DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to 12/22/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, 14-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US Pub. 2022/0157236), hereinafter Feng, in view of Yoo et al. (US Patent 11,893,945), hereinafter Yoo.
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a display device (AMOLED module-see figs. 1-8) comprising: a display panel including a general area (first pixel region 10-see fig. 1) and an optical area different from the general area (second pixel region 20 used to set up structures such as a camera module or an infrared light sensor in the display device-see fig. 1 and [0046]); a source drive circuit configured to supply a voltage for displaying an image to the display panel (driver IC includes a source driver for generating gamma voltages-see fig. 8); a first gamma circuit configured to supply a general gamma voltage to the source drive circuit (first gamma circuit-see fig. 8 and [0011]); a second gamma circuit configured to supply an optical gamma voltage different from the general gamma voltage to the source drive circuit (second gamma circuit-see fig. 8 and [0011]);a controller configured to control the first gamma circuit and supply general image data to the first gamma circuit; and configured to control the second gamma circuit (the first and the second gamma circuits are both controlled by a control sub-circuit-see [0027]-[0028]), supply optical image data to the second gamma circuit, and control a target different from a target controlled by the first controller (the control sub-circuit generates data signals for the first pixel region according to a first gamma voltage generated by the first gamma circuit, and controls the second gamma circuit to generate a second data signal to be supplied to the second pixel region according to a second gamma voltage generated by the second gamma voltage circuit).
Feng does not appear to expressly disclose a first controller configured to control the first gamma circuit and a second controller configured to control the second gamma circuit.
Yoo, in for example, fig. 5, teaches a first gamma compensation voltage generation circuit 305a and a second gamma compensation voltage generation circuit 305b, wherein the first gamma compensation voltage generation circuit 305a and the second gamma compensation voltage generation circuit 305b may be independently controlled (see [col. 9, ll. 40-65]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo with the invention of Feng such that the first and the second gamma circuits are independently controlled, as taught by Yoo, which constitutes choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for controlling the first and the second gamma circuits, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Feng discloses wherein: the source drive circuit generates a general data voltage based on the general gamma voltage (generate a first data signal to be transmitted to the first pixel region according to the first gamma voltage signal-see fig. 8 and [0026]); and the source drive circuit generates an optical data voltage based on the optical gamma voltage (generate a second data signal to be transmitted to the second pixel region according to the second gamma voltage signal-see [0027] and fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses wherein: the source drive circuit supplies the general data voltage to a sub-pixel disposed in the general area (see [0026] and fig. 8-generate a first data signal to be transmitted to the first pixel region); and the source drive circuit supplies the optical data voltage to a sub-pixel disposed in the optical area (see [0027] and fig. 8- generate a second data signal to be transmitted to the second pixel region).
Regarding claim 4, Feng discloses wherein an arrangement density of a sub-pixels disposed in the optical area is lower than an arrangement density of a sub-pixels disposed in the general area (a pixel density of the second pixel region is lower than a pixel density of the first pixel region-see [0006], [0014], and [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Feng discloses wherein: the optical area is an area in which sub-pixels for displaying an image are disposed (in a non-camera application scenario, the second pixel region may be used to display time, power, communication signals, and other content-see [0047]); and the optical area overlaps an optical device (the second pixel region 20 is used to set up structures such as a camera module or an infrared light sensor in the display device-see [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Feng discloses wherein the optical device is a camera sensor or an optical sensor (see [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Feng does not appear to expressly disclose further comprising: a first storage circuit electrically connected to the first gamma circuit and the first controller, the first storage circuit being configured to store general image compensation data; and a second storage circuit electrically connected to the second gamma circuit and the second controller, the second storage circuit being configured to store optical image compensation data different from the general image compensation data.
Yoo, for example in fig. 5 with description in [col. 8, ll. 39-44] and [col. 10, ll. 32-37], teaches an optical compensation unit that adds a preset optical compensation value to pixel data, and may be set as a value for correcting the luminance of each pixel data on the basis of measured luminance of the screen, wherein a second memory 302 of the drive IC 300 stores a compensation value received from a first memory 301 that may be applied to various algorithms for improving image quality, and the compensation value may include an optical compensation value. Using different portions of the same memory or separate memories for storing different compensation data is an obvious design choice and would have constituted common sense or ordinary routine practice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo with the invention of Feng to include memory space for storing compensation data, as taught by Yoo, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Feng in view of Yoo teaches a sub-controller for controlling first and second gamma circuits, wherein the gamma circuits can be independently controlled as in claim 1 above, does not appear to expressly teach wherein the number of targets controlled by the first controller is greater than the number of targets controlled by the second controller.
However, having two or more sub-controllers assigned to different control targets, wherein one of the two or more sub-controllers is assigned to more control targets is an obvious design choice and constitutes common sense or ordinary routine practice that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, Feng discloses wherein the first controller receives a first feedback signal from the display panel, and the first controller receives a second feedback signal from the source drive circuit (the control sub-circuit controls the first and the second gamma circuits based on first light-emitting luminance information of the first pixel region and second light-emitting luminance information of the second pixel region-see [0025]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Feng discloses a second power circuit configured to generate a driving voltage and a base voltage (PMIC generates ELVDD and ELVSS-see [0096] and figs. 6-8).
