DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025, 02/23/2026, 04/13/2026, 05/18/2026, & 08/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-63 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since all claims have been rejoined.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-63 directed to an allowable product. Pursuant to the procedures set forth in MPEP § 821.04(b), claims 1-63, directed to the process of making or using the allowable product, previously withdrawn from consideration as a result of a restriction requirement, are hereby rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 25-29 & 34-50, And 1, 19-24, 30-33, & 60-63 And 16-18, And 8-11 & 59, And 2-7, And 12-15, And 51-53, And 54-57, And 58, directed to the invention(s) of species 1, And species 2, And species 3, And species 4, And species 5, And species 6, And species 7, And species 8, And species 9 require all the limitations of an allowable product claim, and have been rejoined.
Because a claimed invention previously withdrawn from consideration under 37 CFR 1.142 has been rejoined, the restriction requirement between groups 1-9 as set forth in the Office action mailed on 06/01/2026 is hereby withdrawn. In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 in lines 30-31 recites the limitation "receive, from the WLAN, by the WLAN transceiver via the WLAN antenna, ". ‘data’ is plural but grammatically “a second” should be followed by a singular noun. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘a second set of data’.
Claim 44 in lines 1-3 recites the limitation "wherein the photoelectric sensor is based on Charge-Coupled Appliance (CCD) or a Complementary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) element.". CCD is a Charge-Coupled Device (CCD) not a “Charge-Coupled Appliance”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 54 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding “Failure to particularly point out & distinctly claim [indefinite]:
Claim 1 in lines 5-6 recites the limitation "a first sensor producing an output in response to a first physical phenomenon;". It is not clear what type of sensor is being used or what the “first physical phenomenon” is; sensors produce signals in response to physical phenomenon. It is not clear what this limitation is intended to imply beyond that there is a sensor. In particular it is not clear what the difference is between “first physical phenomenon” and “second physical phenomenon”. For the purposes of examination, a “first[second] sensor” is interpreted as ‘a generic sensor’ and “first[second] physical phenomenon” is interpreted as ‘something which can be sensed by a sensor or created by an actuator’. Note: Claims 34, & 36-50 rectifies this issue.
Claim 1 in lines recites the limitation "an actuator for affecting or controlling a second physical phenomenon;". It is not clear what type of actuator is being used or what the “second physical phenomenon” is; actuators produce physical phenomenon in response to signals. It is not clear what this limitation is intended to imply beyond that there is an actuator. For the purposes of examination, a “first[second] sensor” is interpreted as ‘a generic sensor’ and “first[second] physical phenomenon” is interpreted as ‘something which can be sensed by a sensor or created by an actuator’.
Claim 54 in lines 1-5 recites the limitation "wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a motion actuator that causes linear or rotary motion, and the appliance further comprising a conversion mechanism for ". It is not clear what “respectfully converting” is intended to mean or how this is different from ‘converting’. For the purposes of examination, this is interpreted as ‘converting’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-63 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 7859396 B2(Monroe) in view of (US 7864500 B2(Elberbaum) in further view of US 9839103 B2(Avrahamy).
Regarding claim 1, Monroe teaches a household appliance (Fig. 1: network appliance, household appliance/(“network appliance”), shown is a generic network appliance) comprising: an AC connector (the device necessarily requires electrical power from AC power network and so necessarily has an AC connector) connectable to an AC power source (device necessarily is connected to a AC power source since that is what is supplied by the power utility) for powering the appliance therefrom (the device necessarily requires electrical power from AC power network and so necessarily has an AC connector); a current sensor (Fig. 10-845: “Current sensor”, column 14 lines 29-32: “Current sensor 845 senses the DC current consumed by the remote device, and may cause current limiter 850 to reduce or eliminate any current supplied to the remote device,”, DC current sensor is ‘coupled’ to AC current because the device gets its power from an AC source (i.e. the power utility), ‘coupled’ under BRI is ‘some sort of effect on’) coupled to the AC connector; a first sensor (column 3 lines 51-54: “The subject invention is specifically directed to networked appliances such as video and/or image appliances, access control devices, detectors and sensors as well as audio, condition and/or event monitoring systems.”) producing an output in response to a first physical phenomenon (sensors and detectors inherently respond to physical phenomenon); an actuator (column 27 and claim 45: “and further comprising: the sensor component including a manual switch for generating a signal when actuated.”, actuator/(switch which generates a signal when actuated)) for affecting or controlling a second physical phenomenon (column 3 lines 62-65: “Controlled transducers, such as electric door strikes, magnetic door strikes, electric door openers, strobe lights, sirens, room lights, fire control