DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Compound XIX, and wherein the non-ionic osmotic agent is absent in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 2, 19, 20 and 22-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allred et al. (WO 2021/077119, Apr. 22, 2021) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Allred).
Allred discloses an antimicrobial composition for the treatment of an infection, in a host in need thereof comprising a quaternary ammonium compound (claim 49). The quaternary ammonium compound may have the following formula:
(i.e., claimed compound XIX) (page 72). The antimicrobial composition is added to a hydrogel (claims 69-71). The hydrogel retains water (i.e., aqueous hydrogel) (page 342, lines 11-12). The antimicrobial composition may comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 81). The pharmaceutical acceptable carrier comprises an aqueous solution, for example water, or glycerin solution, such as glycerol (page 43, lines 28-29 – page 44, line 1). The solution has at least 0.2% concentration of the quaternary ammonium compound (page 70, lines 20-21). The exact amount of the quaternary ammonium compound will be determined by a health care provider to achieve the desired clinical benefit (page 337, lines 7-9). The antimicrobial composition further includes a poloxamer (i.e., claimed non-ionic adhesion agent) (page 343, line 12) and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (i.e., claimed non-ionic gelling agent) (page 343, line 21). Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and poloxamers are gelling agents. Gelling agents are typically used in concentrations of 0.5-10% to allow for easy addition of the active drug before the gel is formed (page 375, lines 13-17).
Allred differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises an aqueous solution and glycerin (i.e., claimed non-ionic wetting agent) together.
However, since Allred discloses the use of various pharmaceutically acceptable carriers individually, the use of the individual species in combination would have been obvious since it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by Allred to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06.
2. Claims 1, 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allred et al. (WO 2021/077119, Apr. 22, 2021) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Allred) in view of Holzer et al. (US 2017/0112935, Apr. 27, 2017) (hereinafter Holzer).
The teachings of Allred are discussed above. Allred does not teach wherein the composition comprises between about 0.5% and about 5% of the non-ionic wetting agent and wherein the poloxamer is poloxamer 407.
However, Holzer discloses the use of a thermoreversible hydrogel composition in a system for delivery of a therapeutic agent to the urinary tract (¶ [0103]). The hydrogel may comprise a plasticizer, such as glycerol in a concentration from 0 to 30% based on the total mass of the gel (¶ [0453]). The nature and amount of plasticizer are chosen so that a particular release and stability is achieved (¶ [0352]). The hydrogel may comprise a poloxamer, such as poloxamer 407 (¶ [0360]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated 0 to 30% glycerol (i.e., claimed non-ionic wetting agent) into the hydrogel of Allred motivated by the desire to achieve a particular release and stability of the hydrogel as taught by Holzer.
Also, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated poloxamer 407 into the hydrogel of Allred since the hydrogel comprises poloxamer and poloxamer 407 is a known and effective poloxamer for hydrogel composition as taught by Holzer.
In regards to the claimed amounts of non-ionic gelling agent and non-ionic adhesion agent, as discussed above, Allred discloses wherein the antimicrobial composition includes a poloxamer (i.e., claimed non-ionic adhesion agent) (page 343, line 12) and hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (i.e., claimed non-ionic gelling agent) (page 343, line 21). Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose and poloxamers are gelling agents. Gelling agents are typically used in concentrations of 0.5-10% to allow for easy addition of the active drug before the gel is formed (page 375, lines 13-17). Thus, the claimed amount of each of the non-ionic gelling agent and the non-ionic adhesion agent would have been obvious from one selecting an amount of each of the non-ionic gelling agent and the non-ionic adhesion agent such that the total is within this range.
3. Claims 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allred et al. (WO 2021/077119, Apr. 22, 2021) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Allred) in view of Holzer et al. (US 2017/0112935, Apr. 27, 2017) (hereinafter Holzer), and further in view of Daood et al. (Effect of a novel quaternary ammonium silane cavity disinfectant on cariogenic biofilm formation, May 21, 2019) (hereinafter Daood).
The teachings of Allred and Holzer are discussed above. Allred and Holzer do not teach wherein the quaternary ammonium compound is fully hydrolyzed.
However, Daood discloses wherein the hydrolysis products of SiQAC exhibited antimicrobial activities against a broad range of microorganisms, while chemically bonded to a variety of surfaces (page 2, left column, third paragraph). The QAS is fully hydrolyzed (page 2, right column, first paragraph). Because of the presence of reactive silanol groups generated during hydrolysis, QAS can covalently attach to substrate surfaces via Si-O linkages to exert non-migrating microbiocidal functions (page 11, left column, first paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have fully hydrolyzed the quaternary ammonium compound of Allred since this would produce another suitable and effective antimicrobial agent and hydrolyzing allows the quaternary ammonium compound to attach to substrate surfaces to exert non-migrating microbiocidal functions as taught by Daood.
In regards to the instant claims reciting trihydroxy-QAS cation of Formula X, counterion
, and
in the hydrogel, as noted on page 7 of the instant specification, complete hydrolysis of the claimed compounds results in trihydroxy-QAS, an anionic counterion, and a smaller hydroxyl-containing product. Therefore, since Allred teaches substantially the same compound as claimed (i.e., compound XIX) and it would have been obvious to have fully hydrolyzed the compound Allred, the composition of the prior art would comprise substantially the same trihydroxy-QAS cation, counterion, and hydroxyl-containing product as claimed.
In regards to the instant claims reciting between about 0.1% and 5.0% trihydroxy-QAS cation, as noted on page 112 of the instant specification, the hydrogel comprises between about 0.1% and 10% of the quaternary ammonium silane compound. Allred discloses wherein the quaternary ammonium compound may be present at least 0.2%. Therefore, since Allred disclose substantially the amount of compound to be fully hydrolyzed as the claimed invention, the hydrogel of Allred would necessarily comprise substantially the same amount of trihydroxy-QAS cation as claimed.
In regards to instant claim 5 reciting wherein the hydrogel does not comprise a non-ionic osmotic agent, this limitation would have been obvious from Allred not disclosing a non-ionic osmotic agent as a required ingredient.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-18 and 21 are rejected.
Claims 2, 19, 20 and 22-25 are withdrawn,
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614