DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2025 and 05/15/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 1-6 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claims 7-12 are directed to a computer-implemented communication device (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). The independent claims under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe fundamental economic principles or practices, including mitigating risk, and describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea.
Claim 1:
receiving, by a service provider application on a communication device, a selection of a user device identifier to conduct an interaction from a user;
presenting, by the service provider application, options for the user of the communication device to select an interaction type from a plurality of interaction types;
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an interaction type from the user;
presenting, by the service provider application, a plurality of addition methods associated with the interaction type, the plurality of addition methods associated with a data processing computer;
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an addition method associated with the interaction type; and
processing, by the communication device, the interaction type using the addition method and a token associated with the interaction type.
Claim 7:
A communication device comprising:
a processor; and
a computer-readable medium coupled to the processor, the computer-readable medium comprising code that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations including:
receiving, by a service provider application on the communication device, a selection of a user device identifier to conduct an interaction from a user;
presenting, by the service provider application, options for the user of the communication device to select an interaction type from a plurality of interaction types;
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an interaction type from the user;
presenting, by the service provider application, a plurality of addition methods associated with the interaction type, the plurality of addition methods associated with a data processing computer;
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an addition method associated with the interaction type; and
processing the interaction type using the addition method and a token associated with the interaction type.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations discussed in more detail in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.04(d)(2), 2106.05(a) through (c) and 2106.05(e) through (h). Here, the non-underlined claim limitations above recite additional elements. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of computers, another technology, or a technical field (MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)). The Specification does not assert that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. The claim does not purport to improve computer capabilities, but rather invokes computers merely as a tool by adding general purpose computers post-hoc to an abstract idea. A commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. The Specification and the claim language provide evidence that the focus of the claim is on a scheme. An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. Even if the Specification describes technical improvements, they are not claimed. The additional elements do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). The additional elements do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)). A general-purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. The additional elements do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)). The claim does not recite any transformation of an article where the article changes to a different state or thing. Nor do the additional elements apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way or impose a meaningful limit on it beyond linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. A wholly generic computer implementation is not generally the sort of additional feature that provides any practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea itself. The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements are being used in their ordinary capacity. The additional elements do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). In Step 2B examiners carry over their identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two; carry over their conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e), (f) and (h); re-evaluate any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g), because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant; and evaluate whether any additional element or combination of elements are other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP § 2106.05(d). The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Here, the specification of the application indicates that additional elements are well-known or conventional (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claim 2 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
the processing further comprises:
retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device.
Claim 3 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the service provider application is programmed to use the plurality of addition methods in a particular order.
Claim 4 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
generating, by the service provider application, a token request message for a plurality of tokens to be associated with the user device identifier, the token request message comprising the user device identifier;
transmitting, by the communication device to a token server computer, the token request message; and
receiving, by the communication device from the token server computer, a token response message comprising the plurality of tokens, the token being one of the plurality of tokens.
Claim 5 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
storing, by the communication device in a memory, the plurality of tokens for the user device identifier, each of the plurality of tokens being stored in association with a corresponding interaction type and addition methods corresponding to the interaction type.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the user device identifier is an interaction card number.
Claim 8 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
the processing further includes:
retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device.
Claim 9 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the service provider application is programmed to use the plurality of addition methods in a particular order.
Claim 10 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the operations further include:
generating, by the service provider application, a token request message for a plurality of tokens to be associated with the user device identifier, the token request message comprising the user device identifier;
transmitting, by the communication device to a token server computer, the token request message; and
receiving, by the communication device from the token server computer, a token response message comprising the plurality of tokens, the token being one of the plurality of tokens.
Claim 11 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
a memory,
wherein the operations further include:
storing, in the memory, the plurality of tokens for the user device identifier, each of the plurality of tokens being stored in association with a corresponding interaction type and addition methods corresponding to the interaction type.
Claim 12 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes processing of a user-selected interaction type using a user-selected addition method and token associated with the interaction type, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Spec. 0021, 0022, 0024, 0036, 0041-0069). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the user device identifier is an interaction card number.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Unclear Scope
Claim 7 is directed to a product (e.g., "A communication device system comprising: ...”). For products, the claim limitations will define discrete physical structures or materials (See MPEP 2103(I)(C)). Here, claim 7 recites that the "communication device" comprises structural recitations of the "a processor" and “a computer-readable medium coupled to the processor, the computer-readable medium comprising code”. However, claim 7 also recites other structural recitations and associated functions (e.g., “receiving, by a service provider application on the communication device, a selection …”) without explicitly reciting that the communication device comprises those structural recitations. Specifically, the claimed “on the communication device” may or may not mean that the communication device comprises the service provider application. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 8 recites “retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device” and is rejected for similar reasoning as claim 7. Specifically, the claimed “of the communication device” may or may not mean that the communication device comprises the memory. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 13USPQ2d 1320 (Fed. Cir. 1989) and MPEP 2173.02 (III)(B) which states “Examiners should bear in mind that "[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.”
