DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “a control device configured to acquire the pieces of return determination..” should read “a control device configured to acquire the plurality pieces of return determination…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a return determination information acquisition device”, “a control device” in 1 and control device in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are directed towards a computer system (i.e. machine). Thus, each of the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “acquire a plurality of pieces of return determination information including position information of a vehicle that is jointly used among users registered in advance, the position information being used for a return determination of the vehicle to a car station; store a plurality of return determination conditions corresponding to the pieces of return determination information; acquire the pieces of return determination information from the return determination information acquisition device, to acquire the return determination conditions from the storage device, and to perform, based on the pieces of return determination information and the return determination conditions, the return determination of the vehicle to the car station; determine that the vehicle has been returned to the car station when any of the return determination conditions is determined to be satisfied”.
The limitations above, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of “determining that a vehicle is returned” which is a method of organizing a human activity and mental process. That is, the method allows for fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); concepts performed in the human mind.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites “a return determination information acquisition device”, “storage device” and “control device”. Each of the additional limitations is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional element(s), alone or in combination, do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it/they do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) is/are nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception on a general computer.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “perform a return determination of a vehicle that is jointly used among users registered in advance to a car station, using a plurality of pieces of return determination information including position information of the vehicle, the position information being used for the return determination of the vehicle to the car station.”.
The limitations above, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of “determining that a vehicle is returned” which is a method of organizing a human activity and mental process. That is, the method allows for fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); concepts performed in the human mind.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites “control device”. The additional limitation is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element(s), alone or in combination, do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it/they do(es) not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) is/are nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception on a general computer.
Dependent claim(s) 3 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because it/they further narrow(s) the abstract idea described in relation to claim 2 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“a charging device installed at the car station and the vehicle and when the charging device and the vehicle are connected, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Dependent claim(s) 4 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because it/they further narrow(s) the abstract idea described in relation to claim 2 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“a beacon installed at the car station and either an in-vehicle device mounted in the vehicle or a portable information terminal associated with the vehicle, when the beacon and either the in-vehicle device or the portable information terminal are connected, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Dependent claim(s) 5 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because it/they further narrow(s) the abstract idea described in relation to claim 2 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“a positioning unit provided in the vehicle” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Dependent claim(s) 6 is/are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because it/they further narrow(s) the abstract idea described in relation to claim 2 without successfully integrating the exception into a practical application (“a positioning unit provided in the vehicle, when the position information of the portable information terminal is within the car station, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station” is recited at a high level of recitation which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception in a computer environment) or providing significantly more limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamisawa (US 2015/0348179).
As per claim 1, Kamisawa discloses a car sharing system comprising:
a return determination information acquisition device configured to acquire a plurality of pieces of return determination information including position information of a vehicle that is jointly used among users registered in advance, the position information being used for a return determination of the vehicle to a car station ([0143]… Furthermore, herein, there will be explained, for example, a case where customers are registered in advance as members in the vehicle rental management server 2 and a vehicle C being currently used by a customer U1 is scheduled to be rented to a next customer U2… [0070] Further, each of the mobile terminals M1 and M2 includes a position information acquisition unit 14 and a memory 15. The position information acquisition unit 14 is a module for measuring the current position of the device itself, and calculates the coordinates of the current position based on, for example, a GPS signal from a satellite 7 or enables each of the mobile terminals M1 and M2 to acquire its own position information in a propagation state of a base station identifier of a base station as a communication partner or signal intensity from this base station… [0074] To be specific, when the UI control unit 17a acquires a manipulation signal to start a reservation, position information acquired by the position information acquisition unit 14 or a GPS receiver 65b of the vehicle-mounted terminal 6 is acquired and a store S near the current position of the customer displays information of a vehicle being currently in a standby state and information of a vehicle which is preset to be returned to the store S on a reservation