DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11, 14-15 and 31-39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to Salehi et al. a new interpretation is taken where 110 is the second panel and 120 is the first panel. While 120 (interpreted first panel) is the moving panel, the claim requires “moving the second panel relative to the first panel”. Therefore, while 110 is stationary, relative 120, 110 is moving. In otherwords from the reference frame of 120, 110 is moving. Alternatively, paragraph [0062] teaches that mount 140 is rotatable from 0-180 degrees and 120 may vary form 0-180 degrees. Figure 1 shows mount 140 is coupled to 110. Therefore, by rotating mount 140, while simultaneously rotation 120, 110 moves relative to 120. In this interpretation, all limitations of claim 1 are taught.
With respect to Marchione both 12 and 14 are capable of rotation (see paragraph [0064] regarding pivotably mounted first shield 12 and pivotably retained second shield 14). Therefore, while figure 5-6 show shield 12 moving relative to shield 14, the device is capable of moving 14 relative to 12 and result in the same configuration in figure 6, therefore shield 14 exists in a plane that is perpendicular and intersects with panel 12.
Further, upon further consideration, claim 1 is written broadly enough so as to cover a book having panels (i.e. full page panels in a comic book). Below uses a comic book to reject claim 1. That is, the claim does not require the type of radiation that is shielded nor the material of the shield, therefore any material that shields any spectrum of light is sufficient to anticipate the claims.
Lastly, additional art has been found upon further search and consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: 1 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim 1 requires “(ii)” twice. It appears the second (ii) should be (iii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 34 and 371 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rampart (Rampart, post on X, 10/28/2024) as evidenced by Rampart Guardian (Rampart Guardian, Ceiling and Floor mounted Radiation shield (https://rampart-ic.squarespace.com/products all screenshots taken from videos on webpage).
Regarding claim 1, Rampart recites “Day one at #TCT24 was a success!...New product launches Rampart guardian advanced ceiling mounted shield” (product launch suggests on sale or otherwise available to the public via the TCT24).
As evidenced by Rampart guardian, the Guardian product introduced comprises radiation attenuating shield apparatus, comprising: a first panel configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation, wherein the first panel includes a first side edge region; and a second panel configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation, wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (note annotated figure below and that this is a radiation shield, thus all panels block radiation), and
wherein the second panel is movably coupled to the first panel (see annotated figure below)
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by moving the second panel relative to the first panel between (i) a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint (see annotated figure below),
(ii) an intermediate configuration in which the second panel is substantially perpendicular to the first panel, and
(ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint,
wherein, in the intermediate configuration, the second panel lies on a plane that intersects the first panel,
and wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (fully expanded annotated figure above shows overlap between edges of first and second panels).
Claim 34 is anticipated as discussed above, additionally, Rampart teaches an upper and lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel (see annotated figure below)
wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region and the second side edge region have an overlapping region of between about 2cm and about 10cm
Regarding claim 37, Rampart teaches the commensurate limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and the upper and lower joints as discussed above in claim 34. Moreover, Rampart teaches wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus does not include an elongate vertical member directly coupling the first side edge region and the second side edge region (see hinges only, thus not including an elongated vertical member ).
Claims 1, 31-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gavaler (Analyzing comics 101 (Layout), https://www.hoodedutilitarian.com/2015/12/analyzing-comics-101-layout/, 2015).
Regarding claim 1, Gavaler teaches a radiation attenuating shield apparatus (a comic book attenuates light), comprising:
a first panel configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (page 3 recites “a page panel with no insets and a single image is a full-page panel.” Thus the left page is the first panel. A sheet of paper covered in ink inherently partially blocks visible light when held up to a lamp), wherein the
first panel includes a first side edge region (edge of panel bound in binding of comic book); and
a second panel (in a right page that is a full page panel of the comic book, directly to the right of the left panel) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (A sheet of paper covered in ink inherently partially blocks visible light when held up to a lamp), wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (edge of right page enclosed in comic book binding), and wherein the second panel is movably coupled to the first panel (via the binding the full page panels may rotate to turn the full page panel to the next page)
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by moving the second panel relative to the first panel (lifting the back of the comic book to close the book) between (i) a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint (closed book defines a first radiation blocking footprint), (ii) an intermediate configuration in which the second panel is substantially perpendicular to the first panel (holding the right panel perpendicular to the left full page panel) and (ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint (opening the comic book so that the left full page panel and the right full page panel are flat, wherein the panels only overlap at the binding, thus less than 20 %),
wherein, in the intermediate configuration, the second panel lies on a plane that intersects the first panel (the pages are bound, thus holding the right full page panel perpendicular to the book, the right panel lies on a plane that intersect the left page, (note there is no requirement as to how much of the right panel lies on the plane, thus since the majority of the right page lies on a plane that intersect with the left full page panel, the limitation is met)), and
wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (via binding the edges of the first and second full page panels overlap).
