Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: For example, the specification discloses “Reference drawing1, the impeller proposed by the utility model includes: a first wheel disc arranged oppositely1 and second roulette3, first roulette1 with second roulette3 There are multiple leaves arranged between2, and multiple leaves2 along first round” (see page 3). This statement is incomprehensible. See the annotated page of the specification for some of the other examples.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
The disclosure is objected to as being incomprehensible. The rejections below are provided with the given specification as best understood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib”, “an angle between each of the oblique teeth and the impeller axis is 70 degrees”, “an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and wherein an outer circumference of the second wheel disc is folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib”, and “an angle between the first air guide reinforcement rib and the first wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees, and wherein an angle between the second air guide reinforcement rib and the second wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “extends for two-thirds the length of the respective blade” to “extends for two-thirds of the length of the respective blade”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “extends for four-fifths the length of the respective blade” to “extends for four-fifths of the length of the respective blade”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: change “two-thirds and four-fifths the length” to “two-thirds and four-fifths of the length”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites that an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib. This limitation is incomprehensible as it is not clear what it means for the outer circumference of the first wheel disc to be folded away and how this can result in a rib. The specification is also unclear. Fig. 3 and 4 are supposed to show this limitation but there is nothing folded away. Hence the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Claim 18 is also rejected for the same reason.
Claim 11 recites an impeller in the preamble as “An impeller, comprising: […].” Claim 11 further recites “a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor, and wherein said impeller is configured for use within a range hood.” It is not clear if the recited drive shaft and motor and range hood are positively recited and required or if they are merely intended use. Note that claim 11 recites that the drive shaft is supposed to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor, hence the shaft and motor are clearly outside the impeller. It is also clear that an impeller cannot comprise of a shaft and motor and range hood. Hence, the metes and bounds of claim 11 are unclear. For examination, the shaft and motor and range hood are interpreted as intended use and not positively recited and required by the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the impeller axis". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “gradually” in claim 14 and 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear how gradual is gradual enough to read on the claim limitation. In other words, it is not clear what rate of change is considered gradual.
Claim 15 recites an impeller in the preamble as “An impeller, comprising: […].” Claim 15 further recites “a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor.” It is not clear if the recited drive shaft and motor are positively recited and required or if they are merely intended use. It is clear that an impeller cannot comprise of a shaft and motor. Hence, the metes and bounds of claim 11 are unclear. For examination, the shaft and motor are interpreted as intended use and not positively recited and required by the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the centerline". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 is directed to an impeller. Claim 28 recites “to accommodate a motor configured to drive the rotation of said impeller.” It is not clear if a motor is positively recited and required by the claim or it is merely an intended use. The examiner interprets it to be intended use.
Claim 29 is directed to an impeller. Claim 29 also recites a flange “configured to engage with a drive shaft of the motor to establish a connection between said impeller and the motor.” It is not clear if the drive shaft and motor are positively recited and required or if they are intended use. It is clear from the claim that the motor and shaft are outside of the scope of the impeller and it is also clear that an impeller cannot comprise of a motor and shaft. Hence, the metes and bounds of claim 29 are unclear.
Claim 30 is directed to an impeller. Claim 30 recites that said impeller is installed within a centrifugal fan of a range hood. It is not clear if a centrifugal fan and a range hood are positively recited and required by the claim or if they are merely intended use. Note that an impeller cannot comprise of a fan or a range hood.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claims 13, 16, 17, 19, 21, and 23-27 are rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 15, 16, 18-20, 24-26, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (CN 220286038), referred to hereinafter as Lu.
With regard to claim 11, Lu discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc (see annotated Fig. 1); a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc (see annotated Fig. 1), wherein an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib (see annotated Fig. 1); a plurality of blades that extend between and interconnect the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (Fig. 1-6), wherein the plurality of blades each have a sawtooth segment (in a first interpretation, the sawtooth segment is H1. In a second interpretation, the sawtooth segment is H2. In a third interpretation, the sawtooth segment is the combination of H1+H2) that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc and wherein each sawtooth segment has oblique teeth (Fig. 3-6. Note that an oblique tooth doesn’t necessarily have to be straight because an oblique tooth can be a curved teeth); a chassis that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 1, 2); and a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor (Fig. 1, 2), and wherein said impeller is configured for use within a range hood (see the title).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Lu
With regard to claim 12, Lu further discloses that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and the impeller axis is 70 degrees (see Fig. 5. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least 70 degrees. Also see Fig. 4 in which the teeth at least partly have an angle of 70 degrees with the axis by virtue of being curved. Also see Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 13, Lu further discloses that each of the sawtooth segments extends for two-thirds the length of the respective blade of the plurality of blades (see Lu disclosing that H1/H is 0.5 and H2/H is 0.4, hence the total length of the sawtooth at least extends for two-thirds the length of the respective blade).
