DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 8 September 2026.
This office action is made Final.
Claims 1, 10, 14, and 20 have been amended.
The denial of priority to claim 10 and all art rejections from the previous office action have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment. The double patenting rejections have been withdrawn in response to the approved Terminal Disclaimer.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/8/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/8/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Pat. # 12046068 and App. 19091261, 18390597 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed applications, 19091261, 18390597, and 16460736, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
As a result of Applicant’s amendment filed 9/8/26, claim 10 now receives the priority date of 19091261, 18390597, and 16460736.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg et al (US 20180095638)* in further view of Wolfe et al (US 20190114387)* in further view of Shimoyama et al (US20110035721)* (*Disclosed in IDS 12/28/25)
As per independent claim 1, Merg et al discloses a method comprising:
outputting, on a display, a first graphical user interface including: (0062-0063)
vehicle identifying information for a selected vehicle, (0062-0063: by interacting with the GUI menu interface, user inputs are received that provide the vehicle identifier that include VIN, YMM, YMME (0031)
a search field showing a search term entered via the first graphical user interface, wherein the search term includes a textual representation of a component installed on the selected vehicle; and (0062-0063: by interacting with the DUI interface, user inputs are received which include an identifier of a particular vehicle component for which the download is being requested. 0044 discloses the interface is GUI and text based interface which text boxes and drop-down menus can be used to enter information; 0062: a user (e.g., technician) can enter a request for information regarding a particular vehicle component for a particular vehicle, via user-input, that includes (iii) an identifier of a particular vehicle component for which the download is being requested Thus, the user entering an identifier of a particular vehicle component can be in the form of text within a text box (search field))
a search user-selectable control, selectable to cause a processor to search for content corresponding to the selected vehicle and the search term, (0044: Displaying a DUI can include displaying one or more selector fields (e.g., text boxes, drop-down menus, etc.) at which a user can enter a selection, such as a selection of a visual prompt for requesting a download of information from the SCS 4, upon which the CCS 100 can generate the request and transmit the request via the transceiver 104. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that since Merg discloses in response to “a selection of a visual prompt for requesting a download of information” causes the generation and transmission of the request, then the “selection of a visual prompt” is a form of search user-selectable control. 0045, 0062-0064 discloses the search looks for the content corresponding to the selected vehicle and the search term)
outputting, within the first graphical user interface in response to a selection of the search user-selectable control, … a second graphical user interface including: a list of the routing diagrams found during the search(0064, 0067, 0112 discloses receiving multiple images (Abstract; 0045, 0066, 0076: diagrams) based on the request).
outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the user-selectable control, the first routing diagram, wherein the first routing diagram includes: a connectable component corresponding to the component installed on the selected vehicle, and one or more routable components corresponding to one or more circuits or lines connectable to the component installed on the selected vehicle; (FIG 4,8; Abstract; 0045, 0066, 0076: discloses an image representative of at least one circuit of a vehicle component in a vehicle (schematic/diagram). The image contains a number of components connected together by one or more wires (routable component).; 0070, 0092, 0111, 0161: image/diagram that is received is displayed. The image includes connectable component and routable components of the circuit)
determining the connectable component is selected (FIG 4-6; 0111-0120: Component 314 is selected)
However, the cited art fails to specifically to specifically disclose outputting, within the first graphical user interface in response to a selection of the search user-selectable control, a display card corresponding to routing diagrams found during the search; outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the display card, a second graphical user interface including: a list of the routing diagrams found during the search, and a user-selectable control corresponding to a first routing diagram identified in the list; outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the user-selectable control corresponding to the first routing diagram, the first routing diagram, wherein the first routing diagram includes: a connectable component corresponding to the component installed on the selected vehicle, and one or more routable components corresponding to one or more circuits or lines connectable to the component installed on the selected vehicle; and in response to determining that the connectable component is selected, highlighting the one or more routable components within the first routing diagram.