Regarding claim 31, Gavaler teaches a support arm coupled to a top edge of the first panel (clasping the top of the book in a hand would be a support arm).
Regarding claim 32, Gavaler teaches joint (binding to comic book) coupled between the first panel and the second panel (inherent to keep full page panels together), wherein the joint defines a vertical axis extending through the second panel and about which the second panel is configured to rotate (rotational axis of pages defined at binding which extends through each full page panel).
Regarding claim 33, Gavaler teaches wherein, in the expanded configuration, the second panel is oriented substantially parallel to the first panel (opening the book and pressing the pages flat with a board would achieve this result).
Regarding claim 34, Gavaler teaches all the commensurate limitations as discussed above. Further Gavaler teaches wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel via (a) an upper joint positioned proximate an upper portion of the first panel and an upper portion of the second panel, and (b) a lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel (a continuous binding from top to bottom is interpreted as the upper and lower joint) and wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel and the second side edge region of the second panel have an overlapping region of between about 2cm and about 10cm (by folding the right side full page panel at 2-10 cm from binding and overlapping the folded area on the left side full page panel, the limitation is met)
Claim 35 is taught as above in claim 31.
Claim 36 is taught as above in claim 33.
Regarding claim 37, Gavaler teaches all the commensurate limitations as discussed above. Further Gavaler teaches wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel via (a) an upper joint positioned proximate an upper portion of the first panel and an upper portion of the second panel, and (b) a lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel (a continuous binding from top to bottom is interpreted as the upper and lower joint) and wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus does not include an elongate vertical member directly coupling the first side edge region and the second side edge region (binding is not understood to be an elongated vertical member).
Claim 38 is taught as above in claim 31.
Claim 39 is taught as above in claim 33.
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, 14-15 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salehi et al. (WO-2024056637) (submitted with IDS) (first interpretation first panel 120 and second panel 110).
Regarding claim 1, Salehi et al. teach a radiation attenuating shield apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a first panel (fig. 1, 120) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation, wherein the first panel includes a first side edge region ([0033] 110 is formed of one or more radiation shielding materials. First side edge is interpreted to be the edge of 120 overlapping with 110 in figures 1 and 4);
and a second panel (110) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation ([0033]), wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (edge of 110 overlapping 120 in figures 1 and 4), and
wherein the second panel is movably coupled to the first panel (via rotation or translation see paragraph [0030] and [0065]. Figure 4 show mechanism for rotation of 120 relative to 110 and fig. 5a for relative translation of 110 to 120 see paragraph [0042] “or translational movement of the panels, the mechanical connections and devices may include motors connected to rotate spools to adjust cables at the first section 110 connected to the corners of the second and third sections 120 and 130 for translating the second and third sections relative to the first section 110, for example, as discussed below with reference to FIGs. 5A and 5B”),
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by moving the second panel relative to the first panel (fig. 4, 110 moves relative to the second panel 120 when 120 is rotated. In otherwords, from the reference frame of 120, 110 is moving relative to 120. Alternatively, paragraph [0062] teaches that mount 140 is rotatable from 0-180 degrees and 120 may vary form 0-180 degrees. Figure 1 shows mount 140 is coupled to 110. Therefore, by rotating mount 140, while simultaneously rotation 120, 110 moves relative to 120.) between (i) a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint (figure 4 shows the folding mechanism for 120 relative to 110, wherein the degree of folding may be between 0-180 degrees ([0062]). Thus 100% of shield 120 over panel 110. See also 3H showing a fully folded configuration. Alternatively, fig. 5 shows the translation of 120 relative to 110 ([0042] see citation above). The double sided arrows in figure 5A show movement of the shield to the left or to the right ([0067]). Thus the device is capable of moving 120 (of fig. 1) to the right such that there is at least 80 % overlap. Note: paragraph [0067] recites “he rollers 425 and 426 roll along the surface of the second section 120 during the translational movement.” Since the rollers roll on the surface of 120, they are capable of rolling to the edge of surface 20 such that 110 would nearly entirely overlap with 120),
(ii) an intermediate configuration in which the second panel is substantially perpendicular to the first panel (fig. 4, via rotation mechanism panels may be substantially perpendicular ([0062] for rotations between 0-180 degrees)); and
(ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint (for rotation as seen in figure 1 an expanded configuration with a partial overlap (indicated by shaded regions). Figure 3A shows completely unfolded with no overlap, thus for rotation it is possible to have an expanded configuration with less than 20% overlap. Alternatively, figure 5a shows the mechanism for translation, thus translating 120 to the left so as to have less than 20% overlap with 110), and
wherein, in the intermediate configuration, the second panel lies on a plane that intersects the first panel (see annotated figure below);
wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (see discussion above with respect to figures 1 and 5a).