With regard to claim 15, Lu discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc; a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc; a plurality of blades that extend between and interconnect the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc, wherein the plurality of blades each have a sawtooth segment that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc, and wherein each sawtooth segment has oblique teeth and is positioned closer to the first wheel disc than the second wheel disc; a chassis that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc; and a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor (see annotated Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, Lu further discloses that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and an impeller axis of the impeller is 80 degrees (see Fig. 5. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least 80 degrees. Also see Fig. 4 in which the teeth at least partly have an angle of 80 degrees with the axis by virtue of being curved. Also see Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 18, Lu further discloses that an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and wherein an outer circumference of the second wheel disc is folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib (see annotated Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 19, Lu further discloses that an angle between the first air guide reinforcement rib and the first wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees, and wherein an angle between the second air guide reinforcement rib and the second wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees (see annotated Fig. 1 and note that the folded away section is curved, so it at least partly an angle of between 45 degrees and 60 degrees).
With regard to claim 20, Lu discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc; a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc (annotated Fig. 1); and a blade that extends between and interconnects the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (annotated Fig. 1), wherein the blade has a sawtooth segment (in a first interpretation, the sawtooth segment is H1. In a second interpretation, the sawtooth segment is H2. In a third interpretation, the sawtooth segment is the combination of H1+H2) that extends between two-thirds and four-fifths the length of the blade (see Lu disclosing that H1/H is 0.5 and H2/H is 0.4, hence the total length of the sawtooth at least extends between two-thirds and four-fifths the length of the blade), and wherein the sawtooth segment has oblique teeth that are tilted relative to an impeller axis of the impeller (Fig. 2-6), and wherein the impeller axis defines the centerline of the impeller (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 24, Lu further discloses that each of the oblique teeth are tilted, such that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and the impeller axis is between 70 degrees and 80 degrees (see Fig. 5. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least 70-80 degrees. Also see Fig. 4 in which the teeth at least partly have an angle of 70-80 degrees with the axis by virtue of being curved. Also see Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 25, Lu further discloses that the sawtooth segment of the blade is positioned closer to the first wheel disc than the second wheel disc (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 26, Lu further discloses that the second wheel disc forms an air inlet end of said impeller, wherein an airflow enters said impeller through the air inlet end (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 28, Lu further discloses a chassis, wherein the chassis extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc to accommodate a motor configured to drive the rotation of said impeller (annotated Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 29, Lu further discloses a flange, wherein the flange is fixed to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of the motor to establish a connection between said impeller and the motor (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 30, Lu further discloses that said impeller is installed within a centrifugal fan of a range hood (see the title).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 15-17, 20-22, 24-26, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami.
With regard to claim 15, Krishnaswami discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); a plurality of blades that extend between and interconnect the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26), wherein the plurality of blades each have a sawtooth segment (50. See [0099], [0101], and [0102] disclosing that all sawtooth segments 50 disclosed in all embodiments would apply to the blades of Fig. 24, 26) that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 2A-26), and wherein each sawtooth segment has oblique teeth (Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25) and is positioned closer to the first wheel disc than the second wheel disc (see Fig. 25 and see [0098] disclosing that 246 is connected to the first wheel disc 220. In Fig. 25, the sawtooth segment is closer to 246 than 248, hence closer to the first wheel disc 220); a chassis that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); and a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor (Fig. 24, 26).
Annotated Fig. 24 of Krishnaswami
With regard to claim 16, Krishnaswami further discloses that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and an impeller axis of the impeller is 80 degrees (see Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least 80 degrees).
With regard to claim 17, Krishnaswami further discloses that each of the sawtooth segments extends for four-fifths the length of the respective blade of the plurality of blades (Fig. 2A, 20, 21, 24, 25).
