DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment/arguments filed on 6/26/2026 which was in response to the office action mailed on 3/27/2026 (hereinafter the prior office action).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 17 and 20 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are independent.
Applicant’s amendments necessitated new claim objections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The arguments are moot because of the newly applied 103 rejection with the additional art of Kochar, where the 103 rejection has replaced the previous 102 rejection over Albinger.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 5/22/2026 and 5/22/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
job scheduling service or job scheduler…configured to perform steps in Claims 17 and 19.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 recites “job scheduler”, but it should be “job scheduling service” in accordance with the amendments to claim 17 on which claim 19 depends.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albinger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0100394) (hereinafter “Albinger”) in view of Kochar et al. (U.S. P++. No. +++) (hereinafter “Kochar”).
Regarding claim 1, Albinger teaches ° receiving a set of job data associated with a set of compute jobs for a data center, wherein the data center comprises a set of computing devices and a set of chillers; (Fig. 1, Para. 57, 270 - - queued tasks constitute job data associated with compute jobs for a data center, where data center includes computing devices and chillers)
° based on the set of job data, predicting a set of heat loads associated with the set of jobs for a future timestep (Para. 57, 275, 284 - - heat generated, i.e. heat load, is predicted, where heat is associated with data center computing tasks/jobs)
…and ° based on the predicted set of heat loads, determining a set of chiller setpoints for the set of chillers, wherein the set of chillers is controlled based on the set of chiller setpoints. (Para. 75 - - chillers are operated according to operating setpoint determined by central plant controller based on predictions)
But Albinger does not explicitly teach using a reinforcement-learned model;
However, Kochar teaches using a reinforcement-learned model; (Para. 64 - - reinforcement learning model can be used)
Albinger and Kochar are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain optimizing of cooling for data centers and the like.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Albinger, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Kochar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to analyze input data and perform predictive analyis, as suggested by Kochar (Para. 64).
Regarding claim 2, Albinger further teaches wherein predicting a set of heat loads comprises predicting a job-level heat load for each job of the set of jobs, wherein the set of chiller setpoints are determined based on an aggregation of the job-specific heat loads. (Para. 236 - - heat load is predicted related to specific tasks/functions/jobs, where heat data is aggregated and heat generated is managed, i.e. chiller setpoints are set, based on the aggregation; Para. 272 - - heat aggregation circuit aggregates heat generated by data center)
Regarding claim 3, Albinger further teaches staging a set of power sources based on the predicted power load. (Para. 87 - - subplants are controlled, i.e. power sources are staged, based on predicted load)
Regarding claim 4, Albinger further teaches wherein the set of jobs are allocated to a subset of computing devices, wherein the subset of computing devices is selected based on a location of the set of computing devices within the data center, wherein the location of the set of computing devices has a predicted heat rejection capacity that is larger than a predetermined heat rejection capacity limit. (Para. 314 - - server locations and operations can be adjusted to reduce temperature gradations within an area/location of the data center; Para. 315 - - different servers have different optimal operating temperatures, i.e. heat rejection capacity, where heat map provides predetermined threshold/limit for heat rejection capacity)
Regarding claim 5, Albinger further teaches wherein local cooling for different subsets of the set of computing devices is controlled by a set of local agents, and wherein the chiller setpoints are determined by a facility agent different from the set of local agents, wherein controlling the set of chillers according to the set of chiller setpoints is performed prior to executing the set of jobs. (Para. 75 - - chillers are operated according to operating setpoint determined by central plant controller based on predictions, i.e. prior to executing jobs; Para. 324 - - local computing systems can be used for local control; Fig. 2 - - central plant controller can be facility agent different from the local controllers)
Regarding claim 6, Albinger further teaches wherein predicting the set of heat loads associated with the set of jobs comprises first predicting a set of power loads based on the set of job data and then predicting the set of heat loads based on the set of power loads. (Para. 57, 275, 284 - - heat generated, i.e. heat load, is predicted, where heat is associated with data center computing tasks/jobs)