Regarding claim 2, Salehi et al. teach wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region and the second side edge region have an overlapping region of between about 2cm and about 10cm (via translation mechanism of figure 5a, the left edge of 110 and the right edge may be translated so as to have the overlapping region between 2 cm and 10 cm via cables 531/532, see paragraphs [0034], [0042] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, Salehi et al. teach wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus does not include an elongate vertical member directly coupling the first side edge region and the second side edge region ([0065] teaches connection system 400 includes a slot and pin assembly 430 for attaching the first and second sections 110 and 120 for rotational and translation movement relative to one another. Figure 4 does not show an elongated vertical member directly coupling the first side edge to the second side edge).
Regarding claim 4, Salehi et al. teach wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel (fig. 4 shows rotatable connection between 120 and 110), and wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable between the collapsed configuration and the expanded configuration by rotating the second panel about a vertical axis (the expanded configuration by opening 120 to 180 degrees. Paragraph [0062] further teaches mount 140 (see figure 1) may rotate from zero to 180 degrees, therefore by rotating 120 between the expanded and collapsed configuration while simultaneously rotating mount 140, allows for rotation of the second panel 120 along a vertical axis (axis along 140, see figure 1). In other words, the configurable between the collapsed and expanded configuration by rotating the second panel 110 about the vertical axis of 140 and rotating the 120 to collapsed or expanded configuration).
Regarding claim 8, Salehi et al. teach a third panel (fig. 1, 120 is made of two panels 121 and 122, 122 is interpreted as the third panel) movably coupled to the first panel (122 is movably coupled to 121 (i.e. first panel)) and configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation ([0033] for radiation shielding material), wherein: when the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is in the collapsed configuration, at least 80% of the third panel overlaps with the first panel (fig. 3H relative to 3A shows the collapsed configuration of 122 and 121), and when the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is in the expanded configuration, less than 20% of the third panel overlaps with the first panel (fig. 1 shows overlap between 121 and 122 wherein shields are positioned on rails (discussed in figure 6 and paragraph [0070]) for vertical movement of lower panel thus capable of less than 20% overlap).
Alternatively, regarding claim 8, Salehi et al. teach a third panel ([0036] teaches three panels, however more than three panes may be used, thus Salehi et al. envisioned an additional panel attached to 120 and 130) movably coupled to the first panel (additional panel attached to 120 in the manner 120 is movably coupled to 110) and configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation ([0033] for radiation shielding material), wherein: when the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is in the collapsed configuration, at least 80% of the third panel overlaps with the first panel (fig. 3H relative to 3A shows the collapsed configuration, thus additional panel would also collapse), and when the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is in the expanded configuration, less than 20% of the third panel overlaps with the first panel (overlap in figure 1 between 120 and 110 would exist for an additional panel to the side of 120)
Regarding claim 9, Salehi et al. teach the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first side edge region of the first panel (110 (second panel) is rotatably coupled to the first side edge of first panel 120), and the third panel is rotatably coupled to a third side edge region of the first panel that is on an opposite end of the first panel from the first side edge region ([0036] teaches additional panels, thus envisioning an additional panel overlapping 120 in the same way 120 and 110 overlap on the opposite side).
