DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an image acquisition unit configured to”; “an imaging unit configured to”; a display unit configured to”; “a selection unit configured to”; “a distance detection unit configured to”; “a display control unit configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun (US 2025/0358520) in view of Meadows (US 2015/0165975), further in view of Kamata (US 2025/0153644).
As to Claim 1, Jun discloses A vehicle image display device mounted in a vehicle, the vehicle image display device comprising:
an image acquisition unit configured to acquire a peripheral image ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as the electronic control unit (ECU); fig.1, controller 11, para.0064, 0140), captured by an imaging unit configured to capture an image of a periphery of the vehicle ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as the rear camera}; fig.1, rear camera 15, para.0057, 0061-0062),
a display unit configured to display the peripheral image acquired by the image acquisition unit ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as the electronic inner mirror}, fig.1, display 17 may be digital rear-view view; para.0057, 0063); and
a selection unit configured to change a display mode of the peripheral image ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as icons);
a distance detection unit configured to detect a vehicle-to-vehicle distance between another vehicle included in the peripheral image and the vehicle ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as the electronic control unit (ECU)); fig.1, controller 11 in conjunction with sensor 13; para.0059, 0073-0074); and
a display control unit configured to control a display on the display unit such that, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below a predetermined threshold value, a degree of overlap between the other vehicle in the peripheral image and the selection unit that are displayed on the display unit is reduced ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as the electronic control unit (ECU)) ; fig.1-2; para.0077, when the distance between the ego vehicle and approaching object is less than or equal to a first set value, the magnification of the display is lowered).
Jun does not expressly disclose a selection unit configured to change a display mode of the peripheral image image ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as icons); a degree of overlap between the other vehicle in the peripheral image and the selection unit that are displayed on the display unit is reduced.
Meadows discloses a selection unit configured to change a display mode of the peripheral image (fig.8, user selectable icons 72, 74,76; para.0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jun with the teachings of Meadows, such that selectable icons are displayed on the rear-view mirror. The motivation being to allow a user to switch between the camera views and control the display of the rear-view mirror.
Jun in view of Meadows do not expressly disclose a degree of overlap between the other vehicle in the peripheral image and the selection unit that are displayed on the display unit is reduced.
Kamata discloses where an icon image I1 is displayed in the right end area or left area in order to avoid overlapping with rear vehicle image at center is approaching and where it moves the icon image from the left end area to a right end area when a rear vehicle is approaching and it skips the displaying of the icon image all three areas of the display of the rear mirror display rear view images of approaching vehicles (fig.7A-8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jun in view of Meadows, with the teachings of Kamata, such that when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance is less than a preset value (of Jun) the selectable icons (Meadows) are moved in order to avoid overlapping with the rear view vehicle image, thereby preventing safety from being impaired.
As to Claim 2, Jun in view of Meadows, as modified by Kamata, disclose wherein the display control unit is configured to change, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below the predetermined threshold value (Jun-fig.2A, s109; para.0033,0077), and a time-to-collision between the vehicle and the other vehicle is within a predetermined time (Jun-fig.2, para.0084-0085,0106), an angle of view of the imaging unit (Jun-para.0106).
As to Claim 3, Jun in view of Meadows, as modified by Kamata, disclose, wherein: the selection unit includes a plurality of icon displays (Meadows-fig.8); and the display control unit is configured to adjust, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below the predetermined threshold value (Jun-fig.2A, s109; para.0033,0077,0083,0097), and a time-to-collision between the vehicle and the other vehicle is greater than a predetermined time (para.0081-0082, 0083,0084; speed is greater than or equal to a preset value), positions of the icon displays on the display unit (Kamata-fig.7A-8B; icon is moved to avoid overlap with rear-view image).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 4 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “wherein: the selection unit includes a plurality of icon displays; and the display control unit is configured to cause, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below the predetermined threshold value and a time-to-collision between the vehicle and the other vehicle is greater than a predetermined time, either or both of transparent display of the icon displays and display of some of the icon displays to be performed on the display unit” in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “ wherein: the selection unit includes a plurality of icon displays; and the display control unit is configured to widen, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below the predetermined threshold value and a time-to-collision between the vehicle and the other vehicle is within a predetermined time, an angle of view of the imaging unit, and change, when the vehicle-to-vehicle distance detected by the distance detection unit falls below the predetermined threshold value and the time-to-collision between the vehicle and the other vehicle is greater than the predetermined time, positions of the icon displays arranged side by side in a left-right row at a lower portion of the display unit to positions of the icon displays arranged side by side in a left-right row at an upper portion of the display unit” in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/DISMERY MERCEDES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627