equipment and the like can be controlled by the appliances.”, second physical phenomenon/(effect of “controlled transducers”)); a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) antenna (column 5 lines 29-32: “It is another object and feature of the subject invention to provide network appliances for a security surveillance system adapted for use in connection with a wireless LAN (WLAN) communications system”, if a device can connect to a WLAN then it inherently has an antenna) for connecting to a WLAN; a WLAN transceiver (device connects to a WLAN therefore it inherently has a WLAN transceiver couple to the WLAN antenna) coupled to the WLAN antenna for transmitting digital data to, and for receiving digital data from, the WLAN; at least one memory (column 15 lines 54-57: “As an additional refinement, the device may be programmed to accept configuration commands from the networked monitoring apparatus.”, if the device can be programmed then it has a memory) that stores computer-executable instructions (column 15 lines 54-57: computer-executable instructions/(“programmed”)); at least one processor (column 12 lines 9-11: “In either case, the network interface passes information to and from the appliance's processor. The processor controls the clock display.”) configured to access the at least one memory (processors access memory); and an enclosure (Fig. 9A-485: “room appliance”, shows an appliance with an enclosure) housing the current sensor, the first sensor, the actuator, the WLAN antenna, the WLAN transceiver, at least one memory, and the at least one processor (an enclosure is for housing the elements of the device), … transmit, to the WLAN, by the WLAN transceiver via the WLAN antenna, a first data that is based on, or comprises, [the measured AC current] and the first sensor output (Fig. 2-85: “wireless LAN interface” & Fig. 2-87: “a wireless access point”, ); receive, from the WLAN, by the WLAN transceiver via the WLAN antenna, a second data (under BRI “second data” is more data, the WLAN inherently sends and receives data); …
Monroe does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: measure, by the current sensor, an AC current.
Elberbaum teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: measure, by the current sensor, an AC current (Fig. 7B-31B: “coil”, column 9 lines 63-64: “coil 31B will output by induction an AC output signal relative to the current drain in the wire 8”, the coil is part of a AC current sensor) consumed by the appliance;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Monroe with the teachings of Elberbaum. One would have added to the “Multimedia Network Appliances For Security And Surveillance Applications” of Monroe the “Method And Apparatus For Remotely Operating AC Powered Appliances From Video Interphones Or Shopping Terminals” of Elberbaum and in particular the AC current sensor. The motivation to combine would have been that the add on AC current sensing would be able to use much of the existing infrastructure and thereby save expense (see Elberbaum column 3 lines 14-21: “introduces several major advantages; one is the lowering of the overall cost of the switches and outlets, because standard low cost, mass produced switches and outlets can be used. The second advantage is that the "add on devices" provide dual operation, manual operation via the commonly used switches and outlets on one hand and remote operation, in parallel with manual operation, via the relays of the add on devices.”)
Neither Monroe nor Elberbaum as explicitly teach and control or activate the actuator in response to the received second data.
Avrahamy teaches … and control or activate the actuator in response to the received second data (column 30 lines 41-45: “Each of the first circuit or the second circuit may further comprise a logic circuit and an actuator that converts electrical energy to affect a phenomenon, the actuator may be coupled to the logic circuit to affect the phenomenon in response to the logic circuit,”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Monroe in view of Elberbaum with the teachings of Avrahamy. One would have added to the “Multimedia Network Appliances For Security And Surveillance Applications” with “Method And Apparatus For Remotely Operating AC Powered Appliances From Video Interphones Or Shopping Terminals” of Monroe in view of Elberbaum the logic circuit which can control relays and actuators of Avrahamy. The motivation would have been that a logic circuit is a well-known means of controlling switches (column 30 lines 48-50: “The logic circuit may further be coupled to operate, control, or activate the actuator in response to the state of the first or the second switch.” & column 45 lines 36-39: “A relay is a non-limiting example of an electrically operated switch. )
Regarding claim 2, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with food storage, handling, or preparation (column 61 lines 66 to column 62 line 1: “The home appliance may be major or small appliance, and its main function may be food storage or preparation,”).
Regarding claim 3, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 2,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the primary function of the appliance is heating food (column 61 line 66 to column 62 line 6: “The home appliance may be major or small appliance, and its main function may be food storage or preparation, cleaning (such as clothes cleaning), or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens,”).
Regarding claim 4, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 3,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance comprises a microwave oven (column 62 lines 3-6: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens,”), an electric mixer, a stove, an oven, or an induction cooker.
