DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 06/15/2026. Claims 1-13 and 53-59 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1, 3-13, and 53-59 were amended.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-18 of the Applicant's Remarks, 06/15/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 and 53-59 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 18-19 of the Applicant's Remarks, 06/15/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 and 53-59 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Von Novak, and Jemison.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-13, and 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Von Novak, US-20170075360-A1, in view of Jemison et al., US-20230419741-A1, hereinafter referred to as Von Novak, and Jemison.
As per claim 1
Von Novak discloses [a] computer-implemented method for estimating an available range of an aircraft electric vertical takeoff and landing (eVTOL) aircraft configured for vertical landing and horizontal landing, the method comprising (determining a descent profile - Von Novak ¶58):
receiving electrical information of one or more batteries associated with the eVTOL aircraft measured using at least one first sensor (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
estimating an aircraft-level energy based on the electrical information of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
receiving an altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and a current airspeed of the eVTOLaircraft measured using at least one second sensor (avionics module 167 coupled to the processor 160 and/or the navigation unit 163 may be configured to provide flight control-related information such as altitude, attitude, airspeed - Von Novak ¶71);
estimating a vertical landing range or a horizontal landing range based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft, and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (FIG. 2 illustrates the descent rate of UAV flight paths and descent profiles…UAV 100 maintaining a constant altitude…constant descent rate, determining a descent profile…characteristics of the UAV (a UAV mass, drag coefficients, and other aerodynamic elements)…descent profile may take into account a current UAV altitude and/or UAV velocity, data associated with altitude…UAV drag coefficients, current velocity including descent rate, available battery charge…to determine the descent profile - Von Novak ¶35 & ¶58 & ¶60).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing (Computing device 108 may determine a remaining battery life of plurality of battery packs 112 based on, flight plans, flight maneuvers, speeds, altitude, landing energy 124 may include an energy amount required to land electric aircraft 104 based on a landing style of electric aircraft 104…A “conventional landing style”…electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a vertical landing style…A landing energy classification model may classify landing energy 124 to a landing not ready category. A landing not ready category may include a missing energy amount required to vertically, conventionally, or otherwise land electric aircraft 104, determine a landing recommendation as a function of battery data 120 and/or landing energy 124. A “landing recommendation” as used in this disclosure is a suggested method of landing an aircraft…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be large enough for a vertical landing…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be too small to land vertically and may generate a landing recommendation of a conventional style landing - Jemison ¶36 & ¶40 & ¶46).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to a vertical style landing threshold to determine if an amount of landing energy 124 meets the vertical style landing threshold, see Jemison ¶46 for details.
As per claim 2
Von Novak further discloses wherein the aircraft-level energy is estimated based on an estimation of a state of energy of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3).
As per claim 3
Von Novak further discloses further comprising: determining a flight mode of the eVTOL aircraft, wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range is also based on the determined flight mode (determining whether a warning battery charge state of the UAV has been reached while the UAV is flying…emergency recovery mode may include using at least one motor controlling at least one of the rotors to maintain a stable attitude by regulating an amount of energy generated by the at least one motor in order to adjust an amount of drag generated by the rotors, maintain a stable attitude through a rapid descent. During the emergency recovery mode…During the rapid descent, the UAV monitors its descent relative to a descent profile (e.g., rate of descent) - Von Novak ¶4 & ¶15 – Examiner reasons that the broadest reasonable interpretation of flight mode includes an emergency recovery mode).
As per claim 4
Von Novak further discloses wherein the electrical information includes at least one of a state of health of the one or more batteries, a state of charge of the one or more batteries, a state of energy of the one or more batteries, or a state of power of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3).
As per claim 10
Von Novak further discloses wherein: the at least one first sensor comprises at least one of a voltage sensor, a current sensor, or a temperature sensor; and the at least one second sensor comprises at least one of a pitot tube, an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a transducer, a GPS unit, or a transceiver (emergency-recovery state may be measured from a voltage level of the battery, voltage-based battery charge state measurement systems may be used to measure a voltage drop below a certain level and/or measure when the voltage drops at a particular rate to indicate how much energy remains stored in the battery, to provide flight control-related information such as altitude, attitude, airspeed, heading and similar information that the navigation unit 163 may use for navigation purposes, such as dead reckoning between GNSS position updates. The avionics module 167 may include or receive data from a gyro/accelerometer unit 165 that provides data regarding the orientation and accelerations of the UAV 100 that may be used in navigation and positioning calculations - Von Novak ¶3 & ¶40 & ¶71).
