DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, it is unclear what is meant by a “plan view”. Applicant includes the word “plane” in other aspects of the invention, but it appears the choice of “plan view” is deliberate and undefined.
Accordingly, aspects of the relationship between the elements are unclear with respect to the recited language. Should Applicant intend to amend these claims to define specific directionality, instruction, or relative positioning, those positions should be defined.
Additionally, and with respect to claim 8, it is unclear if the plan view of claim 8 is a new plan view compared to claim 1, or a new plan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lijima et al (US 2015/0190058).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Lijima et al (US 2015/0190058) discloses and teaches a detection apparatus including a light emitter, reflector for reflect light towards a body, receiver for receiving light which is reflected from the incident light which hits the living body, a detector configured to detect information based on the reflected light, a substrate between the emitter and receiver, and whereby the emitter is between the receiver and reflector elements (FIG 1a, b, 3a, b, 0038-0040, 0046-0050, 0024). Lijima et al (US 2015/0190058) further teaches the emitter having output opposite the receiver (Fig 1a/b, 0024), the emission towards a first reflector (0024-0025), and wherein a second substrate supports a reflector element intersecting the plane of the emitter and receiver (Fig 1a/b, 3a/b), wherein the emitter is on a first side of the substrate, and the receive is on a second surface of the same substrate (0079, Fig 1a/b).
Regarding claims 10-12, Lijima et al (US 2015/0190058) discloses and teaches the light element emits light as a surface emission (Fig 1a/b, 3a/b, 0046-0052), the inclusion of a first unit which includes the reflector and support for the reflector, as well as a first projector to protect a surface of the reflector (Fig 1a/b, 3a/b, 0023, 0037-0038), and a second unit which includes the substrate emitter pairing (11-1, 14) which is supported by a second substrate (11, Fig 1a/b), as well as a third unit for the receiver, including a substrate to support the receiver and whereby the second substrate supports the substrate/receiver pairing as well (Fig 1a/b, 3a/b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6-9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lijima et al (US 2015/0190058) in view of Kimura et al (US 2010/0056887).
With respect to claims 4 and 6-7, Lijima et al fail to expressly teach the utilization of multiple wavelength bands from the emitter via multiple elements, though a wavelength range is disclosed (0062) and includes 470-600nm. Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Kimura et al which discloses a two wavelength, three wavelength, and four wavelength system for acquisition of multiple (more) datapoints during acquisition with an emission sensor device in the same area of endeavor as Lijima et al (0076-0077, 0073), as well as the inclusion of receiving devices for corresponding respective wavelengths of light (0009, 0020, 0034).
Finally, and with respect to claims 8-9 and 13, from a plane view in which the emission light leaves the emitter of Kimura et al, the emitter/receiver pairings overlap in that direction (Fig 2), just as they do in the Lijima et al reference (Fig 1a/b, 2a/b). The control of the emission and reception of elements of the system is disclosed by Kimura et al includes the selective selection of wavelength pairings (Fig 6, 0092, element 220), and Kimura additionally discloses a second reflector/support pairing which is utilized for the multi-wavelength interrogations (element 130, supported by substrate portions separately (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Kimura et al for a multi-wavelength interrogation with multiple mirror elements for interrogation pathways with the system of Lijima et al in order to provide for additional datasets during a single measurement (0076, Kimura et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes references to Yamada (JP 2004/337605), and Blomqvist which both disclose and teach multi-wavelength and multi-substrate physiological measurement sensors including pathways, filtering, support placement, and various controls of data acquisition particularly relevant to the instant application.
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798