DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “operation device” and “control device,” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
The claim is directed towards “a computer-readable non-volatile medium” which under the broadest reasonable interpretation can be interpreted as software (software per se). The court has found that software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium is an idea without physical embodiment, does not fall within any statutory category. See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449, 82 USPQ2d 1400, 1407 (2007); see also Benson, 409 U.S. 67, 175 USPQ2d 675 (An "idea" is not patent eligible). Thus, a product claim to a software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form and thus does not fall within any statutory category. (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dix John et al. (US20190344827A1), hereinafter referred to as John, in view of Yoshida Kazumasa et al. (JP20170176096A), hereinafter referred to as Kazumasa.
Regarding claim 1, John discloses: an automated traveling method of a working vehicle (see at least John, Fig.1, Item 10, “work vehicle,” ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses an automatic guidance method of a work vehicle along multiple swaths without input from an operator), the automated traveling method comprising:
generating a plurality of traveling routes along which the working vehicle is caused to perform automated traveling (see at least John, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses the multiple swaths along which a work vehicle is to autonomously traverse; [0044]-[0047], discloses a specific example of various guidance swaths a work vehicle may traverse, such as a current and adjacent path, this means that a plurality of travel routes are generated along which the working vehicle is caused to perform automated traveling)
receiving an advance reservation for a turning direction in the turning start position (see at least John, Fig.4, which discloses an example of planned turns configured to direct the work vehicle from one guidance swath to an adjacent, or alternative one; ¶¶ [0044]-[0048], which discloses turn indications received before the vehicle reaches the guidance swath endpoint, this means on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route is configured)
and causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position (see at least John, ¶¶ [0039], [0045]-[0048], which discloses an advance turn indication that causes the work vehicle to change direction, in the example it provides a left turn, before the vehicle reaches the designated endpoint, this means causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position)
John is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Kazumasa teaches: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route (see at least Kazumasa, pg.57, par.12; pg.58, par.3, pg.71, which discloses a turning start position stored in a point storage section for which a traveling vehicle body shifts from a straight traveling direction to a turning direction when turning is started toward an alternative traveling route)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify John to include: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route, as taught by Kazumasa. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of John provides a general plan with successive guidance swaths and their connecting turns, however, it does not expressly state that a turning start point is configured on each traveling route. It is believed that a person can reasonably make an inference from the planned route structure, however, the reference of Kazumasa has been provided to cure the potential deficiency. Incorporating the teachings of Kazumasa would provide an improvement of accurate and efficient transitions between traveling routes while reducing the need for manual steering options.
Regarding claim 2, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein the advance reservation is receivable at least either at a timing when the working vehicle transitions to a mode of performing the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes or while the working vehicle is performing the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes (see at least John, ¶¶ [0013]-[0015], [0039], which discloses the determination of an advance reservation indicating a turn in the direction of a planned turn while the work vehicle is in automatic control mode; [0045]-[0048] which discloses an advance turn indication that causes the work vehicle to change direction, in the example it provides a left turn, before the vehicle reaches the designated endpoint)
Regarding claim 3, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the advance reservation has been received, the working vehicle is caused to automatically turn without stopping in the turning start position (see at least John, ¶¶ [0039], [0045]-[0048], which discloses an advance turn indication that causes the work vehicle to change direction, in the example it provides an automatic left turn, before the vehicle reaches the designated endpoint without stopping in the turning start position)
Regarding claim 4, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the advance reservation has not been received, the working vehicle is stopped in the turning start position (see at least John, ¶¶ [0045], which discloses automatically instructing the movement control system to stop the work vehicle in the event that a turn signal indication from the input assembly has not been received)
Regarding claim 5, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein when the advance reservation has been received, the working vehicle is caused to broadcast the turning direction that has been received to an outside (see at least John, ¶¶ [0045], which discloses providing an visual turn indicator of the direction of the planned turn to the operator, and/or individuals outside the work vehicle)
Regarding claim 6, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein when the advance reservation has been received, the turning direction in the turning start position is configured not only for one traveling route serving as a target of the automated traveling at a point in time but also for other traveling routes serving as targets of the automated traveling next time and later (see at least John, ¶¶ [0041]-[0047], which discloses the route plan which consists of several swaths that may be adjustable according to an operators desired turn signal input of a planned turn, this means wherein when the advance reservation has been received, the turning direction in the turning start position is configured not only for one traveling route serving as a target of the automated traveling at a point in time but also for other traveling routes serving as targets of the automated traveling next time and later)
Regarding claim 7, John is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Kazumasa teaches: the automated traveling method according to claim 6, wherein the turning direction configured for each of the plurality of traveling routes in the advance reservation is reversed every time a traveling route changes (see at least Kazumasa, pg.62, par.3, “the guide includes a forward/backward switching path that in in the neutral position of the main shift lever,” and par.5, “reverse shift state,” which provide that the turning direction configured for each of the plurality of traveling routes in the advance reservation is reversed every time a traveling route changes)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify John to include: wherein the turning direction configured for each of the plurality of traveling routes in the advance reservation is reversed every time a traveling route changes as taught by Kazumasa. Incorporating the teachings of Kazumasa would provide an improvement of accurate and efficient transitions between traveling routes while reducing the need for manual steering options.