As per claim 11
Von Novak discloses [a] non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware…non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or non-transitory processor-readable storage medium…accessed by a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶91):
receive electrical information of one or more batteries associated with an electric takeoff and landing (eVTOL) aircraft measured using at least one first sensor (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
estimate an aircraft-level energy based on the electrical information of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
receive an altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and a current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft measured using at least one second sensor (avionics module 167 coupled to the processor 160 and/or the navigation unit 163 may be configured to provide flight control-related information such as altitude, attitude, airspeed - Von Novak ¶71);
estimate a vertical landing range or a horizontal landing range based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft, and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (FIG. 2 illustrates the descent rate of UAV flight paths and descent profiles…UAV 100 maintaining a constant altitude…constant descent rate, determining a descent profile… characteristics of the UAV (a UAV mass, drag coefficients, and other aerodynamic elements)…descent profile may take into account a current UAV altitude and/or UAV velocity, data associated with altitude…UAV drag coefficients, current velocity including descent rate, available battery charge…to determine the descent profile - Von Novak ¶35 & ¶58 & ¶60).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing (Computing device 108 may determine a remaining battery life of plurality of battery packs 112 based on, flight plans, flight maneuvers, speeds, altitude, landing energy 124 may include an energy amount required to land electric aircraft 104 based on a landing style of electric aircraft 104…A “conventional landing style”…electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a vertical landing style…A landing energy classification model may classify landing energy 124 to a landing not ready category. A landing not ready category may include a missing energy amount required to vertically, conventionally, or otherwise land electric aircraft 104, determine a landing recommendation as a function of battery data 120 and/or landing energy 124. A “landing recommendation” as used in this disclosure is a suggested method of landing an aircraft…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be large enough for a vertical landing…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be too small to land vertically and may generate a landing recommendation of a conventional style landing - Jemison ¶36 & ¶40 & ¶46).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to a vertical style landing threshold to determine if an amount of landing energy 124 meets the vertical style landing threshold, see Jemison ¶46 for details.
As per claim 12
Von Novak discloses [a] system, comprising (a UAV - Von Novak ¶2):
at least one processor (a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶91);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware…non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or non-transitory processor-readable storage medium…accessed by a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶91):
receive electrical information of one or more batteries associated with an electric takeoff and landing (eVTOL) aircraft measured using at least one first sensor (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
estimate an aircraft-level energy based on the electrical information of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
receive an altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and a current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft measured using at least one second sensor (avionics module 167 coupled to the processor 160 and/or the navigation unit 163 may be configured to provide flight control-related information such as altitude, attitude, airspeed - Von Novak ¶71);
estimate a vertical landing range or a horizontal landing range based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft, and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (FIG. 2 illustrates the descent rate of UAV flight paths and descent profiles…UAV 100 maintaining a constant altitude…constant descent rate, determining a descent profile… characteristics of the UAV (a UAV mass, drag coefficients, and other aerodynamic elements)…descent profile may take into account a current UAV altitude and/or UAV velocity, data associated with altitude…UAV drag coefficients, current velocity including descent rate, available battery charge…to determine the descent profile - Von Novak ¶35 & ¶58 & ¶60).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing (Computing device 108 may determine a remaining battery life of plurality of battery packs 112 based on, flight plans, flight maneuvers, speeds, altitude, landing energy 124 may include an energy amount required to land electric aircraft 104 based on a landing style of electric aircraft 104…A “conventional landing style”…electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a vertical landing style…A landing energy classification model may classify landing energy 124 to a landing not ready category. A landing not ready category may include a missing energy amount required to vertically, conventionally, or otherwise land electric aircraft 104, determine a landing recommendation as a function of battery data 120 and/or landing energy 124. A “landing recommendation” as used in this disclosure is a suggested method of landing an aircraft…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be large enough for a vertical landing…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be too small to land vertically and may generate a landing recommendation of a conventional style landing - Jemison ¶36 & ¶40 & ¶46).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to a vertical style landing threshold to determine if an amount of landing energy 124 meets the vertical style landing threshold, see Jemison ¶46 for details.
