Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under as being unpatentable “ProgressaTM Bed User Manual”, hereinafter referred to as “Progressa”, in view of Drake (US 2016/0235610).
Regarding Claim 1, Progressa discloses a system for sensing and responding to an emergency event, the system comprising:
an activator to signal the emergency event (see “CPR control” on page 13 of manual below);
and
a patient support apparatus including:
a support structure having a base arranged for movement along a floor surface,
a support frame, and a patient support deck for supporting the patient, the patient support deck including a deck section capable of articulation relative to the support frame (page iv of Progressa manual listed above);
a plurality of actuators coupled to the support structure, including a lift actuator
to lift and lower the support frame and the patient support deck relative to the base between a high height position and a low height position (see excerpt from page 17 of manual below),
, and a deck actuator to articulate the deck section relative to the support frame (see excerpt from pages 18 and 19 of Progressa manual below);
a user interface to cause operation of the plurality of actuators (see user interface icons listed in pages 13 and 17-19 of Progressa manual); and
a controller coupled to the activator, the user interface, and the plurality of actuators (see icon from page 7 below),
the controller comprising a motion lock module having a plurality of configurable electronic motion locks including a first motion lock associated with the lift actuator (lockout control of “bed up/down” , see excerpt from page 17 below) and a second motion lock associated with the deck actuator (lockout control of “bed articulating functions”, see excerpt from page 17 below);
wherein the first motion lock has a lift locked state in which the user interface is inoperable to actuate the lift actuator to lift and lower the support frame relative to the base, and a lift unlocked state in which the user interface is operable to actuate the lift actuator to lift and lower the support frame relative to the base (see “to activate” and “to deactivate” from page 17 excerpt above); and the second motion lock has a deck locked state in which the user interface is inoperable to actuate the deck actuator to articulate the deck section relative to the support frame, and a deck unlocked state in which the user interface is operable to actuate the deck actuator (see “to activate” and “to deactivate” from page 17 excerpt above) to articulate the deck section relative to the support frame, and the controller is configured to automatically reset the first motion lock and the second motion lock to their unlocked states in response to detecting the emergency event (see excerpt in box from page 17 below)..
Progressa fails to disclose the activator being configured to measure one or more physiological parameters of a patient. Drake teaches an activator (328, see para. [0064 configured to measure one or more physiological parameters of a patient (see para. [0037] and Fig. 2), and a controller coupled to the activator (see para. [0058], i.e. “physiological sensors 328 provide physiological data that the controller 310 uses to determine the patient state” and [0072]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the patient support apparatus of Progressa with the heart rate monitor arrangement of Drake. The motivation would have been to notify a caregiver that immediate care is required, thus potentially reducing time-to-treatment.
Regarding Claim 2, Progressa as modified teaches wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus is configured to determine the emergency event in response to the one or more physiological parameters of the patient on the patient support deck falling below one or more predetermined thresholds (Drake: see para. [0058], i.e. “physiological sensors 328 provide physiological data that the controller 310 uses to determine the patient state” and [0072]).
Regarding Claim 3, Progressa as modified teaches wherein the activator includes a heart rate monitor to measure a heart rate of the patient on the patient support deck (Drake: 328).
Regarding Claim 4, Progressa as modified teaches wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus is configured to detect the emergency event in response to the heart rate of the patient falling below a predetermined threshold (Drake: see para. [0058], i.e. “physiological sensors 328 provide physiological data that the controller 310 uses to determine the patient state” and [0072]).
Regarding Claim 5, Progressa as modified teaches wherein the activator is coupled to the support structure of the patient support apparatus (Drake: see para. [0037]).
Regarding Claim 6, Progressa discloses wherein the deck section is a back section (see “CPR control” on page 13).
Regarding Claim 7, Progressa discloses the controller is configured to limit actuation of the lift actuator when in the lift locked state (lockout control of “bed up/down, , see excerpt from page 17 above) and to limit actuation of the deck actuator when in the deck locked state (lockout control of “bed articulating functions”, see excerpt from page 17 above).
Regarding Claim 8, Progressa discloses including a footboard coupled to the support structure (see “D” in “Quick ViewTM List of Features” on page iv and page 40).
Regarding Claim 11, Progressa discloses wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus is configured to automatically operate the deck actuator to articulate the deck section to a lowered position in response to detecting the emergency event (see “Use the CPR Control” on page 13, i.e. “After the head section is flat, a tone sounds and the foot section rises. The foot section moves to a flat position within a maximum of 30 seconds if fully articulated.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Progressa discloses wherein the controller is configured to automatically operate the lift actuator to lower the patient support deck in response to detecting the emergency event (see “Use the CPR Control” on page 13, i.e. “the HandsFree® CPR Control lowers the head and knee sections and raises the foot section” placing the patient support apparatus in Trendelenburg position).
Regarding Claims 13-15, Progressa discloses wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus includes a monitoring module (see pages 28-29) configured to set a desired state of a plurality of conditions for the patient support apparatus (see above)
and control a visual indicator to indicate that the patient support apparatus is in an undesired configuration in response to detecting one or more of the plurality of conditions being in an undesired state
(see text excerpt above), wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus is configured to disable the monitoring module in response to detecting the emergency event (see below).
Regarding Claims 16-18, see Claims 13-15 rejections above.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Progressa discloses a therapy device (see pages 55-63) coupled to the controller of the patient support apparatus to provide therapy to a patient supported on the patient support deck, wherein the controller of the patient support apparatus is configured to disable operation of the therapy device in response to detecting the emergency event (see page 60 excerpt below).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Progressa in view of Drake (US 2016/0235610) as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Osborne (US 6,691,346).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Progressa fails to disclose a second user interface coupled to the footboard, wherein the second user interface includes a user input device to access the motion lock module and configure the first motion lock and the second motion lock. Progressa discloses a single user interface on the siderail of the patient support apparatus. Osborne teaches a foot board user interface (692, see Fig. 14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to duplicate Progressa’s first user interface and place it on the footboard as taught by Osborne. The motivation would have been to provide access to the controls at various locations on the bed, thus increasing convenience for a caregiver. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) and MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent , specifically claims 1 and 13, anticipate at least claim 1 of the instant invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619