Regarding claim 11, Salehi et al. teach wherein the first panel has a first width (full width of first panel 120), the second panel has a second width, and the third panel has a third width, and wherein each of the second width and the third width is about half of the first width (define a width of 110 and additional panel (see annotated figure above) to be half the width of panel 120 and the limitation is met. That is, the claim does not require the width of the second and third panels relative to any edges of respective panels. Therefore, the width is treated as an arbitrary width from one edge of each panel equal to half of the width of the panel 110 from edge to edge).
Regarding claim 14, Salehi et al. teach an articulating arm (140/150) for supporting the first panel and the second panel (via 110 see paragraph [0037]), wherein the articulating arm is coupled to the first panel (140 indirectly coupled to 120 via 110) via a bracket (bracket from 140 to 110) extending along a top edge of the first panel (Note the claim does not require the bracket to contact the first panel, therefore even though the bracket is attached to 110 it extends along a top edge of the first panel in the collapsed configuration seen in figure 3H).
Regarding claim 15, Salehi et al. teach wherein the articulating arm is ceiling-mounted ([0037]).
Regarding claim 31, Salehi et al. teach a support arm (40) coupled to the top edge of the first panel (40 is indirectly coupled to the top edge of 120 via rollers 425/426, joint 400 coupled to top edge of 110 which is coupled to 40).
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marchione (US pgPub 2023/0197303) (submitted with IDS) (note while Marchione only teaches rotation, claims 1, 4-5 as currently drafted do not require translation-if the claims are amended to require translation, these claims would still be obvious in view of Salehi et al. which suggests a joint capable of both translation and rotation as discussed above).
Regarding claim 1, Marchione teaches a radiation attenuating shield apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a first panel (12) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (inherent to a radiation shield),
wherein the first panel includes a first side edge region (side edge of 12 opposite side edge mounted to post 16); and
a second panel (14) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (inherent to a radiation shield), wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (side edge of 14 opposite side edge mounted to post 16), and
wherein the second panel is movably coupled to the first panel (rotation see figures 5-7),
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by moving the second panel relative to the first panel (both panels are pivotable see paragraph [0064], thus 14 can be moved relative to 12)between (i) a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint (fully collapsed as seen in figure 7),
(ii) an intermediate configuration in which the second panel is substantially perpendicular to the first panel (figure 6, 14 is perpendicular to 12, note while shown the first panel 12 moves relative to 14, since both shields are pivotable, the same configuration is attainable by rotating 14 and keeping 12 in a fixed state) and (ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint (since each plate is planar, as one shield rotates relative to another less than 20% of the non-rotating shield is overlapped by the moving shield (i.e. like opening a book cover to the first page of a book). When less than 20% overlap is met, stopping rotation would meet the claim limitation. Note the claim is not structurally distinguished over Marchion, therefore since Marchion is capable of operating in the claimed manner the claim is not distinguished over Marchion (MPEP 2114)),
wherein in the intermediate configuration the second panel (14) lies on a plane that intersects the first panel (see annotated figure below)
and wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (when one shield is rotated relative to a stationary shield, at less than 20% overlap, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 4, Marchione teaches wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel (via post 16), and wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable between the collapsed configuration and the expanded configuration by rotating the second panel about a vertical axis (along vertical axis of 16).
Regarding claim 5, Marchione teaches wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel via (a) an upper joint positioned proximate an upper portion of the first panel and an upper portion of the second panel, and (b) a lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel (Both shields are attached to post 16 by upper and lower brackets for pivotal retainment. Thus via 16 an upper and lower joint are formed proximate the upper and lower portions of the first and second panels [0064] “ first shield 12 is pivotally retained relative to the axis post 16 by upper and lower mounting brackets 40 fixed to the proximal end portion of the first shield 12 together with upper and lower mounting plates 42 with the first shield 12 disposed therebetween…. In a similar manner, the second shield 14 is pivotally retained relative to the axis post 16 by upper and lower mounting brackets 36 fixed to the proximal end portion of the second shield 14 together with upper and lower mounting plates 38 with the second shield 14 disposed therebetween”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN 219070369) (copy of publication and machine translation submitted herewith) in view of Salehi et al. (second interpretation first panel 110 and second panel 120).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a radiation attenuating shield apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a first panel (5) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (inherent to a radiation protection device), wherein the first panel includes a first side edge region (left side edge of 5); and
a second panel (6) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation (inherent to a radiation protection device), wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (right side of 6), and wherein the second panel is movably coupled to the first panel (best seen in figure 4 showing panels movable relative to eachother by joints)
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by moving the second panel relative to the first panel (4 and 5 are rotatable relative to one another by joint) between (i) a collapsed configuration (by rotating the joint, any rotation from expanded is interpreted as collapsed), (ii) an intermediate configuration (an intermediate rotational position between expanded and final rotation) (ii) an expanded configuration (as seen in figure 1), wherein, in the intermediate configuration, the second panel lies on a plane that intersects the first panel ([n0030] teaches protective curtain 5 overlaps with the protective curtain 6 and blocking gaps at the rotating joints due to partial overlap even when angle is rotated so as to avoid radiation exposure. That is, rotating 6 relative to 5 in the clockwise direction results in the plane in which 6 exists to intersect the first panel 5), and wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel ([n0030] teaches 5 partially overlaps 6).