As per claim 13
Von Novak discloses [a]n electric takeoff and landing (eVTOL) aircraft configured for vertical landing and horizontal landing, comprising (a UAV - Von Novak ¶2):
at least one processor (a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶91);
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to (functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware…non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or non-transitory processor-readable storage medium…accessed by a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶91):
receive electrical information of one or more batteries associated with the eVTOL aircraft measured using at least one first sensor (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
estimate an aircraft-level energy based on the electrical information of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3);
receive an altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and a current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft measured using at least one second sensor (avionics module 167 coupled to the processor 160 and/or the navigation unit 163 may be configured to provide flight control-related information such as altitude, attitude, airspeed - Von Novak ¶71);
estimate a vertical landing range or a horizontal landing range based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft, and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (FIG. 2 illustrates the descent rate of UAV flight paths and descent profiles…UAV 100 maintaining a constant altitude…constant descent rate, determining a descent profile…characteristics of the UAV (a UAV mass, drag coefficients, and other aerodynamic elements)…descent profile may take into account a current UAV altitude and/or UAV velocity, data associated with altitude…UAV drag coefficients, current velocity including descent rate, available battery charge…to determine the descent profile - Von Novak ¶35 & ¶58 & ¶60).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches based on determining that the aircraft-level energy is insufficient to perform one of a vertical landing or a horizontal landing, restricting an aircraft operation of the eVTOL aircraft to prevent one of the vertical landing or the horizontal landing (Computing device 108 may determine a remaining battery life of plurality of battery packs 112 based on, flight plans, flight maneuvers, speeds, altitude, landing energy 124 may include an energy amount required to land electric aircraft 104 based on a landing style of electric aircraft 104…A “conventional landing style”…electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a vertical landing style…A landing energy classification model may classify landing energy 124 to a landing not ready category. A landing not ready category may include a missing energy amount required to vertically, conventionally, or otherwise land electric aircraft 104, determine a landing recommendation as a function of battery data 120 and/or landing energy 124. A “landing recommendation” as used in this disclosure is a suggested method of landing an aircraft…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be large enough for a vertical landing…computing device 108 may determine landing energy 124 may be too small to land vertically and may generate a landing recommendation of a conventional style landing - Jemison ¶36 & ¶40 & ¶46).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of an electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to a vertical style landing threshold to determine if an amount of landing energy 124 meets the vertical style landing threshold, see Jemison ¶46 for details.
As per claim 53
Von Novak further discloses wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: determine a flight mode of the eVTOL aircraft, wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range is also based on the determined flight mode (determining whether a warning battery charge state of the UAV has been reached while the UAV is flying…emergency recovery mode may include using at least one motor controlling at least one of the rotors to maintain a stable attitude by regulating an amount of energy generated by the at least one motor in order to adjust an amount of drag generated by the rotors, maintain a stable attitude through a rapid descent. During the emergency recovery mode…During the rapid descent, the UAV monitors its descent relative to a descent profile (e.g., rate of descent), functions described may be implemented in hardware, software, firmware…non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or non-transitory processor-readable storage medium…accessed by a computer or a processor - Von Novak ¶4 & ¶15 & ¶91 – Examiner reasons that the broadest reasonable interpretation of flight mode includes an emergency recovery mode).
As per claim 54
Von Novak further discloses wherein the electrical information includes at least one of a state of health of the one or more batteries, a state of charge of the one or more batteries, a state of energy of the one or more batteries, or a state of power of the one or more batteries (determining whether an emergency-recovery state of a battery of the UAV, a battery charge state in which the battery has insufficient stored energy to enable the UAV to maintain level flight - Von Novak ¶2 & ¶3).
Claims 5, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Von Novak, and Jemison, as per claims 1, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Jeong et al., US-20200033854-A1, Jemison et al., US-20230419741-A1, and Dekel et al., US-20150197335-A1, hereinafter referred to as Jeong, Jemison, and Dekel.