With regard to claim 20, Krishnaswami discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); and a blade that extends between and interconnects the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26), wherein the blade has a sawtooth segment (50. See [0099], [0101], and [0102] disclosing that all sawtooth segments 50 disclosed in all embodiments would apply to the blades of Fig. 24, 26) that extends between two-thirds and four-fifths the length of the blade (Fig. 2A, 20, 21, 24, 25. The sawtooth segment of Krishnaswami extends at least between two-thirds and four-fifths the length of the blade), and wherein the sawtooth segment has oblique teeth that are tilted relative to an impeller axis of the impeller (Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25), and wherein the impeller axis defines the centerline of the impeller (Fig. 24, 26).
With regard to claim 21, Krishnaswami further discloses that each of the oblique teeth of the sawtooth segment has an asymmetric structure (Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25).
With regard to claim 22, Krishnaswami further discloses that the oblique teeth of the sawtooth segment are arranged such that the dimensions of the oblique teeth gradually decrease as the sawtooth segment extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25. Note that the claim doesn’t require that the dimensions of the oblique teeth continuously and exclusively decrease from the first wheel disc to the second wheel disc. In Krishnaswami, at least partly the dimensions of the oblique teeth gradually decrease as the sawtooth segment extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc, see for example Fig. 25).
With regard to claim 24, Krishnaswami further discloses that each of the oblique teeth are tilted, such that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and the impeller axis is between 70 degrees and 80 degrees (see Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least between 70 degrees and 80 degrees).
With regard to claim 25, Krishnaswami further discloses that the sawtooth segment of the blade is positioned closer to the first wheel disc than the second wheel disc (see Fig. 25 and see [0098] disclosing that 246 is connected to the first wheel disc 220. In Fig. 25, the sawtooth segment is closer to 246 than 248, hence closer to the first wheel disc 220).
With regard to claim 26, Krishnaswami further discloses that the second wheel disc forms an air inlet end of said impeller, wherein an airflow enters said impeller through the air inlet end (see [0097] disclosing an inlet ring 210).
With regard to claim 28, Krishnaswami further discloses a chassis, wherein the chassis extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc to accommodate a motor configured to drive the rotation of said impeller (annotated Fig. 24).
With regard to claim 29, Krishnaswami further discloses a flange, wherein the flange is fixed to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of the motor to establish a connection between said impeller and the motor (annotated Fig. 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami in view of Wilken (US 2537805).
With regard to claim 11:
Krishnaswami discloses an impeller, comprising: a first wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc (see annotated Fig. 1); a plurality of blades that extend between and interconnect the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26), wherein the plurality of blades each have a sawtooth segment (50. See [0099], [0101], and [0102] disclosing that all sawtooth segments 50 disclosed in all embodiments would apply to the blades of Fig. 24, 26) that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc and wherein each sawtooth segment has oblique teeth (Fig. 2A-26. Note that an oblique tooth doesn’t necessarily have to be straight because an oblique tooth can be a curved teeth); a chassis that extends from the first wheel disc toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 24, 26); and a flange coupled to the chassis and configured to engage with a drive shaft of a motor to establish a connection between the impeller and the motor (Fig. 24, 26), and wherein said impeller is configured for use within a range hood (the impeller as shown in Fig. 24 and 26 is capable of being used in a range hood).
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib.
However, Wilken teaches an impeller and further teaches a first wheel disc, a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc, an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and an outer circumference of the second wheel disc is folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib (See 28 in Fig. 10 folded away to the outside away from the other wheel disc, or see 84 and 85 which can be interpreted to be part of the wheel discs and being folded away. Also see other corresponding folded away ribs in other figures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, and make an outer circumference of the first wheel disc to be folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib.
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Krishnaswami and Wilken further discloses that an angle between each of the oblique teeth and the impeller axis is 70 degrees (see Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25. Note that the claim doesn’t specify where the angle is measured because two lines can have two different angles and their sum total is 180, hence at least one of them is at least 70 degrees).
With regard to claim 13, the combination of Krishnaswami and Wilken further discloses that each of the sawtooth segments extends for two-thirds the length of the respective blade of the plurality of blades (Krishnaswami, Fig. 2A, 20, 21, 24, 25).
