Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has/have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendments.
Double Patenting Rejections
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-14 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,213,204 as explained in the office action dated May 19, 2026.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9 and 13-14 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,744,463 as explained in the office action dated May 19, 2026.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, 13-14 and 18-19 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,850,020 as explained in the office action dated May 19, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US-2008/0119705) in view of Robertson et al (US-2013/0117696), Goodnow et al. (US-2006/0010098) and Gawlick (US-8,417,662).
In regards to claim 1, Patel teaches a method to remotely monitor an analyte state of a host on a remote monitor [par. 0008 L. 1-5, par. 0032 L. 8-12 and L. 23-27, par. 0033 L. 1-4, par. 0043 L. 1-6].
Patel teaches that a server permits the remote monitor to have access to the server and data associated with a receiver monitoring the analyte state of the host [fig. 1 element 100 (receiver), par. 0033 L. 1-4 and L. 16-20, par. 0042 L. 14-18, par. 0043 L. 1-6]. However, Patel does not teach that the method comprises receiving, at the remote monitor, an invitation to access the server and the data.
On the other hand, Robertson teaches that the server can be a secure server, and that the method comprises receiving, at the remote monitor, an invitation to access the server and the data [fig. 31, par. 0093 L. 17-19, par. 0096 L. 1-8, par. 0106 L. 15-25]. Also, Robertson teaches that the method comprises accepting, at the remote monitor the invitation [par. 0106 L. 24-25].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Robertson’s teachings of inviting the remote monitor to have access in the method taught by Patel because it will permit the system to permit only authorized users to have access to the data.
The combination of Patel and Robertson teaches that the method comprises steps of receiving an invitation to have access to the host’s data and accepting the invitation [see Robertson par. 0106 L. 15-25]. However, the combination does not teach that subsequent to accepting the invitation, the remote monitor receives one or more rules defining alerts representative of events associated with the state of the host.
On the other hand, Goodnow teaches that once the host has invited the remote monitor and access has been granted to the remote monitor, the user of the remote monitor can access/receive glucose targets (rules defining events associated with the analyte state of the host) [par. 0382 L. 1-6, par. 0409].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Goodnow’s teachings of also granting access to rules defining events when the remote monitor is invited in the method taught by the combination because it will permit the doctor to also have control over the rules associated with the events.
The combination of Patel, Robertson and Goodnow teaches that the remote monitor has access/receive to the host’s information after the remote monitor has accepted the invitation [see Robertson par. 0106 L. 15-25]. The combination also teaches that the host’s information includes glucose targets (rules defining events associated with the analyte state of the host) [see Goodnow par. 0409]. These teachings mean that subsequent to the acceptance of the invitation, the remote monitor has access to glucose targets (rules defining events associated with the analyte state of the host). In other words, the method includes receiving, at the remote monitor from the server, subsequent to accepting the invitation, one or more rules defining events associated with the analyte state of the host.
The combination also teaches that the rules can be edited/modified by the remote monitor [see Goodnow par. 0409 L. 9-11]. However, the combination does not teach that the rules are alert rules when triggered, causes a message to be sent to the remote monitor from the server, and that modification of the rule creates a rule that is different than the alert rule.
On the other hand, Gawlick teaches that a system monitoring a state of a patient/host can comprise at least rule defining an alert representative of an event associated with the analyte state of the host [fig. 10, col. 8 L. 4-13]. Also, Gawlick teaches that the alert, when triggered, causes a message to be sent to the remote monitor from the server to notify the remote monitor of the event [col. 3 L. 4-5 and L. 11-15, col. 8 L. 7-13, 28-33 and L. 37-41]. Furthermore, Gawlick teaches that the rule can be modified, by a remote monitoring software application executed on the remote monitor [fig. 10, col. 11 L. 17-23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Gawlick’s teachings of including a modifiable rule for the remote monitor in the method taught by the combination because it will permit a user of the remote monitor to know when an event regarding the analyte state of the host occurs.
The combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick teaches that the system comprises the alert rule of the receiver [see Patel par. 0032 L. 1-3, par. 0046 L. 1-7, par. 0063], and the rule of the remote monitor [see Gawlick col. 3 L. 4-5 and L. 11-15, col. 8 L. 7-13, 28-33 and L. 37-41]. Also, the combination teaches that rule of the remote monitor can be modified without modifying rules of other users of the system [see Gawlick col. 12 L. 11-21]. These teachings mean upon modification the rule is different from the alert rule of the receiver defining when the alert is triggered by the receiver to the host. Furthermore, the combination teaches that the remote monitor comprises a smart phone [see Patel par. 0033 L. 1-3, par. 0043 L. 4-6, see Gawlick col. 3 L. 11-15].
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that alerts set up at the receiver can be alerts to be received by the remote monitor [see Patel 0064 L. 1-2 and L. 6-9]. This teaching means that the rule can be initially set by the host via the receiver.
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the analyte state of the host can be glucose and that rules when monitoring glucose comprise a threshold associated with a low level of glucose at the host [see Patel fig. 11, par. 0046 L. 3-5, par. 0058 L. 1-8, par. 0063]. Also, the combination teaches that the modifiable rules for the remote monitor can comprise low and high values of the monitored state of the host [see Gawlick fig. 10]. These teachings mean that when glucose of the host is being monitored, the modifying of the at least one rule can comprise varying a threshold associated with a low level of glucose at the host.
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the analyte state of the host can be glucose and that rules when monitoring glucose comprise a threshold associated with a high level of glucose at the host [see Patel fig. 11, par. 0046 L. 3-5, par. 0058 L. 1-8, par. 0063]. Also, the combination teaches that the modifiable rules for the remote monitor can comprise low and high values of the monitored state of the host [see Gawlick fig. 10]. These teachings mean that when glucose of the host is being monitored, the modifying of the at least one rule can comprise varying a threshold associated with a high level of glucose at the host.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the modifying of the rule can include a delay time which is used to prevent the system to send the same alert again before the delay time is over [see Gawlick col. 15 L. 25-28 and L. 54-61, col. 17 L. 23-27 and L. 33-39]. This teaching means that the modifying the at least one rule comprises varying a time value between when the message is sent to the remote monitor and a reminder message is sent to the remote monitor.
regards to claim 9, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the method comprises receiving, at the remote monitor, the message corresponding to the alert, from the server, triggered in accordance with the at least one rule [see Gawlick col. 3 L. 4-5 and L. 11-15, col. 8 L. 7-13, 28-33 and L. 37-41].
regards to claim 12, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as shown in the rejections of claims 6 and 7 above, further teaches the claimed limitations.
regards to claim 13, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the at least one rule is stored at the server [see Gawlick fig. 1 elements 102 (server), col. 8 L. 4-5].
regards to claim 14, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the server detects the event by processing data associated with the analyte state of the host received from the receiver [see Gawlick col. 8 L. 4-13, L. 24-33 and L. 37-41].
regards to claim 15, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the receiver is a smart phone having a host monitoring software application [see Patel par. 0033 L. 1-4, par. 0039 L. 1-3].
regards to claim 16, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 15 above, further teaches that the host monitoring software triggers alerts to the host on the receiver according to the alert rule [see Patel par. 0046 L. 1-7].
regards to claim 17, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 16 above, further teaches that the alerts to the host are triggered at the receiver by the receiver processing data associated with the analyte state of the host according to the alert rule [see Patel par. 0046 L. 1-7].
regards to claim 18, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 16 above, further teaches that there are first and second remote monitors [see Patel par. 0043 L. 4-6].