Regarding claim 5, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 2,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the primary function of the appliance is cooling food (column 62 lines 2-7: “or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens, refrigerators, freezers,”).
Regarding claim 6, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 4,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance comprises a refrigerator (column 62 lines 3-9: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens, refrigerators, freezers, food processors, dishwashers, food blenders, beverage makers such as coffeemakers and iced-tea makers,”), a freezer, or an iced-tea maker.
Regarding claim 7, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 2,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance comprises a dishwasher (column 62 lines 3-9: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens, refrigerators, freezers, food processors, dishwashers, food blenders, beverage makers such as coffeemakers and iced-tea makers,”), a food blender, a beverage maker, or a coffeemaker.
Regarding claim 8, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with environmental control (column 62 lines 2-12: “or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens, refrigerators, freezers, food processors, dishwashers, food blenders, beverage makers such as coffeemakers and iced-tea makers, answering machines, telephone sets, home cinema systems, HiFi systems, CD and DVD players, induction cookers, electric furnaces, trash compactors, and dehumidifiers.”).
Regarding claim 9, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 8,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance consists of, or is part of, an HVAC system (column 62 lines 3-4: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems,”).
Regarding claim 10, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with temperature control (column 62 lines 2-11: “or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner, microwave oven, electric mixers, stoves, ovens, refrigerators, freezers, food processors, dishwashers, food blenders, beverage makers such as coffeemakers and iced-tea makers, answering machines, telephone sets, home cinema systems, HiFi systems, CD and DVD players, induction cookers, electric furnaces,”).
Regarding claim 11, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 10,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance is an air conditioner (column 62 lines 3-4: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters,”) or a heater.
Regarding claim 12, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with cleaning (column 61 line 66 to column 62 line 6: “The home appliance may be major or small appliance, and its main function may be food storage or preparation, cleaning (such as clothes cleaning), or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner,”).
Regarding claim 13, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 12,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with clothes cleaning (column 61 line 66 to column 62 line 5: “The home appliance may be major or small appliance, and its main function may be food storage or preparation, cleaning (such as clothes cleaning), or temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines,).
Regarding claim 14, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 13,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the appliance is a washing machine (column 62 lines 3-6: “Examples of appliances are water heaters, HVAC systems, air conditioner, heaters, washing machines, clothes dryers, electrical motors, vacuum cleaner,”) or a clothes dryer, or wherein the appliance is a vacuum cleaner.
Regarding claim 15, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein a primary function of the appliance is associated with water control or water heating (column 62 lines 2-4: “temperature control (environmental, food or water) such as heating or cooling. Examples of appliances are water heaters,”).
Regarding claim 16, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Monroe further teaches wherein the appliance is an answering machine, a telephone set, a home cinema system, a HiFi system, a CD or DVD player, an electric furnace, a trash compactor, a smoke detector (Fig. 13-530: “smoke detector”, column 15 lines 21-25: “FIG. 13 depicts a networked smoke detector, using the same standardized network interface of FIG. 12. The device may also contain a heat sensor, to increase the accuracy of detecting a fire. The smoke and heat sensors 530 and 535 pass their data to the IP controller 500,”), a light fixture, or a dehumidifier.
Regarding claim 17, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Monroe further teaches further comprising an electrically actuated switch connected to switch electric power to at least part of the appliance (Fig. 10-800: “Hub or Switch”, column 8 lines 50-52: “FIG. 10 illustrates one method power insertion technique utilizing the LAN data link incorporated in the system of the invention to power a wired network appliance.”, power insertion connected to WLAN necessarily implies that there is a connected switch connected to switch electric power).
Regarding claim 18, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Monroe further teaches wherein the electrically actuated switch is connected to switch AC power from the AC power source to the at least part of the appliance (Fig. 10-800: “Hub or Switch” & Fig. 10-835: “Peripheral Device”, the switch/(“Hub or Switch”) controls power to the appliance/(“peripheral device”)).
Regarding claim 19, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Monroe further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to receive, from the WLAN, by the WLAN transceiver via the WLAN antenna, a fourth data (under BRI “fourth data” is more data, the WLAN inherently sends and receives data); and to control or activate the switch in response to the received fourth data (column 14 lines 10-12: “FIGS. 10 and 11 depict a standardized method and apparatus for monitoring, controlling, and powering a variety of network-based appliances,”, control or activate the switch/(“controlling, and powering”)).
Regarding claim 20, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Monroe further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to control or activate the actuator in response to the first sensor output (actuators are inherently activated in response to data, (i.e., data to actuator then activation of actuator) otherwise the actuator would never receive a stimulus to actuate).
