DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on December 23, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “31” and “32”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bolts” (claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 104675926) in view of Sun et al. (CN 102562949).
Zhang teaches a transmission mechanism having an hourglass enveloping worm (4) and a helical gear (5), comprising: a shell (1); a helical gear (5); and an hourglass enveloping worm (4), wherein the shell comprises a first cavity (adjacent 5) and a second cavity (adjacent 4), the first cavity is communicated with the second cavity (Fig. 1); the helical gear is rotatably provided in the first cavity, the hourglass enveloping worm meshing with the helical gear.
Zhang does not teach a protective column configured to move the hourglass enveloping worm toward/away from the helical gear along a circumferential direction of the protective column. The prior art to Sun teaches a transmission mechanism having a worm (300) meshing with a worm gear (200), a shell (100), a protective column (500); the protective column is rotatably provided in the second cavity, the protective column comprises a placement cavity and a clearance opening communicating the first cavity and the second cavity; an axis of the protective column is parallel to an axis of the placement cavity, the protective column is provided with a limiting mechanism (such as an outer surface, Fig. 3), the limiting mechanism is connected to the protective column and the shell to restrict a lateral movement of the protective column; and the worm is rotatably provided in the placement cavity; an axis of the worm and the axis of the placement cavity are collinear; and a rotation of the protective column causes the worm to move toward or away from the worm gear along a circumferential direction of the protective column. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the transmission of Zhang with a protective column configured to move the worm towards and away from the worm gear, as taught by Sun, motivation being to provide an adjustable gear mesh between the mating gears to compensate for manufacturing variations and gear wear.
Claim 10: Sun teaches the shell formed as two pieces (130,140). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the transmission of Zhang with a shell formed from two pieces, as taught by Sun, motivation being to provide a modular shell arrangement to facilitate inspecting and assembling the transmission. Further, it would have been obvious to one in the art to assemble the shell of Zhang modified be Sun, with bolts to secure the two-piece shell members, motivation being to provide a simple and inexpensive connection that is easily assembled.
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 104675926) in view of Benjamin et al. (USP 2,785,579).
Zhang teaches a transmission mechanism having an hourglass enveloping worm (4) and a helical gear (5), comprising: a shell (1); a helical gear (5); and an hourglass enveloping worm (4), wherein the shell comprises a first cavity (adjacent 5) and a second cavity (adjacent 4), the first cavity is communicated with the second cavity (Fig. 1); the helical gear is rotatably provided in the first cavity, the hourglass enveloping worm meshing with the helical gear.
Zhang does not teach a protective column configured to move the hourglass enveloping worm toward/away from the helical gear along a circumferential direction of the protective column. The prior art to Benjamin teaches a transmission mechanism having a worm (81) meshing with a worm gear (94), a shell (86), a protective column (8); the protective column is rotatably provided in a second cavity, the protective column comprises a placement cavity and a clearance opening (85) communicating the first cavity and the second cavity; an axis of the protective column is parallel to an axis of the placement cavity, the protective column is provided with a limiting mechanism (such as an outer surface, Fig. 1), the limiting mechanism is connected to the protective column and the shell to restrict a lateral movement of the protective column; and the worm is rotatably provided in the placement cavity; an axis of the worm and the axis of the placement cavity are collinear; and a rotation of the protective column causes the worm to move toward or away from the worm gear along a circumferential direction of the protective column. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the transmission of Zhang with a protective column configured to move the worm towards and away from the worm gear, as taught by Benjamin, motivation being to provide an adjustable gear mesh between the mating gears to compensate for manufacturing variations and gear wear.
Claims 7-9: Benjamin illustrates (Fig. 2) a gear shaft (80), wherein the shell is provided with an output hole communicating with the first cavity, the gear shaft is rotatably provided in the output hole, one end of the gear shaft is fixedly connected to the helical gear, and the other end of the gear shaft is exposed on an outside of the shell and is provided with an output portion; a bearing (92) is provided in the output hole, the bearing comprises an inner ring and an outer ring, and the gear shaft passes through the inner ring; a sealing ring (adjacent 92), wherein the sealing ring is provided in the output hole, and the gear shaft passes through the sealing ring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the transmission of Zhang with an output shaft supported with bearings and having a seal, as taught by Benjamin, motivation being to transmit output torque to a particular device to perform a predetermined operation.,
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the transmission of claim 1, including the limiting mechanism comprises a limiting rib and a limiting groove provided in the second cavity, one end of the limiting rib is connected to the protective column, and the other end of the limiting rib extends to the limiting groove; the protective column comprises a first bushing and a second bushing, the first bushing is rotatably connected to one end of the hourglass enveloping worm, the second bushing is rotatably connected to the other end of the hourglass enveloping worm; and the first bushing is provided with a first limiting part, the second bushing is provided with a second limiting part, the second limiting part is fixedly connected to the first limiting part to cause the first bushing to rotate with the second bushing, and the first limiting part and the second limiting part form the limiting rib, the limiting rib cooperates with the limiting groove to position the first bushing and the second bushing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the cited references teaching a column for adjusting gear mesh.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618