Xie fails to disclose the degree of rotation, except to note that the rotation is flexible and has a large range (n0006).
However, Salehi et al. teaches the requirements of the collapsed, intermediate and expanded configurations. Specifically, Salehi teaches a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint ([0062] teaches folding of 120 (second panel) may vary from 0 to 180 degrees. That is, 180 degrees is fully collapsed and overlapping shield 110 (first panel), thus a small folded blocking footprint), (ii) an intermediate configuration in which the second panel is substantially perpendicular to the first panel ([0062] 0-180 degrees allows for an intermediate perpendicular configuration), and (ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel (0 degrees rotation suggests expanded 110 and 120) to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint (expanded configuration results in larger footprint),
Salehi et al. modifies Xie by suggesting a range of rotation between 0 to 180 degrees between shields.
Since both inventions are directed towards radiation shields, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xie to have the rotational ranges of Salehi because it would allow for the shield to be more flexible to change in size based on the number and location of the professionals standing near the table. That is, the rotation between 0-180 degrees of Salehi would allow more flexibility in the position and location of the shield of Xie.
Regarding claim 31, Xie teaches a support arm (2) coupled to a top edge of the first panel (5).
Regarding claim 32, Xie teaches joint (joint between 2 and 3) coupled between the first panel and the second panel (via connecting piece 7), wherein the joint defines a vertical axis extending through the second panel and about which the second panel is configured to rotate ([n0030] since 5 overlaps 6, the vertical axis upon which 6 rotates relative to 5 passes through the panel 6).
Regarding claim 33, Xie teaches wherein, in the expanded configuration, the second panel is oriented substantially parallel to the first panel (as seen in figure 1).
Claim(s) 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salehi (second interpretation first panel 110 and second panel 120) alone or in view of Marchione
Regarding claim 34, Salehi et al. teach a radiation attenuating shield apparatus (fig. 1), comprising:
a first panel (fig. 1, 110) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation, wherein the first panel includes a first side edge region ([0033] 110 is formed of one or more radiation shielding materials. First side edge is interpreted to be the edge of 110 overlapping with 120 in figure 1);
and a second panel (120) configured to at least partially block transmission of radiation ([0033]), wherein the second panel includes a second side edge region (edge of 120 overlapping 110 in figure 1), and
wherein the second panel is rotatably coupled to the first panel via an upper joint positioned proximate an upper portion of the first panel and an upper portion of the second panel (via rotation or translation see paragraph [0030] and [0065]. Figure 4 show mechanism for rotation of 120 relative to 110 and fig. 5a for relative translation of 110 to 120 see paragraph [0042] “or translational movement of the panels, the mechanical connections and devices may include motors connected to rotate spools to adjust cables at the first section 110 connected to the corners of the second and third sections 120 and 130 for translating the second and third sections relative to the first section 110, for example, as discussed below with reference to FIGs. 5A and 5B”),
wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus is configurable by rotating the second panel relative to the first panel between (i) a collapsed configuration in which at least 80% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a first radiation blocking footprint (figure 4 shows the folding mechanism for 120 relative to 110, wherein the degree of folding may be between 0-180 degrees ([0062]). Thus 100% of shield 120 over panel 110. See also 3H showing a fully folded configuration. Alternatively, fig. 5 shows the translation of 120 relative to 110 ([0042] see citation above). The double sided arrows in figure 5A show movement of the shield to the left or to the right ([0067]). Thus the device is capable of moving 120 (of fig. 1) to the right such that there is at least 80 % overlap. Note: paragraph [0067] recites “he rollers 425 and 426 roll along the surface of the second section 120 during the translational movement.” Since the rollers roll on the surface of 120, they are capable of rolling to the edge of surface 20 such that 110 would nearly entirely overlap with 120), and
(ii) an expanded configuration in which less than 20% of the second panel overlaps with the first panel to define a second radiation blocking footprint that is greater than the first radiation blocking footprint (for rotation as seen in figure 1 an expanded configuration with a partial overlap (indicated by shaded regions). Figure 3A shows completely unfolded with no overlap, thus for rotation it is possible to have an expanded configuration with less than 20% overlap. Alternatively, figure 5a shows the mechanism for translation, thus translating 120 to the left so as to have less than 20% overlap with 110), and wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (see discussion above with respect to figures 1 and 5a)
wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region and the second side edge region have an overlapping region of between about 2cm and about 10cm (via translation mechanism of figure 5a, the left edge of 110 and the right edge may be translated so as to have the overlapping region between 2 cm and 10 cm via cables 531/532, see paragraphs [0034], [0042] and [0067]).
