DETAILED ACTION
Claim 23 has been cancelled, and Claim 26 has been amended as per the amendment filed on 8/6/2026.
Currently Claims 1-22, and 24-28 are pending and prosecuted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19, and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0231532, henceforth known as Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a position detecting device for detecting positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, the position detecting device comprising (Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit (Figure 1; [0102]; a display panel); and
an integrated sensor layer disposed between the panel surface and the display image generating layer (Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer))),
wherein the integrated sensor layer includes a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273];a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction),
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of second electrodes is formed in a same layer as the plurality of first coils or the plurality of second coils (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the integrated sensor layer is formed in two layers or three layers (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the touch sensor has at least two layers).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of first coils is formed in a first layer, and each of the plurality of second electrodes has a configuration in which a portion formed in the first layer and a portion formed in a second layer different from the first layer are connected to each other by a via conductor (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer. The receiving electrodes further include a first connection pattern 335 and a second connection pattern 337 (conductor) that are in a second layer different from the layer with the driving and receiving electrodes).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the portion formed in the first layer in each second electrode is a connecting conductor that connects a plurality of portions formed in the second layer in the second electrode (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes in the “first layer” to be “connecting conductor” that connects a “plurality of portions” in the second layer).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the connecting conductor is a jumper wire or a bridge wire (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the “connecting conductor” as either a “jumper wire or a bridge wire”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses wherein each of the plurality of second coils has a configuration in which the portion formed in the first layer and the portion formed in the second layer are connected to each other by the via conductor (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer. The receiving electrodes (second coils) further include a first connection pattern 335 and a second connection pattern 337 (conductor) that are in a second layer different from the layer with the driving and receiving electrodes).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the portion formed in the first layer in each second coil is a connecting conductor that connects a plurality of portions formed in the second layer in the second coil, and the connecting conductor is formed in a same layer as at least a portion of the plurality of second electrodes (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes in the “first layer” to be “connecting conductor” that connects a “plurality of portions” in the second layer. The examiner considers the “connecting conductor” to be in the same layer as a portion of the “second electrodes” as they are the same thing).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of second coils are extended so as not to overlap each other as viewed in plan view (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes to be both the second electrodes and the second coils, thus, as seen in the figures, they are extended and don’t overlap each other in a plan view).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of second coils are alternately extended as viewed in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes to be both the second electrodes and the second coils, thus, as seen in the figures, they are alternately extended and don’t overlap each other in a plan view).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of first coils are formed by same wiring formed in the first layer (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the transmitting electrodes to be both the first electrodes and the first coils, thus, the are formed by the same wiring).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim discloses a position detecting device for detecting positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, the position detecting device comprising(Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit (Figure 1; [0102]; a display panel); and
an integrated sensor layer disposed between the panel surface and the display image generating layer (Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer))),
wherein the integrated sensor layer includes a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273];a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction),