Feng does not appear to expressly provide details of a power circuit for generating gate high (VGH) and gate low (VGL) voltages for generating gate scan signals that are used in driving the pixel circuit of 9. Therefore, Feng does not appear to expressly disclose further comprising: a first power circuit configured to generate a source voltage, a gate high voltage, and a gate low voltage; and a level shifter configured to receive the gate high voltage and the gate low voltage from the first power circuit.
Yoo is further relied upon to teach further comprising: a first power circuit configured to generate a source voltage, a gate high voltage, and a gate low voltage (see fig. 5 with description in [col. 8, ll. 3-15]-drive IC 300 supplies a gate-on and a gate-off voltage (VGL, VGH), and power supply unit 304 supplies a reference voltage (source voltage) to gamma compensation voltage generation unit 305-see [col. 9, ll. 4-21]); and a level shifter configured to receive the gate high voltage and the gate low voltage from the first power circuit (level shifter 307-see fig. 5 and [col. 8, ll. 12-15]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoo with the invention of Feng to include a power circuit for generating voltages such as source, gate high, and gate low voltages, as taught by Yoo, which constitutes combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., generating known voltages for gate and source driving circuits).
Regarding claim 15, Yoo is further relied upon to teach wherein: the first power circuit supplies the source voltage to the first gamma circuit and the second gamma circuit (power supply 304 supplies reference voltage to the gamma compensation voltage generation unit 305 (305a, 305b)-see fig. 5 and [col.9, ll. 14-21]); the first gamma circuit generates the general gamma voltage based on the source voltage; and the second gamma circuit generates the optical gamma voltage based on the source voltage (see [col. 9, ll. 32-62]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoo is further relied upon to teach wherein the first controller is electrically connected to the level shifter and controls the level shifter (level shifter 307 is controlled by drive IC 300-see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Feng discloses further comprising: a control printed circuit board on which the first controller and the second controller are disposed; and a source printed circuit board on which the first gamma circuit and the second gamma circuit are disposed (see figs. 6-8 and [0069]).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Yoo, and further in view of Tani et al. (US Pub. 2015/0179103), hereinafter Tani.
Regarding claim 10, Feng in view of Yoo does not appear to expressly teach wherein: the first gamma circuit transmits signals to the first controller and the first storage circuit by a serial communication protocol; and the second gamma circuit transmits signals to the second controller and the second storage circuit by the serial communication protocol.
Tani, for example in [0047], teaches that a controller 151 may perform a communication function to send a gamma signal to a timing controller 110 or receive a gamma control signal from the timing controller via a serial communication, e.g., I2C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Tani with the inventions of Feng and Yoo to include transmitting gamma signals via serial communication, as taught by Tani, which constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Yoo, and further in view of Nam et al. (US Pub. 2016/0365058), hereinafter Nam.
Regarding claim 16, Feng in view of Yoo does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first controller communicates signals with the first power circuit and the second power circuit by a serial communication protocol.
Nam, for example in [0105]-[0106], teaches communication between PMIC 210 and a power adjustor 410 via a serial communication bus, such as inter-integrated circuit I2C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nam with the inventions of Feng and Yoo such that communication between power circuits can be achieved via a serial communication bus, as taught by Nam, which constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claims 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Yoo, and further in view of Kitagawa et al. (US Pub. 2023/0104048), hereinafter Kitagawa.
Regarding claim 18, Feng in view of Yoo discloses further comprising a flash memory configured to transmit signals to the first controller and to receive signals from the first controller (see Yoo-first memory 301 may include a flash memory- see fig. 5 and [col. 10, ll. 32-42]).
However, Feng in view of Yoo does not appear to expressly teach further comprising a flash memory configured to transmit signals to the first controller and to receive signals from the first controller through serial communication protocol.
Kitagawa communication between two controllers (e.g., control circuit 20 and host controller 23) via serial communication-see [0038] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Feng and Yoo with the inventions of Kitagawa to include transmitting a signal between controllers via serial communication, as taught by Kitagawa, which constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, Feng in view of Yoo teaches further comprising a touch circuit configured to supply a touch driving signal to the display panel, wherein: the touch circuit receives a touch sensing signal from the display panel (see Yoo-a touch sensor array me be disposed on the light emitting element layer 14-see fig. 1, [col. 7, ll. 31-32]);
However, Feng in view Yoo does not appear to expressly teach and the touch circuit communicates signals with an external device by a serial communication protocol and an interrupt request communication protocol.
Kitagawa is further relied upon to teach and the touch circuit communicates signals with an external device by a serial communication protocol and an interrupt request communication protocol (see fig. 1 and [0038]- control circuit 20 of touch control panel 22 and host controller 23 communicate via serial communication, for example, I2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Feng and Yoo with the inventions of Kitagawa to include communication between a touch circuit and an external device, such as a host controller, via serial communication, as taught by Kitagawa, which constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The references of record fail to teach or recite the limitations recited in the aforementioned claims in the manner in which they are recited.
Conclusion
/SARDIS F AZONGHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627