screen… [0111] The store database 233 is table data that accumulates information about a store S that rents a vehicle C. A store ID for identifying the store S is assigned to the table data, and with this store ID as an index, position information, business hours, the number of installable units, and information of a current vacant space or the like are stored in the table data… [0114] The map information accumulation unit 231 is a storage device that accumulates map information about a preset area. In the present embodiment, a candidate site (a store, etc.) as a destination where a vehicle is rented and returned is accumulated as vector data on the latitude and longitude coordinates. Further, in such map information, an area, such as a prefecture, every municipality, the west exit and the east exit of a station, etc. where multiple stores are scattered is partitioned as a predetermined area, and adjacent areas have an overlapped portion, and in the overlapped portion, a single store or multiple stores are arranged. Furthermore, such map information is transmitted to the mobile terminals M1 and M2, and the vehicle-mounted terminal 6 and accumulated in each memory… [0121] The member registration unit 224 is a module for receiving member registration of the customer based on the input of the web data for member registration, and acquires a name, an address, a telephone number, and payment information of the customer. Further, the information received by the member registration unit 224 is accumulated in the customer database 232…[0123] The return receiving unit 223b is a module for receiving arrival information relating to return of the vehicle C. In the present embodiment, when the return receiving unit 223b acquires a manipulation signal for setting a return site from the mobile terminal M1, based on position information acquired at the same time, the return receiving unit 223b selects a store having a vacant space in a predetermined area…claim 8: “wherein the notice of actual return includes at least one of information of (5) and (6): (5) first information indicating a fact that any one of the site terminals and any one of the mobile terminals, or any one of the site terminals and any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals came close to each other at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return; and (6) second information indicating a current position of any one of the mobile terminals or any one of the vehicle-mounted terminal at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return… [0478] Furthermore, according to the present embodiment, the notice of actual return includes at least one of the following two kinds of information.
[0479] First information: Information indicating that any one of the site terminals and any one of the mobile terminals, or any one of the site terminals and any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals come close to each other at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return (for example, a time set to implement an actual return procedure after a vehicle is parked in a parking site, such as within 3 minutes) (for example, a pair of IDs of both terminals obtained by transferring a terminal ID of one side to the other side by way of near-field communication between the both terminals).
[0480] Second information: Information indicating a current position of any one of the mobile terminals or any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return (for example, a current position measured by a GPS device of the terminal at that time point).”);
a storage device configured to store a plurality of return determination conditions corresponding to the pieces of return determination information ([0016] According to another aspect of the present invention, a vehicle rental management system that can communicate with multiple mobile terminals respectively carried by multiple customers, multiple vehicle-mounted terminals respectively provided on multiple vehicles, and/or site terminals respectively provided on multiple parking sites prepared as rental sites and return sites for the vehicles, and manages a vehicle rental business of renting the vehicles to the customers includes a control system that manages rental and return of the vehicles, and a database accessed by the control system, wherein the database includes usage condition data showing information about which vehicle is rented to which customer at which time and parking site data showing respective positions of the multiple parking sites and information about the site terminals..[0017]… a database accessed by the control system, wherein the database includes parking site data showing information about multiple parking sites prepared as rental sites and return sites for the vehicles, and the control system ascertains a reserved return site and a reserved return time relating to a return reservation based on a parking site set as a destination and an estimated arrival time at the parking site determined based on a current position measured by the vehicle-mounted terminal, and sets a next rental reservation for the vehicle based on the return reservation…. [0111] The store database 233 is table data that accumulates information about a store S that rents a vehicle C. A store ID for identifying the store S is assigned to the table data, and with this store ID as an index, position information, business hours, the number of installable units, and information of a current vacant space or the like are stored in the table data… [0113] The usage condition database 234 is table data relating to a usage condition including vehicle rental reservation information, and with a reservation ID, which is given at the time of receipt of a request for use, as an index, an estimated rental time, a store ID for identifying a rental store, an estimated return time, a store ID of a store to which a rented vehicle is returned, a store ID, and a vehicle ID are included in the table data… [0115] The communication interface 21 is an interface for transmitting and receiving data through the communication network 3 among the mobile terminals M1 and M2, the store terminal M3, or the vehicle-mounted vehicle 6. Through this communication interface 21, for example, data relating to a request for vehicle rental is transmitted and reservation information of the vehicle rental is received… [0124] Once the return receiving unit 223b acquires arrival information set by the customer from the mobile terminal M1, it records an ID of a store as a return site and an estimated arrival time included in the arrival information in the usage condition database 234. In this case, if the acquired arrival information is about a desired site designated in response to the rental reservation request, the return receiving unit 223b notifies the information to the reservation receiving unit 223a. Further, if there is a big difference between the current time and the estimated arrival time, the return receiving unit 223b may not record the information in the usage condition database 234, and if a difference between the current time and the estimated arrival time falls within a preset range, the return receiving unit 223b may reflect the information. In this case, it is possible to prevent a next customer from being unable to use due to a change of schedule.”); and