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein the second coils are formed by comb-shaped coils having a configuration formed by connecting respective first ends of a plurality of tooth portions each extending in the first direction to a base portion extending in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes as being formed by “comb-shaped coils” having first ends that are connected by a plurality of “tooth portions” each extending in the first direction to a “base portion” that extends in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses wherein the integrated sensor layer is formed in two layers or three layers (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the touch sensor has at least two layers).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of first coils is formed in a first layer, and each of the plurality of second electrodes has a configuration in which a portion formed in the first layer and a portion formed in a second layer different from the first layer are connected to each other by a via conductor (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer. The receiving electrodes further include a first connection pattern 335 and a second connection pattern 337 (conductor) that are in a second layer different from the layer with the driving and receiving electrodes).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses wherein the tooth portions have a configuration in which a portion formed in the first layer and a portion formed in the second layer are connected to each other by a via conductor (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; The “tooth portions” of the receiving electrodes further include a first connection pattern 335 and a second connection pattern 337 (conductor) that are in a second layer different from the layer with the driving and receiving electrodes).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of tooth portions are extended so as not to overlap each other as viewed in plan view (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes to be both the second electrodes and the second coils, thus, as seen in the figures, they are extended and don’t overlap each other in a plan view).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of tooth portions are alternately extended as viewed in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes to be both the second electrodes and the second coils, thus, as seen in the figures, they are alternately extended and don’t overlap each other in a plan view).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of first coils are formed by same wiring formed in the first layer (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the transmitting electrodes to be both the first electrodes and the first coils, thus, the are formed by the same wiring).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses a position detecting device for detecting a position of a pen on a panel surface by electromagnetic induction, the position detecting device comprising (Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a plurality of first electrodes each having a hollow portion and arranged in a lattice pattern (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) each having an opening portion O (hollow portion) and made of a metal mesh, thus having a “lattice pattern”);
a plurality of second electrodes arranged within the hollow portions of the plurality of first electrodes, respectively (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) each having an opening portion O (hollow portion) and made of a metal mesh, thus having a “lattice pattern”); and
a plurality of first connecting wires formed in a layer different from a layer of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and constitute a plurality of first wires extending in a first direction by connecting two second electrodes adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a conductive loop At0-At1 and At2-At3 (plurality of first connecting wires), as seen in Figure 19, is arrange din a layer different from the transmitting and receiving electrodes, and extend in a first direction by connection two driving pattern parts 211 adjacent to each other in the first direction)
wherein the plurality of first wires form a receiving coil of an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by the electromagnetic induction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; the conductive loop is used for sensing the magnetic signal from a stylus),
wherein the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes are mesh electrodes (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) and the plurality of driving dummy pattern parts 213 are made of mesh).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses further comprising: a second connecting wire that connects first ends of the plurality of first wires, wherein each of the plurality of first wires form a tooth portion of a comb-shaped coil, and the second connecting wire forms a base portion of the comb-shaped coil (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; as seen in Figure 19, there is a “second connecting fire” that connects “first ends” of the conductive loop At0-At1 and At2-At3, where each of the “first wires” is considered by the examiner as forming a “tooth portion of a comb-shaped coil” and the “second connecting wire” forms a “base portion of the comb-shaped coil”) .
Regarding Claim 22, Kim discloses further comprising:
a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit (Figure 1; [0102]; a display panel ),
wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the first connecting wires are arranged between the panel surface and the display image generating layer (Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer)).
Regarding Claim 23, Kim discloses further comprising: a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit,
wherein the plurality of first electrodes, the plurality of second electrodes, and the first connecting wires are arranged between the panel surface and the display image generating layer (Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer)).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim discloses a sensor for use in conjunction with an electronic apparatus that detects positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, wherein the electronic apparatus includes a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit (Abstract; Figure 1; [0102]; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same that includes a display panel), the sensor comprising:
a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system; and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the sensor is disposed between the panel surface and the display image generating layer (Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer)), and
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction,
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of second electrodes is formed in a same layer as the plurality of first coils or the plurality of second coils (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer).