As per claim 5
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein: the vertical landing range is estimated using a first algorithm configured to estimate a first amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination], the horizontal landing range is estimated using a second algorithm configured to estimate a second amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination].
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jeong teaches wherein: the vertical landing range is estimated using a first algorithm configured to estimate a first amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination], the horizontal landing range is estimated using a second algorithm configured to estimate a second amount of energy needed to perform [flight and landing to destination] (moving distance calculated based on a current speed of the drone and a remaining amount of a battery - Jeong ¶366).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jeong teaches a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration, as taught by Jeong, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve mobility performance for an aerial UE, see Jeong ¶283 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose [complete] a conventional landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches [complete] a conventional landing (SOC of an energy source may be calculated more than one time during a flight in order to accurately ensure an energy source has the power output capacity for the landing method and location, Electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a conventional landing style. A “conventional landing style” as used in this disclosure is a fixed-wing landing requiring a runway - Jemison ¶35 & ¶40).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine a landing energy as a function of battery data to provide landing energy to a user through a display and enable a VTOL UAV to be able to perform a conventional landing, see Jemison ¶3 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose [complete] a vertical landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Dekel teaches [complete] a vertical landing (controlling by control system 1200 may be based,…Energy level (e.g. residual battery charge level,… State of one or more aerodynamic subsystems (e.g. position of ailerons, etc.), to a hover and/or to provide a vertical landing - Dekel ¶105, 135).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Dekel teaches systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit, as taught by Dekel, with a reasonable expectation of success to suppress gyroscopic effects and gusts (unstable measured airspeed) and to avoid fast changes in the air vehicle dynamics, enabling the control loops to gain better performance, see Dekel ¶512 for details.
As per claim 55
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein: the vertical landing range is estimated using a first algorithm configured to estimate a first amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination]; the horizontal landing range is estimated using a second algorithm configured to estimate a second amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination].
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jeong teaches wherein: the vertical landing range is estimated using a first algorithm configured to estimate a first amount of energy needed to perform and complete [flight and landing to destination]; the horizontal landing range is estimated using a second algorithm configured to estimate a second amount of energy needed to perform [flight and landing to destination] (moving distance calculated based on a current speed of the drone and a remaining amount of a battery - Jeong ¶366).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jeong teaches a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration, as taught by Jeong, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve mobility performance for an aerial UE, see Jeong ¶283 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose [complete] a conventional landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches [complete] a conventional landing (SOC of an energy source may be calculated more than one time during a flight in order to accurately ensure an energy source has the power output capacity for the landing method and location, Electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a conventional landing style. A “conventional landing style” as used in this disclosure is a fixed-wing landing requiring a runway - Jemison ¶35 & ¶40).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine a landing energy as a function of battery data to provide landing energy to a user through a display and enable a VTOL UAV to be able to perform a conventional landing, see Jemison ¶3 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose [complete] a vertical landing.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Dekel teaches [complete] a vertical landing (controlling by control system 1200 may be based,…Energy level (e.g. residual battery charge level,… State of one or more aerodynamic subsystems (e.g. position of ailerons, etc.), to a hover and/or to provide a vertical landing - Dekel ¶105, 135).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Dekel teaches systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit, as taught by Dekel, with a reasonable expectation of success to suppress gyroscopic effects and gusts (unstable measured airspeed) and to avoid fast changes in the air vehicle dynamics, enabling the control loops to gain better performance, see Dekel ¶512 for details.
Claims 6-7, and 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Von Novak, and Jemison, as per claims 1, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Park et al., US-20180194455-A1, and Cho et al., US-20250182628-A1, hereinafter referred to as Park, and Cho.