While Salehi envisioned just two panels (i.e. first and second panels, see paragraph [0036]). However, Salehi fails to disclose a lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel.
However, it would have been obvious to position an additional joint at the bottom of first and second panels of Salehi because it would improve the structural integrity of the rotating panels 110 and 120, thus improving the strength of the coupling so as to provide more resiliency to accidental collisions with other objects within the room. Moreover, an additional hinge would allow for thicker and heavier shielding panels therefore improving the safety of the medical staff during the procedure.
Alternatively, Marchione teaches a lower joint positioned proximate a lower portion of the first panel and a lower portion of the second panel (Both shields are attached to post 16 by upper and lower brackets for pivotal retainment. Thus via 16 an upper and lower joint are formed proximate the upper and lower portions of the first and second panels [0064] “ first shield 12 is pivotally retained relative to the axis post 16 by upper and lower mounting brackets 40 fixed to the proximal end portion of the first shield 12 together with upper and lower mounting plates 42 with the first shield 12 disposed therebetween…. In a similar manner, the second shield 14 is pivotally retained relative to the axis post 16 by upper and lower mounting brackets 36 fixed to the proximal end portion of the second shield 14 together with upper and lower mounting plates 38 with the second shield 14 disposed therebetween”).
Marchione modifies Salehi by suggesting an additional lower joint to a two panel configuration.
Since both Salehi and Marchione teach two radiation shielding panels that pivotably or rotatably coupled, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an additional joint to the lower section of the two panel configuration of Salehi as suggested by Marchione because it would ensure the shields are secured along the axis of rotation such the weight of the second shield 120 is dispersed over two joints to make rotation of the second shield smoother/easier by the user/actuator. Moreover, an additional coupling point at the bottom of the shield of Salehi would improve the strength of the coupling therefore making it more resilient to accidental collisions with other objects within the room.
Regarding claim 35, Salehi teaches a support arm coupled to a top edge of the first panel.
Regarding claim 36, Salehi teaches wherein, the expanded configuration, the second panel is oriented substantially parallel to the first panel (as seen in figure 1).
Claim 37 is obvious for the same reasons as discussed above. Moreover, Salehi teaches wherein, in the expanded configuration, the first side edge region of the first panel at least partially overlaps with the second side edge region of the second panel (as seen in figure 5), and wherein the radiation attenuating shield apparatus does not include an elongate vertical member directly coupling the first side edge region and the second side edge region (no elongated vertical member between 110 and 120 in figure 4).
Regarding claim 38, Salehi teaches a support arm coupled to a top edge of the first panel.
Regarding claim 39, Salehi teaches wherein, the expanded configuration, the second panel is oriented substantially parallel to the first panel (as seen in figure 1).
Relevant art of interest to the applicant:
US-2013/0266122 teaches extension and retraction of a shielding panel by sliding (figure s7-8) or by rotation (figures 9-10)
US-20230181131 teaches a radiation shield slidable relative to another radiation shield (see figures 1B-1C).
US-5981964 teaches a pivotably mounted radiation shield (see abstract).
US11660056 teaches a translatable and rotatable radiation shield as seen in figures 1-3 and associated text.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881
1 Note all claims could be rejected in view of Rampart. However, as an exception may be invoked under 102(b)(1)(a) or 102(b)(1)(b), the dependent claims are not currently considered. See MPEP 2153.01 (a) or MPEP 2153.01(b)