Regarding Claim 25, Kim discloses a sensor for use in conjunction with an electronic apparatus that detects positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, the sensor comprising (Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system; and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction),
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein at least a portion of each of the plurality of second electrodes is formed in a same layer as the plurality of first coils or the plurality of second coils (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in the same layer).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim discloses a sensor for use in conjunction with an electronic apparatus that detects positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, wherein the electronic apparatus includes a display image generating layer that, in operation, generates a display image according to control of a driving circuit(Abstract; Figure 1; [0102]; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same that includes a display panel), the sensor comprising:
a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system; and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the sensor disposed between the panel surface and the display image generating layer(Figure 1 and 20; [0102-0105]; [0262]; a touch input device disposed on the display panel comprising of a touch sensor (integrated sensor layer) that is disposed between a window layer 17, that is disposed on the touch sensor, and the display panel (display image generating layer)),,
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction),
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein the plurality of second coils is formed by comb-shaped coils having a configuration formed by connecting respective first ends of a plurality of tooth portions each extending in the first direction to a base portion extending in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes as being formed by “comb-shaped coils” having first ends that are connected by a plurality of “tooth portions” each extending in the first direction to a “base portion” that extends in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 27. A sensor for use in conjunction with an electronic apparatus that detects positions of a pen and a finger on a panel surface, the sensor comprising(Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a touch sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive system; and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction (Figure 1 and 18; [0102-0105]; [0233-0248]; [0260]; the touch sensor detects capacitance variation according to a touch on the touch surface, and receives an electromagnetic signal output from a stylus pen 500 to sense a position of the stylus pen 500),
wherein the touch sensor includes a plurality of first electrodes arranged side by side in a first direction and a plurality of second electrodes arranged side by side in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and a plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction),
wherein the electro-magnetic resonance sensor includes a plurality of first coils arranged side by side in the first direction and a plurality of second coils arranged side by side in the second direction(Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving electrodes Tx0, Tx1 are arranged in a first direction, and the plurality of receiving electrodes Rx0, Rx1 are arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction and are used for sensing the magnetic signal from the stylus), and
wherein the plurality of second coils is formed by comb-shaped coils having a configuration formed by connecting respective first ends of a plurality of tooth portions each extending in the first direction to a base portion extending in the second direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0233-0273]; the examiner considers the receiving electrodes as being formed by “comb-shaped coils” having first ends that are connected by a plurality of “tooth portions” each extending in the first direction to a “base portion” that extends in a second direction).
Regarding Claim 28. A sensor for use in conjunction with an electronic apparatus for detecting a position of a pen on a panel surface by electromagnetic induction, the sensor comprising(Abstract; a touch sensor and a touch input device including the same):
a plurality of first electrodes each having a hollow portion and arranged in a lattice manner (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) each having an opening portion O (hollow portion) and made of a metal mesh, thus having a “lattice manner”);
a plurality of second electrodes arranged within the hollow portions of the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) each having an opening portion O (hollow portion) and made of a metal mesh, thus having a “lattice pattern”); and
a plurality of first connecting wires formed in a layer different from a layer of the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and constituting a plurality of first wires extending in a first direction by connecting two second electrodes adjacent to each other in the first direction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; a conductive loop At0-At1 and At2-At3 (plurality of first connecting wires), as seen in Figure 19, is arrange din a layer different from the transmitting and receiving electrodes, and extend in a first direction by connection two driving pattern parts 211 adjacent to each other in the first direction) ,
wherein the plurality of first wires constitute a receiving coil of an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by the electromagnetic induction (Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; the conductive loop is used for sensing the magnetic signal from a stylus),
and
wherein the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes are mesh electrodes(Figure 1, 18-21; [0102-0105]; [0191-0215]; [0233-0273]; the plurality of driving pattern parts 211 (first electrodes) and the plurality of driving dummy pattern parts 213 are made of mesh).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the features present in dependent claim 20 in combination with the features of independent claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants remarks that that Kim does not disclose the limitation “wherein the integrated sensor layer includes a touch sensor, that in operation, detects a position of the finger on the panel surface by a capacitive sensor and an electro-magnetic resonance sensor that, in operation, detects a position of the pen on the panel surface by electromagnetic induction”. As stated in the rejection, the touch sensor may receive an electromagnetic signal output from the stylus pen to sense a position of the stylus pen on each touch sensor. This electromagnetic signal is a resonance signal or a signal based on the resonance signal that is transmitted, when the touch sensor and the stylus pen are “capacitively coupled” ([0264];), that resonates with the generated magnetic field of the touch panel in order to induce a current that is used to determine a position of the stylus pen (Figure 22 and 23; [0274-0279];). Therefore, Kim does teach the limitation, and the examiner maintains the rejection of independent claim 1.
The rejection of Claims 2-10, which depend from Claim 1, is also rejected for the same rationale.
The rejection of Claims 11, 18, 24-28, are also maintained for the same rationale.
The rejection of Claims 12-17, and 19-21, which dependent from one of Claims 11, 18, 24-28, are also maintained for the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F MARINELLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699