As per claim 6
Von Novak does not specifically disclose using the range comparison result to determine range information to render on a display.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Park teaches using the range comparison result [of range vs battery life] to determine range information to render on a display (indicator 830 for guiding a flight available range (or maximum range) of the UAV 1000 with respect to a current battery amount may foe displayed on the display unit 151 - Park ¶301).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Park teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of performing wireless communication with a mobile terminal, a mobile terminal, and a control method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of performing wireless communication with a mobile terminal, a mobile terminal, and a control method, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success for controlling an unmanned aerial vehicle using a mobile terminal, and to maintain flight at a point where the UAV is positioned, see Park ¶6 & ¶18 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose further comprising: comparing the estimated vertical landing range and the estimated horizontal landing range to a range remaining to an initial destination to obtain a range comparison result.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Cho teaches further comprising: comparing the estimated vertical landing range and the estimated horizontal landing range to a range remaining to an initial destination to obtain a range comparison result (modify the plan so that the aircraft can safely travel to the destination by using the ratio of vertical movement and horizontal movement…if the ratio of vertical movement distance/horizontal movement distance according to the current flight plan is 120%, the maximum movement distance of the aircraft may be calculated by applying the ratio with the highest vertical movement ratio among the flight plans, and a location within the maximum movement distance may be set as the destination to obtain the flight plan - Cho ¶117).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Cho teaches a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft, as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize the safety and power efficiency of UAM by regenerating the flight plan by determining whether the destination can be reached by obtaining a flight plan and confirming it with the passenger, see Cho ¶11 for details.
As per claim 7
Von Novak does not specifically disclose further comprising determining an alternate destination within a remaining range of the eVTOL aircraft, the alternate destination being different than an initial destination.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Cho teaches further comprising determining an alternate destination within a remaining range of the eVTOL aircraft, the alternate destination being different than an initial destination (if the movement distance according to the flight plan is 100 km and the aircraft's possible movement distance is 110 km, if the vertical movement ratio according to the movement distance…if the aircraft's possible movement distance is reduced to 90 km accordingly, the destination may be modified to be unmovable. In this case, the destination (a closer destination) can be modified and the movement to that destination can be created as a modified flight plan. - Cho ¶108).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Cho teaches a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft, as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize the safety and power efficiency of UAM by regenerating the flight plan by determining whether the destination can be reached by obtaining a flight plan and confirming it with the passenger, see Cho ¶11 for details.
As per claim 56
Von Novak does not specifically disclose use the range comparison result to determine range information to render on a display.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Park teaches use the range comparison result [of range vs battery life] to determine range information to render on a display (indicator 830 for guiding a flight available range (or maximum range) of the UAV 1000 with respect to a current battery amount may foe displayed on the display unit 151 - Park ¶301).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Park teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of performing wireless communication with a mobile terminal, a mobile terminal, and a control method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of performing wireless communication with a mobile terminal, a mobile terminal, and a control method, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success for controlling an unmanned aerial vehicle using a mobile terminal, and to maintain flight at a point where the UAV is positioned, see Park ¶6 & ¶18 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: compare the estimated vertical landing range and the estimated horizontal landing range to a range remaining to an initial destination to obtain a range comparison result.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Cho teaches wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: compare the estimated vertical landing range and the estimated horizontal landing range to a range remaining to an initial destination to obtain a range comparison result (firmware, software,… a processor, modify the plan so that the aircraft can safely travel to the destination by using the ratio of vertical movement and horizontal movement…if the ratio of vertical movement distance/horizontal movement distance according to the current flight plan is 120%, the maximum movement distance of the aircraft may be calculated by applying the ratio with the highest vertical movement ratio among the flight plans, and a location within the maximum movement distance may be set as the destination to obtain the flight plan - Cho ¶27 & ¶117).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Cho teaches a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft, as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize the safety and power efficiency of UAM by regenerating the flight plan by determining whether the destination can be reached by obtaining a flight plan and confirming it with the passenger, see Cho ¶11 for details.