Claims 8-12 are also rejected per dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0193497 A1 (“Macedo”) in view of US 2014/0344153 A1 (“Raj”).
Claims 1, 7:
Macedo discloses:
a processor; and a computer-readable medium coupled to the processor, the computer-readable medium comprising code that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations including: (0018-0025)
receiving, by a service provider application on a communication device, a selection of a user device identifier to conduct an interaction from a user; (0013, 0042)
presenting, by the service provider application, options for the user of the communication device to select an interaction type from a plurality of interaction types; (0043, 0047)
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an interaction type from the user; (0043, 0047)
presenting, by the service provider application, a plurality of addition methods associated with the interaction type, the plurality of addition methods associated with a data processing computer; (0042-0043)
receiving, by the service provider application, a selection of an addition method associated with the interaction type; and (0042, 0046)
Macedo does not disclose:
processing, by the communication device, the interaction type using the addition method and a token associated with the interaction type
Raj, an analogous art of mobile payments, discloses:
processing, by the communication device, the interaction type using the addition method and a token associated with the interaction type (0163-0172, 0212)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macedo to include processing, by the communication device, the interaction type using the addition method and a token associated with the interaction type, as disclosed in Raj. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve transaction efficiency and security (Raj, 0002-0005).
Claims 2, 8:
The combination of Macedo in view of Raj discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 7. Macedo does not disclose:
the processing further comprises: retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device.
Raj further discloses:
the processing further comprises: retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device. (0139, 0185-0189)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macedo to include the processing further comprises: retrieving, by the service provider application, the token associated with the interaction type from a memory of the communication device, as disclosed in Raj. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve transaction efficiency and security (Raj, 0002-0005).
Claims 3, 9:
The combination of Macedo in view of Raj discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 7. Macedo further discloses:
wherein the service provider application is programmed to use the plurality of addition methods in a particular order. (0042-0043, 0046)
Claims 4, 10:
The combination of Macedo in view of Raj discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 7. Macedo does not disclose:
generating, by the service provider application, a token request message for a plurality of tokens to be associated with the user device identifier, the token request message comprising the user device identifier;
transmitting, by the communication device to a token server computer, the token request message; and
receiving, by the communication device from the token server computer, a token response message comprising the plurality of tokens, the token being one of the plurality of tokens.
Raj further discloses:
generating, by the service provider application, a token request message for a plurality of tokens to be associated with the user device identifier, the token request message comprising the user device identifier; (0139-0140, 0148, 0151-0152, 0166, 0168, 0170-0171)
transmitting, by the communication device to a token server computer, the token request message; and (0140, 0148, 0151, 0163, 0166, 0170, 0188-0189)
receiving, by the communication device from the token server computer, a token response message comprising the plurality of tokens, the token being one of the plurality of tokens. (0075, 0091, 0099-0100, 0148, 0152-0153, 0188)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macedo to include generating, by the service provider application, a token request message for a plurality of tokens to be associated with the user device identifier, the token request message comprising the user device identifier; transmitting, by the communication device to a token server computer, the token request message; and receiving, by the communication device from the token server computer, a token response message comprising the plurality of tokens, the token being one of the plurality of tokens, as disclosed in Raj. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve transaction efficiency and security (Raj, 0002-0005).
Claims 5, 11:
The combination of Macedo in view of Raj discloses all limitations of claims 4 and 10. Macedo does not disclose:
storing, by the communication device in a memory, the plurality of tokens for the user device identifier, each of the plurality of tokens being stored in association with a corresponding interaction type and addition methods corresponding to the interaction type.
Raj further discloses:
storing, by the communication device in a memory, the plurality of tokens for the user device identifier, each of the plurality of tokens being stored in association with a corresponding interaction type and addition methods corresponding to the interaction type. (0139, 0185-0189)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macedo to include storing, by the communication device in a memory, the plurality of tokens for the user device identifier, each of the plurality of tokens being stored in association with a corresponding interaction type and addition methods corresponding to the interaction type, as disclosed in Raj. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve transaction efficiency and security (Raj, 0002-0005).
Claims 6, 12:
The combination of Macedo in view of Raj discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 7. Macedo does not disclose:
wherein the user device identifier is an interaction card number
Raj further discloses:
wherein the user device identifier is an interaction card number (0139-0140, 0148, 0151-0152, 0166, 0168, 0170-0171)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Macedo to include wherein the user device identifier is an interaction card number, as disclosed in Raj. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve transaction efficiency and security (Raj, 0002-0005).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0051110 A1 (“Bhargava”) discloses: Embodiments provide a computer-implemented method including receiving, by a server system associated with a payment network, a request for an installment payment for a purchase amount. The installment payment is to be paid at least partially from reward points available with a payment card of a cardholder. The method includes determining, by the server system, a required number of reward points for a payment of the purchase amount in response to the request for the installment payment. The method further includes, accessing, by the server system, one or more payment term plans for the installment payment, wherein each of the one or more payment term plans is determined based at least on the required number of reward points. Each payment term plan includes a set of reward points needed to be used for payment corresponding to each installment of the installment payment.
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697