further absent any apparent structural difference between the composition of the prior art and that of the instant claims.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011) as evidenced by Luksa (Journal of Chromatography B Vol. 703 pages 185-193 published 1997).
Claim 21 is directed to a composition (kit) comprising S(-)-amlodipine in combination with one or more pharmacological interventions selected from methylphenidate, amphetamine, lisdexamfetamine, atomoxetine, viloxazine, clonidine and guanfacine.
As recited in MPEP 2111.03, the transitional term "comprising" is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In the present case, the composition embodied within claim 21 does not exclude additional, unrecited elements, such as R(+)-amlodipine.
Applicant is also reminded of MPEP 2112 wherein the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Claim at issue was a kit requiring instructions and a buffer agent. The Federal Circuit held that the claim was anticipated by a prior art reference that taught a kit that included instructions and a buffer agent, even though the content of the instructions differed, explaining "[i]f we were to adopt [applicant’s] position, anyone could continue patenting a product indefinitely provided that they add a new instruction sheet to the product.").
Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011) teaches CNS stimulants for treating attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, including the elected methylphenidate ([0019]-[0020], [0024]-[0026]). Hoyle teaches formulating amlodipine with methylphenidate as the calcium channel antagonist amlodipine is an adjuvant therapy for methylphenidate as methylphenidate is linked to causing high blood pressure in subjects (abstract, [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0048], [0091], [0104], [0110] claims 1-6, 8). Hoyle teaches administering amlodipine in doses of 0.5 to 2.4 mg, which reads on the amounts embraced in claims 1-4 ([0063]-[0064]). Hoyle teaches a composition comprising the CNS stimulant in combination with the calcium channel antagonist in separate dosage forms, or alternatively in a single dosage form ([0079]).
As evidenced by Luksa (Journal of Chromatography B Vol. 703 pages 185-193 published 1997) amlodipine is on the market and in therapeutic use as a racemate in 1:1 ratio of both the R and S enantiomer (page 185 left col.). As such, the composition comprising amlodipine and methylphenidate as taught by Hoyle above comprises the claimed S(-)-amlodipine enantiomer in combination with both methylphenidate and the R(+)-amlodipine enantiomer, which reads on the composition embraced within the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011) and Luksa (Journal of Chromatography B Vol. 703 pages 185-193 published 1997).
Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011) teaches CNS stimulants for treating attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, including the elected methylphenidate ([0019]-[0020], [0024]-[0026]). Hoyle teaches formulating amlodipine with methylphenidate as the calcium channel antagonist amlodipine is an adjuvant therapy for methylphenidate as methylphenidate is linked to causing high blood pressure in subjects (abstract, [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0048], [0091], [0104], [0110] claims 1-6, 8). Hoyle teaches administering amlodipine in doses of 0.5 to 2.4 mg, which reads on the amounts embraced in claims 1-4 ([0063]-[0064]). Hoyle teaches a composition comprising the CNS stimulant in combination with the calcium channel antagonist in separate dosage forms, or alternatively in a single dosage form ([0079]).
The difference between the instantly claimed composition and that of Hoyle is that Hoyle does not specifically teach wherein amlodipine is present as the S-enantiomer.
Luksa (Journal of Chromatography B Vol. 703 pages 185-193 published 1997) teaches the potent calcium channel blocker amlodipine is efficacious at treating hypertension and angina (abstract, page 185 left col.). Luksa teaches that like most other calcium channel blockers, amlodipine is administered as a racemate in 1:1 ratio of both the R and S enantiomer (page 185 left col.) Luksa also teaches enantiopure R(+)-amlodipine and S(-)-amlodipine. Luksa teaches that the R(+)-enantiomer and the S(-)-enantiomer do not have the same biological activity, as only S(-)-amlodipine possesses vasodilating properties (page 185 right col.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art of preparing a composition comprising the ADHD treating CNS stimulant methylphenidate and the calcium channel antagonist amlodipine, as amlodipine is an adjuvant therapy for a methylphenidate regimen, as methylphenidate is linked to causing high blood pressure in subjects as taught by Hoyle above, said skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to utilize amlodipine, as the S(-)-enantiomer, in view of Luksa, arriving at the presently claimed composition.
MPEP 2143 provides rationale for a conclusion of obviousness including (A): Combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results;
In the present case, it was known in the prior art of Luksa that the R(+)-enantiomer and the S(-)-enantiomer of amlodipine do not have the same biological activity, as only S(-)-amlodipine possesses the desired vasodilating properties (page 185 right col.). As such, said skilled artisan would have formulated amlodipine in the amlodipine and methylphenidate composition taught by Hoyle, as the S(-)-enantiomer to take advantage of the desired vasodilating properties afforded only by the S(-)-enantiomer.
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending Application No. 18274945 in view of Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011).
Claim 17 is directed to a kit comprising a compound of Formula (II) and further comprising one or more pharmacological interventions.
Formula (II) is the racemic form of amlodipine, which embraces both the R-enantiomer and the S-enantiomer, as found in the presently claimed kit composition.
The difference between the presently claimed kit composition and that of claim 17 of copending Application 18274945 is that claim 17 of Application 18274945 does not specifically teach wherein the one or more pharmacological interventions is selected from the group consisting of methylphenidate, amphetamine, lisdexamfetamine, atomoxetine, viloxazine, clonidine, and guanfacine.
Hoyle (US2011/0136793 published 06/09/2011) teaches CNS stimulants for treating attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, including the elected methylphenidate ([0019]-[0020], [0024]-[0026]). Hoyle teaches formulating amlodipine with methylphenidate as the calcium channel antagonist amlodipine is an adjuvant therapy for methylphenidate as methylphenidate is linked to causing high blood pressure in subjects (abstract, [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0048], [0063]-[0064], [0091], [0104], [0110] claims 1-6, 8). Hoyle teaches administering amlodipine in doses of 0.5 to 2.4 mg, which reads on the amounts embraced in claims 1-4 ([0063]-[0064]). Hoyle teaches a composition comprising the CNS stimulant in combination with the calcium channel antagonist in separate dosage forms, or alternatively in a single dosage form ([0079]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to incorporate methylphenidate into the kit comprising the racemic form of amlodipine (Formula (II)) as taught by claim 17 of copending Application 18274945, in view of Hoyle, arriving at the presently claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Motivation to incorporate methylphenidate with amlodipine flows logically from the fact that Hoyle teaches formulating amlodipine with methylphenidate as the calcium channel antagonist amlodipine is an adjuvant therapy for the ADHD medication methylphenidate, as methylphenidate is linked to causing high blood pressure in subjects (abstract, [0024]-[0029], [0031]-[0048], [0091], [0104], [0110] claims 1-6, 8).
Accordingly, said artisan would have readily predicted that the combination of amlodipine to the methylphenidate composition would have reduced cardiovascular disorders in the administered subject.
Claims 21-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 36-37of copending Application No. 19247813.
Claims 36-37 of copending Application 19247813 are directed to a kit comprising Formula (II) and further comprising one or more pharmacological interventions, wherein the one or more pharmacological interventions is selected from methylphenidate, amphetamine, lisdexamfetamine, atomoxetine, viloxazine, clonidine, and guanfacine. Said kit composition of claims 36-37 of copending Application 19247813 overlaps with the presently claimed kit composition as Formula (II) is the racemic form of amlodipine, which embraces both the R-enantiomer and the S-enantiomer, as found in the presently claimed kit composition.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621