DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-8, 20, 30-31, 34-35, 39 and 41-42 of copending Application No. 18/700,499 in view of Puleo et al. (US 2020/0069975). Even though the claims on both applications are not the same they both claim the same system of treating metabolic disorder using ultrasound stimulation to activate late-response gene. The current application claim a specific metabolic disorder of treating weight loss (prevent weight gain).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puleo et al. (US 2020/0054228 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Azamian et al. (US 2013/0178910 (provided in the IDS)) and further in view of Puleo et al. (US 2020/0069975).
Addressing claim 1, Puleo discloses A system for treating a metabolic disorder in a subject, the system comprising:
an energy application device comprising at least one ultrasound transducer
configured to non-invasively target a tissue of the subject (see Fig. 3, [0007], [0086], [0091] and [0096]);
a pulse generator configured to be connected to the at least one ultrasound
transducer to stimulate the tissue using the at least one ultrasound transducer for a duration that is effective to alleviate the metabolic disorder (see Figs. 1-3, [0100-0101], [0119] and [0184]; change gene to treat diabetes; the claim is broadly claim ultrasound transducer stimulation for a duration that is effective to thereby treat or alleviate the metabolic disorder; Puleo discloses ultrasound stimulation of several minutes, 30 minutes to several hours; this is within the time frame disclose by applicant’s specification to effectively treat diabetes);
a controller configured to: non-invasively apply multi-site neuromodulation to modulate more than one peripheral nerve pathway, wherein the more than one peripheral nerve pathway are in communication with each other or with an
integrating neuron or a cell in a central nervous system, wherein the
noninvasive multi-site neuromodulation comprises ultrasound stimulation
of a hepatoportal plexus region and of a superior mesenteric plexus region,
and wherein the metabolic disorder is alleviated by weight reduction (see Figs. 1-3, [0004], [0007], [0086], [0091], [0096], [0104], [0177], [0186] and [0188]; stimulate multiple sites and the nerve are in communication with each other or with an integrating neuron or a cell in a central nervous system).
Puleo does not disclose ultrasound stimulation of a hepatoportal plexus region and of a superior mesenteric plexus region and alleviated by weight reduction. Azamian discloses the hepatoportal plexus and the superior mesenteric plexus (see [0080], stimulate mesenteric plexus in addition to nerve fibers in the hepatic plexus/hepatoportal plexus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puleo to stimulate superior plexus in addition to hepatic plexus because this helps metabolic conditions (see [0080]).
Using ultrasound modulation treat weight reduction/loss is well-known in the ultrasound therapy field. In the same field of endeavor, Puleo (US 2020/0069975) explicitly alleviated by weight reduction (see [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Puleo (US 2020/0054228) to alleviated by weight reduction as taught by Puleo (US 2020/0069975) because this allows physician to use neuromodulation system to promote weight loss (see [0032]).
4. Addressing claims 2-3 and 6-10, Puleo (US 2020/0054228) discloses:
addressing claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to: receive feedback indicative of a change in concentration of one or more molecules relative to a baseline concentration of the one or more molecules in response to the multi-
site neuromodulation; and adjust one or more modulation parameters of the energy application device based on the feedback (see [0109], [0114], claim 63 and [0122]).
addressing claim 3, wherein the one or more modulation parameters comprise
pulse amplitude, pulse width, pulse frequency, or a combination thereof (see [0109]).
addressing claim 6. wherein the multi-site neuromodulation activates late-
response genes in the subject (see Figs. 1-3, [0096], [0100-0101], [0104], [0119] and [0184]; Puleo discloses ultrasound stimulation of several minutes, 30 minutes to several hours; this is within the time frame disclose by applicant’s specification to effectively activate late-response genes (see applicant’s specification paragraphs [0058] and [0064]); activate late-response genes is a result of stimulation for a duration of time).
addressing claim 7, wherein the late-response gene comprises a fibroblast growth factor 1 (FGF1) gene (see Fig. 3, [0007], [0086], [0091], [0096] and [0100-0101]; examiner interprets the claim as stimulate gene/cell that has and responsible for producing FGF1; as see in applicant’s specification paragraphs [0052] and [0059], energy is directed to a target tissue (e.g., the hepatoportal plexus and/or superior mesenteric plexus) for a duration effective to activate late response genes (e.g., the FGF1 gene); FGF1 production is a result of apply energy to the target for a duration; Puleo discloses apply energy to the target for the same range duration as applicant therefore result in FGF1 production).
addressing claim 8, wherein the late-response gene modulates a protein kinase R (PKR)-like endoplasmic reticulum kinase (pERK) pathway (see Fig. 3, [0007], [0086], [0091], [0096] and [0100-0101]; modulates a protein kinase R (PKR)-like endoplasmic reticulum kinase (pERK) pathway is a result of activate late-response gene and activate late-response gene result from apply energy to the target for a duration of time; Puleo discloses apply energy to the target for a duration of time as applicant claim therefore result in activating late response gene which in turn modulates a protein kinase R (PKR)-like endoplasmic reticulum kinase (pERK) pathway).
addressing claim 9, wherein the integrating neuron is an interneuron (see [0004], [0007], [0086], [0091], [0177], [0186], [0188]; the stimulation tissue contain nerve that communicate to the brain, spinal cord, central nervous system that contain interneuron).
addressing claim 10, wherein the integrating neuron or the cell connects
neuropeptide Y (NPY) neurons and proopiomelanocortin (POMC) neurons (see [0058-0059] and [0184]; nerve pathways are in communication with NPY and POMC).
Addressing claims 4-5, Azamian discloses:
addressing claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to:
apply a first set of ultrasound energy pulses to the hepatoportal plexus region; and apply a second set of ultrasound energy pulses to the superior mesenteric plexus region (see [0080] and see Puleo (US 2020/0054228) paragraph [0104]; Puleo explicitly discloses modulation different sites with first and second set of ultrasound energy; Azamian explicitly discloses the sites are hepatoportal plexus region and superior mesenteric plexus region).
addressing claim 5, wherein the second set of ultrasound energy pulses are
applied at a different time relative to the first set of ultrasound energy pulses (see [0080] and see Puleo (US 2020/0054228) paragraph [0104]; different sites with different modulation parameters is applied at different time because only one ultrasound treatment probe).
Addressing claims 11-12, 16 and 18-20, the system claims 1-2, 6 and 9 perform the method and include a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium therefore claims 11-12, 16 and 18-20 are being rejected for the same reason as claims 1-2, 6 and 9.
Addressing claims 13-14 and 17, Puleo (US 2020/0054228) discloses:
addressing claim 13, wherein activating the late-response genes comprises activating sustained expression of immediate early genes (see Fig. 3, [0007], [0086], [0091], [0096] and [0100-0101]; Puleo apply energy to the target region for a duration of time which result in sustained expression of immediate early genes).
addressing claim 14, wherein the late-response genes are in the hypothalamus of the subject (see Fig. 3, [0007], [0086], [0091], [0096], [0100-0101] and [0184]; Puleo disclose stimulate a duration that is effective to produce FGF1; FGF1 is produced in the hypothalamus; the stimulation effect genes and nerves in the hypothalamus).
addressing claim 17, wherein the ultrasound stimulation is non-ablative (see [0133]; “at no point, will energies reach levels associated with thermal damage & ablation/cavitation”)
Addressing claims 15, Puleo (US 2020/0069975) discloses:
addressing claim 15, wherein the metabolic disorder is associated with weight gain (see [0032]; ultrasound modulation to promote weight loss is associated with weight gain or prevent weight gain).
Conclusion
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797