Regarding claim 21, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the electrically actuated switch is 'normally open' type, 'normally closed' type, or a changeover switch, wherein the electrically actuated switch is 'make-before-break' or 'break-before-make' type (column 45 lines 27-33: “A changeover switch may be either a ‘make-before-break’ or a ‘break-before-make ‘type. The switch contacts may have one or more poles and one or more throws. Common switch contacts arrangements include Single-Pole-Single-Throw (SPST), Single-Pole-Double-Throw (SPDT), Double-Pole-Double-Throw (DPDT), Double-Pole-Single-Throw (DPST), and Single-Pole-Changeover (SPCO).”), or wherein the electrically actuated switch have two or more poles or two or more throws, and contacts of the electrically actuated switch are arranged as a Single-Pole-Double–Throw (SPDT), Double-Pole-Double–Throw (DPDT), Double-Pole-Single–Throw (DPST), or Single-Pole-Changeover (SPCO).
Regarding claim 22, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Elberbaum further teaches wherein the electrically actuated switch is a latching or a non-latching type relay (column 3 lines 50-51: “The DPDT switches and the DPDT relays described are also known as "reversing" or 4 way switches or relays.”, at least under the BRI relays are either latching or non-latching).
Regarding claim 23, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 22,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the relay is a solenoid-based electromagnetic relay that is a reed relay, wherein the relay is solid-state or semiconductor based, or wherein the relay is a Solid State Relay (SSR) (column 27 lines 17-22: “The first electrically controlled switching component, or the second electrically controlled switching component, may be based on, may be part of, or may consist of, a relay, that may be a solenoid-based electromagnetic relay or a reed relay, or may be a solid-state (such as an AC Solid State Relay (SSR)) or a semiconductor based relay.”).
Regarding claim 24, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 17,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the electrically actuated switch is based on an electrical circuit that comprises an open collector transistor, an open drain transistor, a thyristor, a TRIAC, or an opto-isolator (column 27 lines 22-28: “Alternatively or in addition, the first electrically controlled switching component or the second electrically controlled switching component may be based on, may comprise, or may consist of, an electrical circuit that comprises an open collector transistor, an open drain transistor, a thyristor, a TRIAC, or an opto-isolator.”).
Regarding claim 25, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the current sensor comprises an ampermeter, galvanometer, or a hot-wire ampermeter, wherein the current sensor comprises a current clamp, a current probe, a current transformer, or uses a 'Hall effect', or wherein the current sensor is a non-contact or a non-conductive current meter (column 32 lines 40-46: “The current sensor may be connected such that part or all of the measured electric current may be passing through the ampermeter, such as a galvanometer or a hot-wire ampermeter. An ampermeter may be a current clamp or current probe, and may use the ‘Hall effect’ or a current transformer concept for non-contact or non-conductive current measurement.”).
Regarding claim 26, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches further comprising a wattmeter (column 32 lines 52-60: “The sensor may be a wattmeter measuring the magnitude of the active AC or DC power (or the supply rate of electrical energy). The wattmeter may be a bolometer, used for measuring the power of incident electromagnetic radiation via the heating of a material with a temperature-dependent electrical resistance. The sensor may be an electricity AC (single or multi-phase) or DC type meter (or electrical energy meter), that measures the amount of electrical energy consumed by a load.”) configured to measure a magnitude of an active AC power (this is what a wattmeter measures) or an electrical energy consumed by the appliance from the AC power source.
Regarding claim 27, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 26,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the wattmeter comprises single or multi-phase AC power or energy meter, wherein the wattmeter comprises a bolometer (column 32 lines 52-54: “The sensor may be a wattmeter measuring the magnitude of the active AC or DC power (or the supply rate of electrical energy). The wattmeter may be a bolometer,”), or wherein the wattmeter accumulates or averages readings (column 32 lines 60-62: “The electricity meter may be based on a wattmeter, which accumulates or takes the average readings,”).
Regarding claim 28, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 26,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the wattmeter comprises the current sensor, or wherein the wattmeter is based on multiplying a measured voltage and the AC current measured by the current sensor (column 32 lines 60-63: “The electricity meter may be based on a wattmeter, which accumulates or takes the average readings, may be based on induction, or may be based on multiplying measured voltage and current.”).
Regarding claim 29, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 26,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the wattmeter or the current sensor is induction based (column 32 lines 60-63: “The electricity meter may be based on a wattmeter, which accumulates or takes the average readings, may be based on induction”).