However, Wolfe et al discloses the following subject matter:
outputting, within the first graphical user interface in response to a selection of the search user-selectable control, a display card corresponding to routing diagrams found during the search; outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the display card, a second graphical user interface including: a list of the routing diagrams found during the search (Note: “display card corresponding to routing diagrams found during the search” is not defined; therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied. Furthermore, FIG 3 of Wolfe discloses a form of “display card corresponding to routing diagrams found during the search” which comprising a selectable display pane, a form of a card. The card is in response to a search term entered into a text box and a search prompt that is triggered. The card discloses results from the search. When a user selects a selectable element within the card, the list of selectable routing diagrams such as shown in FIG 4 is displayed. (0034-0035)
outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the display card, a second graphical user interface including: a list of the routing diagrams found during the search, and a user-selectable control corresponding to a first routing diagram identified in the list; outputting, on the display in response to a selection of the user-selectable control corresponding to the first routing diagram, the first routing diagram, wherein the first routing diagram includes: a connectable component corresponding to the component installed on the selected vehicle, and one or more routable components corresponding to one or more circuits or lines connectable to the component installed on the selected vehicle; and (FIG 4-5: discloses GUI discloses a list of selectable routing diagrams which is in response to the selection made within the card shown in FIG 3. FIG 4-5 discloses the listing of selectable routing diagrams of the components: Connector EE and Connector FF (each installed on the vehicle). Selecting the “wiring” hyperlink next to each Connector results in display the respective routing diagram. For example, 430 points to the hyperlink for the selectable routing diagram for Connector EE. (form of user-selectable control) When the user selects item 430 (control) on the displayed GUI, the user is presented with FIG 6 showing a wiring diagram associated with the selected item 430, Connector EE. Thus, the display of wiring diagram of Connector EE is in response to the user selecting the wiring hyperlink of the list of selectable routing diagrams. (FIG 4-6, 0042) The wiring diagram includes Connector EE (installed on the vehicle) and wires connected to the connector.)
in response to determining that the connectable component is selected, highlighting the one or more routable components within the first routing diagram. (FIG 6; 0042: In addition, in response to the user the requesting to view the component “Component EE”, a wiring diagram is displayed wherein “Component EE” is displayed and highlighted, and any component/wire connected to the “Component EE” is also highlighted. (0042: other components, such as other components connected to selected component 612 are highlighted). Thus, since Component EE was selected, wires connected to the selected component were also highlighted)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature(s) of Wolfe et al since it would have provided the benefit of allowing a user to more easily or more efficiently locate referenced components so it can improve efficiency and accuracy of tasks associated with the referenced components. (0038, 0006)
However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose in response to determining that the connectable component is selected while the first routing diagram is output on the display, highlighting the one or more routable components within the first routing diagram. However, Shimoyama et al disclose in response to determining that the connectable component is selected while the first routing diagram is output on the display, highlighting the one or more routable components within the first routing diagram (Abstract, 0036; FIG 3; Claim 1: Discloses a wiring diagram is being displayed such that in response to the user's operation of selecting the highlight (component) (while the wiring diagram is displayed), the wiring display system highlights wirings extending from the selected component. This is a form of determining that the connectable component is selected while diagram is displayed and highlighting the attached wires in response)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed
feature(s) of Shimoyama et al since it would have provided the benefit of providing a
display system for an electronic manual in which the wiring can easily be identified
which would help investigation of the wiring to determine cause of a failure can. (0010,
0016)
As per dependent claim 2, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Wolfe et al discloses highlighting the connectable component in response to determining the connectable component within the first routing diagram is selected, such that both the connectable component and the one or more routable components are highlighted in response to a single selection of the connectable component. (FIG 6; 0042: In addition, in response to the user the requesting to view the component “Component EE”, a wiring diagram is displayed wherein “Component EE” is displayed and automatically highlighted (form of a single selecting the component), any component/wire connected to the “Component EE” is also highlighted. (0042: other components, such as other components connected to selected component 612 are highlighted))
As per dependent claim 3, Merg et al discloses wherein the one or more routable components include multiple routable components. (FIG 5, 6: multiple wires connected to Connector EE)