Regarding claim 7, Albinger further teaches wherein determining the set of chiller setpoints comprises determining a minimum number of on-state chillers and a maximum chiller temperature needed to absorb the predicted set of heat loads. (Para. 75 - - chillers are operated according to operating setpoint determined by central plant controller based on predictions; Fig. 1 - - number of chillers is determined by control system)
Regarding claim 8 and related system claim 19, Albinger further teaches determining a prioritization order of the set of jobs based on the predicted heat loads, wherein the method further comprises executing the set of jobs according to the prioritization order. (Para. 290 - - tasks, i.e. jobs, are prioritized)
Regarding claim 9, Albinger further teaches wherein the prioritization order is further based on a capacity of available cooling resources. (Para. 290 - - tasks, i.e. jobs, are prioritized)
Regarding claim 10 and related system claim 19, Albinger further teaches wherein determining a prioritization order comprises de-prioritizing jobs that have a predicted heat load that cannot be absorbed by the available cooling resources. (Para. 290 - - tasks, i.e. jobs, are prioritized, including de-prioritizing time-insensitive tasks)
Regarding claim 11, Albinger further teaches wherein the set of job data comprises a number of requested resources for each job of the set of jobs. (Para. 265 - - resources are allocated for each job)
Regarding claim 12, Albinger further teaches determining an execution time for each setpoint of the set of chiller setpoints, wherein determining an execution time for each setpoint of the set of chiller setpoints comprises ensuring that the execution times of each setpoint occur at a frequency lower than a chiller setpoint frequency limit. (Para. 75 - - chillers are operated according to operating setpoint determined by central plant controller based on predictions)
Regarding claim 13 and related system claim 18, Albinger further teaches wherein predicting a set of heat loads is further based on a season and a set of historical load data. (Para. 236 - - season data is used; Para. 89 - - historical load data is used)
Regarding claim 14, Albinger further teaches predicting a confidence interval for each heat load of the predicted set of heat loads using a neural network. (Para. 277 - - neural network is used)
Regarding claim 15, Albinger further teaches when the set of jobs are terminated, retrieving a set of previously determined chiller setpoints, wherein the set of chillers are controlled based on the set of previously determined setpoints. (Para. 94 - - past operating setpoints are used)
Regarding claim 16, Albinger further teaches predicting a set of state-based heat loads based on a physical state of the data center, wherein determining the set of chiller setpoints for the set of chillers is further based on the set of state-based heat loads. (Para. 77 - - actuator states are used, where actuators are physical parts of the data center)
Regarding claim 17, Albinger teaches a system comprising: ° an agent for an industrial system, wherein the industrial system comprises a set of computing devices, a set of cooling resources thermally connected to the set of computing devices, and a set of power sources electrically connected to the set of computing devices, wherein the agent comprises a power load predictor and a heat load predictor; (Fig. 1, Para. 57 - - industrial system contains computing devices, cooling resources connected to the devices, power sources connected to the devices and predictors)
° a job scheduling service configured to: ° receive a set of jobs to be executed by the set of computing devices; (Fig. 1, Para. 57, 270 - - queued tasks constitute job data associated with compute jobs for a data center, where data center includes computing devices and chillers)
° receive a set of predicted power loads from the power load predictor, wherein the set of predicted power loads is determined based on the set of jobs; (Para. 57, 275, 284 - - heat generated, i.e. heat load, is predicted, where heat is associated with data center computing tasks/jobs)
° receive a set of predicted heat loads from the heat load predictor, wherein the set of predicted heat loads is determined based on the set of predicted power loads; (Para. 57, 275, 284 - - heat generated, i.e. heat load, is predicted, where heat is associated with data center computing tasks/jobs)
and ° allocate the set of jobs to the set of computing devices based on the set of predicted power loads and the set of predicted heat loads; (Para. 298 - - tasks/jobs are allocated)
and wherein the agent is configured to determine a set of cooling setpoints based on the set of predicted heat load, wherein the cooling resources are controlled based on the set of cooling setpoints and the power sources are staged based on the predicted power loads. (Para. 75 - - chillers are operated according to operating setpoint determined by central plant controller based on predictions)
Regarding claim 20, Albinger further teaches wherein the set of predicted power loads comprises a set of job-specific power loads, wherein each job-specific power load is determined based on job data associated with the respective job of the set of jobs. (Para. 236 - - heat load is predicted related to specific tasks/functions/jobs, where heat data is aggregated and heat generated is managed, i.e. chiller setpoints are set, based on the aggregation; Para. 272 - - heat aggregation circuit aggregates heat generated by data center)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119