Regarding claim 30, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Monroe further teaches wherein the WLAN is according to, based on, or compatible with, IEEE 802.11-2012, IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11n, or IEEE 802.11ac standard (column 5 lines 29-33: “It is another object and feature of the subject invention to provide network appliances for a security surveillance system adapted for use in connection with a wireless LAN (WLAN) communications system, such as the IEEE 802.11 standards and follow-on standards.”, the letters ‘a’ and ‘b’ and ‘g’ and so forth are follow-on standards).
Regarding claim 31, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches further comprising in the enclosure an antenna (column 8 lines 40-42: “Further, a network element (or a device) herein may consist of, be part of, or include, a cellular radio-telephone communication system, a cellular telephone,”, cellular communication system necessarily has a cellular antenna) that is a cellular antenna for communicating over a cellular telephone network (cellular antennas are for communicating over cellular telephone networks); and a cellular modem (column 11 lines 58-61: “The wireless network may be a cellular telephone network, the antenna may be a cellular antenna, and the wireless modem may be a cellular modem.”), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to transmit, from the cellular telephone network, by the cellular modem via the cellular antenna, a fourth data (cellular networks necessarily use a processor to transmit data).
Regarding claim 32, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 31,
Monroe further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to control or activate the actuator further in response to the received fourth data (column 27 and claim 45: “and further comprising: the sensor component including a manual switch for generating a signal when actuated.”, actuator/(switch which generates a signal when actuated), actuators are activated based on instructions from computing elements based on data).
Regarding claim 33, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 31,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the cellular telephone network is a Third Generation (3G) network (column 11 lines 58-67: “The wireless network may be a cellular telephone network, the antenna may be a cellular antenna, and the wireless modem may be a cellular modem. The cellular telephone network may be a Third Generation (3G) network, and may use UMTS W-CDMA, UMTS HSPA, UMTS TDD, CDMA2000 1×RTT, CDMA2000 EV-DO, or GSM EDGE-Evolution. The cellular telephone network may be a Fourth Generation (4G) network and may use HSPA+, Mobile WiMAX, LTE, LTE-Advanced, MBWA, or may be based on IEEE 802.20-2008.”) that uses Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS), Wideband Code Division Multiple Access (W-CDMA) UMTS, High Speed Packet Access (HSPA), UMTS Time-Division Duplexing (TDD), CDMA2000 1xRTT, Evolution – Data Optimized (EV-DO), or Global System for Mobile communications (GSM), Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) EDGE-Evolution, or wherein the cellular telephone network is a Fourth Generation (4G) network that uses Evolved High Speed Packet Access (HSPA+), Mobile Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access (WiMAX), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), LTE-Advanced, Mobile Broadband Wireless Access (MBWA), or is based on IEEE 802.20-2008 standard.
Regarding claim 34, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor is a piezoelectric sensor (column 66 lines 11-12: “a piezoelectric sensor”) that includes single crystal material or a piezoelectric ceramics and uses a transverse, longitudinal, or shear effect mode of the piezoelectric effect (column 66 lines 11-14: “The PeX sensor 94a, or the TeX sensor 94b (or both) may be a piezoelectric sensor, where the piezoelectric effect is used to measure pressure, acceleration, strain or force, and may use transverse, longitudinal, or shear effect mode.”).
Regarding claim 35, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches further comprising multiple sensors arranged as a directional sensor array operative to estimate a number, magnitude, frequency, Direction-Of-Arrival (DOA), distance, or speed of the physical phenomenon impinging the sensor array (column 14 lines 31-38: “based on phase array antenna beamforming, enabling robust communication at distances beyond 10 meters, while the beams can move within the coverage area through modification of the transmission phase of individual antenna elements.”, phase array beamforming by an antenna array requires “a number, magnitude, frequency, Direction-Of-Arrival (DOA), distance, or speed of the physical phenomenon”).
Regarding claim 36, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor is a thermoelectric sensor (column 64 lines 49-54: “The PeX sensor 94a, or the TeX sensor 94b (or both) may be thermoelectric sensor, for measuring, sensing or detecting the temperature (or the temperature gradient) of an object, which may be solid, liquid, or gas. Such sensor may be a thermistor (either PTC or NTC), a thermocouple, a quartz thermometer, or an RTD.”) that responds to a temperature or to a temperature gradient of an object using conduction, convection, or radiation, and wherein the thermoelectric sensor consists of, or comprises, a Positive Temperature Coefficient (PTC) thermistor, a Negative Temperature Coefficient (NTC) thermistor, a thermocouple, a quartz crystal, or a Resistance Temperature Detector (RTD).