As per claim 57
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to determine an alternate destination within a remaining range of the eVTOL aircraft, the alternate destination being different than an initial destination.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Cho teaches wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to determine an alternate destination within a remaining range of the eVTOL aircraft, the alternate destination being different than an initial destination (firmware, software,… a processor, if the movement distance according to the flight plan is 100 km and the aircraft's possible movement distance is 110 km, if the vertical movement ratio according to the movement distance…if the aircraft's possible movement distance is reduced to 90 km accordingly, the destination may be modified to be unmovable. In this case, the destination (a closer destination) can be modified and the movement to that destination can be created as a modified flight plan. - Cho ¶27 & ¶108).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Cho teaches a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for managing a battery according to a flight plan using operation status information including takeoff and landing of an aircraft, as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize the safety and power efficiency of UAM by regenerating the flight plan by determining whether the destination can be reached by obtaining a flight plan and confirming it with the passenger, see Cho ¶11 for details.
Claims 8, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Von Novak, and Jemison, as per claims 1, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Dekel.
As per claim 8
Von Novak further discloses estimating a steady-state force based on the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (braking mode may include regulating an amount of energy generated by the rotors to control an amount of drag generated by each rotor in order to maintain attitude control, UAV 100 is illustrated as maintaining a constant altitude h, amount of energy that is harvested from each rotor, the amount of drag presented by each rotor can be controlled or adjusted, enabling the UAV 100 to control attitude during the rapid decent, generate thrust and slow the rate of descent of the UAV 100, voltage generated by the motors coupled with the rotors may be determined by a speed of the motors, which is determined by the descent rate (which determines the speed of the airstream). Thus, the rate of descent of the UAV may increase until the output voltage of the motors matches the charging voltage of the battery. - Von Novak ¶5 & ¶30 & ¶33- & ¶34 & ¶56 - Examiner reasons that the rate of decent, or decent profile is in m/s or velocity as indicated in figure 2).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose further comprising: estimating a completion fraction of an outbound maneuver based on the estimated aircraft-level energy; predicting an altitude-based cruise performance based at least in part on an aeromodel; and blending an updated steady-state force based on the estimated completion fraction, the estimated steady-state force, and the predicted altitude-based cruise performance.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Dekel teaches further comprising: estimating a completion fraction of an outbound maneuver based on the estimated aircraft-level energy; predicting an altitude-based cruise performance based at least in part on an aeromodel; and blending an updated steady-state force based on the estimated completion fraction, the estimated steady-state force, and the predicted altitude-based cruise performance (control thrust power of the tiltable propulsion unit for reducing a difference between the measured airspeed and a set airspeed, while restricting increasing of the thrust power…in response to the measured airspeed, altitude control module configured to minimize a vertical deviation of the air vehicle from a set altitude…restricting of the reduction of the thrust power, making the transition from a first flight mode (in which tiltable propulsion units of the air vehicle are directed to provide thrust…to a second flight mode in which the tiltable propulsion units are directed in the general vertical direction, descending course…vertical distance the air plane travels for each unit of horizontal distance., values retrieved from the look-up table (or other database) may be used as is, but may also serve as a basis for a change, software run by a processor - Dekel ¶31 & ¶41 & ¶168 & ¶202 & ¶389 & ¶532).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Dekel teaches systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit, as taught by Dekel, with a reasonable expectation of success to suppress gyroscopic effects and gusts (unstable measured airspeed) and to avoid fast changes in the air vehicle dynamics, enabling the control loops to gain better performance, see Dekel ¶512 for details.
As per claim 58
Von Novak further discloses estimate a steady-state force based on the altitude of the eVTOL aircraft and the current airspeed of the eVTOL aircraft (braking mode may include regulating an amount of energy generated by the rotors to control an amount of drag generated by each rotor in order to maintain attitude control, UAV 100 is illustrated as maintaining a constant altitude h, amount of energy that is harvested from each rotor, the amount of drag presented by each rotor can be controlled or adjusted, enabling the UAV 100 to control attitude during the rapid decent, generate thrust and slow the rate of descent of the UAV 100, voltage generated by the motors coupled with the rotors may be determined by a speed of the motors, which is determined by the descent rate (which determines the speed of the airstream). Thus, the rate of descent of the UAV may increase until the output voltage of the motors matches the charging voltage of the battery. - Von Novak ¶5 & ¶30 & ¶33- & ¶34 & ¶56 - Examiner reasons that the rate of decent, or decent profile is in m/s or velocity as indicated in figure 2).