a control device configured to acquire the pieces of return determination information from the return determination information acquisition device, to acquire the return determination conditions from the storage device, and to perform, based on the pieces of return determination information and the return determination conditions, the return determination of the vehicle to the car station ([0476] Further, according to the present embodiment, the storage device 23 stores a usage condition database 234 showing information about which vehicle is rented to which customer at which time and a store database 233 (parking site data) showing respective positions of multiple parking sites or information about site terminals. The control unit 22 receives a notice of actual return from a second terminal among the mobile terminal M1, the vehicle-mounted terminal 6, and/or the store terminal M3 (site terminal); ascertains that the notified actual return is carried out based on the notice of actual return and data in the store database 233; specifies an actual return customer who carries out the notified actual return based on the notice of actual return and the usage condition data 234; and specifies an actual return time when the notified actual return is carried out based on the notice of actual return… [0481] Further, the control unit 22 ascertains that the actual return is implemented based on the first information included in the notice of actual return and information from the store terminals M3 in multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data, or the second information included in the notice of actual return and position information of multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data.),
wherein the control device is configured to determine that the vehicle has been returned to the car station when any of the return determination conditions is determined to be satisfied ([0481] Further, the control unit 22 ascertains that the actual return is implemented based on the first information included in the notice of actual return and information from the store terminals M3 in multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data, or the second information included in the notice of actual return and position information of multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data.).
As per claim 2, Kamisawa discloses a control device configured to perform a return determination of a vehicle that is jointly used among users registered in advance to a car station, using a plurality of pieces of return determination information including position information of the vehicle, the position information being used for the return determination of the vehicle to the car station (paragraphs 6, 116-122, 478-481).
As per claim 6, Kamisawa discloses the pieces of return determination information include position information of a portable information terminal associated with the vehicle; and when the position information of the portable information terminal is within the car station, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station (0476] Further, according to the present embodiment, the storage device 23 stores a usage condition database 234 showing information about which vehicle is rented to which customer at which time and a store database 233 (parking site data) showing respective positions of multiple parking sites or information about site terminals. The control unit 22 receives a notice of actual return from a second terminal among the mobile terminal M1, the vehicle-mounted terminal 6, and/or the store terminal M3 (site terminal); ascertains that the notified actual return is carried out based on the notice of actual return and data in the store database 233; specifies an actual return customer who carries out the notified actual return based on the notice of actual return and the usage condition data 234; and specifies an actual return time when the notified actual return is carried out based on the notice of actual return.. [0480] Second information: Information indicating a current position of any one of the mobile terminals or any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return (for example, a current position measured by a GPS device of the terminal at that time point)… [0481] Further, the control unit 22 ascertains that the actual return is implemented based on the first information included in the notice of actual return and information from the store terminals M3 in multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data, or the second information included in the notice of actual return and position information of multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamisawa, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2, in view of Morgal (US 2010/0228405).
As per claim 3, Kamisawa does not disclose but Morgal discloses the pieces of return determination information include information related to a connection between a charging device installed at the car station and the vehicle; and when the charging device and the vehicle are connected, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station. ([0158] Once the user is done with the PEV 422 the user will need to return it to an available lock-charge port to complete the rental. After parking the PEV 422 in the lock-charge port 402 the user may withdraw the charge cord 404 from its sheath on the PEV 422 and insert the charge plug 414 into the electrical receptacle 424 in the lock-charge port 402 to complete the rental process. The lock bar 452 will automatically lock the charge port 414 by mechanically engaging the notch 458 on the latch 434 when the charge plug 414 is inserted into the lock-charge port 402. The VAP 420 may then sense alternating current in the charge cord 404 causing the VAP 420 to turn the PEV 422 off. The VAP 420 may then begin to attempt communication with the lock-charge port 402. If communication over the lock-charge port/VAP serial bus is possible, the VAP 420 may then relay PEV identification information and ID device information for use in identifying the returned PEV 422 to the to the kiosk computer. Once the kiosk computer acknowledges the PEV return, the VAP 420 may be instructed by the kiosk computer to erase the internal record of all the user identification information stored on the VAP 420 used to activate the PEV 422.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Morgal in the teaching of Kamisawa, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamisawa, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2, in view of Boehm (US 2023/0040437).