Regarding claim 37, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, a nanosensor, a crystal, or a semiconductor (column 85 lines 56-62: “Superconducting Quantum Interference Device (SQUID) magnetometer. ‘Hall effect’ magnetometers are based on ‘Hall probe’, which contains an indium compound semiconductor crystal such as indium antimonide, mounted on an aluminum backing plate, and provides a voltage a voltage in response to the measured B-field.”, first sensor/(“hall probe”)).
Regarding claim 38, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, an eddy-current sensor (column 67 lines 37-39: “A linear position sensor may be an incremental or absolute linear encoder, and may employ optical, magnetic, capacitive, inductive, or eddy-current principles.”, eddy current sensor/(“linear position sensor” using “eddy-current principles”)).
Regarding claim 39, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, an atmospheric or an environmental sensor (column 67 lines 64-67: “The PeX sensor 94a, or the TeX sensor 94b (or both) may be a humidity sensor, such as a hygrometer or a humidistat, and may respond to an absolute, relative, or specific humidity.”, atmospheric or an environmental sensor/(“a humidity sensor”)).
Regarding claim 40, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, a bulk or surface acoustic sensor (column 59 lines 24-26: “Acoustic sensors are based on Electret effect, inductive coupling, capacitive coupling, triboelectric effect, piezoelectric effect, and fiber optic transmission.”, bulk or surface acoustic sensor/(“acoustic sensor” based on piezoelectric effect)).
Regarding claim 41, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, a radiation sensor that responds to radioactivity, nuclear radiation, alpha particles, beta particles, or gamma rays, and is based on gas ionization (column 64 lines 33-37: “An ionization type smoke detector can detect particles of smoke that are too small to be visible, and use a radioactive element such as americium-241 (241Am). The radiation passes through an ionization chamber, an air-filled space between two electrodes,”).
Regarding claim 42, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, a photoelectric sensor (column 30 lines 23-25: “the sensor may be a photoelectric sensor that responds to a visible or an invisible light, the invisible light may be infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays,”) that responds to a visible or an invisible light, and wherein the invisible light is infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays.
Regarding claim 43, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 42,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the photoelectric sensor is based on a photoelectric or photovoltaic effect, and consists of, or comprises, a semiconductor component (column 30 lines 25-29: “may be based on the photoelectric or photovoltaic effect, and may consist of, or may comprise, a semiconductor component that consists of, or comprises, a photodiode, or a phototransistor,”) that consists of, or comprises, a photodiode, a phototransistor, or a solar cell.
Regarding claim 44, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 42,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the photoelectric sensor is based on Charge-Coupled Appliance (CCD) or a Complementary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) element (column 30 lines 25-31: “a semiconductor component that consists of, or comprises, a photodiode, or a phototransistor, such as a Charge-Coupled Device (CCD) or a Complementary Metal-Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) component.”).
Regarding claim 45, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, a photosensitive image sensor array (column 65 lines 27-34: “The image capturing hardware integrated with the sensor unit may contain a photographic lens (through a lens opening) focusing the required image onto a photosensitive image sensor array disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the optical lens, for capturing the image and producing electronic image information representing the image.”) comprising multiple photoelectric sensors, for capturing an image and producing electronic image information representing the image, and the appliance further comprising one or more optical lens for focusing received light and to guide the image (column 65 lines 27-34: “The image capturing hardware integrated with the sensor unit may contain a photographic lens (through a lens opening) focusing the required image onto a photosensitive image sensor array disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the optical lens, for capturing the image and producing electronic image information representing the image.”, optical lens/(“photographic lens”)), and wherein the image sensor is disposed approximately at an image focal point plane of the one or more optical lens for properly capturing the image.
Regarding claim 46, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 45,
Avrahamy further teaches further comprising an image processor (column 65 lines 54-62: “the image processor for transmitting the digital data video signal to the communication medium. The digital video format may be based on one out of: TIFF (Tagged Image File Format), RAW format, AVI (Audio Video Interleaved), DV, MOV, WMV, MP4, DCF (Design Rule for Camera Format), ITU-T H.261, ITU-T H.263, ITU-T H.264, ITU-T CCIR 601, ASF, Exif (Exchangeable Image File Format), and DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) standards.”) coupled to the image sensor for providing a digital data video signal according to a digital video format, the digital video signal carrying digital data video based on the captured images, and wherein the digital video format is based on one out of: TIFF (Tagged Image File Format), RAW format, AVI, DV, MOV, WMV, MP4, DCF (Design Rule for Camera Format), ITU-T H.261, ITU-T H.263, ITU-T H.264, ITU-T CCIR 601, ASF, Exif (Exchangeable Image File Format), and DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) standards.