As per dependent claim 7, Merg et al discloses a touch screen display, (0046) a keyboard, a microphone, and a computing device mouse. (0043) based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Wolfe et al discloses the selection of the search user-selectable control, the display card, and the user-selectable control corresponding to the first routing diagram occur via use of a user interface component selected from the group consisting of: a touch screen display, a keyboard, a joystick, a microphone, and a computing device mouse. (0040)
As per dependent claim 8, Merg et al discloses wherein the first routing diagram comprises one of: an electrical wiring diagram, an optical communication line diagram, a hydraulic line diagram, a pneumatic line diagram, or a vacuum line diagram. (FIG 4; Abstract, 0066, 0105, 0125: electrical wiring diagram)
As per dependent claim 9, Merg et al discloses wherein the search for content corresponding to the selected vehicle and the search term comprises the processor transmitting a request for a server to search a database based on the vehicle identifying information and the search term. (0064: search searches and obtains from memory/databases)
As per dependent claim 10, Merg et al discloses one or more routable components comprise a first routable component, (FIG 4,8; Abstract; 0045, 0066, 0076: includes wires/routable component); the first routing diagram includes a component identifier corresponding to the connectable component (FIG 4; 0111: Under BRI, MAP sensor icon/symbol) the component identifier is selectable (0113), and the method further comprises: outputting a menu on the display in response to a selection of the component identifier, wherein: the menu includes a particular user-selectable control associated with an identifier that indicates a particular category of service information, and the particular category of service information is selected from the group consisting of: a technical bulletin category, a real fix tip category, a top repairs category, a causes and fixes category, a specifications category, an original equipment manufacturer testing data category, a component connector category, a component location category, a component operation category, a tips category, a routable diagram category, a mini routing diagram category, a waveform information category, a parameter identifier (PID) data category, an after-repair information category, a community category, an image category, an exploded image category, a remove and replace category, and a parts and labor category; determining, the particular user-selectable control is selected from the menu; receiving service information classified in the particular category of service information; outputting the service information on the display; (FIG 4-6; 0111-0120: Component 314 is selected which results in a menu (320) with controls/options being displayed as shown in FIG 5. In response, to a control being selected, information pertaining to the first vehicle component in the particular vehicle and an identifier associated with the first user-selectable control is displayed as shown in FIG 6 and 0119-0120. 0115 discloses the window 320 includes a list of selectable identifiers that identify various types of supplemental information related to the MAP sensor 310. The selectable identifiers correspond to the following supplemental information from the download, respectively: (i) component test information, (ii) real-fix information, (iii) removal and replacement information, (iv) connector view information, (v) component location information, (vi) TSB information, (vii) top diagnostic trouble code information, and (viii) top symptom information. A selection of one of the selectable identifiers causes the DUI to include the portion of supplemental information that corresponds to the selected identifier. See also 0077-0083 )
As per dependent claims 11-12, Merg et al discloses wherein the first routing diagram or a file comprising the first routing diagram includes metadata corresponding to the first routing diagram; wherein the metadata comprises at least one identifier selected from among the following identifiers: an identifier of the first routing diagram, an identifier of a routable or connectable component selected from within the first routing diagram, an identifier of a state of whether the routable or connectable component was highlighted when the display switches from displaying the first routing diagram to displaying a different routing diagram, an identifier of a destination routing diagram, an identifier of a routing diagram set, or an identifier of the selected vehicle. (FIG 4, 0111: Under BRI, discloses a label for a component, form of a metadata identifier)
As per dependent claim 13, Merg et al discloses wherein the second graphical user interface further includes the textual representation of the component. (FIG 4, 0111)
As per independent claims 14 and 20, Claims 14 and 20 recite similar limitations as in Claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Merg et al discloses a processor, a display, and memory (FIG 2, 12; 0178-0182, 0185)
As per dependent claims 18 and 19, Claims 18 and 19 recites similar limitations as in Claims 7-8 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4-5, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg et al in further view of Wolfe et al in further view of Shimoyama et al in further view of Baum et al (US6606731)* (*Disclosed in IDS 12/28/25)
As per dependent claim 4, the cited art fails to specifically disclose determining that a first routable component of the one or more routable components is selected while the first routable component is highlighted, and in response, un-highlighting the first routable component. However, Baum discloses if a wire is already highlighted/selected state when selected, the wire is no longer highlighted in its selection color (selection color turned off). (col 11, ll. 47-54; col 12, ll 8-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature(s) of Baum et al since it would have provided the benefit of users can quickly comprehend complex electrical circuitry, simulate the changes in electrical continuity and access critical component information. (Col 2, ll. 2-5)