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: estimate a completion fraction of an outbound maneuver based on the estimated aircraft-level energy; predict altitude-based cruise performance based at least in part on an aeromodel; and blend an updated steady-state force based on the estimated completion fraction, the estimated steady-state force, and the predicted altitude-based cruise performance.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Dekel teaches wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: estimate a completion fraction of an outbound maneuver based on the estimated aircraft-level energy; predict altitude-based cruise performance based at least in part on an aeromodel; and blend an updated steady-state force based on the estimated completion fraction, the estimated steady-state force, and the predicted altitude-based cruise performance (control thrust power of the tiltable propulsion unit for reducing a difference between the measured airspeed and a set airspeed, while restricting increasing of the thrust power…in response to the measured airspeed, altitude control module configured to minimize a vertical deviation of the air vehicle from a set altitude…restricting of the reduction of the thrust power, making the transition from a first flight mode (in which tiltable propulsion units of the air vehicle are directed to provide thrust…to a second flight mode in which the tiltable propulsion units are directed in the general vertical direction, descending course…vertical distance the air plane travels for each unit of horizontal distance., values retrieved from the look-up table (or other database) may be used as is, but may also serve as a basis for a change - Dekel ¶31 & ¶41 & ¶168 & ¶202 & ¶389).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Dekel teaches systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with systems, methods and computer program products for maneuvering of an air vehicle and control an acceleration of an air vehicle which comprises a tiltable propulsion unit, as taught by Dekel, with a reasonable expectation of success to suppress gyroscopic effects and gusts (unstable measured airspeed) and to avoid fast changes in the air vehicle dynamics, enabling the control loops to gain better performance, see Dekel ¶512 for details.
Claim 9 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Von Novak, and Jemison, as per claims 1, and 12, respectively, and further in view of Jeong, and Jemison.
As per claim 9
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jeong teaches wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range (moving distance calculated based on a current speed of the drone and a remaining amount of a battery - Jeong ¶366).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jeong teaches a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration, as taught by Jeong, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve mobility performance for an aerial UE, see Jeong ¶283 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose further comprising: determining a wing-borne energy based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, [travel range calculation] is also based on the determined wing-borne energy.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches further comprising: determining a wing-borne energy based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, [travel range calculation] is also based on the determined wing-borne energy (SOC of an energy source may be calculated more than one time during a flight in order to accurately ensure an energy source has the power output capacity for the landing method and location, Electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a conventional landing style. A “conventional landing style” as used in this disclosure is a fixed-wing landing requiring a runway - Jemison ¶35 & ¶40).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine a landing energy as a function of battery data to provide landing energy to a user through a display, see Jemison ¶3 for details.
As per claim 59
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jeong teaches wherein estimating the vertical landing range or the horizontal landing range (moving distance calculated based on a current speed of the drone and a remaining amount of a battery - Jeong ¶366).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jeong teaches a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with a method for controlling flight of a drone and an apparatus supporting the same for increasing a flight duration, as taught by Jeong, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve mobility performance for an aerial UE, see Jeong ¶283 for details.
Von Novak does not specifically disclose wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: determine a wing-borne energy based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, [travel range calculation] is also based on the determined wing-borne energy.
Von Novak determining a decent profile comprising the vertical and horizontal travel range of the UAV. However, Jemison teaches wherein the instructions contained in the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further cause the at least one processor to: determine a wing-borne energy based on the estimated aircraft-level energy, [travel range calculation] is also based on the determined wing-borne energy (SOC of an energy source may be calculated more than one time during a flight in order to accurately ensure an energy source has the power output capacity for the landing method and location, Electric aircraft 104 may be configured to land in a conventional landing style. A “conventional landing style” as used in this disclosure is a fixed-wing landing requiring a runway, software 1120 may reside, completely or partially, within processor 1104 - Jemison ¶35 & ¶40 & ¶162).
Von Novak discloses methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally. Jemison teaches an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von Novak, methods, devices, and systems for operating a UAV having insufficient power to operate normally, with an assembly for gauging fuel of a VTOL electric aircraft, as taught by Jemison, with a reasonable expectation of success to determine a landing energy as a function of battery data to provide landing energy to a user through a display, see Jemison ¶3 for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668