Regarding claim 47, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, an electrochemical sensor (column 30 lines 32-34: “The sensor may be an electrochemical sensor that responds to an object chemical structure, properties, composition, or reactions.”) that responds to an object chemical structure, properties, composition, or reactions.
Regarding claim 48, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 47,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the electrochemical sensor consists of, or comprises, a pH meter or a gas sensor (column 30 lines 34-40: “The electrochemical sensor may be a pH meter or a gas sensor responding to a presence of radon, hydrogen, oxygen, or Carbon-Monoxide (CO), or the electrochemical sensor may be based on optical detection or on ionization and may be a smoke, a flame, or a fire detector, or may be responsive to combustible, flammable, or toxic gas.”) responding to a presence of radon, hydrogen, oxygen, or Carbon-Monoxide (CO), or wherein the electrochemical sensor is based on optical detection or on ionization and is a smoke, a flame, or a fire detector, or is responsive to combustible, flammable, or toxic gas.
Regarding claim 49, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the first sensor consists of, or comprises, an electroacoustic sensor (column 65 lines 15-20: “The sensor may be an electracoustic sensor for measuring, sensing or detecting sound, such as a microphone. Typically microphones are based on converting audible or inaudible (or both) incident sound to an electrical signal by measuring the vibration of a diaphragm or a ribbon.”, ) that responds to an audible or inaudible sound.
Regarding claim 50, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 49,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the electroacoustic sensor (column 65 lines 15-23: “The sensor may be an electracoustic sensor for measuring, sensing or detecting sound, such as a microphone. Typically microphones are based on converting audible or inaudible (or both) incident sound to an electrical signal by measuring the vibration of a diaphragm or a ribbon. The microphone may be a condenser microphone, an electret microphone, a dynamic microphone, a ribbon microphone, a carbon microphone, or a piezoelectric microphone.”) is an omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional microphone (a sensor with any directionality must be one of ‘omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional’) that is based on the sensing an incident sound-based motion of a diaphragm or a ribbon, and the microphone consists of, or comprises, a condenser, an electret, a dynamic, a ribbon, a carbon, or a piezoelectric microphone.
Regarding claim 51, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the enclosure further houses a light source (column 26 lines 65 to column 27 line 3: “The AC load may be a light source, such as an electric light source converting electrical energy into light. The electric light source may emit visible or non-visible light for illumination or indication, and the non-visible light may be infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays”) that emits visible or non-visible light for illumination or indication, the non-visible light is infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays, the light source is coupled to the AC connector for being powered from the AC power, and wherein the light source is coupled to the WLAN transceiver (the device of claim 1 includes a WLAN which necessarily includes transceiver and necessarily other elements of the device are at least under the BRI “coupled to the transceiver”) for illumination or indication in response to digital data received from the WLAN.
Regarding claim 52, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 51,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the light source is coupled to the current sensor for illumination or indication in response to the measured AC current (column 87 lines 5-13: “The measured AC current value may be used by the controller 93a for calculating derived values such as AC electrical power, electrical energy, or related energy costs. The measured AC current value, the derived values, or both, may be displayed in a display that is integrated with the PeX module 31l, or may be transmitted via the wireless transceiver 131a (and the antenna 132a) shown as part of the PeX module 31j in FIG. 13.”, light source is part of the device of claim 51).
Regarding claim 53, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 51,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the light source consists of, or comprises, a lamp (column 27 lines 3-8: “The electric light source may consist of, or may comprise, a lamp, an incandescent lamp, a gas discharge lamp, a fluorescent lamp, a Solid-State Lighting (SSL), a Light Emitting Diode (LED), an Organic LED (OLED), a polymer LED (PLED), or a laser diode.”), an incandescent lamp, a gas discharge lamp, a fluorescent lamp, a Solid-State Lighting (SSL), a Light Emitting Diode (LED), an Organic LED (OLED), a polymer LED (PLED), or a laser diode.
Regarding claim 54, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a motion actuator (column 31 lines 8-12: “the actuator may be a motion actuator that causes linear or rotary motion, and the system further may further comprise a conversion mechanism for respectfully converting to rotary or linear motion based on a screw, a wheel and axle, or a cam.”) that causes linear or rotary motion, and the appliance further comprising a conversion mechanism for respectfully converting to rotary or linear motion based on a screw (column 31 lines 11-12: “based on a screw”) , a wheel and axle, or a cam.