As per dependent claim 5, Merg et al discloses the first routing diagram further includes a second user-selectable control that is distinct from and positioned near a first portion of a particular routable component of the one or more routable components, and the method further comprises: determining that the second user-selectable control is selected while the first routing diagram is displayed; and outputting, on the display in response to determining the selection of the second user-selectable control occurs while the first routing diagram is output on the display, a second routing diagram including a second portion of the particular routable component. (0112: Discloses routing components/wires part of the overall schematic, but not initially displayed in the initial displayed portion. DUI 300 can enable a user to navigate to other portions of the image. For example, in order to view portions 316, 317, and 318, the CCS can provide as part of the DUI 300 one or more user-selectable navigation tools, such as navigation arrows that, when selected, cause a different portion of the image to be displayed. Selecting on one of these controls results in another portion of the image/schematic in order to see portions 316, 317, and 318 (second portion of the particular routable component). However, the cited art specifically fails to discloses a second user-selectable control that is distinct from and positioned in contact with a first portion of a particular routable component of the one or more routable components. However, based on the rejection of Claim 4, Baum teaches a second user-selectable control that is distinct from and positioned in contact with a first portion of a particular routable component of the one or more routable components (Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10; FIG. 26: selecting an off-sheet reference, such as a wire number or connector number, results in the display of another wiring diagram comprising the selected routable component. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number (form of an icon) that is also within another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. FIG 23 discloses icon identifier 9010-20 associated with a wire from port A of D95125P that has a broken point. FIG 23 discloses icon identifier 9010-20 as a label. Thus, off-sheet reference/hotspot is separate from the wire/connector, thus distinct)
Thus, in conjunction of Baum with the disclosed cited art, the combination of the cited art would teach the subject matter of a second user-selectable control that is distinct from and positioned in contact with a first portion of a particular routable component of the one or more routable components such that when the second user-selectable control is selected on the first routing diagram, causing a second routing diagram including a second portion of the particular routable component.
As per dependent claims 15-16, Claims 15-16 recites similar limitations as in Claims 4-5 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merg et al in further view of Wolfe et al in further view of Shimoyama et al in further view of Merg et al (US20170098200)(herein as “Merg200”)
As per dependent claim 6, the cited art fails to specifically disclose outputting, within the first graphical user interface in response to the selection of the search user-selectable control, one or more additional display cards configured to enable selection of different categories of service information corresponding to the search term, wherein the one or more additional display cards are selected from the group consisting of: a technical bulletins display card, a real fixes display card, a top repairs display card, a causes and fixes display card, a specifications display card, an OEM testing display card, a component connector display card, a component location display card, a component operation display card, a tips display card, and a diagrams display card. However, Merg200 disclose outputting, within the first graphical user interface in response to the selection of the search user-selectable control, one or more additional display cards configured to enable selection of different categories of service information corresponding to the search term (0109-0110: in response to the selection of the action-trigger of the search-trigger display-segment causes the display of FIG 7 which display a displayable page with aspects of the displayable pages or sections. These displayable pages or sections are associated with the search term provided. (0110). Furthermore, Merg200 discloses the one or more additional display cards are selected from the group consisting of: a technical bulletins display card, a real fixes display card, a top repairs display card, a causes and fixes display card, a specifications display card, an OEM testing display card, a component connector display card, a component location display card, a component operation display card, a tips display card, and a diagrams display card. (FIG 7; 0129, 0138: e.g. real fix)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified the cited art with the disclosed feature(s) of Merg200 since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of providing technicians a quicker and more efficient method for searching for the various data needed to service the vehicle explaining the extent of service performed on the vehicle to a service advisor.
As per dependent claim 17, Claim 17 recites similar limitations as in Claim 6 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2172