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Krishnaswami and Wilken further discloses that the oblique teeth of each sawtooth segment are arranged such that a width of a tooth root of each of the oblique teeth gradually decreases as the oblique teeth extend toward the second wheel disc (Krishnaswami, Fig. 2A, 3-12, 20, 21, 24, 25. Note that the claim doesn’t require that the width of the tooth root of each of the oblique teeth continuously and exclusively from the first wheel disc to the second wheel disc. In Krishnaswami, at least partly the width decreases as the oblique teeth extend toward the second wheel disc, see for example Fig. 25).
With regard to claim 18:
Krishnaswami discloses the impeller of claim 15, as set forth above
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and wherein an outer circumference of the second wheel disc is folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib.
However, Wilken teaches an impeller and further teaches a first wheel disc, a second wheel disc spaced apart from the first wheel disc, an outer circumference of the first wheel disc is folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and an outer circumference of the second wheel disc is folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib (See 28 in Fig. 10 folded away to the outside away from the other wheel disc, or see 84 and 85 which can be interpreted to be part of the wheel discs and being folded away. Also see other corresponding folded away ribs in other figures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, and make an outer circumference of the first wheel disc to be folded away from the second wheel disc to form a first air guide reinforcement rib, and make an outer circumference of the second wheel disc to be folded away from the first wheel disc to form a second air guide reinforcement rib.
With regard to claim 19, the combination of Krishnaswami and Wilken further discloses that an angle between the first air guide reinforcement rib and the first wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees, and wherein an angle between the second air guide reinforcement rib and the second wheel disc is between 45 degrees and 60 degrees (see 28 in Fig. 10, or see 84 and 85 which can be interpreted to be part of the wheel discs. Also see other corresponding folded away ribs in other figures).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami.
With regard to claim 23:
Krishnaswami discloses the impeller of claim 21, as set forth above
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the first wheel disc has a greater length than a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the second wheel disc.
However, a careful examination of the specification reveals no criticality for a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the first wheel disc having a greater length than a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the second wheel disc, nor any reason as to why the impeller of applicant with these side length arrangement would operate any different than the impeller of Krishnaswami, and Applicant has not disclosed that this specific side length arrangement provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. On the contrary, the specification discloses that this is merely an example among several other possibilities. Hence this specific side length arrangement is considered to be a design choice by the applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Krishnaswami and Applicant’s invention to perform equally well, because both would perform the same function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the specific side length arrangement for the teeth as claimed with impeller of Krishnaswami in order to achieve a desired dimension, flow rate, or configuration, as they are a matter of design choice. Such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami in view of Gea Aguilera et al. (US 2021/0388725), referred to hereinafter as Gea.
With regard to claim 23:
Krishnaswami discloses the impeller of claim 21, as set forth above
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the first wheel disc has a greater length than a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the second wheel disc.
However, Gea teaches an impeller and further teaches a blade having a sawtooth segment for noise reduction ([0074]) and further teaches that a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the first wheel disc has a greater length than a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the second wheel disc (Fig. 6, 16, 22-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, and make a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the first wheel disc have a greater length than a side of each of the oblique teeth that faces toward the second wheel disc.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami in view of Jang et al. (US 2016/0153457), referred to hereinafter as Jang.
With regard to claim 27:
Krishnaswami discloses the impeller of claim 20, as set forth above
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that a width of the blade decreases as the blade extends from the first wheel disc to the second wheel disc.
However, Jang teaches an impeller and further teaches a first wheel disc (310); a second wheel disc (320) spaced apart from the first wheel disc; and a blade that extends between and interconnects the first wheel disc and the second wheel disc (Fig. 2), wherein a width of the blade decreases as the blade extends from the first wheel disc to the second wheel disc (Fig. 2-9), or reducing consumption power of the centrifugal blower to enhance efficiency ([0012], [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, and make the width of the blade decrease as the blade extends from the first wheel disc to the second wheel disc.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnaswami et al. (US 2019/0226492), referred to hereinafter as Krishnaswami in view of Liang et al. (US 2019/0010955), referred to hereinafter as Liang.
With regard to claim 30:
Krishnaswami discloses the impeller of claim 20, as set forth above
Krishnaswami does not appear to explicitly disclose that said impeller is installed within a centrifugal fan of a range hood.
However, Liang teaches an impeller and further teaches that said impeller is installed within a centrifugal fan of a range hood ([0003], 90016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, and install said impeller within a centrifugal fan of a range hood.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar impellers such as US 20260177068 and US 11560796.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745