Regarding claim 55, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 54,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a sounder (column 39 lines 2-4: “The actuator may be a sounder for converting an electrical energy to omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional pattern emitted, audible or inaudible, sound waves,”) for converting an electrical energy to omnidirectional, unidirectional, or bidirectional pattern emitted, audible or inaudible, sound waves.
Regarding claim 56, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, an electromagnetic coil (column 72 lines 17-19: “The PeX actuator 95a, or the TeX actuator 95b (or both) may be used to generate an electric or magnetic field, and may be an electromagnetic coil or an electromagnet.”) or an electromagnet operative for generating a magnetic or electric field.
Regarding claim 57, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, an electrical signal generator (column 73 lines 22-24: “The PeX actuator 95a, or the TeX actuator 95b (or both) may include a signal generator serving as an actuator for providing an electrical signal (such as a voltage or current),”).
Regarding claim 58, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a chemical or an electrochemical actuator (column 71 lines 37-40: “The PeX actuator 95a, or the TeX actuator 95b (or both) may be an electrochemical or chemical actuator, used to produce, change, or otherwise affect a matter structure, properties, composition, process, or reactions,”), and is operative for producing, changing, or affecting a matter structure, properties, composition, process, or reactions.
Regarding claim 59, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the actuator consists of, or comprises, a thermoelectric actuator (column 73 lines 4-8: “The PeX actuator 95a, or the TeX actuator 95b (or both) may be a thermoelectric actuator such as a cooler or a heater for changing the temperature of a solid, liquid or gas object, and may use conduction, convection, thermal radiation, or by the transfer of energy by phase changes.”) and is a heater or a cooler, operative for affecting a temperature of a solid, a liquid, or a gas object, and is coupled to the object by conduction, convection, force convention, thermal radiation, or by a transfer of energy by phase changes.
Regarding claim 60, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 1,
Monroe further teaches further being addressable in the WLAN using distinct locally administered addresses (column 5 lines 29-32: “It is another object and feature of the subject invention to provide network appliances for a security surveillance system adapted for use in connection with a wireless LAN (WLAN) communications system”, if a device is part of a WLAN network then it inherently has either a locally administered address or a universally administered address since without an address it is not addressable by other elements of the network)) or a universally administered digital addresses stored in a volatile or non-volatile memory in the single enclosure, which uniquely identifying the appliance in the WLAN or in the Internet (part of the requirement for elements of a WLAN or internet network that they be uniquely identifiable).
Regarding claim 61, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 60,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the digital address is a Media Access Control (MAC) layer address that is MAC-48, Extended Unique Identifier (EUI) EUI-48, or EUI-64 address type (column 40 lines 14-17: “Any system, device, module, or circuit herein may be addressable in a wireless network (such as the Internet) using a digital address that may be a MAC layer address that may be MAC-48, EUI-48, or EUI-64 address type,”).
Regarding claim 62, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 60,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the digital address is a layer 3 address and is static or dynamic Internet Protocol (IP) address that is IPv4 or IPv6 type address (column 40 lines 17-19: “or may be a layer 3 address and may be static or dynamic IP address that may be IPv4 or IPv6 type address.”).
Regarding claim 63, Monroe in view of Elberbaum in view of Avrahamy teaches the appliance according to claim 60,
Avrahamy further teaches wherein the digital address is autonomously assigned (column 7 lines 65 to column 8 line 5: “The Internet architecture employs a client-server model, among other arrangements. The terms ‘server’ or ‘server computer’ relates herein to a device or computer (or a plurality of computers) connected to the Internet, and is used for providing facilities or services to other computers or other devices (referred to in this context as ‘clients’) connected to the Internet. A server is commonly a host that has an IP address and executes a ‘server program’,”, server assigns addresses to devices connected to its network using DHCP), or wherein the digital address is assigned by another appliance using Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) (column 8 lines 4-10: “A server is commonly a host that has an IP address and executes a ‘server program’, and typically operates as a socket listener. Many servers have dedicated functionality such as web server, Domain Name System (DNS) server (described in RFC 1034 and RFC 1035), Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) server (described in RFC 2131 and RFC 3315),”, ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9407385 B2 "Synchronization Among Multiple Playback And Storage Devices" (Spurgat) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 1.
US 8346954 B2 "Networking Architecture For Efficient Communication Between Different Types Of Home Networks" (Roe) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 4.
US 11385609 B2 "Smart Electricity Monitor And Energy Management System Including Same" (Wilberforce) is relevant to the Applicant's disclosure, see Fig. 2.
/MARTIN WALTER BRAUNLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858