As per claim 4, Kamisawa discloses the pieces of return determination information include information related to a connection between a device installed at the car station and either an in-vehicle device mounted in the vehicle or a portable information terminal associated with the vehicle; and when the device and either the in-vehicle device or the portable information terminal are connected, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station ([0479] First information: Information indicating that any one of the site terminals and any one of the mobile terminals, or any one of the site terminals and any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals come close to each other at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return (for example, a time set to implement an actual return procedure after a vehicle is parked in a parking site, such as within 3 minutes) (for example, a pair of IDs of both terminals obtained by transferring a terminal ID of one side to the other side by way of near-field communication between the both terminals).. [0480] Second information: Information indicating a current position of any one of the mobile terminals or any one of the vehicle-mounted terminals at or immediately before a time of the notice of actual return (for example, a current position measured by a GPS device of the terminal at that time point). [0481] Further, the control unit 22 ascertains that the actual return is implemented based on the first information included in the notice of actual return and information from the store terminals M3 in multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data, or the second information included in the notice of actual return and position information of multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data. [0482] Therefore, it is possible to accurately ascertain implementation of the actual return.)
However, Kamisawa does not disclose but Boehm disclose the device as a fixed location Bluetooth/RFID beacons ([0014] In various embodiments, each FMGS tablet and each FMGS computer module is structured and operable to, in real time, communicate with the beacons utilized as location tracker, via Bluetooth communications, and communicate with the FMGS central server, via at least one of cellular communication and WiFi communications, to provide vehicle location information to the FMGS central server, which is accessible by at least one FMGS facility computer. ..[0017] By placing a Bluetooth and RFID beacon in a fixed location with precise known GPS coordinates vehicle's location can be determined with a high degree of certainty every time the vehicle comes into proximity of the beacon. When multiple beacons are used along a path the need for a GPS signal is eliminated and live ‘breadcrumb trail’ can be displayed for customers to see, thus showing a location without live real time GPS signals and communication…[0040]… In various instances, it is envisioned that one or more of the facility computers and/or tablets 22 can be located remotely from the respective facility. The central server 18 can be located locally on-site at the respective facility or located remotely from the facility. The BTBFMGS 10 additionally comprises a plurality of vehicle tablets 26 (e.g., computer tablets having internal memory and a processor, and an external touch sensitive screen/display) installed in a plurality of the vehicles 14 (e.g., one tablet 26 installed in each of a plurality of the vehicles 14). The vehicle tablets 26 are structured and operable to communicate with the server 18 via cellular communication technology and protocols, and via wireless (WiFi) communication technology and protocols (e.g., wireless local area network communications). The BTBFMGS 10 further comprises a plurality of vehicle computer modules 30 (e.g., display-less computer modules) installed in a plurality of the vehicles 14 (e.g., one module 30 installed in each of a plurality of the vehicles 14). The vehicle modules 30 are structured and operable to communicate with the server 18 via cellular communication technology and protocols, and via wireless (WiFi) communication technology and protocols. The BTBFMGS 10 still further comprises a plurality of radio frequency identification (RFID) readers 34 installed in a plurality of the vehicles 14 (e.g., one RFID reader 34 installed in each of a plurality of the vehicles 14). The BTBFMGS 10 further yet comprises a plurality of Bluetooth-plus-RFID (BTRFID) beacons or tokens 38 that are structured and operable to be utilized as both vehicle keys, and as terrestrial geographical location markers. [0041] As described further below, the BTRFID beacons 38 include circuit boards that have Bluetooth beacon circuitry and technology integrated with RFID circuitry and technology thereon. Hence, the BTRFID beacons 38 are structured and operable to provide both Bluetooth communication and near-field communication (e.g., near-field radio-frequency communication). Therefore, the BTRFID beacons 38 are structured and operable to communicate with the vehicle tablets 26 and the vehicle modules 30, via Bluetooth communication technology and protocols, and with the RFID readers 34, via near-field radio-frequency communication technology and protocols.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Boehm in the teaching of Kamisawa, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamisawa, as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2, in view of Kasargod (US 2013/0116921).