Regarding claim 8, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 1, wherein when the advance reservation has been received, the turning direction in the turning start position is configured only for one traveling route serving as a target of the automated traveling at a point in time (see at least John, ¶¶ [0039], [0045], which discloses that a turn is initiated when the indicated direction matches the planned direction and the vehicle may be controlled by a signal to stop without an indication, this means wherein when the advance reservation has been received, the turning direction in the turning start position is configured only for one traveling route serving as a target of the automated traveling at a point in time)
Regarding claim 9, John discloses: the automated traveling method according to claim 6, wherein a change operation is receivable to reverse the turning direction in the turning start position, the turning direction having been configured by receiving the advance reservation (see at least John, ¶¶ [0041], [0046], which discloses a first turn signal indicative of a turn indication in the opposite direction of the planned turn before the end of the guidance swath, this means wherein a change operation is receivable to reverse the turning direction in the turning start position, the turning direction having been configured by receiving the advance reservation)
Regarding claim 10, John discloses: an automated traveling system (see at least John, Fig.1, Item 10, “work vehicle,” ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses an automatic guidance method of a work vehicle along multiple swaths without input from an operator) comprising:
a working vehicle (see at least John, Fig.1, Item 10, “work vehicle,”)
an operation device that is provided to enable the working vehicle to be configured with respect to automated traveling (see at least John, Fig.3, Item 22, “turn signal input assembly” which is enabled to configure automated traveling)
and a control device that controls the automated traveling of the working vehicle in response to an instruction from the operation device (see at least John, Fig.3, Item 68, “controller”), wherein the control device performs:
generating a plurality of traveling routes along which the working vehicle is caused to perform the automated traveling; (see at least John, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses the multiple swaths along which a work vehicle is to autonomously traverse; [0044]-[0047], discloses a specific example of various guidance swaths a work vehicle may traverse, such as a current and adjacent path, this means that a plurality of travel routes are generated along which the working vehicle is caused to perform automated traveling)
receiving an advance reservation for a turning direction in the turning start position, the advance reservation having been made by using the operation device (see at least John, Fig.4, which discloses an example of planned turns configured to direct the work vehicle from one guidance swath to an adjacent, or alternative one; ¶¶ [0044]-[0048], which discloses turn indications received before the vehicle reaches the guidance swath endpoint, this means on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route is configured)
and causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position (see at least John, ¶¶ [0039], [0045]-[0048], which discloses an advance turn indication that causes the work vehicle to change direction, in the example it provides a left turn, before the vehicle reaches the designated endpoint, this means causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position)
John is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Kazumasa teaches: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route (see at least Kazumasa, pg.57, par.12; pg.58, par.3, pg.71, which discloses a turning start position stored in a point storage section for which a traveling vehicle body shifts from a straight traveling direction to a turning direction when turning is started toward an alternative traveling route)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify John to include: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route, as taught by Kazumasa. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of John provides a general plan with successive guidance swaths and their connecting turns, however, it does not expressly state that a turning start point is configured on each traveling route. It is believed that a person can reasonably make an inference from the planned route structure, however, the reference of Kazumasa has been provided to cure the potential deficiency. Incorporating the teachings of Kazumasa would provide an improvement of accurate and efficient transitions between traveling routes while reducing the need for manual steering options.
Regarding claim 11, John discloses: a computer-readable non-volatile medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform an automated traveling method of a working vehicle (see at least John, Fig.1 and 3), wherein the program causes the computer to perform:
generating a plurality of traveling routes along which the working vehicle is caused to perform automated traveling (see at least John, ¶¶ [0013]-[0014], which discloses the multiple swaths along which a work vehicle is to autonomously traverse; [0044]-[0047], discloses a specific example of various guidance swaths a work vehicle may traverse, such as a current and adjacent path, this means that a plurality of travel routes are generated along which the working vehicle is caused to perform automated traveling)
receiving an advance reservation for a turning direction in the turning start position (see at least John, Fig.4, which discloses an example of planned turns configured to direct the work vehicle from one guidance swath to an adjacent, or alternative one; ¶¶ [0044]-[0048], which discloses turn indications received before the vehicle reaches the guidance swath endpoint, this means on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route is configured)
causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position (see at least John, ¶¶ [0039], [0045]-[0048], which discloses an advance turn indication that causes the work vehicle to change direction, in the example it provides a left turn, before the vehicle reaches the designated endpoint, this means causing the working vehicle to automatically turn in the turning direction for which the advance reservation has been made, when the working vehicle that performs the automated traveling along each of the plurality of traveling routes has reached the turning start position)
John is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Kazumasa teaches: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route (see at least Kazumasa, pg.57, par.12; pg.58, par.3, pg.71, which discloses a turning start position stored in a point storage section for which a traveling vehicle body shifts from a straight traveling direction to a turning direction when turning is started toward an alternative traveling route)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify John to include: configuring, on each of the plurality of traveling routes, a turning start position where turning is started toward a next traveling route, as taught by Kazumasa. The examiner would like to note that the disclosure of John provides a general plan with successive guidance swaths and their connecting turns, however, it does not expressly state that a turning start point is configured on each traveling route. It is believed that a person can reasonably make an inference from the planned route structure, however, the reference of Kazumasa has been provided to cure the potential deficiency. Incorporating the teachings of Kazumasa would provide an improvement of accurate and efficient transitions between traveling routes while reducing the need for manual steering options.
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664