regards to claim 19, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 18 above, further teaches that each user of the system can modify their own rules stored at the server using a remote monitor without modifying the rules of other users of the system, and the server can determine when to send alerts to each remote monitor based on the individual rules and the monitored state of the host [see Patel fig. 1 element 100 (receiver), par. 0043 L. 1-6 (sending analyte data from the receiver to the server) see Gawlick fig. 1 element 102 (server), fig. 10, col. 3 L. 1-2 (remote monitors), col. 8 L. 4-5, L. 24-33 and L. 37-41 (rules stored at the server and used to send alerts to remote monitors), col. 12 L. 13-21 (modifying rules of remote monitors)]. These teachings means that the server stores rules associated with when the first and the second remote monitors receive notification messages and determines whether one or more of the remote monitors should be sent a notification message based on analyte sensor data received from the receiver.
regards to claim 20, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as shown in the rejection of claim 19 above, teaches that each remote monitor has its own rules. Also, the combination further teaches that when the monitored analyte state of a host is glucose, the rules can include high and low threshold values [see Patel fig. 11, par. 0046 L. 3-5, par. 0058 L. 1-8, par. 0063]. These teachings means that when glucose of a host is monitored, the rules associated with when the first and the second remote monitors receive notification messages comprise at least one of high or low threshold values for the first monitor that are different than respective high or low threshold values for the second monitor.
Claim(s) 2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US-2008/0119705) in view of Robertson et al (US-2013/0117696), Goodnow et al. (US-2006/0010098) and Gawlick (US-8,417,662) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Daoud et al. (US-2013/0159456).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, further teaches that the remote monitor receives an invitation that can be accepted [see Robertson par. 0106 L. 15-25]. However, the combination does not teach that the server registers an invited remote monitor.
On the other hand, Daoud teaches that once an invitation is received by a device an account associated with the device can be created at the server [fig. 24 element 2404, par. 0038 L. 8-15, par. 0081 L. 29-36]. This teaching means that the server registers an invited device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Daoud’s teachings of registering the invited device at the server in the method taught by the combination because it will permit first time users to create accounts that will permit the user access the server in a secure manner.
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow, Gawlick and Daoud, as shown in the rejection of claim 2 above, teaches the claimed limitations.
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow, Gawlick and Daoud, as applied in the rejection of claim 4 above, teaches that the method comprises sending an acceptance message to the server upon acceptance of the invitation by the remote monitor [par. 0106 L. 1-11 and L. 24-25, see Daoud fig. 24, par. 0038 L. 8-15, par. 0081 L. 18-28].
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US-2008/0119705) in view of Robertson et al (US-2013/0117696), Goodnow et al. (US-2006/0010098) and Gawlick (US-8,417,662) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hastings (US-2005/0148890).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow and Gawlick, as applied in the rejection of claim 9 above, further teaches that the remote monitor receives the message [see Gawlick col. 3 L. 4-5 and L. 11-15, col. 8 L. 7-13, 28-33 and L. 37-41]. However, the combination does not teach that following receipt of the message, the remote monitoring application is activated if in an idle mode or an inactive mode, either programmatically or under control of the user of the remote monitor.
On the other hand, Hastings teaches that when the message is received, the message will be displayed (application is activated) even when another program is active (monitoring application is inactive) [par. 0147 L. 1-5, par. 0148]. This teaching means that following receipt of the message, the remote monitoring application is activated if in an idle mode or an inactive mode, either programmatically or under control of the user of the remote monitor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to use Hastings’s teachings of displaying the message even when another program is active in the method taught by the combination because it will permit the user of the remote application to know that an alert has been received even when the user is not using the monitoring application.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Patel, Robertson, Goodnow, Gawlick and Hastings, as applied in the rejection of claim 10 above, further teaches that once the message is received, the message is displayed (application is activated) [see Hastings par. 0147 L. 1-5, par. 0148]. Also, the combination teaches that once the message is displayed and viewed by a user, the user can request monitored data to the server [see Hastings fig. 4, fig. 5 steps 410, 412 and 414, par. 0180 L. 1-5, par. 0184, par. 0182 L. 1-8, par. 0184, par. 0192, par. 0193 L. 1-7]. This teaching means that once the message is displayed (application is activated), the remote monitor can communicate with the server (establish a connection) in order to request and receive monitored data of the host which in the case of the combination is analyte data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANKLIN D BALSECA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688