As per claim 5, Kamisawa discloses when the vehicle is estimated to be within the car station at a time of return of the vehicle, the vehicle is determined to have been returned to the car station ([0077] The arrival information notifying unit 17c is a module for setting a destination of a vehicle as a return site based on manipulation of a customer. In this case, the arrival information notifying unit 17c also has a function of calculating an estimated arrival time at the return site based on a measurement result (position information) obtained by the position information acquisition unit 14 or the GPS receiver 65b of the vehicle-mounted terminal 6, and notifying the vehicle rental management server 2 of the calculated estimated arrival time and set information about the return site as arrival information. To be specific, the arrival information notifying unit 17c calculates a driving distance based on information of the current position and information of the destination, and also calculates an estimated arrival time based on a speed limit on a road. Further, in this case, the arrival information notifying unit 17c can change the estimated arrival time by acquiring information of a traffic condition on the road.. [0081] The usage information transmitting unit 16 is a module for transmitting a manipulation signal from the input interface 12 to the vehicle rental management server 2, and transmits, for example, a request for inspection of the reservation and return screens, reservation information, or arrival information according to manipulation of a user. In this case, the usage information transmitting unit 16 is configured to transmit information of the current position or a customer ID together with the manipulation signal to the vehicle rental management server 2. [0140] The point management unit 229 is a module for offering points functioning as incentives according to a usage condition of a customer with reference to the usage condition database 234, and offers points depending on a fee in the present embodiment. Further, the point management unit 229 offers additional points when a vehicle is returned to a scheduled return site or within a scheduled return time or even when a return site or a reservation site is changed in response to a request for a change from the return receiving unit 223b or the reservation receiving unit 223a. Furthermore, the point management unit 229 offers additional points when the customer U1 selects a desired rental site displayed as a candidate site when setting a destination. [0141] The payment processing unit 227 is a module for performing a payment process based on the information accumulated in the usage condition database 234. To be specific, with reference to usage information accumulated in the usage condition database, the payment processing unit 227 performs a billing process to the customer U1 based on payment information in the customer database 232. In the billing process, for example, data intending to allow receipt of vehicle return is notified at the time when being transmitted to the store terminal M3, and, thus, a fee may be directly collected from the customer at the store or a payment process may be performed using a credit card registered in advance… 0481] Further, the control unit 22 ascertains that the actual return is implemented based on the first information included in the notice of actual return and information from the store terminals M3 in multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data, or the second information included in the notice of actual return and position information of multiple parking sites shown in the parking site data.)
However, Kamisawa does not disclose but Kasargod discloses the pieces of return determination information include information related to past vehicle position information acquired by a positioning unit provided in the vehicle, and a direction of movement of the vehicle; and based on the past vehicle position information and the direction of movement of the vehicle, determine location of vehicle ([0011] FIG. 1 illustrates a vehicle navigation system according to an embodiment. The vehicle navigation system includes a satellite receiver chain 110, a GNSS position engine (GPE) 115 and a dead reckoning engine (DRE) 120. The satellite receiver chain 110 includes an antenna, amplifiers, ADC and digital logic and firmware to acquire and track signals from the satellites 105. The satellite receiver chain 110 sends the GNSS satellite measurements (consisting of measured pseudoranges and psuedorange rate) to the GPE 115. The satellite receiver chain 110 also computes a quality metric for each psuedorange/Doppler measurement which is also communicated to the GPE 115. The GPE 115 uses GNSS satellite measurements to compute a position and velocity of the vehicle, and a quality metric 125 (first quality metric) associated with the position and velocity. [0012] The DRE 120 uses a seed position and heading and computes the position and velocity at subsequent instances using speed and yaw rate measurements and information about the local road network from a map database. The DRE 120 also computes a quality metric 130 (second quality metric, in meters) associated with the dead reckoning.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to include the limitation above as taught by Boehm in the teaching of Kamisawa, in order include a dead reckoning engine (DRE) that operates parallel with the GPE that computes a second position and velocity and a second quality metric associated with the dead reckoning (Kasargod, abstract).
Pertinent Art
Furunaga (JP 2021086170) A car sharing system
Jiang (CN 108305399) Electric vehicle returning system
Conclusion
OMAR . ZEROUAL
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/OMAR ZEROUAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629